(2008/05) May 2008

Tracy,

oh yes, my boy likes to be pat to sleep until he is very sound asleep then put him down to his cot. luckily i bought the rocker, now trying to put him in the rocker, and train him by rocking him to sleep ... if not really no time. my hubby is working from home this week, so i try not to disturb him unless necessary. but he will go out and buy lunch for me. i am wondering how am i gg to survive next week, as i dun think i have the time to cook, and also cannot go out and tabao. maybe got to eat bread for whole week for lunch

Jo,

It's normal esp your baby was just born. (some poo after every feeding, some dun poo at all) However, if the poo con'ts after more than a week, please check with the doc. =)

Dolly,
After my confinement, I will also be like you, no time to go buy lunch. Actually I was thinking of ordering the tingkat meals. The caterer will deliver food to your door step. Another alternative is, go marketing on weekend, and buy the necessary which you can cook for the week. Don't think bread all week is good, especially if we are b-feeding.

Hi, I'm back to this thread as my internet is finally installed. I'm cutting short my ML and going back to work on 16 Jun.

My baby is crying for milk every 2 hrs, sometime less than that. At times, we fed her formula + BM and it doesn't seem enuf for her. I'll wake up in the middle of the night to express BM for my gal. Trying to switch to bottle-feed now instead of latching her on as I have to go back to work early.

RE: Pump
I'm using Medela Swing. I think the pump is not suitable for me as it can't pump out much. In the end, I manually expressed the BM and I'm getting much more than the pump plus my nipples wun get swollen from the pump.

RE: Heat Rash
The CL used Guinness to bath my gal when she developed heat rash and the amazing thing is the heat rash disappear. She mixed the stout with warm water to bath her and then wash it off after that. It appears to work well on babies only as I'm oso having heat rash and tried it too.

RE: Sweating
I heard from my massage lady that sweating is good. She said that sweating mean we are reducing water retention.

RE: Passing Wind (Farting)
My gynae & massage lady said that it's good if we are passing out wind. That means we are getting rid of the "wind", esp. for us who went thru C-sect.

RE: BM
I'm only expressing out 80-90ml of BM every 4 hours. I'm afraid it will decrease after I go back to work.

RE: Weight
I'm struck at 69kg, only lost the 9kg after birth till now. Controlling my diet, having brown rice and have get CL to cook healthier food, no fried food, only stir-fried, steamed and soup only. "Stressed"

Jo,
I din experience any of that as I went to the nursery to fetch my baby. Can't wait for them to push to me.

Peace,
u can try "washing" ur hair with powder then use comb to brush out the dirt. After that, u'll not feel your hair to be that oily. I'm washing my hair fortnightly.

Lynn,
You can try to let your baby sleep on her side. Sometimes, my girl will have the problem too. She actually chokes a lot when drinking milk, be it bottle-feed or latch on.

Yaoyaomum,
U can try drinking Anmum for breastfeeding mothers to boost supply. Most importantly, try not to stress yourself and the milk will kick in. During the 1st few weeks, I cried bcos I dun hv enuf BM for my gal and she kept crying for more. My MIL tole me crying during confinement will introduce more wind. Try to latch your baby on as many times as possible. It'll oso boost SS.

Harnee,
Wow your MIL so open minded one! My MIL also everytime watch me latch BB. At first i also feel paiseh, until now already 3 weeks past she still watching me & comment a lot lor all the time. I also bo chap liao. but my MIL didn't show hers to me like yr MIL, hahaha i don;t mind to see hers if she wanted to show. LOL!

Gina,
I am currently taking Anmum also but still low SS, mayb i am not happy during this period coz MIL gua. My MIL gg to leave this saturday, just hope i can change the mood swing & take care my BB when i back to my mum's place. If SS still low then no choice i'll try Fenugreek, a bit resist to the smell.
Gynae told me she can prescribe "anti-vomitting" drug to me to boost SS, i.e. using the side effect of it but i am against taking drug unnecessary so i only tried natural way so far. Haiz... shun qi zhi ran ba

Peace,

i am also not sure yet ..... if not then i will call my mum for help, to buy lunch for me... alternatively i do have the intention to bring my boy back to my MIL place so that he can get used of the routine of us bringing him over every morning, as i will be gg back to work by mid june. If my hubby is agreeable then i will have 1 week off and free time to do my shopping and pan mei mei before going back to work. i really need to go and buy new clothings, as i cannot fit into my old clothes and i dun want to wear back maternity clothings when back.

