(2008/05) May 2008

Kelqi,

long time never see your posting ... feel tired is normal, and it will be worst if you have to take care of the bb on your own. So now with your CL, you better rest as much as possible.

I dun have CL lady, only my MIL for my confinement and now, i am on my own, except for the days whereby i sent my boy to my MIL place. At times, either myself or my hubby will rock my boy, as this will help to calm him down when he cry loudly, like tummyache or any uncomfort. I rather to rock him abit than to let him keep crying, as i am afraid that he may suck in wind and cause colic.

RE: Fenugreek

i have been eating for the past 1 over month, and so far, not much of side effects on me, and it does help me with the SS.

BTW, are you using manual or electric pump ? i realised that i can pump more using manual pump, just that it is abit more tiring and hand aching.

Tracy,

i made it, with your help using manual pump, and indeed the letdown is more and i can pump slightly more than my Ameda pump. Now i can walk around the house with the pump or sit infront of the TV and pump, just that hand is aching. Thanks

how do you gals resize the photos ? i want to upload my boy photo but dun know how to do it.

Gina,twinky,
I've tried increasing the amount to 110ml or 120ml, but its either he can't finish or its still the same, last him only 2hours. The PD mention before that he may have a shallow stomach and can't contain much so I gotta feed him small amounts but more frequently. :S

Poko,
There are times I don't pump at night but pump in evening before I go MIL house. Then at MIL house I bottle feed him. Still, it's 2hourly demand. Last night I didn't pump at night, he also asking for milk 2hourly.

My elder gal was also a 2hourly baby even when we supplemented FM so I kinda resign to my fate liao..She only turn to 3hourly at her 3rd month so I'm keeping fingers crossed my boy will switch to 3hourly soon too.

Dolly,
Haha, I didn't help much lah. You helped yourself by noticing the difference in the suction
I agree the Avent manual is convenient to pump on-the-go and gives better letdown. Last time I rely totally on this pump, but somehow this round my hands cannot make it. Really cramp.

Got bb here only poo poo once a day? My girl normally poo twice daily one in the morning another time in the evening. Then yesterday she only poo on the morning so I worry she might poo middle of the nite then she only do it the next day. Hopefully her pattern changed, if not I will be like yesterday nite keep waking up to see she poo or not.

dolly23,
i use finepixViewer, then i reduce the pixel and the size of the photo by right click and then selecting batch process and then resize image.

ladies ,

We almost died last night cos BB from 11pm till 5am dun sleep ..dunno what he want ..crying and
feed him ok ...change him ok !!

Dunno isn`t constipation ...is there anyway to help BB .

And try to feed him water .. he dun like ...spilt out !!

hello everyone... i super duper long time no log in liao... been on my own looking after baby... since confinement... my mum came to cook for me only... at nite only i take care of baby myself... after 1st mth, hubby went back to US liao... sob sob...

dunno how to find time also, got time, i faster sleep... where got the time on computer... jia lat... now Elysia sleeps better liao... i also sleep better so can finally log in...

my baby dun like to bathe, everytime bathe also cry like dunno what, her face will turn so red like cooked lobster... then cry until so much tears... so heart pain, but again cannot dun bathe right? i tried all kind of temperture leh... the optimum of 37 degree like dun work, i tried cooler... also cry... only once in a blue moon she will be guai guai dun cry... hai... dunno why also..

then she will poo so many times a day, my diapers of 36 pcs can only last me like 3 -4 days...

QUESTION:
can I store EBM from 2 consecutive session together in the same bottle? because i pump after every feed, and the amt not a lot like 2 oz so if i combine 2 session, then just nice can fill up the bottle, if not like very waste space leh... hahha anyone can advise me??

then hor baby poo poo like got streak of blood, but not all the time... wonder if i need to bring her see doctor or not... anyone also have this symptom?

dolly23, open the pic file using Paint, then go to image --> resize --> then for both horizontal and vertical , reduce the percentage.

jo,
u very kuai zhang leh....but if 11pm to 5am for me, i think i will also cry with baby.

my CL leaving tmr, so we will have to take care of him at night starting tmr liao. will share with you all my battle stories then.

Have you tried Ru Yi You?

Poko,

sometimes my boy also poo once a day only, and i did check with Dr Ong from TMC, he mentioned that it is normal, and at times, even bb didnt poo for 1 - 2 days, it's still alright.

