(2008/05) May 2008

Pump BM
Just like to share, I have problem getting let down when I pump in office, and I realise that sometime adjust the suction lower the milk is actually more easy to flow out.

choc / jen,

thanks, i think for the milk powder, they do not have chocoolate flavour, unless it is for pregnant mummy. Think i will go and buy 1 tin to try and mix with milo...

birdy,

why dun you try both, be abit more KS, take the Fernugreek pills and drink milk at the same time to see if it can improve ... and perhaps u can try to find time to pump at least 2 times ... btw, are you using electrical or manual pump ?

Jen,

i bought around $26plus from GNC, cannot really remember the exact price for 100 capsules. I just take as normal, it is alright for before or after food. I took 2 pills in the morning before going to work, and 2 pills at night before sleeping ... just like vitamin C .... hahaha

Poko,

for me, the last 2 weeks when i pump is office toilet, the supply amount is almost the same, maybe because I am using manual pump.

Dolly,
I think got choco flavor. I remember taking it last time when i was breastfeeding. Hmmm...maybe I should also go buy one tin.

Poko,
When i return to work i had hard time getting letdown too cos new environment. Took me about a week plus to adjust and now better liao.

jen, thanks for your advice...i will try it this weekend and let you know...

dolly, im using the manual pump...very tiring for the hand..can you share with me how you pump? maybe im using it the wrong way....

icebubbles,
my sil 19 this yr...conclusion: regardless of any age, all will go gaga over babies =P but it all depends on whether they will zi dong or keep on "molesting" our babies...i always ask ppl for permission b4 i touch their babies or the pregnancy bump le...coz i know some ppl dun like (i am one of them) so duno why no one ask me for permission to touch my boy n my bump when preg..haiz...my sil jialat, some of her friends got married n give birth liao she says she also wanna get married n have babies...=_='''

cheri,
ya, i took spicy food but abit only la. heard tt it will affect BM so i only dare to take abit.

icebaby,
went to see my gynae on wed....he says the poo with blood is piles lo...wanted to prescribe cream for me to apply but i told him nt pain dun nd.
envy u...only 47++kg aft 3kids...i am still in the 50++ range..wonder when will i gain back my pre-preg weight of 45kg...

fion,
ya...guess i have to wait for weekends to bathe my boy..i dun wanna risk my boy falling sick..if nt like u say very troublesome liao.

buttercup,
ya. me still letting my boy wears mittens. he is 2mths and 11days now...cant dun wear le...he will scratch himself n rub his face..scare he may poke his own eyes or scratch till bleed.
but i on n off will take off his mittens to let him explore the surrounding with his bare hands. =)

choc,
envy u le...can pump so fast yet achieve so much...i vision myself only pumping once or twice during office hr when i go back to wk and i duno will have so much nt...
lucky ur boss is understanding ya. =)

tracy,
my boy's neck pretty steady liao. he can hold his own neck when he is on his tummy or carry him on the shoulder but aft a while i think he is tired and he will drop his head down.

ant1712,
hahaha. if u hit jackpot must let us know le. hehhe

icebubbles,
u mean lochia ah? i also have it till i was abt 7 or 8 weeks then stop. i dun wan my menses to come back so fast lo. hehhee.
ya, my boy also makes alot of noises nowadays like he wans us to communicate with him =) all those woo, argh sounds makes me go gaga over him. hahaha
every morning when i wake up either he will be smiling at me or crying for attention. then i will spend abt 30mins to 1hr playing with him n talking human n baby language with him...love those moments....=)

Diamondust,
i think so babies grow, they slp lesser ba. mine also...every morning wake up b4 me le...last time i can wake up b4 him now cant liao. hehehe. aftnn my boy also slps for a short period only...unless i drown him with milk..hahaha.

icebubbles,
same here. hubby n myself do nt encourage the use of pacifier for my boy la but we keep our mind open when there is a day whereby it will come in use handy...

dolly23,
i also feed my boy in the car to prevent him frm fussing! hahaha. i bad mummy le. =p