Tracy,
same as what poky had mentioned, i will let my boy latch on for about 20mins if he unlatch himself, especially if he like angry or struggling after unlatching then will squeeze the nipple to see.

yaoyaomum,
i am hoping that it will not be a habit cos very tiring to carry him. In fact i am trying to find ways to let him go to sleep by himself without ppl carry or pat.

mrscheong,
may i know which brand of bottle and food warmer u using?

lynn, yaoyaomum
actually there is a way to stop baby from crying but its a method that most mummies will disagree. That is using pacifier. My #1 got colic and we used pacifier on him in the last resort as crying will cause more wind. What we did is once he goes to sleep we will slowly pull out his pacifier. When he turned about 3/4 months old, he never used pacifier le.

harnee,
ur mil so funny lor. Can show u her breast too.

RE: sterilise
Sorry ladies, let me complain a while. I was super angry with the maid. Normally after pumping i will put the pump into the basin because most of the time the maid is staying near there either cutting veg, washing stuffs or simply stand there looking out the windows so whenever i put into the basin she will wash for me. Then there is once she was in the toilet washing clothes, seeing that she is busy, i wash my pump myself and i have a habit of rinsing it with hot water after washing it. The maid saw what i did and you know what.. The next day she sterilise only in the morning 7.30am then after which, all the way she just use hot water to rinse. I keep seeing her do that then around 5pm i asked her if she sterilise then she told me yes in the morning 7.30am. I was like WHAT?! for 9 hours plus she never sterilise. Then she said she saw me using hot water rinse it so she follow. She saw only and never ask me why i do that.

hi Jer,

i got a tollyjoy bottle and food warmer. Not sure if i will make good use of it so got one of the cheapest available :p

we have been using hot water to warm milk up.

Gina,
My son also tend to get choke when feeding, esp b-feeding. He will stop sucking and cough until the face red. LC said it due to the strong flow of milk, so ask me to press on part of my breast to prevent a strong flow. If your bb choke on bottle feeding, maybe you want to check the teat, is it the small hole for new borns ?

Tracy and Jer,
When my son demand for milk, sometimes he also cry until very angry , sometimes sound like scolding people, as if I ill treat him !

Lynn tummy down position can only work on my girl when she is asleep or going to sleep...

Tracy is good to know that you able to latch with lying down position. I find that is easier and less tiring during nite feeding.

peace,
I think so. I bought the teats which are for "0 mths". ^5. My girl's the same too. Today when she cried, I can see tears at the corners of her eyes. She sometimes will cry for ppl to carry her. *Faint*

dolly23,
I oso hv to go shopping for clothes, can't fit into most of my clothes. Haiz...

But I dun hv the time to do so.

yaoyaomum,
I'm latching my girl every 2-3hrs, whenever she demand for milk. I noticed that if I drink a cuo of hot milo or massage my breast, I'll hv more BM. Since I'm lazy, I only sometimes drink a cup of hot Milo before expressing.

Jer,
My boy don't like pacifier though my MIL keep trying to push him accept. I found that he only like to suck my nipple when he cry badly, not because he is hungry. Cham... if continue like that i can't go back to work liao, don't know i should be happy since BB won't have the habit of pacifier, hahaha

Gina,

I tried hot drink like red dates or hot soup, also hot towel massage before express but still don't see the increase in milk supply hor. Haiz... think slowly SS drop then i got to give up liao.

latching,

my mil doesnt like me giving EBM to bb, she encourge me to latch.if i alone with bb, do u think better to latch than bump n feed him EBM? coz my boy impatient, and he prefer 1 breast only..so usually i will give EBM early in the morning, then latch ard 10am, then EBM..at nite, FM..he always like nt enuf milk after latching, bt if i din latch, i pump o ut, able to get abt 90 to 100, which he is curretnly feed with this amt so how? shd i latch ?

Jer,

RE: Sterlize
Actually I think it's okay to sterilize once a day then after that use hot water. That's what I do when I was pumping. No offense.

Jer,
which pump you using? for medela PIS, the color and shape of the funnel will change if sterilize after every pump. that's what happened to mine, then when hb went to buy the new funnel, the sales girl told him to sterilize once and the rest of the time just use boiling/hot water to rinse. this way the funnel can last longer.

yanling, i think the same will happen to Avent's pump, those soft silicon parts will discolour with frequent sterilisation. mine already starting to change colour, even though i only sterilise 2 or 3 times a day.

icebaby,
i thought we have to sterilize at least 2-3 times a day? So one time is enough?