Tracy,

you are right, very siong to use manual pump, so now what i did is to use alternate pump, Avent and Ameda. BTW, after seeing your boy, i have just tried to put my boy sleep on his tummy... lesser whining, and i didnt pat him, just left him there on his own, instead of the usual method whereby i need to carry and pat till sound asleep then put down, hope that this sleeping style works for him.

swifpygal,

i did combine and store 2 consecutive session together in the same container for my boy to drink, if the sessions are on the same day.
And i think you better bring your bb to see doctor, if poo poo got blood. My bb's poo is greenish yellow in colour.

Jo,

last time my boy also like that during the 3rd week, things will get better.

buttercup ,

Ya ... we tried also ...me nearly want to cry ... luckily hubby around to help out !!
About 4am ... i already knock off sleepin ...hubby entertained him till 5am ...really my god !!

Okie ..got to run ! Back later

Poko,

My bb oso poo once a day. Gt once he did nt poo for one whole day & ended up his poo the next day was sooo much. SO far she nv poo more than once per day.

Jo,

Ur bb so power ah. Can stay awake for so long. Then ended hw he fell asleep? U stil lucky ur hubby helped u. If were me, i think my hubby wil stil b sleeping like a pig.

Or is it too much wind in his stomach so he felt uncomfortable? U gt rub any ru yi oil for him on his stomach?

Swifpygal,

Me oso been looking after my bb on my own since i gave birth. (i stil doing confinement nw. 1 more wk to go). My hubby onli helped out once in a while onli. My MIL onli help to bathe her. The rest i'm doing myself. Feeding, changing diaper, wash/sterilize milk bottles. So tired.

Y ur hubby go US? He is station there? Or temp. down there? So poor thing. Hubby is nt ard wif u. He muz haf missed ur bb to..Take care..

Poko,
My boy sometimes also poo only once a day in the morning then keep till next morning when he will poo one HUGE poo.

Swifpygal,
I do combine pumps from two sessions of the same day together.

Dolly,
PD reminded me when place baby on tummy down position got to keep close watch and advise not to put in this position at night hor. Increased risk of SIDS.

Your boy looks like you! He's a smiley one.

hello ladies
din log in for the week coz i'm at my mum's hse.. #1 went m'sia with PILs for a week, juz reach home this morning.. poor gal, 1st time went kampung to have a taste.. came back with 35 mozzie bites... dun think i'll let her go m'sia with my PILs again..

now i'm pumping and latchin at the same time.. kieran latch one side while i pump the other.. sometimes pump only 60mls.. sometimes 120mls..
lucky kieran takes well to the bottle. now at 6 weeks old, he drinking 120mls!! i tot it will last him longer.. so i can sleep better at night.. but be it bottle or breastfed, he's still at a 2hrly feed...

tracy
occasionally my boy still will kenna choke but it's not at every feed liao

kelcqi
it's normal for u to feel tired coz somemore u r a 1st time mummy

to increase milk supply, maybe u want try my method? i eat oats for breakfast and supper.. and eat fish once everyday.. and drink plenty of water also.. then i'll latch and pump together.. coz my boy normally only feed on one side.. but if he feeds on both breasts.. i'll pump for another 5mins.. so slowly over the next 3days, i saw an increase in milk supply.. these few days, my breasts kenna engorged again

twinky ,

Ya ya ...we tried Ru yi you and everything .

Just now he manage to poo liao ..hopefully he is okie now !!

Pooh,

Poor gal ..oh noo must be veri pain and itchy !!

Re: pumping
hw do u gals count the interval for the pumping?
example start pump at 1pm finish at 2pm
if wan to have 3hr interval pump, is 4pm or 5pm???

Twinky,

Wah, you so lucky ah? Left 1 week only. Me still have 2 more weeks. Nono, to be exact, is 12 days! LOL, cos I'm doing my bb shower on 28 & 29, so 28 is my official off-confinement day. Keke... I can't wait to drink cold drinks, weather so hot...

Yesterday I also went to watch Incredible Hulk with Hubby after making my bb's birth cert. I was only out for like 5-6 hrs, come back I wanna zonk out liao... Den evening time I napped for 1 hr, at nite for the first time after so many mths, and prolly dunno when again I can sleep 6 hrs in a row without waking up. I miss my sleep...