Diamondust,
i stopped swaddling my boy b4 at ard 2weeks coz he will kick n move so much that he will un-swaddle himself..so tiring to re-swaddle him again n again so may as well dun swaddle liao.
i think it depends on individual babies ba. some like to be swaddle some dun. my boy seems to belong to the latter. =)

tracy,
nt so true abt the character clash thingy le. i born in the yr of pig while my bro born in the yr of tiger. we can get along well. in fact watever my parents duno abt my bro i seems to know coz he will tell me when i ask.
but then again, i wldnt wan to try for a baby in the yr of the tiger coz i am aiming for a gal...if born in the yr of tiger bcum tigeress then headache. hahaha. i also dun wan a baby in the yr of the ox coz my hubby born in the yr of horse..i dun wan to "zhou niu zhou ma". hahhaa
me n my senseless logic =P

jer,
paisay! hehehe. i thot she gave ur #2 solids lo =P
ya, my boy tends to push himself le...i put him also in the middle of the bed then i go do my own things, when i cum back he is always off his original position. he can even turn himself 90degrees frm the original position lo..then my mum will always nag n nag must use pillows n bolsters to "secure" his 4 sides...=(

choc,
i also milo with mamil mama and drink coz i cant stand the smell of dairy products. if nt for my boy i wil nt even touch milk unless its choc milk. so naturally when i got preg i mix mamil mama with choc coz i cant find the choc favour lo.

feval..
high 5! we mixed those milk with milo..hehee... same same... i tried frisomum and like the taste and continue on with milo lor...

aiyoo...i got to pump even faster in office..coz very guilty i using office hour to pump and waste their time... so pump n pump till hand numb lor.. somemore inside toilet... got pple on Q i will tell them.."paiseh, milking in progress".
haha..

now my colleagues wait too long will ask issit me...

ant,
my boy is drinking 110ml ebm every 2.5-3hrs at 10weeks old.
latching, he takes 30-45mins ah

re:pump
i tried the avent manual pump
i latch bb on my right and pump left
abt 10 mins nia, my fingers cramp liao
no strength maybe cos i not lefthanded very weak
cannot stand manual pump leh, u all very hardworking

re:milk supply
i had been drinking the anmum milk for pregnant mum since 3mths
but now nv continue with the breastfeeding one
cos i heard drink liao will grow fat?
pregnant that time nvm, but now my waist still stand at 33" leh.
tummy so big and flabby
btw, anmum for breastfeeding only has vanilla flavour

i was also taking fenugreek for the past 1mth,
but only one pill once or twice daily, supply did increase a bit.

now i am drinking a nursing mother's tea from MIM
also contain fenugreek and other ingredients that boost milk supply

re:menses
seems like my discharge also stop liao
now only waiting for menses to come
quite scary cos i scared suddenly come not prepared, then stain my clothes outside
gonna wear liner till then bah
waiting to see results =)

re:pacifier
still nv give my boy pacifier
whenever he starts to suck his fingers, i will pull away
then talk to him, make him forget abt sucking
works for me till now

Menses
for some of the mommy if you continues bfing and didn't reduce in pumping your menses won't come so soon... During my #1 my mense come after I stop pumping in office when my son is 12mths old.

Pump in office
My let down is so slow that I need to spend 30 to 45min for each session. Some time quite stress before going into my store room to pump 8( Today forget to bring 1 of the accessory end up only can pump 1 br at a time. Which mean spend more time inside lor. Luckily today not so bz at work.

poky,
we same age lah. Sianz, eggs dying liao. thought of closing shop before thirty cos they say after thirty harder to regain figure. But my hubby says want 3 kids, no way to finish production of 2 more before 30 leh cos i don't want the next one so soon.... somemore i'm thinking of stopping after 2, ask him go give birth to the third one himself lah.... hahaha, so xin ku he dunno. Here we are 'older mummies' hor, but strangely among my circle of friends i'm one of the first few leh...

felval,
no matter how i try to make my gal drink more so she will sleep longer, it doesn't seem to work. If she's full she will just push the bottle teat out from her mouth, no way to force her to drink more.

Jen,
wow, your gal power ah, can sleep till 9am. I'm so envious, my gal still not sleeping through the night. what time is her last feed?

