(2008/05) May 2008

Poky and Luvbella,
You mean when we get cough and flu, we can still bf bb? What about stomach flu?

Poko,
My bb also experience hair drop. It’s normal, new ones will grow in replacement of the tai1 mao2. Some of these fine hair land on my bb face, so he scratches his face ever more frequently. Contemplating cutting botak for him, but hb doesn’t like it, plus my bb head quite flat, I think he’ll look awful if botak.

Buttercup,
Haha, my bb also has been pinching me lately.

Scratch mark on the face, mine too, he’s really rough. If I sit next to him, I’ll usually grab his hands.

Good Morning Ladies!
didnt slp well last nite..in fact onli slp 3 hours...by the time i fetch my son from my son place and reach home oredi 12am.. hai...and wash and sterilise and feed him...130am liao..by time i go bed oredi 2am...

hai...then 530am wake up again...didnt slp much...so tired and sian...

pooh..u can pump twice nia ah...me pump 4 times also got engorged leh... then i realised i pumping the wrong amt..mostly i pump till 150 then stop..i realised i can pump till 250 then the breast not so full...cham liao lar...

i wonder why the supply increases..

peace
i still BF even when i got stomach flu.. not a prob

choc
u mean u pump 4 times at work?? i only can pump twice.. coz very busy. but each pump, i got abt 240mls

i cannot post the step by step guide massage from J & J as the PDF file is too big.

So can you PM me if you are interested, and i can email to you instead.

choc,
Your brain is thinking you need lots of milk thus producing according to your needs. Why don't you try pumping according to your baby's feeding time interval? For eg. now my baby is feeding 120ml 3 hourly. So I'm pumping 3 hourly and each time get around 180ml, which is already more than his needs. Once he goes to 4hourly I will also change to 4hourly pump etc.

I'm just thinking if you continue pumping so much out, you might run out of freezer space soon.

Poko ,

Ya ..my son last nite finish 90ml and this morning two feed each finish 90ml too. I think got to be very patient wif him . So when bottle feed ...my hubby or my mum will do it rather than i do so that he can`t smell me.

I will latch him on after 90ml so he will know after finish his FM then he can take BM .

I tried to pump out but he dun like it . I think we got to be veri patient now .

Hello everyone, haven't post for a while. Been feeling damn tired recently. Got wedding dinner, gathering with friends, birthday parties. Damn tired to bring around a baby. Then recently baby had phelgm for 3 weeks. Really hard to take care of baby when he's ill. So super cranky.. Anyway, he's alot better.

Tomorrow I'll be returning to work. So fast, 12 weeks over! But good news from my agency that my company renewed my contract(1 year is up), got 1-month bonus and pay rise. Haha.. Happy..

Hopefully tomorrow go office, milk supply can remain. Recently my milk supply dropped cos only pump 3 times a day, but also good la cos freezer full liao.. I give my BM to my nephew also.. Haha.. Think go office will pump more frequently.

Yesterday bought a teething toy for my baby. Recently, he kept drooling and want to put things into his mouth. My mum said maybe teething, got so early meh?

I also bought microwave steriliser for office use and humidifier from OSIM cos baby got phelgm and blocked nose everytime, so thought maybe it may help at night when he sleeps.

We managed to pull his interval between feeds longer to 3 hours and more regular now and he finishes his milk. About 120ml-150ml.

Haven't remove his mittens yet cos his nails always very sharp one, cut today, next day sharp liao. But we will take out his mittens at night and let him play awhile then put back when he's sleepy.

Poky,
I heard rabbit & sheep good.. but 3 yrs age gap.

Planning to have girl for the 2nd... Next yr is cow (zhuo niu zhuo ma), then tiger (mu lao hu).. left with rabbit le. Hmm... see how lor.

Peace,
I stop BF liao...

Dolly,
Voted ur cute boy...

tracy...

i already try to pump according to baby feed interval which is 2hrly... and i try my best to stretch to 2.5hr..but mostly will feel painful leh...cham liao lor
actualli i dun freeze liao...any excess i will throw...coz my freezer not much space left and i love to buy ice cream mah...so abit cramp..i oredi stop freezing milk lor...

luvbella..
can check with u how u stop bf?

pooh..

yalor...4 times in office..and i feel so paiseh leh..so i came to office earlier to sort of make up for time spend lor...but lucky i can pump finish within 10mins..so nt so bad..treat it as "smoking" break which my colleagues who are smokers are taking

dolly..

coz the milk can onli keep in normal compartment for 48hours rite? and freezer is 3mths...
so sometimes wat i practise is i pump out and throw those very thin looking milk...then continue pumping and the milk be thicker..think is foremilk and hindmilk ah...

i realli doubt myself now..will i be able to tahan till baby 6th month bo..

choc,

you can always freeze the milk and let your bb have it as far as you can
If not, consider donating some to others, there are babies/kids who need it....

choc,

if you wanna reduce ss, do not empty yr breast on each pump session, this is to trick yr body to think that you dont need to have so much milk. The ss will drop over time.

Perhaps you can share with the mummies here how you manage to hv such ss
Frankly speaking, i really hope to have more surplus....envy.....