Poko, twinky, dolly,

Haiz, I also dunno if the act is ok. Dolly, I feel the same way as you as in rather rock than she take in air but on the other hand I scare next time when I'm alone, it's gonna be very siong for me if I have to be rocking her whole day. The CL also rock her on the rocker, den nowadays when I put my bb still on e rocker, my bb started making noise. Urgh...

Dolly,

I really miss coming online and surfing away, chatting in the forum. Nowadays my time to myself are so precious, anytime I have to myself, I just lie down awhile and I always doze off...

I think I'll try Fenugreek a shot if my MS still no sign of going up. But I'm lazy to stick to 3 hrs interval also. I cannot take e 3 hrs routine so I go 4-5 hrs interval. Even 4-5 hrs interval my fingers n body so tired from the chore liao...

Me using Manual pump, Cos I also realized I can achieve more supply when I use manual, compared to electric pump. But Manual my fingers will ache and numb. Sigh. Really dunno what to do...

Swifpygal,

My bb also a Poo machine also. Same same, one pack of 36 diapers can only last ard 3-4 days. The most is 5 days. Now we add in liner at the diaper, sometimes when she poo little and the diaper nv kanna, we juz change the liner only. Save us on a few diapers. LOL.

Pooh,

How come your PILs nv put on Insect repellent for her? Poor gal.

My bb when she latch, she will also suck very hard and fast and she choke and cough also. I very bad mummy, sometimes I laughed at her and scolded her somemore. Tell her things like "you so inpatient, see lah, now choke liao..." Then my gal will gimme those innocent look and start crying. Machiam she really understand what I'm saying like tt.

How to latch n pump at the same time? Where got so many hands to handle e pump n bb? You very Li hai leh... Can teach me? I also take oat in the morning. Still not much help leh. Haiz...

Haha Kelqi,

Myabe ur gal noe fr ur tone & expression tt u r scolding her..Hehe..I din noe drink BM direct wil oso choke one. I tot when onli bottle feed then wil?? U all so gd. Me onli gt milk on my 5th & 6th day. After tt, totally dun haf. Wan BF futhern oso cannot.

I doing my bb shower on 22/6. So i gt 6 more days to go. Or rather 5. I decided to end my confinement 1 day earlier. Coz i wan go dye my hair & do medi-pedi. I wan to b a pretty mum on tt day. Haha. Wat a vain mummy i am. (*Lucky my MIL very open. She supported to my decision* Heng*)

sorry to interupt : my bb has outgrown her diapers, hence selling loose 70 pcs of pampers comfort size: M @$10. collection at parkway or aljunied mrt. pls email me at [email protected]

Poko,
Dunno how my hubby managed to get this shot also, guess it just happened to be the right time.
Dun let her smile fool you, she is quite a screamer

Jo,
My gal is now coming to 5 weeks. So far she seems to smile more for other people than for me.... hahahah. I'm sure you'll see your boy smile soon too!

Twinky,
I got the Sebamed baby lotion from kk, think it was about 10 bucks? Robinsons has it too. As for the Sebamed protective facial cream, kk doesn't have, got it from Robinsons original price $25.15, with 15% offf it's about $21. Have not tried their bubble bath but pd gave me a sample.

twinky ,

hahah ...same same me doing my boy`s full month one week earlier
on 22june but confinement till 28 may . But hahah dun care i will need to do my hair and shopping on coming fri .

Anyway i was out since last week ... dun really confinement rules ...my mum gave up on me and she going back to work ...phew !!!

Where will your BB full month will be ??

Diamonddust ,

Wondering when i get to see my boy`s smile ?

swifpygal
for my #1, his poo also got streaks of blood. not fresh blood, but a bit purplish like old blood. and the blood is v mucousy. is yours like dat? for him, the PD diagnose as milk intolerance. is your baby drinking FM?
the other possible reason is actually a bacteria that lives in chicken intestines that can infect young toddlers if never cook properly but is not likely for babies since they haven't started on food yet. and you don't cook so you can't possibly have the bacteria on your hands and accidentally touch the baby's mouth. for my boy, my MIL cook and never wash her hands properly and my boy kenna when he was one year plus. diarrhoea and blood for 1.5wks. *heart pain*

jo
wah! 11pm to 5am! i will peng san man!
maybe your baby got wind? when my baby fusses, is usually that reason. my hubby will then carry upright and hug tight tight to his chest. usually this will make her burp a few times, and then she can fall asleep liao.