Yanling, Lynn
I using Avent. Prior to the maid seeing me washing with hot water, she actually will sterilize at least 3 times a day, anyway my avent pump never change color yet.

Brought my boy to PD ystrdy cos my gal had to see PD. I asked PD to check on spitting up of milk. PD said his stomach got quite some wind. Asked me if I take any dairy products, which i don't. So PD said probably his stomach is rather shallow and can't contain too much milk. PD said 100ml for him now is quite alot wor.

He advised to put him on tummy during daytime. Night-time to put in side sleeping position to avoid choking on his vomitted milk. As for the wind, he said can use Infacol 3x a day. But last night we gave him one dose of Infacol, the whole night he was whining and curling up as if tummy upset. Poor thing..

I asked PD if latching 30mins is enough, he said it's more than enough and advised not to latch any longer than that and intervals of 2hours, not anything shorter.:p

Oh, my boy is now 4.4kg

Hi Yanling,

I've replied to your email with teh contact for the LC...Sorry for the late reply - was away at PD getting 1st month jab for my boy...

re: pump
really will change colour for avent pump ah?
i hv been using the pump for 2plus weeks liao.
i hv been sterilising every 3hrs...
maybe i will sterilise 2 twice per day bah
but hor safe or not ah?
scared later he stomach upset leh

btw, pumping for each side max is 30mins right?
but if there is still milk flowing out how ah?
need to stop? will this reduce milk supply?

Hey all
I brought Rayen for follow up @ Polyclinic her jaundice level drop from 225 to 203 but Doc still say not enough... Took urine and another bottle of blood for liver test and result will only be out on Friday. Hopefully by then Doc can conclude is just pure BF jaundice.

jer,

For me, even my baby's milk bottles sterilize 1 time a day. As long as u use hot water to wash, it's fine...cos hot water kill germs also mah.

Tracy,

Wah ur ah-boy so big liao. This morning i see my girl girl...she looks so tiny. My hubby says ah-girl face getting chubbier (cheeks) but the rest of her still tiny tiny. hahaha

HI all,

Wah.. i got super pain breast now lo.. really painful till wan2 cry. it's like a huge lump leh, hard sum more. think coz today i wake up too late den miss to many times of pumping.. later gg to do massage wondering how am i going to lie down flat on my tummy, coz my breast really painful. even i move my hands oso pain leh.. think it's super bad.. any idea how to make it better??

vel, can try cold cabbage. really works for me! my massage lady recommended tamarind (assam paste) and it works too, but cabbage leaves less messy :p

Vel,

beside cold cabbage, u can use other cold stuff such as ice bag, ice cold towel also. Its basically to numb the pain. Nother advice is take panadol. According to LC, it is okie to take as only very very small percentage (<1%) will pass on to bb via BM. She said don't try to be a hero if really pain else I will suffer alot n not motivated to bfg :p

Lynn,

i heard cold cabbage will reduce milk, is it true ?

Vel,
The initial part of bfing is like dat. Remember the rest of us grumbling too?
Hang in there n use cabbage leaves. The discomfort will go away eventually.

RE : Sterlising bottles

I have 4 bottles at the moment and sterlise them (steriliser) when i run out of bottles. Its normally 2x a day (more than enough) as I do latch on where possible.

RE : Sterlising breastpump

I put my cleaned pump in sterlising solution and rinse with hot water b4 using (i hate the smell). Ha, am i the kiasu one here ??

hi Poko,

by Polyclinic's standard, they are only satisified when jaundice go below 100. My boy is 3wks old and still jaundice. His level is dropping quite slowly....199 to 185 to 171 (weekly interval). The staff even poked my son 3x to collect blood n squeeze the lil feet till blue black. Anyway, I decided to stop going for the blood test but i make sure my boy is alert n drinking well
My #1 jaundice only gone after 1 mth..... both case BM jaundice.

Cheri,

thanks, i have received the Medela binder.

Panpan,

I have got your address, will post out to you by this week. Once done, i will inform you.

Tracy,

today is my second day handling alone ... think i am going to surrender soon, damn tiring and exhausted especially my boy always want ppl to will carry and pat to sleep. By then it will be the next feeding time, and i really got no time to pump milk, now got to drag up to 5 - 6hrs then pump, think i will give him FM completely soon, as no more EBM.

mrs cheong, the LC did say that excessive use of cabbage leaves will reduce supply. but i used it once to relieve engorgement and was ok after that..

dolly, i always steal time when my girl sleeps to pump milk, even though sometimes the 3 hours is ot up, or sometimes can drag till 4 hoir plus. no choice, must be flexible. i once had to sit cross legged, and put her on my lap and pump milk..

