(2008/05) May 2008

hi vel, *nod nod head* i have the same problem as you too...whenever bb cries or is cranky and i carry him, he cries more cham!
then when i pass to hb or cl, then he stop crying after a while....
asking hb same question also, thought he supposed to be closer to me? my hb reply is 'he knows its mummy mah, mummy can 'bully' mah'....

i also have a dog at home and well meaning relatives have been asking me to get rid of him...the dog has been with me for 6 yrs! thing the msg 'a pet is for life' haven't gotten to a lot of pple yet....

hi, my boy also hv the snorting sound and my PD was sharing with me, it is alrite so long the baby bretahes well and is not breatheless...as the airway is still very narrow at their age, snorting sound is quite common.

wat i did was to let him sleep w/o aircon and from 1mth 1 week, we on aircon no more stuffy nose problem. hope it helps.

mrs cheong & dolly,
thanks for the info
my bb #1, so he dun hv the cda $
think perhaps to save trouble, i will bring him to PD since need to go for his 1st mth assessment.

scared of the queue at polyclinic ah
later he cry i dunno wat to do there
me lousy mummy...
i dun think i dare to bring him out alone

mommies, my bb is crying again....rub oil, change diaper, carry, rock rock all no use...luckily now got CL, next time i really dun know how....
*feeling scared*

Re: Confinement

This my 3rd week confinement, I already sneak out to do my rebonding yesterday! I told my stylist i'm still doing confinement, she said will apply the chemical 2 inches away from scalp. Then this stylist's 2 sisters are working as confinement ladies so she has some experience. She commented i dun look very good. She said if my confinement did well, i shld look very rosy. Then i agree tat lots confinement food i dun eat, like kidney, trotters. My CL start brewing tonic on 3rd week every night. The stylist ask me must take as much tonic and take Dome every morning and night. But i scared will affect BM leh, so dun dare.

I bath and wash hair on my 5th day using tap water. Worst, use fan to blow dry my hair! Coz hair dryer makes me sweat again. I on the fan everytimeThe week when i discharge, is a very hot week in May, so i can't endure. Following these 2 weeks weather much better so i only wipe my body with warm water CL prepare everyday.

Haha, my mum agree to come over my place on Mon to look after bb and CL so i can go out shop for my bb shower clothes. Still can't fit in my pre-preg clothing yet.

Re: Baby jab
I enquire abt the 5in1 or 6in1 jab with Dr Ong from TMC, he encourage taking the jab one at a time. He explained that the all in 1 jab have higher chance of develping fever and babies only few months old not good to have fever.

I make an appointment with the polyclinic for my boy's 2nd Hep B jab. Aiyoo.. gona bring him for jab alone, duno i can handle anot.
Here's the website:
http://www.nhgp.com.sg/contentview.aspx?article_id=563
Can dial the call centre for appointment : 63553000

Momsy
I dun have the habit to on aircon but on fan in baby room for circulation. Now baby having running nose, i dun let the fan rotate liao, fix it at the direction away frm bb. Seems better, not much snorting sound. But this morning raining, running nose again.

Re: BM supply

The best i pump now only 90ml both side, still 1 hour.

Re: When CL leaves...
I also duno if i can cope after CL leaves. Yesterday 1st time bathing my boy. Really chaos! He's so wormly and slippery in water when naked! Follow CL's instruction to bath but i still at lost, duno where i place my hands, very gan chiong. Finally after bath bring back to room to dress, then realise i didn't wash his hair! haha.. CL also overlook. The CL bring him back wash hair again.

Pooh,
Wow, the cake so nice leh =D..

sugar,
mammy poko fo rNB is better? prehaps I will try to get the mammy poko NB diapers to try..Really disappointed with Pampers..

Peace , Vel,
Our babies will sure know who is their mummy de..its just that maybe we still can't get hold of their temper and behaviour yet...sometimes my ger,when i carry her, she cries even louder, i try singing to her and i feel it helps to calm her down lor..

