(2008/05) May 2008

Poko,

Wah your baby really growing big. =) Have to watch the jaundice level, try give her more water.

Vel,

Dun be so impatient about weight loss. Different individuals lose weight easily, and some take a longer time. I am still with my 4kg and ain't losing it anytime soon. I also sad but think positively that it's more important to flatten that tummy. *grin

Dolly23,

Congrates to ur baby's full-month! Plus confinement over!

need your advices on this ... during the day, my boy feed can last him around 3hrs with EBM, however i do realise that at nite, even with FM of the same aomunt, somtimes he will wake up around 2hrs or so and started yelling. So is it right for me to feed him again or wait for the 3hrs ? It has been a few nights whereby his last feed is around 230am or 3am, and he will wake up around 5plus to 6 and make noise. And is this behavior normal ?

Tracy,

when i go out, i will usually give my boy FM as it is easier to bring out and manage.

btw, is it normal to feed the baby once they cry even the time is nt due for feeding ?

Dolly23,

My boy oso wakes up every 2-3 hours for milk at nite even if it's formula.. think it's normal. sum more my boy once wake up will scream for milk oso so muz prepare the milk for him early.. i got the pigeon warmer wher i can put the milk in n will warm up n keep warm for me. usually at nite he will wakes up at 11plus 12, den 2 plus den 5 plus 6. hopefully will get better when he's older.. hehe..

For my boy he usually cry only for milk.. so i will see the time lo.. let's say it's ard 2 hours after the last feed n he cries i;ll give milk.. coz he can sleep really well even if his diapers wet or wif poo.. funny rite.. my mum say he very dirty. haha.. other den hungry, think he wun scream lo.

piggy mummy,
i latch him one last time before I sleep at about 10plus, then night feeds I give EBM. It's faster. I will pump 2x at night.

Dolly,
My boy is the other way round. EBM can last him 3hrs at night, daytime is 2hrs. Sometimes at night he demand 2hourly, then I feed 2hourly. But if he demand at less than 2hour, like hourly, I won't feed him. Most of time for me is due to him needing to burp.

I think your boy if feed at 3am and demand again at 5plus, he should be hungry and can feed since its between 2-3hour interval.

Updates for kelcqi

Her bb Erica came out last nite via E-Csection.
Weight: 3.32kg
Height: 48cm

Kelcqi went thru alot. Waited in the labour ward for so long, pain til gave in to epi but in the end, bb's head too big for her pelvic.. She fainted in the OT last night also, she cried alot bcoz she's scared.. poor gal *sayang sayang*

Kelcqi
Take care and rest well. Throw last night's experience away.. dun keep in ur brain.
Congrats!! and welcome to Motherhood

mummies..congrats on your babies..

I am from dec 08 MTB thread and currently sourcing ard for Confinement Lady.. understand that most of you here are currently in confinement period.

Would really appreciate it if you ladies could recommend me a good CL that is pro-bf, clean and 'cin cai' type..My EDD is on 24th Dec 08

Pls pm me...tks in advance

mrscheong,
if it's just lump in the breast, it's just blocked ducts bah. and if massage well, the lump will disappear. then it's not infection.

infection is if the blocked ducts left untreated for too long and begins to swell. u will see the pinkish patches on the breast where the lump is.

realised after having breast infection and applied cold compress, my ss drop drastically leh.
last time when it was all well, can pump out around 100ml. now only 50-60ml. sigh...

Kelcqi
Congrats!!! sayang sayang for the hardship you've gong through. but do enjoy the motherhood.

Icebaby my girl on BM so I don't give her water, can water reduce Jaundice?

She drinks a lot and I feed her on demand so think due to that she increase quite a bit for 1 mth.

Tracy / Vel,

thanks for the advices ... this is what my hubby told me too, keep saying that how come i dun feed my boy when he started to cry during the night. I told him is because if i feed around 2hrs or so, i scare that i will over-feed him, then he said wun lah, ask me to go ahead. With all your advices, i think i will try tonite and see if he drink or not. If not, i very chiam, he will wake up around 5plus and cry, then i will have to carry and carry till his next feed time, appr. 3hrs.

Vel,

same here, my boy is very impatient, especially in the middle of the night, once he wake up and wants milk, he will start to yell loudly. Actually i do think of preparing the milk first, then put inside the warmer, but not sure when he is waking up, and will the milk turn bad ? So it is safe to do it this way huh ?

Kelcqi,

Congrates.
Just concentrate and get well. Enjoy the stay in the hospital as it's time for you to recuperate. Dun worry about the rest okay?

