(2008/05) May 2008

hi Poko,

which polyclinic did you go to, i tried calling Sengkang polyclinic to enquire as i am staying in Punggol, but the line seem to be either engaged or no answer.

Understand from Muzicgal that we can call and make appt, but dun seem to get through or can we just walk in ?

BTW, did you put your baby on tummy down to sleep during the day or night ? i thought of putting my boy to sleep in this way, but not sure if he can manage as the head is still not strong, and scared that he cannot breathe smoothly.

dolly- u can walk in to make appt. i went on mon, the nurse advised me to make appt so dun hv to wait so long.

pooh- my boy is 5.2kg liao. keke.. the nurse said i did a gd job in feedin him! haha.. nw my arms so tired even thou carried him for a while only.

poko- u brot ur bb to polyclinic for the jabs? my boy jus had his hep b jab at polyclinic n i goten pay $15. intend to take the 6-in-1 jab which wil cost $320+..

re: wt loss
i am sooo sad cos i stil got 10kg to shed!! tummy stil look like 4-5mths preg too. haiz =( this wk alrdy 5th wk leh. wondered hw long wil i take to shed all tat extra wt =(

re: bb makin noise n stretchin
my boy got alot of pattern nw! make alot of funny noises n he likes to stretch n his fav slpin position is a 'da', both hands pointin up n legs apart. lolz

re: shavin of bb's hair
anyone bringin bb to shave hair? i stil tinkin whether i shd anot.. my boy's hair nt much leh..

ant,

Did u brought your boy to AMK poly clinic for hep b jab on tuesday? I thot i saw someonw that look like u.

ant1712,

it's been long time since u post ... how have you been coping ?

i envy you and pooh ... my boy is so petite and really hope that he can grow and put on more weight. Currently he is drinking around 120ml per feed, is it too little ?

Re: Shaving of bb hair

My boy also got little hair, but i dun intend to do anything until his 4th month whereby my mum wants me to shave him and let him grow new hair.

Dolly the nearest Polyclinic around punggol is Sengkang Polyclinic next to Compass Point...

I didn't call in just walk in for the jab, I go early so that not so crowded... I reach there before 8, 1st time need to register then the susquence one will be by appt.

I only let Rayen sleep tummy down in the day time and when I am with her. Is good to let them do some tummy exercise and now she is able to lift up her head and change from left to right.

Ant
Poly clinic only have 5 in 1 and 2 jab for hab B, I will let her go for that. They will have a 9th Month free assignment too. Think to check on their motor skill and hearing.

My bleeding has recently turned brown, and today looks a bit like white discharge. Does it mean it’s about to be over?

Ant1712,
Haha, your boy sleep in a da word, so cute. My boy hor, always sleep with his hands up on each of his side. Initially, we always move his hands down, “aiyoh boy, don’t surrender!” but after awhile, his hands will go back up again.

Shave hair,
I cannot bear to shave my boy’s hair, but I thought I would like to shave his brows, so that when it grows again, it will be thicker. Boys with thick brows are very handsome one. Anyone knows where to get this brow shaving service for bb?

Ladies ,

My boy is drinking 60ml for the past two days and 30min latch on . But today evening he is drinking 60ml at 7pm and 20ml at 10pm.
Isn`t consider alot cos he is at 3.5kg
I really do not know how to estimate ... can someone advise on this ?

Thank you .

I need place to vent my anger ...arggg going to be depression !!

Hubby was telling me that when i BF , my mom just come in ..he feel uncomfortable and i feel it that way even thought i`m her daughter.
So i tole her that ...she unhappy and walk off . And i broke down for no reason .

Hubby wanted pirvacy with baby that why commented . I tell you i couldn`t take it ...everyday argue with my own mom . She kept on asking me sleep but always coming in and out of our room .

Do you ladies did not wash hair for a month ?
How am i going to endure and this is only my first week ......

peace ,

Hmmm ...can shave eyebrown one meh .... my boy also like no eyebrown . Luckily he got double eyelid and long eye lashes . But just that they are still hidden ..do not know whether it will shown later on .