Re: milk supply
I'm also taking anmum, mixed with milo or horlicks cos i hate powdered milk. But doesn't really seem to work. So far it hasn't made me gain weight though

Apparently there is this baby bonanza at United Sq from 15-30 July. Anybody been there to see recently, anything interesting or any good deals?

So happy gonna take a 3d 2n short break with hubby next week before i start work. I sooooo need a rest, but i think i will miss my bb, sob sob, mixed feelings.

birdy,

are you using the Avent manual pump ? if yes, can you check out the spares, remove everything and fix it back, then maybe u can try on your hand to see if the suction is strong or not.

the last time when i started to use manual pump, i also faced the same problem, i keep pumping but only like 10ml - 20ml... until i went to tracy place and we dismentled the parts and fix back, then i realise that the rubber is kinda of loose and we changed it... not sure if u understand what i mean.... hmm if not, you try the suction first then let me know ... see if i can meet and help you.

icebubbles,
me too, used to pump one side n latch the other side at the same time. but now only pump once in 6-8hrs. cos if pump in 3-4hrs interval, supply not enough to fill a milk bag. need to store n wait for the nxt round to top up. but stil need to cool it for another 4hrs b4 mixin n freeze. too troublesome. so might as well longer interval, 200ml at one go. =p but duno if this will affect milk supply or not.. =(

diamondust,
is it? u also a sheep? Hi 5! =) me same same, over here, one of the older mommies. but among my peers, i one of the earliest liao.. my dad is 40 yrs older than me. i dun wana follow his footsteps in still hv to worry abt providin for kids when alrdy in retirin age... i wana c my "grandchildren" leh... i think too far liao.. =p

Jen,
ur gal last feed wat time? can ko til nxt day 9am, v power leh!!

re:milk supply
i stil hv a tin of frisomum in the cupboard. hvnt start to drink. scare of gaining weight also. but prepare it juz in case if supply droppin too much... then will hv to try liao...

Dolly23,
is it? loose parts will affect that much? so far, all the pumps set i using r pre-loved. i didnt change it to the new spare sets... tot to "save" it when the pre-love one cannot make it... so far, stil can get let down, but to pump 200ml, need 20-40mins... depending on how many hrs interval pumpin.... mayb, i shld try with the new spare parts....

choc,
^5. but i realised mixing with milk powder with milo more thicker n heaty le...everytime got to drink alot of plain water aft tt if nt throat feel sticky n will have sore throat easily. u feel the same mah?
hhahaha! seriously u say milking in progress ah? my office also no nursing room for me to pump..think i have to pump in toilet also but cant take too long coz my snr nt v understanding lo...altho he is a father of one..i disappear for too long he will ask me my wk finish liao nthing to do izit...=(
u pump no noise ah? as in the milk dripping into the container sound. hehee. if yes, ask ur colleagues to look out for tt sound. hahhaa.

icebubbles,
i use inhse pump - my hands. then rotate lo. right breast use right hand, left breast use left hand...think pump too much or use too much force now fingers sometimes no strength to grab things. got once no strength to pump at all..
when my boy sucks his index finger i will tell him "No No!' then pull away. then he will stop n look at me then cont to suck.hehhee.

poko,
u manage to bfeed ur #1 till 12 mos! pei fu! i wish i can too. hopefully i can substain when i return to wk.

Diamondust,
my boy opp of urs...esp these few weeks...just last nite, he finish 180ml within 1 hr...at first give him 120ml which is the usual amt he drinks (sometimes cant finish, only managed 100ml) then aft a while he fuss and wan to drink more so top up 60ml for him which he finish n kuai kuai goes to slp. this 180ml managed to last him 4hrs...altho only delay him asking for milk by an hr...
where u going for the short break?

Cradle cap
Thanks ladies, my son's condition is much better now. I applied baby lotion, followed by brushing it with a soft hair brush.

Pacifier
I currently give bb Nuk. Like some of you experience, the curve gives a mark on my son's cheek. When we first introduce it to him, he also don't know how to suck. We hold it there for him. Now, he sometimes will hold it there himself to prevent the pacifier from falling off. I prefer to give pacifier than letting him suck his fingers especially when he starts to crawl, I don't want him to put those fingers in the mouth.