Choc,
ohhhh...your baby still drinking 2hourly? Very siong. Hmm..you should freeze the new ones and throw away the old frozen ones so he's getting the fresher stocks. But then, you will need alot of milkbags.

peace,
yep. can stil bf even when mommy is sick. ur body will build up the antibiotics, which will b also in the milk. better for bb also. xtract from web. "It usually is best to keep breastfeeding, even when you are sick. By the time you feel sick your baby has been exposed to the germs that are making you sick. Your body naturally makes certain antibodies to protect your baby from the sickness. By continuing to breastfeed, it helps your baby to avoid the sickness. If your baby gets sick it usually is not as bad as it would have been if you had stopped breastfeeding. To help decrease the risk of your baby getting sick, try to avoid face-to-face contact and wash your hands often."
http://www.ahsc.health.nb.ca/Patients/HealthInformation/EmergencyHealthServices/breast_feeding_when_mother_gets.shtml

tiramisuchocolate
is it? my bro a rabbit. but relationship normal normal leh.. it a 4 yr gap. i find horse much better... or is it bcos my horsie sister juz a yr older than me, more in common.. =p

Dolly,
u stil hv my email acc? can sent me the file? Thx. =)

choc,
u drink alot of water/liquid?? during the first mths, i daily drink a pot of water, supply was also alot. after stoppin confinement,stop makin the pot of water, so liquid intake also lesser. milk suply also drop. nowadays, when i drink alot of hot soup, i feel engorged soon after also. =( i also dedicated half the freezer area for FM, but now FM is invadin the other half also. but soon goin to btl feed bb, then shld hv more spaces liao.. haha

FM,
can i ask mommies givin FM, how do u separate the volume?? i store in pkts of 200ml, but dun think bb drinkin that much in one shot, how to separate to different feeds?? duno which mommies commented that FM straight to warmer will not hv the metallic taste as defrostin n then warm up rite??

Cheri
Wow.. good news for u lor ur company wanna to renew ur contract. For bb teething normally is abt 4-8mths times not so soon, they will come out 1st 2 teeth from the bottom.. Some bb might hv fever, some will keeps crying cos of uncomfortable or pain when they are teething, so u hv to buy those teething gel for them... to ease their gum & pain as well..

mrscheong
ur bb so cute and chubby...

mrscheong..

the onli additional ting i drink is frisomum leh...one cup per day nia...mixed with milo powder...
then is latch liao i empty the breast lor... come to tink i shldnt try to empty the side the baby latch on.. maybe this is why it increases recently...

your baby so cute...hahaaa....how heavy ah?

tracy..milkbag not cheap leh...hahaaaaa
i want to faint oredi..one cost ard 40cents

poky..
after expressing i feel thirsty leh..so i drink abit of water..normally at most a glass...be it milk or juices or plain water lor...
hahaa...ur freezer space oso kana invaded hor! my hb hintin to me..why i need so many pkt of FBM

poko,
aft u position the fingers then u push out away frm ur body like how the pump suction works..hmm..this one cant take pic show u le.hehehe
per session minimum 120ml to maximum 260ml depending on the interval from my last pump.mayb ur body nt used to it thats why so little? u practice more mayb get the hang of it will increase?

peaceii,
my boy also v rough! if let him have his mitten-less free time he anyhow scratch..me also kena scratch by him..my face, my breasts..aiyo..then sometimes he keep playing while drinking frm bottle, will hit the bottle away then cry like i purposely take away his bottle..=(

pooh,
4++am wake up for work? so early? u wk in hosp?

choc,
supply increases gd la! mine recently think i too tired or duno y...drop an avg of 100ml per day...*ya,i keep a record of hw much i pump per session, per day* super sian to see my supply drop...v hard to increase le...give me some of ur milking power can? hehhee
wah liew!!! excess BM u drop away!? wasted le! i think if u ask ard sure got ppl wan le. =)
u try frisomum i also drink milk powder but is mamil mama la but why ur supply so much mine so little. hehehe.

tracy,
u still maintain 3hrly pump? u v hardwking le..i try to keep to 3hrly but its getting more difficult at nite...i set alarm to wake up to pump in the end i off the alarm n got back to slp or i completely didnt hear it...this morning, pumped aft 6hrs and got 260ml...everytime i overslpt/miss 1 pump i feel so bad...

cheri,
envy u le, freezer full..i also aiming for tt.hahaa. u got count how long can it substain ur boy?
my boy also drooling saliva n keep putting his index finger into his mouth...but i doubt teething ba...too early le..mayb they mouth itchy or too bored wan something 2 chew? hehhee.