Anything, just buzz us via forum or sms. We are here for you.

Poko,

Drinking water helps the baby to "clear" the body (remember our body is made up of alot of water). Drinking water will clear and replace the body's water and wash off waste products. I know BM is good but I will still instil that baby should drink abit of water. (If you dun want baby to use the bottle, use spoon and slowly feed abit of water, okay?)

muzicgal, my boy's navel also pop out after the cord dropped off, the CL said its ok..

my baby has a bit of jaundice so we suntan him 20 mins (10 mins each side) in the morning before 10 am..before that my CL will bathe the baby with quiness stout ( 1 can can use 3 times) saying can help to reduce the jaundice faster andi think it really help so after 3 days , my baby's jaundice level dropped and i brought the baby to visit the PD and she said its ok now...also, let your baby drinks some plain water (not too much though, just a few sips will do) for him/her to flush out the jaundice 'toxic'after suntanning..

kelcqi, congrats on the arrival of your baby girl Erica :) Do rest well and enjoy motherhood..

most of you the babies drink quite alot, my baby boy drinks like a 'kitten' only 1 oz or 2 oz at a time, maybe he has small appetite and he drinks every 2 hours or even lesser...

Dolly,
i also ordered from sweetest moment. I still have 1 more week to go. Told hubby today we shall start counting down liao
Which package you ordered? let me know if the rocker works on your boy ya? I am thinking of rocker too, saw one at kiddy palace but still considering.

Tracy,
for your night feed, the ebm is freshly pump out milk then you feed him or is it chill ebm? I tried giving my boy chilled ebm but he dun have the patient to wait for me to warm the ebm and had tried freshly ebm but the thing is sometimes he wakes up even b4 i start pumping so end up i will let him latch on. Latching him on for night feed also cos a problem, these few nights i tried the lying down position when he latch on so that i can sleep and after he finish he also fall asleep on my bed but he now got the habit of latching for pleasure.

Kelcqi,
congrats and xin ku ni le *pat on your shoulder*

Yanling,
yesterday my ss also drop drastically, can you imagine from previously pump about 120ml to 180ml dropped to 30ml!!! Yesterday really panic lor. So beside my boy latching on, i keep pumping to the extend like every hour i pump. This mroning at around 10am, finally see my ss increased to 130ml but end up got sore nipple, guess i pump too much liao and the pressure i used to pump to hard too.

Poko,
your baby PD never advice you to give your gal water? when my #1 got jaundice, his PD asked us to feed him some water beside bm and if give fm increase the water level by 10ml so that the extra fluid can help to flush out the bilirubin that causes jaundice.

just like to know if stress or mood changes affect ss?

Kelcqi,
Welcome to motherhood, finally pop liao.
Do recuperate well, don't worry about the rest. You had done a great job ! Free get on line and chit chat with us.

Tracy,
Re full month, do you mean relatives who come to your place for buffet, will go back with the cake, while friends don't?

I presume those who cannot make it for the buffet meal, you deliver the cake to their place, am I right ?

Have you all read about the vaccination against Pnuemococcal Disease? Apparently this is not 1 of the compulsory vaccination. Has any one consider this vaccination and where can we get it ?

dolly, jer
I ordered from sweetest moments also, can't resist their packaging. Actually patridge pear also looks very pretty, but the stuff in the package like not very much. Dolly, do let me know if the rocker works for you too, if it does, i'm gonna get one as well.. haahha...my CL advised to give baby pacifier, but I'm a bit reluctant leh.

Kelcqi,
congrats! Your pregnancy is finally over, here's to the beginning of your motherhood. Do take care of yourself and rest well kay?

Been having gastric flu for the past few days, so pumping and throwing all my milk, like so wasted! And getting lazy to pump as well.... think my ss dropping also. must make myself more hardworking. On the bright side, i lost another 1.5kg these 2 days due to gastric flu. haha.

Okie I will start giving her some water after she is awake... Now I let her sleep tummy down so that she got more peaceful nap, nite time other than wake up for milk she can't sleep when poo so at least now know what her pattern.

SS will be affected by stress and mood change and other reason like menses and change of environment.

peace,
yupz, my frens dun get the cake. eh, relatives who dun turn up we never deliver unless really close ones.

I'm KS parent who will give all vaccines avail. But my PD felt this pneumoccocal vaccine not that crucial if the child is not going to school yet and exposed to the virus so he advised us to delay the vaccine for my elder gal till she turns 2YO, cos aft 2YO only 1 jab needed. But i keep worrying abt it, so for my boy now, I will give him this jab early and not wait till 2YO. You can get this jab from GP also.