Dolly, u not alone. me also never succeed in latching my baby. sigh... now has come to a point that when i carry him, he seems to know wat's going to happen and starts fidgeting oredi. once i insert the nipple into his mouth, he will start protesting liao. his hand will push my breast away and his head will turn to the other side. and will twist his body so that he can spit out the nipple.

really at wit's end.

yaoyaomum,
if not, you can try eating more fish &amp; green papaya wif fish soup. Actually, I missed TMC's green papaya soup. Besides that, you drink more fluid, not plain water. When I went for the breastfeeding class @ TMC, the nurse mentioned that plain water does not hv much nutrients in it and therefore, it's not recommended to drink much plain water.

RE: Water Retention
Although I can see that water retention at my legs have reduced, but I still cannot fit into my ring. Hv checked with my massage lady, she said that usually will take abt 3 mths to recover back from water retention, it varies. She oso mentioned that some ppl took a yr for that.

Vel,
It's the norm. I experienced it too. But I abit "bian tai". I bear with the pain and slowly massage, then expressed it out. Bcos I know once I passed the painful stage, the expressing of BM is fast and easy for me.

Icebubbles,
Can try washing it with baby bottle wash first before sterilising it. That's what my CL recommended. She said if we dun use the bottle detergent to wash, it'll turn yellow within mths.

Piggy_mummy,
If you hv the time, I'll suggest you latching. Though drinking from our breasts is more tedious for them but they like it that way more. My girl prefers latching than bottle feeding. She gets hungry faster when I latch her on. She oso prefers one breast and sleep after that. Then I have to wait for her to wake up (which is usu. a few mins later), I'll latch her onto the other side.

RE: Baby Massage
Have any of you mummies try baby massage? I read from books that baby massage can aid in getting rid of "wind" in stomach.

lynn,

yes, this is what i am doing now, just that my boy dun sleep for very long in the afternoon, usually 30 mins wake up once then sleep again, so i really need to find time in order to pump milk.

tracy,

no, i have failed ... i tried to squeeze some milk into his mouth to attract him, and forced his head in, he will suck like 5 seconds then turned his head out and cry, like crying for help ... so in the end, i didnt force my way through with him.... haiz ...

Perhaps i will try again tonite, if not my SS is not able to meet his demand.

hi yanling,

same same ... my boy also used his hand to push my breast away, think he is really used to bottle feed now, and dun want my breast.

has anyone that been through c-sect engaged any massage lady and how soon can we do massage, also does it really help to reduce the water retention ?

me gave birth to my baby boy two weeks ago and BM SS ultra low....have not been religiously pumping every 3 hours also...more like once every one or two days...
Will fenugreek work?

Dolly23, i am also having a CL now....feeling worried too on whether i can handle taking care of the bb alone...haiz....

my bb cries for his feed less than 3 hourly...whenever he wakes up (which is often), he will start crying for his milk which could be only 1 hour since his last feed!

very tempted to ask the CL to stay for another month, if only they are not so expensive!

RE: Blocked Ducts

The massage lady really massage wif all her strength lo.. super duper painful!!! worse den labour pain, some more got no pain relief.. my tears almost flow out lo.. but funny thing is that when she massaging n pressing my breast got milk splurt out lo.. really splurt!! n she say i got alot of milk hor..haha.. but she realy press till i so painful.. i noe got to clear them so i ren!! now it's abit better lo.. still painful but not as bad.. think i haf to set alarm to wake up to pump even in the middle of the nite.. i scared liao.. sacrifice abit of sleeping time lo. Tml if she offer to do it for me again think i will not let her.. coz it really hurts!! so advice for all mummies, dun be lazy.. wake up n pump milk regularly!! N masage ur breast everytime b4 u pump..!!

Dolly23,

I've started my massage yesterday lo.. coz my gynae told me after 3 weeks shld be ok.. n i oso dun feel any pain already. it helps to get rid of water n wind n oso will push back ur womb back to place.. n oso ur organs coz she was saying when preggy time, ur organs will be push till a little spread out. so she will help to push them back,, sounds funny rite?? n she bind me wif a very long cloth, super tightly. but today when i take out i see my tummy really bcom smaller..

dolly23,
I started my massage abt 2 weeks.

Vel,
my massage lady din massage my breast but they leak after each massage. She said it's bcos she massaged my back and part of it is linked to my breasts.