Hi Jyzis

My 3 weeks old boy been having running nose since last week. Brought him to PD when we realise there's many spots on his hands and feet plus running nose. PD din prescribe any oral medicine, only nose drop and he mention only use it if bb having very block nose till can't feed then use. Till now 1 week liao, i haven use the drop. When my bb breathe, his nose will have the running nose kinda sound. Like alot mucus in nose and i feel so heartpain, make me cry few times. Feel like he has difficulty in breathing. But when check his nostrils there nothing leh. Use the mucus sucker oso can't poke too deep. Only wait for bb to sneeze the mucus out then quickly wipe off before he breathe in again.

My CL suggest applying Vicks on bb nose and chest. But till now i dun dare to buy it for her though she keep asking. Can apply?

Re: Shaving bb hair

I oso dun bear to shave off my boy's hair. But my PIL sure will keep nagging. Sianzz..

Re: bb makin noise n stretching

Mine always stretch till whole face become very very red. Then sometimes he will cry out loud after stretching. So when i see him stretch i will standby for his cry liao...

re : Vicks

harnee, we cannot apply vicks on bb nose and chest, coz the menthol in vicks itself is too strong for bb to take.

my #1 also had block nose when she was abt 3 wks old. we use the nasal drops given by the doc, it wrks. i also bought snuffle babe vapour rub. it is actually meant for 3 months baby and above. but i dont apply it on my #1's body/nose. i will dig out the vapour rub, rub it onto handkerchief and tiethe handkerchief on the baby cot (out of babies' reach) or her clothings so that it helps relieve her blocked nose.

hope this helps..

re : breastpump suction
haiz.. i think my medela is failing me.. think use manual pump better.. anyone using the medela electric plus / avent duo? can share whether the suction is good? i think medela's suction getting weaker for mine...

re : binder
dolly, it's ok, i understand how busy it can be when it comes to looking after the baby on your own. sometimes dont even have the time to visit the toilet! i shall wait for the binder patiently hahaha

RE: Vicks
Today, my massage lady oso told me that Vicks rub is too strong for baby and if applied on chest, it'll cause more phelgm. The best is to apply a little bit on in-between baby's eyebrows.

RE: Weight Loss
I'm oso struck at the same weight. Haiz... Even after I went thru 6 times of massage. When my MIL learnt that I wanna go for massage, she commented to my husband that I waste $. =_=

Jer,
My CL oso taught me the method. Put your finger near baby's mouth, if baby keep turning to your finger, it means your baby is hungry. I have tested and it's true.

Jo,
My CL recommended me to wash hair fornightly and after that, hv to blow dry using hair dryer. Even after cutting my hair short, I still feel dirty, so I wash my hair with powder shampoo.

moony.
u very lucky leh...3 hourly...mine will scream and scream if i pass the 2 hour interval...hai...i pump till sian... if i latch him on ah..kns wan..suck for 10mins then slp..unlatch will scream...then my parents will knock my door..ask me need help bo...hahaa

end up now i pump every 2 hour..for tt monster...sometimes i also feel like crying...esp in middle of nite... when i had to express within 5mins to keep his cries to minimum...damn stress and my hubby..sleep like a log

pooh!
ur baby 5.5kg liao ah! i will weigh him tml morn...hehehe..see how much my boy is liao..haha

jo..
ahem..i wash hair in my 3rd week i tink..super itchy and buay tahan..shhhh

for me the weight loss is like a few days half a kg..still working towards my pre preganancy weight... hahaa
left 4 more kg...lose 13kg liao! work hard!

oh ya...why the menses like always got one ah..when will it stop...hai...me into 5th week too... i wonder now issit menses or lochia...

i didnt go for malay massage leh..coz of my stupid skin..so sensitive...always rashes here and there...bek chek man..

oh ya..i have been MIA for a while...coz of my baby lar...every day so so tired...feed him, wipe his backside...wash the pump.,..hai..

no time leh...my mum going home this weekend...next week be ALL ALONE...omg...

die liao

Please excuse me for interrupting for this commercial break:

===================

BULK PURCHASE FOR LITTLE BIG SHOTS PACKAGE AT STUDIO LOFT!

==================

I am from the Jul08 MTBs thread and I'm organising a BP for LBS. If I can get 10 mummies to sign up for this BP, we will enjoy the following package:

1 unlimited photo session of 30 minutes for our little precious with 3 outfit changes (own clothes). In the end we will have the following prints at <font color="0000ff">$90</font> - 1 super 8R + 4 x 5R shots (add $15 per additional person).