Harnee,
I also tinking of doing rebounding in 2wks time..
I also can't make up my mind whether to let bb take the 6in1 jab anot...

Jo
I also use Pine Garden for my girl's first month. I ordered the BFM01 for the relatives (traditional type with ang ku kueh and glutinous rice) and the BFM03 for my friends (the modern kind with 9 kinds of their cakes), but i modify the type of cakes inside coz i like their Lychee Martinee and Orange Zest Choc etc. Just top up a bit more.
Their cakes are nice. =)

Lynn
If your girl's poop is green, means she's getting too much foremilk, and not enough of the hindmilk in your BM. Try latching her longer on one side so that she can get the hindmilk as well before switching her to the other side.

friesbandit, i'm giving my girl EBM cos i can't latch her properly. any other reason for the green poop? she had 2 times greenish poop, and then after that and today back to normal. really wonder why as there's not much changes.

Feifei,

I had tried using pampers and drypers but it is either leaking or size is too small.
I switched to Goo.N diapers on my ger.
It's cheap, soft and absorbent. Only $15.50 for 58pcs.

s(harnee),
So envy dat u managed to sneak out to do rebonding. My mum is doing confinement for me and I hv no excuses to leave the hse.

Re: BM supply
Is pumping of BM of 60-90ml both sides per session for 3 sessions per day consider normal? Or is my BM low in supply?

friesbandit ,

Oh realli ... but hubby said the box not nice .
But i think the cake is nice ....!

We are considering getting The Pines Garden or Sweet Moments .

Feifei,
I've also switched to GooN S size cos the cutting is longer. Nepia leaked. GooN can at least last my boy abt 5hrs at night.

Peace,
the angbao for CL's first day i just gave $28 for significance. The angbao for her when she left i gave $200 cos i felt she deserved it. So its up to you how much you wanna give based on her performance.

Dolly,
This is wat i'm gonna do when i return to work:
1) EBM - Every morning bring approx 800ml of frozen EBM to MIL place transporting it with my fridge-to-go. (my boy drinks 100ml / 2hourly)

2) Pumping at work
i)I'm bringing my Ameda pump to and from work.
ii) My office has a spare room.
iii) My office has fridge where I can store my milk, but i'm considering buying a mini 6-can fridge to put at my desk for easy storage.
iv) I'm gonna pump at 9am, 12noon and 3pm. I'm planning to pump one side into bottle and the other side into Lansinoh milkbag direct. Then after each pump, pour the bottle one into the milkbag then store in fridge.
v) Then i putting my pigeon travel sterilizer in office to sterilize my pump and the one bottle.

At first when you return to work will have alot of adjusting to do with regards to pumping. But gradually you will adjust and trial and error till you get the best arrangement for your pumping.

Hihi ladies,

Thanks for all e encouragement. Today I finally cross the 100ml total of both sides. So tough. I pump like almost an hr cos my nipples still very sore. So I pump real slow. I dare not even use the UNO now, only using Manual cos my breast now still not season to
BFing yet.

Been so busy being a cow and servicing Erica. Sigh, I've been having sleepless nites cos my CL snores real loud. Sigh Pooh, me also a Panda now liao.

I wanna ask you all hor, like if Sore nipples, we can use the BM to heal e soreness then apply nipple cream rite? But I have small small sticky stuff on my nipples there. I tried clearing it away with cotton and it bleeds. Eeeks... I dare not latch my gal on cos I scare she took down the blood. Any advise how i can air my nipples? cos now confinement cannot dun wear clothes, i used Avent breast shell and those milk collected, I wonder if they can be used?

Today we brought our gal to Polyclinic for check up, ended up bb having mild jaundice. I feel so helpless loh. My CL nv cook me ginger n sesame oil for my food cos she know bb having Jaundice. Then my mum insisted I should be taking ginger and Sesame oil, den she blame the CL for not doing a gd job in taking care of me. She unhappy, den go tell e CL lah. Keep coming to me and telling me all these, I feel so pek chek loh. Sometimes I feel that my mum is not understanding. Why can't she just respect the way my CL does things and trust her on her experiences? Sigh. I feel like crying man. I now worried my bb's jaundice will go up since my mum INSISTED i take ginger in my diet.