Ask you ladies, I do get sensitve nose in the morning. It will go away after I get in the sun for a while. These few days the sky has been cloudy, so my sensitive nose persist till afternoon. Can I still breastfeed? or should I discard the milk? If I see the doc, he will usually give my vit C only.

Peace I bf my girl even when I am sick now having cough, I believe my milk is the antibodies for her need.

WCT
I bf my boy till 18mths, 8mths tbm (he don't take frozen so all the milk he took are chilled one), after that introduce FM and stop pumping in office when he is 12mths, I still latch him when I am back home after he turn 1yr old. Take about 1wk to wean him off from latching. The reason why I presist on bf as is too convinence and also the close feeling with him. So if still got milk don't give up. BTW how you hand express, last friday I forget to bring one of the pump accessory and I try to hand express 1 side end up I didn't get much from that. But I heard it really clear our breast by hand expressing.

talk about "sheng xiao" People say 1 mountain cannot keep 2 tigers but my house now got 3. Don't know what will happen, and hor my son is a little chick.

WCT,

Thanks for the update.
I went to the gynae regards to my other bleeding issue. Again scan no problems however he advise me not to use any IUD at the moment. He says to wait 3 months to see how.

Copper IUD he charge $250! Mirena cost $500! *faint*

Aiyah, my pre-pregnancy weight last time (before my first kid) was 43kg. But seems like after every kid, I gain 1 kg at least. Hahaha..and can't seem to lose that kgs. =P

M sick now. Can't talk...cos lost my voice. But still proceeding on to go Genting. My Ah-girl seems to start recognizing people and place. She closer to the maid. But I have been trying to immerse myself with her at home however due to me being sick..I try to stay away for fear she get sick too.

RE: RASHES
My ah-girl having rashes on the legs now! Haiz..she cannot stand hot weather. Likes cool. (She doesn't sleep in aircon).

RE: NATIONAL DAY TICKETS
Anyone got 2 spare green zone tickets for actual day?

angela,
u also first kid? my sis also tiger. =)

Felval,
i use hand during pumpin also. but now both wrist kana sprain.. cos carry bb, pumpin, pattin bb whole day for 2+mths... wrist finally go on strike... =(

Poko,
haha, ur huse alot of tiger leh. nvm la, chick nvm, at least it not sheep.. cos it b 送羊入虎口.. chick cute cute, the "tigers" will play with him instead.. lol my hubby say to get a snake if possible. then it b 蛇鼠一窝 with my daughter.. lol

icebaby,
sick liao, stil want to go gentin?? u goin by coach or car? gentin journey so tirin, need to sit so long. u take care leh. i also plannin to go gentin with family, but at least when my gal is 6mths old. we intend to drive own car by followin his fren who a regular at the casino there.. lol... =)

my bb also scare of heat. but funny is, at night time she need to b swaddle.. after swaddle will be hot, then she start to cry, hv to open full blast for ceilin fan to cool her.. then she can slp.

Hi Poky,
Actually we plan to have 2nd one during tiger (老虎老鼠傻傻分不清楚)... but ur 送羊入虎口 wake me up... cos I am sheep.

RE: Weight
Left 1 more week to enjoy & going to start work soon.. so low morale... On top of that, my weight had been stagant for a month plus without going down anymore. Still have 6kg to my pre-preg weight but my target is 10kg... seem like 1kg also tough liao...

This week need to go shopping for office clothes le..

How do you mummies get back to original weight? Any exercise to recommend but not those jogging, weight lifting kinda of exercise?

Icebaby,
My boy oso start recognising ppl le... Dunno why my mil had been staying with us since he born but now whenever she carry him, he will cry now. But when I carry & she play with him, he will smile...

But my parents who doesn't stay with him & he let them carry...

RE: Sick
Ya.. I been trying to keep a distant from him when I caught with coughing but he also kana by me.. See him coughing now, I feel so guilty.

Hi Poky

Yes.. Is my first and last baby.. heehee! Only 1 for me.