The current price is now $120 for the same package as shown in their rate card: www.thestudioloft.com.sg/rates

If we have more than 15 in the group, we will enjoy a special price of $200 for the CD of all shots of the photo session (unedited), instead of $250

To look at their work, do check out their website or scroll up to some of the older posts:
http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/

Interested parties please PM me. I will collect deposit of $50 upon confirmation, and the remainder of $40 when the BP closes. If we don't meet the minimum number of mummies of 10 by the end of June then I will refund all deposits.

<font color="0000ff">The only restriction is that your shoots have to be scheduled between 1 July and 30 Sept 2008.</font>

Mummies participating
-------------------------------
1. Pinkbunny

icebubbles,

it's normal. It looks abit blue black on mine still (and I already 1.5mths after giving birth). I still have 4kg to lose too...and a tummy that won't go flat!

buttercup,
Yupe. Relax abit. U over pressure urself...ur own body and the baby will know. So it makes it harder for u and the baby.

Cheri,

Same with me. Mine is like....going to stop...then suddenly fresh blood. And yes, been over 5 weeks. My 1st 2 births by the 1st month stop liao. Haiz. It's not affecting me much BUT hor..macham like having to wear padding everyday is irritating!

Vel,

Your hips esp will take some time to shrink back because it was made wider during pregnancy. So dun worry about that okies. It's totally normal. For me, I had pants/jeans that is loose fitting and now I wear is like tight or just fit. So seriously worry not...the hip and pelvis bone will get back to shape but it's abit slow. Also depends on individual, it might stay abit wider than before (for me it did after my 1st 2 birth but it's not that bad).

ant1712,

Try figuring out what's the cause of the weight. Maybe if u like, u can let me know what u is ur eating habits and amount u eat everyday. Cos everybody lose weight differnetly. For me, I ain't losing anymore cos I still eating dinner every night. Once I dun eat, i tend to drop. However, since I go home every night, I no choice but to eat. I waiting to officially go back to work then give excuse when I get home that I too tired to eat..but instead will eat bread or some cereal instead.

choco,

You can still go for ur massage. If u cannot take their OIL, u can use whatever cream that you have. i.e. if u not allergic to johnson baby condition and oil...can use that. That's what I did when I had my massage at one stage when I started the rash. Although if u cannot take the ginger oil, the massage will still help u lose some wind and also pushing ur womb back to place. =)

Jer,
When I told PD my boy drinking 100ml every 2hour, he said thats quite alot leh.

Cheri,
My bleeding lasted 2wks then seems to clear off. Then on the 4th week bleeding again like menses, I tot was my menses but it smell like lochia. But it cleared in a few days and now its completely cleared liao. So it took me about 5wks to completely clear off the lochia.

Ant,
I'm shaving my boy's hair at 4mths and the eyebrows too. Did that for my gal previously. Going to use Taimaobi again, use his hair make into brush and put his umbilical cord into the name stamp. Did it for my gal so to be fair have to do same thing.

Choc,
My fren had sensitive skin so the massage lady applied Desitin cream on her tummy to act as a barrier before putting on the binder. You can test Desitin on a patch of your skin first.

was reading the thread about bb having blocked nose...mine also, he is going to be three months...i din do anything..cause i thought he too small and its 'normal'...my cl just wipe the dried muscus off whenever it gets pushed out....do i need to bring bb to see PD?

Anyone staying in Sengkang area and currently on maternity lve?

I bought fenugreek yesterday. took my second dose today, breast still feels soft despite not pumping during night....hmmmzzz....

Hi Tracy, how do you put umbilical code into name stamp?

Tracy, how did you pay for the brush and the stamp at taimaobi? any reason why at 4 months? wanted to shave bb at full month, but all my family members say better not, while all my frens ask me why i didn't do it and say i should..

buttercup,
here's how the umbilical cord stamp looks like:
http://www.taimaobi.com/index-2.html

Lynn,
The brush and stamp depends on the design you choose. My MIL say hokkien is 4 months. Anyway full month the baby's head still too soft to shave. We only cut abit of hair at full month for significance.