My MIL and FIL another ppl making me worried. They come over to see bb, MIL happily rocking the baby away. FIL said give baby pacifier. All against my wish. Thank God Hubby understanding. He told his mum to stop rocking the baby and his dad that we're not giving pacifier. I think if without my hubby's support now, I'll be in depression again real soon.

I super worried next time how my MIL gonna take care of bb next time. Although hubby told her not to rock, she still rock abit when hubby not looking. But I don't wanna open my mouth, I rather hubby tell her himself than later she gets the impression that I'm teaching Hubby to go against her. Sigh.

Now I super looking forward to hubby and I at our own house. At least we have the privacy and space to handle our own baby. Today hubby and I went out to get bb's chinese name. So happy to get out of the house and to spend some time alone with Hubby. We sat at Mac and talk for hours. I suddenly miss my days without a baby, or even my pregnancy days. I told hubby I miss my big tummy. Although xinku, but the feeling is good knowing you are providing for someone inside u. Sigh....

Jo,

Me washed my hair the next day my CL arrived. My Mum made alot of noise when she found out abt that. LOL. Now she control me, tell the CL dun cook me the herbal water so I cannot bath. I m given a pail of clear water to wipe myself. In the toilet, I use e toilet and let water run over my body n put soap. Wah, shoik! Only thing is my hair very oily...

Jo, Peace,

You're not alone. My bb also seem to be comforted by my CL only. She treating me like a pacifier before sleep also. Juz now I went out, my bb refused to sleep. Until I came home, she latch for 5 mins and knocked out. Win liao loh... Other times she cry, I carry, she still crying. My CL took over, peace restored. Sigh...

I told Auntie how, if she goes back, I sure die liao. I intended liao. I told hubby we get a carrier. Then everyday he goes home to work, I go his place wif him, den evening we come my mum's place together. Dunno if tt plan will work...

Kelcqi, Jo & Peace,
my girl is lidat too. My guess is that when I carry her, she smell our BM and wanna latch on. That's why only CL can pacify them bcos they dun hv BM smell.

kelcqi, peace, tracy,
u all still only at 12am, 1am +++?! not sleeping? :p

wah, so pump have to pump for an hour! me pump only twenty mins both sides..

Tracy,

it seem like that you have done your planning whereas i am still pondering what to do. I cannot have a fix timing to do my pumping, and moreover i am in sales line, so most of the time, i will defintely be out of the office, so need to find a public place to pump, if not then it will be in my car, so i dun think i can stick back to the 3hrs pump schedule. If i am out whole day, i think that i should be getting icebag as well, right, in order to preserve the EBM ?

RE : Pigeon Rapid Sterilizer

BTW, are you also using the Pigeon Rapid Sterilizer ? I am using it, but i realised that the base of the sterilizer seem to be like rusty, and the water turned brownish. And also, there is a smell whereby my hubby commented that it is smelly, and the smell follows all the bottles that i have sterilized, and some of my bottles are etarting to turn yellowish. I read from the pamphlet given and it mentioned that it is not rusty, but just that we need to use vinegar or lemon to wash it, did you experience the same thing ?

Hi Kelcqi,

bb having mild jaundice seems like a normal thing as babies liver is still young and immature. My boy also having mild jaundice and we were asked to go Sengkang poly for monitoring four times.
by the fourth time, finally the level dropped to low and bb is cleared!

regarding your feeling, me too. I told my hb its like an anti-climax. I miss my carefree days also and there are days i imagine how life will be like now if bb is still back in my tummy. i think this period is a time of adjustment for us.

===================

Sorry to interrupt.