BTW, its jus KS me lah, i also gave my gal n will also give my boy the chickenpox vaccine n rotavirus vaccine. Both not compulsory.

Dolly, Jer,
Hehe, I feed EBM at night. Erm..I warm up in advance and put in my avent warmer bag till he wakes up. Eg. I gauge his feed is around 5am, i set alarm clock 445am then i go warm up the milk using my baby warmer. Takes 5mins to warm then i remove n put in the bag. Before feeding him i smell n taste the milk first. So far, no problems. The longest I've kept the milk 'waiting' for him is 1h. :p

Peace
Pnuemococcal Jab is about 180 to 200SGD per jab @ 2yrs ago now don't know how much... before 1yr old is 3 jab, before 2yr old is 2 jab and after 2 is 1 jab. I KS mom so I let my son have the jab before he turn 1 as I bring him to enrichment classes. But most of my friend do it after 2...

Tracy I also give chickenpox Jab to my boi as for rotavirus need to be done before 6mth and my boi is much older after I came to know about it. I also read acticle BM has the antibodies for it so I don't think I will give my girl the jab.

i got a prob lying down latching..boy want 1 breast only..he is impatient for another breast..how?coz i am thinking latch him during midnite, so that no need to wake up n make formula

piggy mummy
I also only latch 1 side during nite time after that switch on my next feed. As bb is very sleepy so after one br she dose off and refuse to open her mouth again.

congrats kelcqi!!

finally a mummy! yeah.... dun tink too much anbt wat had happen...wat going to happen is more interesting

finally got time to sit down and read the thread for today. MIL went back yesterday, so today pestered my hubby to go out. We went Taka around 3plus and came back abt 8pm, before my boy next feed cos no more milk powder.
it has been a month since i went to orchard and it is very crowded and the sales is quite good.
And also, this mummy is so busy with shopping that i didnt make an effort to pump milk, so far for today, this is only my 2nd pump ...... guessed my SS will be dropping soon.

Re: Bouncer
Oh yes, i also bought the same FP rocker as Muzicgal, but yet to fix it up as i am currently pumping milk and my hubby is feeding my boy.. once i try, will let you gals know. However muzicgal mentioned to me that her boy loved it, and can sleep well on it.

hi jer / diamonddust,

i have ordered a mixture of the $8.90 and $10.90 (inclusive of the fruit tarts), so far, my relatives commented that the box packaging is nice and the fruit tarts are quite nice as well, so quite worth.

Re : Drinking water

Oh yes, as i do supplement with FM, i will always feed my boy with water after every feed, as i am worried that he may suffer from constipation, i will only feed abit and not too much, so i guessed should be fine.

Tracy / Vel,

i never stick to my 3hrs rule today, i have last fed my boy at 6pm, but when we came back and after cleaning him, he started to make noise and cry again around 830pm, so i decided to proceed with the next feed, and seem like he is really hungry and can finish the milk ... so i guessed, maybe whenever he cry in the middle of the night around 5plus 6 is because he is hungry, i will not follow the 3hrs rule and see how it is for tonite.

dolly..
when u dun feed ur baby or u dun pump out the milk...dun u feel engorged? or the breast abit pain?

for me i pain pain leh..so go out also will limit myself to 3 hours max...

wah choc, you bvery hardworking leh, go out also zun zun 3 hours pump. me go will out usually stretch it a bit till 4 hours.

yesterday tried pumping in the car using my nursing shawl. it worked out fine and really saved a lot of time cos can pump during the journey and when reached i'm free to do what i wanted!

my girl used up almost 7 packs of wet wipes in her first month, so scary.. went chinatown yesterday and bought her wipes, powder etc. spent like a hundred bucks. but it was quite a lot cheaper. wanted to go cheong choon but she looked like she was going to start fussing had to give it a miss. maybe next week cos i totally forgot to buy my own toiletries..

Choc,

i am not so hardworking, so i never bring my pump out as well... i do feel abit engorged but not so painful, just abit hard lor ... when come back, quickly massage and pump, then okay liao ... and also i think my SS has dropped, so not so much milk liao, not as bad as in the past.

Lynn,

you using manual or electric pump when pumping in the car ? i thought of doing so, but no one to carry my boy leh, cos my hubby feels that he is still too small to sit on car seat.