Tracy,
thanks for the advice. me very prone to blocked ducts. so dunno whether the method you mention will work or not. cos i just delay one pumping session by a bit, i can feel the lump oredi sigh...

later i am going back office to delivery full month cake... dunno who started the trend, everybody must give one box lor.. sigh.... so boh bian have to follow the tradition. i am ordering from PIne garden, the box from the picture looks nice. two red eggs, two ang ku kueh two glutinous rice, one mini eclair, one mini tiramisu and one mini cheesecake cost 9.85. looks good. plus they can help me print baby's photo too.

Tracy, Lynn,
me also thinking of getting the brush and stamp from taimaobi. in fact, we got our baby's name from them too. according to the lady, if doing the brush and stamp as a package, they will do home service. and there is a $38 voucher in their boooklet which can be used if doing the package. think can shave either at one month or 4 month.

hi icebaby, ok...hee hee, me looking for mums staying in SK area on maternity so if i bored during second or third month, can meet meet at compass point to relax relax....kekeke

my bb makes funny gasping noises when he is bottle fed with FM, does any of your bbs make these noises too?

buttercup,
keke, i tink got 3 of us staying in punggol

when my bb gasp while drinking FM, the flow is too fast for him.

hmm...me using avent teats for new borns...that should be the slowest flow already....but he still making gasping noises whenever he drinks....and then the milk will spill all over his chin...

on my first day back home, that was what happened..he cry and cry, suck the bottle, then like want to choke like that, then all spill out...then i want to cry....cause me also in pain and i had my nephew with me who was very restless so i also pek chek....
luckily my CL came, and i practically shove the bb to her....

during my pregnancy, i was very very busy with work and work late, by the time i get home, only got energy left to brush teeth and wash face before plonging on bed and sleeping...so me din really read up on things i should....so now a lot of questions and uncertainites....

Buttercup,

my bb will also make funny gasping noises when i bottle fed him, either EBM or FM.

BTW i am staying in punggol, and i will usually go to compass point at least once a week, the nearest shopping centre nearby. so i can meet you for coffee if you want.

Tracy,

yes yes, me also hokkien, and my mother also wants me to shave my boy during the 4th month as he does not have much hair. My mum said that after shaving, then the hair will grow and nice nice. BTW, i think i will also go bacm to Taimaobi as my boy name is also from there. But the only thing is that my boy got little hair, not sure whether enough to make into a brush or not .. hehehe

i bei tahan liao, discussed and agreed with my hubby to bring my baby to my mil place starting from next week, so that he can get used to it, when i go back to work ... so at least i have abit of R &amp; R before i start work, if not, i will also go crazy and shacked out ... last night, my boy woke up every 1hr, not for milk, but wanted ppl to cuddle and carry.

Hi Cheri,

i am also in my 5th week, and my menses and lochia also seem to be cleared, no more wearing pad, but i abit KS, so i still put on panty liner only.

Hi ladies..

I am frm the June thread,been readign this thread for soemtime so would like to join here too =D...hope u all dun mind...hee...

I have given birth to a bb girl on 23/05 and now bb is 2wks old..I am also having prob with my MS...maybe becos i only pump 4-5hrs once...

For e past few days, my bb can't sleep at nite...woke up almost every 1hr crying, wan us to carry and coax b4 she goes bk to sleep..wonder if this is a sign of colicy bb..

Buttercup,
I am staying in SK =D..

feifei,

Welcome to this thread.

My boy has got abit of colic 2 weeks ago, have brought him to the PD, and have improved, after i gvn him the Infant Colic Drop. So usually when he woke up at nite, it is normally 3 - 4hrs, asking for milk or cuddle. Except for last night. He also woke up almost every 1hr, wanting to cuddle and carry. Initially i thought that he was hungry, and make milk for him, but in the end, he also dun want to drink. And since i am bringing him for his 2nd Hep B jab tomorrow, i will check out with the PD again.

So maybe you can monitor your boy behaviour, and if it continues, then maybe you want to bring him to see PD.

Dolly,
Tks =D..

i see...so 2wks ago how u know he has colic? also wakes up often at nite? will he squeeze his tummy n legs?

My bb loves to stretch her legs and hands leh...tink she is on e big side, mayb no space for her to stretch in my tummy..haha =D...

Ya lor, been happening for 3nites liao...hope she is ok...sometimes she sleeps halfway will cry de..TInk she has nitemare, will cuddle her awhile and put her bk to her cot to sleep...