Pooh,
So your bb same as mine, 2hourly feed no matter the amount. I also do latch and pump at same time if i'm in hurry to go out. Can get more milk cos bb sucking got more letdown.

But now if i not going to bottle feed him, ie skip one session of direct latch, i won't pump. Like ystrdy whole day latch, i never pump at all.

Lately my problem is he needs to suckle my nipple as pacifier then can sleep at night. He rejects the Nuk pacifier. This evening we going to buy few other brands to try. So past few nites i gotta latch him in lying down position from 9plus till almost 11pm when he unlatch himself then i make sure he's in deep sleep then transfer him to cot.

friedbandit ,

Aiya ...last night he throw temper at 2am to 5am . Second nite in a row ... maybe he got colic ...heard from dolly that colic start only in nite ... morning till afternoon he got no problem drinking and sleeping . Going to bring him to see PD later ....Arggg driving me crazy

jo,
does your baby fart? cause my aunt who works in the delivery suite says if baby is able to fart, then shouldn't be colic....
my bb farts a lot...

today my CL is leaving so tonight is my first night taking care of bb alone.

Jo,
My baby was colicky at 4-5weeks. I gave him abit of Infacol upon PD's advice for a few days only. As wat Buttercup said, now that he has started farting, he is less colicky already.

i remember my elder gal never farts when she was a baby and she remained colicky for quite some time.

Good day ladies

Twinky,

HAha, yaloh. Maybe she understands the tone. Keke... I damn bad, She so young I start scolding her liao. LOL...

My milk supply still no signs of improvement. I wanna ask your ladies hor, did anyone use electric pump to pump out first den use manual?

I use electric, den end off using manual. But by the time I use manual, my milk stop flowing. Urgh...

Jo,

So happy to have u company me. I also ending my confinement next sat. 28 days rite?

Buttercup , Tracy

But ..my baby fart quite often and got no problem wif his motions !!

Then what can the reason be .... realli headache . For the past the two weeks he been veri good boy ... can sleep from 2am all the way to 8am . But the past two days he wake up and refuse to sleep . And veri cranky and we done everything like feed him /change him/ giving ruyi you ... latch him also no way to coax him .

Kelcqi,
Last time with my elder gal, I started off with electric pump. Then almost one month later I switch to manual. I could get more supply with the manual.

RE: leaking breasts

hi all, do ur breasts leak? cos i dun wear bra at home, i realise the breast will start leaking even though i just pump. then they will leak after taking a shower or sometimes simply touch the breast.

so the front part of the pyjama is always wet. and will seep through the clothes and drip onto the floor. find it very very messy and i smell of the milk all the time.

Re: baby farting
my boy boy also farts a lot. then my MIL say it's cos there is a lot of wind in the stomach. which i also notice, if after a feed, he doesn't manage to burp, he will throw up milk after a while and start farting, maybe it's the body's adjustment to get rid off excess wind. Last nite, my boy throw out so much milk like mini merlion, very scary.

Re post partum review:
has anyone gone for their postpartum review with the gynae? understand there will be a pap smear rite? tmr is my appt, but i still got a bit of brownish discharge on off, can i still go or should i schedule another day?

Yanling,
after delivery, I've got bra and breastpads on 24/7! Breasts will definitely leak even after you pump.

I went for my review liao, no pap smear done. She only check the wound and do a scan on my tummy. I also had flow when I went to see her. Mine was red blood.

Yanling I also went for my check up liao he see my womb strink back liao or not... As for the test will be 1 mth later after everything is cleared.

I wear bra daily too if not 1 side bf 1 side will leak. But I don't put breast pad as if with bra it won't leak.

Just back from ICA she got her new Passport liao 8)

yanling,
me too, i went for my check up two weeks after i deliver. the gynae just checked the stitches and see if my womb has shrink.
Pap smear is scheduled two months later from that checkup.

Poko,
so fast you made passport for your bb! you all intending to travel soon?

gals,
i will be starting on my own tmr and needs lunch delivery. any of you have tried any meals delivery and can recommend?

Jo,
not too sure what your bb boy wants? could it be he is just cranky? let us know after you come back from the PD ya...