Re : Menses
Was just talking about it and i just kana this morning. Who say BF wont have menses *sob* But also good that my menses report as wanted to do IUD~Mirena also. When about to clear have to go see my gynea and do it.

Poky,

yes, maybe u check out the spares, and see if they are any loose parts, it does affect the pumping and milk flow.

Angela,

High 5 ! Me also planning to have 1 and only baby, so my ah boi will be my 1st and last baby.

muzical,

the massage bonding class is quite fun, alot of babies over there, but did not manage to catch the full session, as abit noisy.... overall not bad.

forgotten to bring my videocam along to record. Anyway i have got a small pamplet on the steps, will scan and email to you. If not, i can also post over here, and scan with all mummies.

Luvbella,
haha, then plannin wat animal next?? rabbit?? =)

Angela,
i hope to hv three, or at least two kids. so cannot wait too long. my health all along not the fantastic 健康宝宝, even after this one, arldy alot of prbs, b4 n after the delivery. so if wait even longer when even older, duno if my body can take the stress or not liao. hhaa..

Dolly23,
can share with me if u scan the phamplet? tia

poky,
me not sheep, me monkey. Saw your profile says 28, me also 28 this year.
Yeah I agree with you, wanna see grandchildren... hehehe when children all big already then me and hubby still not too old can retire, travel and relax, yippeee.

felval,
wow 180ml is a lot. My gal record is only 150ml and that's a one off, after that she puked... haha. think her stomach very small/shallow.
I'm going nearby only, banyan tree bintan. Need a break and looking forward to their massage. Ever since taking care of bb, I'm chronically aching everywhere. Dunno if I have the courage to wear back my bikini by the pool though with my post partum body, hahaha

I am from Aug thread. I am doing a C-sect and wondering if it's ok to do it like in week 37+ or should I do it after week 38+ or 39+.

Question is for those whose baby is born in week 37+, are they generally lower in their immunity and falls sick easier?
I think it's safe after week 37 but hubby thinks otherwise. Any comments from those mommies who's baby is born in week 37+?

Thanks for comments.

Dolly & Poky

You only want 1 baby cos mine pregnancy is not easy. I have cervical incompetent, so i will have to go thru cerclage in order to have a baby. Is not 100% ... so i am worry. So 1 baby is enough as is just not easy mentally too..

poky / muzicgal,

i have left the massage guide in the car, will get it scan by tomorrow and post in here.

Angela,

yes, it took me almost 5 years before deciding to have a bb as i always place my work and life in top prority. Although now i am very contented and happy with the changes, 1 baby is enough for me, so that i can concentrate and give him my best.

Shint,

Congrats ! i have my c-sect on my 38 weeks, as my bb is in breech position, so my gynae had advised me to do it earlier rather than 40 weeks. So far .... *touchwood* .... my boy is still fine and growing well. But what is your reason for gg through c-sect instead of natural ?

Poko,

Where u get the olive oil? Smell strong? After u apply, need to wash it off? My ger oso starting to have cradle cap liao..

Re:Menses

My menses stil not here yet..Been 10wks after i deliver..Me nt breastfeeding too..

Hello Shint

I went thru c-sect also @ 35+6weeks due to high blood pressure. So far so good too... i dun think there is any issue on immunity as that dun detemine by date. If you have doubt, is better to check woth your gynea.

took out mittens in order to allow bb to have free time with his hands...
now he got a quite deep gash on his forehead....
this afternoon, fresh one, is two poke wounds with a bit of blood on his upper right eyelids and another not so deep but still a gash on his lower right eyelids...
my this bb buay tahan....he cries very loud very fast, mang zhang baby.....

Poko,

yes, i have dropped alot of hair starting from 2 weeks ago ... but think this is normal due to the hormones changed.