BULK PURCHASE FOR LITTLE BIG SHOTS PACKAGE AT STUDIO LOFT!

==================

I am from the Jul08 MTBs thread and I'm organising a BP for LBS. If I can get 10 mummies to sign up for this BP, we will enjoy the following package:

1 unlimited photo session of 30 minutes for our little precious with 3 outfit changes (own clothes). In the end we will have the following prints at <font color="0000ff">$90</font> - 1 super 8R + 4 x 5R shots (add $15 per additional person).

The current price is now $120 for the same package as shown in their rate card: www.thestudioloft.com.sg/rates

If we have more than 15 in the group, we will enjoy a special price of $200 for the CD of all shots of the photo session (unedited), instead of $250

To look at their work, do check out their website or scroll up to some of the older posts:
http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/

Interested parties please PM me. I will collect deposit of $50 upon confirmation, and the remainder of $40 when the BP closes. If we don't meet the minimum number of mummies of 10 by the end of June then I will refund all deposits.

<font color="0000ff">The only restriction is that your shoots have to be scheduled between 1 July and 30 Sept 2008.</font>

Mummies participating
-------------------------------
1. Pinkbunny
2. Sparrows
3. happydough
4. Happyhour
5. Blurmummy (deposit received)
6. Sze2 (deposit received)
7. il_feet
8. rainnerainne
9. wen_stan

Kelcqi,
Ask your CL to bring baby down for sunning every morning. You still can include ginger in your meals, just don't eat the ginger itself. Like the fish with ginger, I will push away the ginger.

Wah, you pump for an hour?? Like dat nipple will sore. Maximum 30mins for each breast. You try using your own BM to rub on nipple see if it can heal the soreness. If cannot, then can apply the nipple cream. I haven experienced bleeding but i tink some of the mummies here can share on this.

Buttercup,
I was watching TV and waiting for baby's next feed at 1plus am.

Dolly,
Ya, you need to descale the sterilizer. I use 100ml white vinegar mixed with 200ml water, pour into the sterilizer and let it stand inside for as long as I like. Then I rinse off and run 2 empty cycles.

Oh..sales line abit tough hor. If you are around shopping centres still ok, can express in nursing rooms. Then the fridge-to-go you better buy the one that can keep up to 12hours. Then also add in another iceblock to keep it cool further.

Buttercup,

Usually I turn in late cos have to pump out before I sleep. And my last pump yesterday was 9pm cos I went out, so had to tong until late to pump out before I sleep loh. Else very uncomfortable, and wif CL's snoring. I can prepare for a sleepless nite again.

U know hor, I went out wif Hubby yesterday to United square. Then I super happy to spend time with Hubby without baby leh. It seems like the past 1 wk, hubby and me only conversation revolve ard bb. I suddenly feel like it's been so long since we had conversations on other topics.

Tracy, I pump like 15 mins on each side, den another breast, den back to the breast again loh. usually I do it 2-3 rounds for each breast. Cos my supply still consider low.

kelcqi,
i also went out a few times already...4 times with bb cause have to bring him to polyclinic, then hop over to compasspoint to shop shop a bit...then yesterday with hb ....today i am going out also...leaving bb alone at home with CL....going to see full month cakes.

kelcqi,
u can pump 100ml so gd liao
i till now can only pump 60-80ml
but i pump 20mins each side only cos no time leh
highest record only 125ml...
but no more liao, dunno why...
so sad

bb drink 110ml each time, not enuff to supply him.
so i feed him FM at night, daytime all EBM
hope supply can go up further...
eating 2 pills of fenugreek liao

Buttercup,

You know I went out to rite, then my mum called and say confinement go out, then next time will have to take a pail n go ppl's house to clean for them. I told her nonsense loh. All these stupid logic, I told hubby in the car, he also luffing away and said it's total bullshit loh...

Icebubbles, I over slept yesterday, late by 2 hrs to pump, so my supply become more. U know hor, I follow Cheri's method. After pump, latch bb on for 5-10 mins. Very painful but seems to work. Cos I see abit of MS increasing... U can try doing tt?