Tracy / Vel,

i tried last night, didnt stick to the 3hrs feeding rule to feed my boy. His midnight feed is around 5am, and by 730am, he started making noise again, so i feed him again, and after that, he is now soundly asleep, so i guessed it works ... as long as it is between 2hrs - 3hrs interval, it should be fine to feed.

dolly, me using manual pump in the car, lay-chei to bring my electric pump out cos if using without power supply the C size batteries will be used up very fast..

i put my baby in the car seat, it's the safest! you bought a car seat that is suitable for newborn? if so then better put your baby inside. my girl can sleep comfortable in the car seat, but if i carry her (once when she was blaoted and cranky on he way to PD and once in my sister's car) she can't sleep as soundly i think cos when the car turns and all our hands will also move but the car seat is very sturdy.

lynn,

although i have manual pump, but i hardly use it, cos now already used to my Ameda Electrical Pump. So dun know if i can still get used to the manuel and bring it along with me, and also, i have yet to get my cooler bag to store the milk, thats why i find it very troublesome and didnt pump when i am out,

ooh my cat seat is meant for newborn and infant, and we have used it once for my boy only. Cos i feel that the safety belt is quite thick, scare that it will cut my boy skin and my hubby feels that my boy is so small and more appropriate to carry him in my arms to feel more secure. oh yes, my boy also sleeps well inside the car seat, think it is due to moving motion, thats why bb enjoy it.

i was thinking of doing exclusive pumping liao
my boy always fall asleep in 15mins time while sucking...
then when i put him down, he will cry for milk.
end up i also give him my EBM for the other side.
he is plain lazy to suck...

but if i am doing exclusive pumping, will my milk supply drop?
its already not enuff for him to drink liao...
about 40ml for one side if i latch him on the other side.
he can drink up to 100ml per feed for EBM...

fish with papaya soup, i am also drinking abt every alternate days liao...
i dunno hw to increase my milk supply le...
is the fenugreek u all mention safe?
where to buy?

hi icebubbles,

for the Fenugreek, i have been eating since delivery, this is recommended by my gynae as well as the Mrs Wong from ParentCraft, i started taking as initially my SS is very slow, and i have almost finished 1 bottle, and will be getting my 2nd bottle. Tracy has mentioned that you can get it at GNC.

hi Jer / Diamonddust,

finally my hubby has fixed up the rocker and placed my boy in it after his shower. Oh yes, he is sleeping on the rocker now. Earlier, my hubby and i were having mcdonald for lunch in the living hall and i placed the rocker beside me. Initially my boy is not used to it, and keep struggling, after awhile he is alright. My hands are eating my burger, and i used 1 leg to rock him. Less than 15 mins, he is asleep, and at last i dun have to carry him and rock him to sleep. So i think it is quite a good buy. Before discount the rocker is $169 and after discount, it is only $99. Can check out at Taka.
Good recommendation from Muzicgal !

Anyone using Pigeon wide neck bottles? How do I poke/cut holes on the nipples? Sorry, but all along I tot the hole shd be ready? but realized that there's no hole at all... How to make sure the hole is not too big/small?

Dolly,
Good, good that the 2-3hr feed is working. With my this 2nd baby, only now i realise gotta be more flexible.

Poko,
I'm doing more direct latch now and pumping only in morning and at night before I sleep cos I tend to feel very full during these times. Ask you, how you know for sure that bb has enough milk? Sometimes he latch for so long I suspect is comfort sucking and when i unlatch him he gets sooo angry!

So during daytime if he only latches on one breast, do you pump out the other? Or leave it for next feed?

Icebubbles,
Last time with my first bb, i was on exclusive pumping and I still get increase in supply thru strictly 3hourly pump. Can get Fenugreek from GNC.

Jessica,
I'm using Pigeon wide neck bottle and it comes with holes poked already. Are you sure the hole is poked? When you fill the bottle with water and turn it upside down, sometimes the water won't stream / drip out automatically. You need to press the teat a little while holding the bottle upside down then it will flow out.

Tracy,

yes, now i didnt restrict to 3hrs feed as well, as long as it is within 2-3hrs, i will feed him as well ... and also, i am trying to see if i can latch him on again, what do you think is the best time to latch him on, especially i will still be giving him EBM via bottle.

i am trying to find the right time to latch him on and see if he can help me to increase my supply.

Jessica,

tracy is right, i am also using Pigeon wide neck bottle, and the holes are already poked, no need to poke on your own.

Tracy,
you very smart hor.. to warm milk first then put in warmer bag. It never ever come to my mind that can make use of warmer bag at home. Thanks to you, i learned one more new stuff

piggy mummy,
normally i will let my boy latch on one side too. If he really still want somemore after drinking from one side, i just like him cried while i hurried change my position, no choice but to let him cried.

dolly23,
the fruit tarts quite nice, so lucky i make a right choice as i requested for a package with 4 fruit tarts, 4 swiss rolls, 2 eggs and 2 ang ku kuehs. I requested to change the mochi to fruit tarts.
Will go check out on the rocker, thank you. So envy that you get to eat Mac..