Buttercup,

my boy also got a few cut on his face after removing his mittens, they usually recover on their own after 2 - 3 days. dun worry.

dolly23
the gash on his forehead already 3 days still there...

now is those rough skin as the cut is recovering...
he damn strong..
there was this once he grabbed my underarm...so painful...so i scolded him and gave him a stern face so he will understand.

poko,
ask u ah, u mentioned tat u still latch him when he is 1yo, that time u still have bm? i heard that some mummies will just ket their babies suckle even tho no more bm...
how to express using hand..u know like latching ur baby on, 4fingers (index to little fingers) under the breast then the thrumb on the top of the breast then u pump. u can visualise wat i mean mah?

icebaby,
then i think meanwhile u just monitor ba. got any blood clots mah? u quite gd le la, with each pregnancy only 1kg and u still look petite lo.
u take care of urself ah, hopefully u recover b4 ur genting trip =) drink more water n water n water =)

poky,
ya lo...our wrist overworked. hahaha. my hubby says to do warm up exercise 4 the wrist b4 pumping but i lazy =P

Diamondust,
ya...180ml is indeed alot n it kind of alarmed my hubby n me...mayb tts why he doesnt look like he is 2mths 2 weeks lo...alot of ppl commented my boy looks big for his age.
I miss Banyan Tree Bintan~~~ excellent service, excellent time there when hubby n i went there 2yrs back for our ps. i can still rem the wonderful time i had there but ex right? hehehe. which villa u taking?
hmm..when u go there, u see alot of women with out-of-shape figures in bikinis too...so no worries. hehehe.

dolly,
voted for ur little darling =)

ladies ,

I `m very worried these two days ... my son seem to reject FM and can`t find ways to let him drink FM .

And i cannot be let him latch on as I`m going back to work in three weeks . Need to kick him the habit . And i very soft-hearted ...when he cried i will give in . Sooo sad ....my mum blame me for giving him BF in the first place .

I`m soo sad and angry !!

Dolly,

Voted for your baby.. tat hairstyle look like David Beckham.. hehe!!

Poko,

My ger experience hair drop too... But since last week, is much more beta. Is sad to see her hair drop and is her top... so look quite funny.

Jo

Will slowly get beta, be patient as after 3months of BM,it take awhile for him to adjust to new taste. Try alternate feed for the time being.

Why will people blame us for BF our baby? Is sood to BF isnt it... My mum dint BF me at all and i am always sick compare to the rest of my silbings. I am a SAHM cos i want to BF my baby as long as i can. So dun be upset... as BM is definately good for our babies.

Buttercup .

Alamah .... you should see my son face ...is full of scatch marks!!

hubby always said he is boy so let him be lah !!!

And he also a screamer too...can yell at his top his voice....haahh you can ask dolly23 .She seen him a few times !!!Her boy is sooo gentle hahah

hi buttercup,

no worries on their scratches, as they tend to recover on their own. My boy also got scratches from the day when i removed his mittens.

thanks for your votes !

Jo my girl also don't really like bottle feed, yesterday we feed her on bottle for 2 times total she only drink 140ml. Each take an hour to finish. Maybe you go out during his feed, he will still be fussy but at least you not around so won't be so heart pain. Just got to let him know that when Mommy is not around got to take from bottle. My girl will look for my br when she wanted to sleep, so I let my ang carry her she can find it bo bian also in the end sleep without it.

My girl hair drop is at the back, my hb say is due to she like to rub herself while sleeping.

WCT
As long as there are demand there will be supply, my boy that time only latch twice one before he go to bed and one is when he is awake.

I don't understand on the hand express, which mean I rub using my finger outwards? I try but very little milk come out. How much you can get in total every time you hand express?

Dolly23,
I've had a C-sect last round so this round go straight for C-sect lor. Cos gynae says baby not moving when i tried natural birth after being induced.
He also gave some vague answer that my pelvis bone is small but my baby was less than 3kg - only 2.9+

Angela,

So far, 2 gynaes I've seen all said ok to deliver after 37 weeks but din say if baby better to stay longer.
I'll ask specifically again when i see my gynae again. Thanks.

hello ladies

din log in for quite awhile.. since last friday, i'm back to work liao..
now just came back after work, having my last pump b4 i head to bed, then later 4.30am got to wake up for work again.
been really tired to sleep abt 4-5hrs each day.

at work, i pumped twice but got one day.. too busy, i only pumped once. engorged like siao lor

my milking finished liao.. nightz~ (yawn)