BTW ladies,

Wanna ask all of you something. Do u all drink full Longan Tea during confinement? I drink alot of plain water cos I sore throat. Each day only 1 flask of Longan Tea only. Cos my urine very yellowish, and sore throat. Only plain water seem to help...

Anyone facing the same pro as me?

kelcqi,
i will try to latch on bb after i pump later
cos everytime i latch him liao, pump no more milk
and worst still he is not full at all...
end up no milk for him
at least after pump, i latch him, still have extra EBM to feed

i hv been drinking the longan tea 3wks liao
so far still ok leh
each day drink 1.5L, my urine also yellowish ah
but dun feel sore throat. touch wood first
heard from pple dun drink too much plain water during confinement, will put on weight
but we need to drink a lot cos BF
maybe drink more soup?

hi ladies...

just delivered my bb gal last thurs..
but just discharged from hosp yest after returning home for less than 4 days cos my stitches burst..

sobs..super painful after re-stitching..

but thankfully, bb is doing great with the help of hubby, CL, my mommie..and PIL...

was wondering if u gals ve any gd recommendation on PD?saw Dr Ong from TMC..but not a gd experience overall..so thinking of changing to Dr YY Yip or William Yip from GenEagles..

kelcqi,
I drink 2 flasks of longan tea daily, so far I dun hv any sore throat, only yellowish urine. Ppl said that during confinement, your water retention will worsen f you drink plain water. My CL said the longan tea help to increase our milk supply.

We held our baby shower yesterday. It was tiring. My girl refused to sleep during the baby shower, even though she was so tired. She remained awake from 4pm - 11pm. Today, she's super tired, she guai guai sleep after each feed. Wahaha...

Jyzis
Yeh, i manage to sneak out do my hair... BUT bad news when i come home... Hubby call MIL ask her something while i'm out, then MIL ask abt me, stooopid hubby tell her i go cut hair.
So MIL *#$%$#@ me lor.. Today wana sneak out oso dare not, scare MIL sudden come over.

Re: Hubby &amp; CL
Think my hubby becoming very sensitive after bb's birth, instead of me. He keep pin pointing CL's work. Say she eat alot lah, not hygiene lah, mop floor use too wet mop lah, feed bb too much lah, all those nitti gritty things etc... duno is i depression or he depression. But to me, my CL is doing well leh. She eats lots bread &amp; rice though coz she need carbo for doing housework mah. 1 loaf big size bread i only eat 2~4 slices, the rest she finish, so goto top up bread daily lor.

Re: BM
kelcqi, icebubble,
This morning is my highest record, 120ml from both br. But still take 1 hour to pump. I'm too lazy to wake up middle nite to pump. Normally every morning when wake up will latch on but today too late, wake up, bb oredi drinking FM. So go pump lor. Store in br for 8hrs only 120ml also very little leh. 3 hrs later pump again only 60ml liao.

Re: Longan tea
2nd day drink the tea i oredi sore throat. So CL din add longan, only red date and other duno wat herbs. Have been drinking plain water since in hospital till now, but moderately. Read from duno which thread mention that plain water no nutitional value, will make BM dilute, so better to drink the tea or soup...

was thinking to eat confinement food for 30days or 40days?
how abt u all?
cos maybe gng to hv 2nd one.
might as well wait till then go for the 40days

Tracy,Jyzis,
I see...tks ya..so the Goon not bad hor..hmm..
Do they hv size for newborn?cos my ger only 2wks old plus..

Tracy,
Any idea how i can increase my MS? cos i can only pump max 100ml fo rboth side if I pump for 1hr for both side lor..really tiring..soemtimes even hv to squeeze out using my hands, more milk flows out leh...

Icebubbles,
Me going to do my confinement for 30days only lot..

Icebubbles,

My mum wanted me to be on confinement food for 40 days. Sigh. Thats depressing. But I ate Mac yesterday. LOL...