Jessica,
like what the others had said, the teats will come with the holes.

Dolly,
I find latching bb in the evening more difficult for my bb cos he seems fussy. And also when my breasts are very engorged till the nipple seems to hv shortened, also v hard to latch. For me, actually i find latching in middle of night easier cos he's sleepy. But tiring for us

Jer,
I'm also learning new things esp i'm quite new at direct breastfeeding too. You normally let him latch one side..how do you know when he's done with one side? You go by timing or he unlatch himself?

tracy,
for sharing, i used to b scare tat my gal not hving enuf, so after latching one side, will switch to other side n c if she still wants. if she still latch, will continue to feed her. sometimes take to an hr. but tis method not suitable. cos she often reguritates the milk out instead, think she duno when she is full liao.... now i only latch one side n take note of the time. if she latch on for 15mins, then unlatch herself, will squeeze the nipple if got any more supply. if still got, will burp her awhile, then latch her again. usually she will latch back n eat another 10+mins. then she will hv the satisfied n milk ard her mouth when she unlatch. that when she full. =) the other side i will pump if in the day time for future feed. night time to lazy.... =p

Hihi Ladies,

Hehe, thanks for all the congrates! Phew... Finally over liao. I think I better don't post my birth story in case any mummies from other threads pop in and see my birth story and freak themselves out. Keke...

Oh Yah, met Jo in hospital. So sweet of her and her hubby to visit me. And thanks for the baby booties. Jo discharge today le. My turn tml! :p Hopefully I can really discharge...

But I think I'm the most lousiest mummy here liao. No one in history in this thread fainted like me. I really fainted in the OT, cos after the long labour and the sudden info of me having to C-sec. Now I know why Moony cried so badly when she was told to c-sec. Furthermore, my baby's heartbeat still going strong although the contractions were 1 mins apart. I really beg my gynae to give me a few more hrs but he told me 17 hrs of labour is more than stressful for baby, so he don't wanna risk anymore. My hubby took his advise and I was there just crying helplessly. I hate to remember this. I wonder if I still have the courage to ever have another baby again. After 9 mths of suffering, and what I went through in the hospital. I really freaked out liao...

Pooh, thanks for the Update.

Me feeling better today but still in pain due to the wound. The c-sec wound so painful! But I find myself having mood swings and getting irritated easily.

Juz in hospital here I flared up twice with hubby. 1 time better delivery, 2nd time today. Cos he made me walk despite I was in deep pain, and the staff here kept forgetting to gimme the painkillers. I couldn't take it and burst out crying and scolding him for not understanding the pain I went through. I think I very bad... But I dunno why, I juz find it so hard to control my emotions here.

I tried latching Erica today. Only awhile my breast was bleeding. And Erica so sleepy. When I was finishing the other breast, she started crying due to hunger... So frustrating... So in the end the nurse told me to give FM to curb the hunger. And she suckle hungily. Now I wonder if she did really manage to suck anything out from my breast.

Ask u all something hor, how come I kept sweating profusely after delivery. I really sweat buckets. Until my clothes were wet. And my hair stinks. Anyone using the powder for hair, how come mine after I put, like all sticky sticky like tt one?? Anyone can advise me?

kelcqi,
no worries.
ur wound will heal in a few days time and it wouldnt hurt so badly liao.

i am also sweating like mad
in my whole lifetime, i dun think i sweat so much de...
so its normal lah

i also used the dry shampoo.
but dun like the feeling.
so powdery de...
mine was Batiste brand
end up i also nv use.
ren, wash hair only once per week.
bun up ur hair high high.

jia you, jia you!
you are a great mummy
look ahead and think positively
hug ur gal and u will know that its worth it de =)

poky,
yup i bf my baby... but i think will change to fm, paranoid...cos i have rashes due to hormonal changes, then i apply those cream, so scare will contaminate the milk if accidentally touch those area. my gp didnt give me antibiotic, cos me start the cough like 2 days ago...so not very serious...

hi kelcqi, i also sweated like mad after delivery, esp at nigt. sleep with aircon still sweat like mad.. but after almost a month then back to normal liao, perhaps the body is trying to get rid of excess fluids..

muzicgal, me also having rashes! worse than my pregnancy rashes..

my gp didn't give me cream, she say better wait till baby is at least 3 months old before applying any medicated creams, but by then the rashes should be gone liao right?