Luvbella,
i aiming for rabbit coz wan to avoid the next 2 yrs as same thinking as u. hahhaa =)
i think 3yrs age gap is ok ba coz by then 1st one older liao, easier to take care n they are more sensible liao.

mrscheong,
ur boy v muscular n chubby le. hehhee. how heavy is he now?

poky,
when i give my boy fbm, i thaw first then i drop according to how much he needs per feed...aiyo, the metallic smell really puts me off le...

choc
good that u can pump 4times la.. but really a waste to throw it.. can have a EBM bath, u know.. keke

felval
ya lor, i work hospital.. today, co just tell me i got course this thursday.. after course continue working leh.. 8.30am to 9.30pm.. i'll die man.. how many times must i pump at work?!
during course, i dun think can sneak out for pump ba.... haiz

pooh,
i know wking in hosp v xiong, my cousin always tell me sometimes dun even have time to go toilet break...

hmm..mayb pump when there is 15mins break or during mealtime? pump n eat at the same time?

felval,
how much do u store in one milk bag? the amt of ur boi per feed? if excess, than u keep it or throw??

choc & birdy,
My ss is already quite low then suddenly it drop. I tried many methods like fenugreek, fish head & papaya soup but it doesn't increase.

Slowly I latch on lesser & lesser, it automatically stop.

Reason why I wanna stop, low supply is one of the reason. Beside that, my workplace does not have any room for pumping beside the toilet. Toilet only 1 cubical & is locate beside my boss' room, if I stay inside for too long, very obvious. Plus my office is open concept & colleagues mostly are guys, find it very awkward to bring the pump set to office.

Another reason is I wanna perm & highlight my hair before start work. I am not sure whether this will affect bb or not.

poky,
seem like closer the age gap the better the relation is... but 1 yr is too fast liao.
I did have friend having kids with 1 yr gap... really pei fu them... able to cope with the stress, expenses, time between work & family.

Felval,
How many kids are you planning to have?

luvbella,
my family also 1yr gap. oldest n second is 1yr difference. then 3 gap, then another 2 with 1yr difference, mayb tat y i dun find it fast.. haha...

poky,
you mean you have 5 kids?
My bro & me also 1 yr gap & we are very close. I also hope to have 1 yr gap initially but change my mind cos of finance & work.

fion, feval, buttercup & choc,

my boy is 7kg and 63cm @ 11weeks. He took after the daddy's gene (if like me chiam liaoz :p). He is very diff fm my dd who is constantly on 50th percentile. Till today, my dd is still so slim and tall

friday will be lunar 7th month.. u all still bring baby out of the house? got curfew? or any special rule?

my mil wanna me to kip my boy in the house for 1 month... my mil superb pantang person... last week my boy sick then very cranky... then she say he encounter those dirty things.. then take his clothes go bai bai... then she say now better... kaoz.. of cos better lah... he's recovering now...when he sick of cos cranky and kip wanting to carry lah...then now back to like normal drinking and sleeping style... i train him one ok... got a hard time changing those carry shake shake bad habit...then she kip thinking her bai bai works.. if it's not my boy hor.. i won't waste all the efforts changing all these bad habits hor... then she shall see whether her bai bai works or not...

muzicgal
normally those ppl who pantang will said that.. but let ur boy keep in the hse for 1 mth? Emm... Day time should be oki to bring him for a walk. I dun think those things will come out in daytime bah... but nite time tried not to go out since ur MIL dun like it.. If not anythings happen to ur boy u r the one who blame then will be not so nice liao.. i know is ridiculous hv such thinking but she also meant for ur boy good. No harm to "shun zhe ta" (Let her be) lor..

wow didnt realize it's coming to the 7th lunar month soon... yah lor, bring baby out during day time lo. otherwise if ur baby gets cranky, old people would start to associate it with the 7th mth thinggy again.. haha

btw, any mummies still express milk back in office? i just got back to wrk and expressing, but supply seem to be lower now... haiz.. and sterilizing is kinda difficult. how do u mummies sterilize?

anyone did the tai mao bi and umbilical cord stamp?
abt hw much is it?
the shop at kk and thomson right?
was thinking of shaving my ah boy's hair at 4mths

icebubbles,

me too.... gg to shave my boy at his 4th month, but not intending to do the tai mao bi, so any other place that can shave bb's hair ?

Felval,
I maintain 3hourly pump at work but at night i don't pump. I direct latch him. He will drink 3hourly at night. I latch him on breast only and latch the other only on the next feed. I not so hardworking this time, never wake up to pump out the other breast.

panpan,
I brought my pigeon travel sterilizer to office. You can also use sterilizing tablets. Just fill a plastic tub with water and dump the tablet with your pump in. If you dun like the smell, rinse with hot water before pumping.

icebubbles ,

Ya i did ...but yet to collect it !!I shave my boy when he is full month

We did two mao bi and cord stamp about almost 600+ .

wah so ex ah!!!
think my hubby confirm wont wan to do liao
that time i wanted to do the hand and foot print
total think abt $300 plus
he say no need waste money de...

Ice bubbles ,

Ya veri EX !!

They have cheaper one... you like to check with them ...i think if maybe you do mao bi will cost maybe 200 to 300 plus .Depend on what material you use for the mao bi .

Me too spend abt $280 for the the foot print ... but that one is gift from my parents to my boy

tracy,

i see.. thanks.. i guess will have to get a tupperware to office then.. otherwise pple will wonder what the pump is.. hehe..

jo,
wow ! so exp! then must keep the taimaobi and stamp in the safe liao! wahseh, parents' money really easy to earn lo.. so exp! i think my hubby will faint upon hearing this amount