GIna, Icebubbles,

You mean u guys really totally nv touch plain water at all ah? I buay tahan the condition of my throat, so I turned to plain water. I only take 1 flask of longan drink a day only...

Harnee, Icebubbles,

I usually after pump still put my bb to my breast to suck loh. I refused to touch the Fenugreek yet. Cos I wanna try achieving the MS without the help of medication. I heard Oats will help in milk production also.

Since I know I can hit 100ml, these two to 3 times I die die pump until i hit 100ml. Cos from what I know, if u allow or compromise on the shortfall the next pump, our milk supply will go down. so every 4 hr I'll push myself to achieve 100ml. My juz now pump I hit 120ml. I so happy. But I haven latch my bb yet.

Ask u ladies something hor, if you bb sleep pass e feeding hr, do u wake them up to feed? My CL will wake bb up but I thought we should do demand feeding?

Kelcqi ,

I was sooo angry this morning and burst out crying in front my mum ....telling her i cannot stand her nagging anymore . Keep on telling me to eat eat like feeding pig ... the amount of food she expect to eat is even more when i`m preggie .

When i`m handling baby she kept on nagging nagging ..i tell you is realli non-stop !!

Ya ... when he going he must at least latch for 5min .And must pat him to sleep . I will always knock off sleeping wif him in my arm !!

kelcqi ,

You very good can pump 100ml . you used how long to pump . I will only get 80ml each after 30 to 45min pumping .

And i realli miss pain water ... but sometime i will drink when mom is not looking .
And i already wash my hair yesterday when she is out after 10days . I tell you is really like heaven .

Bought my son to see PD today again cos he got flu and it infected the eyes now . Sooo angry with hubby , yesterday he got slight flu tell him to stay away from baby . He said is oki ...just a slight only nevermind !

And i weight my baby , he is already 4kg for 12days old baby . But PD said is oki ..but scared he drinking too much !

kelcqi,
I hv yet to drink any plain water yet, either milo with annmum or the longan tea.

jo,
I'm washing my hair fortnightly. Anyway, my confinement is ending soon. My CL's going back on this coming thur. My aunts are like dat whenever they come to visit me.

i just weighted my bb yesterday, he is now three weeks old...he already 5kg!

i so envy you all.....so much bf...i never pump liao...for two days already...telling myself since everytime only <10ml to forget abt it...and just enjoy the bb.

Buttercup,
U got latch bb? wow, 5kg liao...=D...Wonder how heavy is my ger..

All,
Anyone experiencing bb's neck and shoulders have those small red dots like heat rash? my bb's face also hv some lor...how huh? shd i bring my bb to see PD?

Ladies ,

My hubby just come back from Australia , said australia nanny recommend to use breast milk to wipe baby`s eyes when is infected . hahah ... have not tried it yet . Maybe will try tomorrow morning . Let you all know again

And i rem one of the lady here said grandma wanna to use for her eyes . Dunno how true isn`t .

Buttercup ,

5kg ..think my bb will be that weight next week .

PD said that is normal to grow rapidly but slower when they are in 3 or 4months .

Sorry error typo about the brest milk to clean baby eyes is by my hubby`s cousin .

Tracy,

thanks, i tried your method, the sterilizer looked clean and new again, if not it looked so rusty and got a smell.

hahah ..leave baby to hubby and mom !!

See how they handle ...they tink very easy to handle my boy.

Hahah ... can you imagine when hubby cleaning him up ... he pee three time and poo one time ....clean him four time in a row . hahah

feifei,
my bb also has a few red dots on his neck...think its milk rash...now, whenever he vomit his milk will try to clean up quick so hopefully won't have more red dots....

my cl quite discouraging lor....so i never latch. anyway, bb has difficulty latching also.

recently has been very cold...i feel cold also which is so unusual after so long of feeling hot...
CL pour me two fingers of DOM, now flushing already.