Hi Yanling ,

Do you have any contact or website for the pine bakery . As doing research for his full month .

Buttercup ,

My son got the funny gasping noise when BF not bottle feed . I was thinking it might be the mucus in his nose ... i tried to clear it with sterlise cotton ball. But dun seem to be able to as their hole very tiny .

Do anyone know is there a technic to do it ??

RE: oily hair
I wash my hair every 2 days using the herb water &amp; bath daily because I cannot tahan not washing my hair. During the daytime, I will bun up my hair so that it will not look messy &amp; less sweat.

I think I am not doing the properly confinement... hopefully will not have side effect in future.

RE: Dye Hair / Perm Hair
Do you know whether we can dye or perm our hair if we are breastfeeding now?

Hi Dolly &amp; Tracy,
I am also staying at Punggol...

feifei,

yes, my boy can sleep very soundly at night, and suddenly woke up and cried in sharp and loud voice, then you can also see his legs squeezing his tummy. So to play safe, i brought him to the PD. but during the PD check, PD did not find any colic in him. PD did mention that colic will usually affect the baby from evening onwards, and especially at night.
btw i brought my boy to kidslink at sengkang.

Luvbella,
I also not doing proper confinement lor..,hehe...bath everyday, wash my hair every 4days, on fan, aircon, nv wear bedroom sliipers...hee..

I also wanted to ask if we can do rebounding now...cos hair looks so messy, wanted to look meimei during bb's full month =D>

Buttercup,

No probs. I am free and easy. Can just give me a PM when u like to meet up. Cos sometimes I will just go to the library there sit and read. =)

Dolly,
I see..seems like my ger having the smae symtom as ur boy leh...but hor, all along she likes to stretch her legs and squeeze her tummy leh...hmm..

I also bot my ger to kidslink at SK, seeing Dr Tan...u too? ;p.long Q there hor..

Jo,
My mum also nag and nag at me for switching on the fan, and sitting in the living room when she thinks I should be sleeping. Every time she comes and visit, she will chase me to the bedroom, even though it’s 12 noon and lunch is almost ready. Then after lunch, she will go on again, chase me to sleep in bedroom. It also irritates me. I mean, I am having confinement period, I don’t need to lie in bed like a sick person. I understand I need to take care not to catch chill, so I moderate fan speed and make sure the fan circulate the air in the room instead of blowing at me non stop. I explained to her, and she has no choice but to leave me alone.

Re bath and wash hair. I try to keep to weekly hair wash, and I take daily shower, all these using the boiled herbal water only, not the tap water.

Harnee,
My boy too will stretch until the face very red. The noise he made sound like trying to pass motion, as if he had a big time constipation.

Icebubbles and icebaby,
My tummy does not look blue black, but it looks like lots of dark brown pigmentation, especially at the naval area and there is a brown vertical line in the middle of the abdomen. I wonder will these brown lines and pigment every going to go away.

Peace,
Ya lor, if my mum sees me do wat i am doing now, she will do e same like ur mum lor..hee
My vertical line also still there lor, duno when then goes away...looks so ugly now...

icebubbles and icebaby,
I also dun hv blur black, only feel abit pain when i press below my belly button...duno y lor..Duno is it becos of my wound as i had epi-csect...

Hi Jo, i just asked a fren and she say can use the suction thingy for babies to suck out the mucus...i haven't tried it yet...

Hi icebaby, dolly and feifei, yeah! i got kakis liao....how to arrange after my confinement is over?

btw, when you all go out by yourself now, do you all use pram, sling or just carry the baby?

Dolly,
Oh yes, I also takign fenugeek now..takign 3 tablets, 3times a day to boast my MS..seems like it does work...maybe becos i only pump 4-5hrs once, so mx still not alot..only can pump both side 100ml each time...hows ur MS?

Buttercup,
hehe...me still in my confinement lor...confinement will end on 23rd June..how abt urs? I duno how i will carry bb if i bring her out myelf leh...haven got a chance to try yet..hee

hi feifei, i also not doing proper confinement...i worse...i wash hair and bath using normal tap water on my third day, on aircon and fan at the same time, never wear slippers also...

my hubby never believes in all this....on my first few days when i complain, he just say go bath lah...then when i finally bath on third day, he like so happy!

then i got scolded by my mum....but me still washing hair and bathing but using herb water now.