Yanling,

My bb oso fart alot. Even during feeding or sleeping. And she oso vomit quite often as well even after i burp her. If she dun burp after sometime, i wil let her lie up 45degree and rest for abt 15min to 20min. And stroke her chest softly. And this method works for me. So far, she 2 3 days nv vomit liao. (**Touchwood**)..Myabe u can try. But i dunno this method wil work for u or nt. But no harm trying.

Tracy,

Any idea under wat circumstances do we need o do a pap smear? I gg for my review on 30/6. The nurse there told me may need to do pap smear test. My gynae oredi check my wond & do a tummy scan for me. But i stil need go back c him again.

Jo,

Daytime he slp alot?? During my bb 1st wk at hm, i oso had a terrible time at nite. Gt once she torture me from 1am to 5am. After checking wif her PD, she tel me haf to let bb differentiate day & nite. Day time, make the room bright bright. Nite time, dim the light abit. I wil always wake my bb up ard evening time & play wif her until ard 10plus 11, so she wil b tired. After tt dim the light abit & tok to her, is time to slp liao. Haf u tried this b4? So far she is doing well at nite. Can slp ard 3 ot 4 hrs then wake up for milk. AFter milk, she automatic slp again. No need rock or pat her.

Hw cm like tt?? BB shower on 22/6 but confinement until 28/6?? Haha. Y u nv take this chance to end confinement earlier. I holding a buffet at home. Ard 70 pple. Dunno can accomodate so many pple nt. My bb is both side family 1st grandchild. So haf to celebrate.

felval- hw's ur bb haircut experience?

buttercup/jo- my boy is a fart king!! he dun like to burp.

yanling- i went for my review last wk. didnt do paps smear cos my menses came! i tot bf wil delay it but mine came so soon.

twinky- yalor. so wil hv to do nxt visit which is 5mths time. my gynae also advised to take precaution if dun wan another bb so fast. she said got 1 case, the lady preg again n wanted to abort cos her bb stil v young. so sad!

re:pap smear
i gng to see gynae next mon 23/06 ah
but till now i still hv jelly like yellowish discharge after 1 mth...
dunno normal or not leh
then like that can do pap smear?
cos she mention, she will do on next visit ah

re:pump
using manual really can get more milk?
i hv been using the avent uno all along
maybe can change to manual?
i need more supply ah

u know har....i have so many pumps..i got one electric one, one manual one, one battery operated one....so many many boxes of breast pads. All given by friends....
and i have no breast milk...
haiz....all these things are all sitting there and laughing at me.....

mommies, u all post more of your bb pictures leh! love seeing them,
twinky, your bb with the pout looks so much like my bb!
Jo, jorel with the jacket looks like xiao shuai gei!

yanling,
my breasts also leak. Last time I don't wear bra at home, now have to wear bra plus breast pads, super hot esp in the afternoons, but no choice.

Re: pap smear
I have an appointment next week for my first review plus pap smear. Wondering how come you ladies had review at 2 weeks and mine is only at six weeks? BTW is pap smear painful?

My gal has been drinking less milk since my CL went home, no matter how i force her she refuses to continue sucking. (I'm doing exclusive pumping) And her intake each time can fluctuate between 45ml to 100ml. Is this normal? According to my CL she almost always finished 100ml previously. The thing is, she doesn't seem sick or anything now.

diamondust,

if we are giving EBM to our babies, i think we have to watch our diet as well. Because watever we eat, it will be out to our EBM. Maybe you can recall what you have eaten during the time whereby your bb refused to drink the EBM or drink lesser.

My boy is also like that these 2 days, he is not rejecting my EBM, instead he is rejecting FM. He can finish up to 120ml - 150ml of EBM, but if i were to feed him FM, he will leave around 50ml, which means that he only drink around 80ml. And he is very smart, he will suck and usually stop around 50ml, no matter how much i force him, he also dun want and will keep crying. Once i stop forcing him, he is alright and will keep smiling. That's why i dun know whether to be angry with him or happy that he smile at me. I am also worried that he may not be full or if he is so used to EBM, and next time if i have got no more supply, he wun drink FM. So now i am thinking of changing his FM from Enfalac to Friso to let him try.

buttercup,

you dun have to feel sad or what that you have no milk supply, afterall you have done and tried your best.