(2008/05) May 2008

Re: thawing frozen EBM

mummies, i notice when i feed my girl frozen EBM, there's like small bits of solids that dun dissolve. a bit like when giving FM like that, but not as bad. but when giving chilled EBM then like all poerfectly dissolved, no such little pieces of solids.

do you ladies find the same thing? but my girl never reject the frozen EBM and it's not gone bad as well. makes me hesitate giving frozen EBM leh.

icebaby, not lumps leh. only small particles like milk solids. you know like if make PM will have those small particles of milk solids? my frozen EBM also have but smaller particles than FM and not so much. but not like chilled EBM totally dun have.

how to thaw properly? i'm now putting it overnight in the fridge to thaw.

Yanling,

I had breast infection... Had red patches on breast like you and hard hard lumps... Went to see LC at KKH and she managed to massage away the lumps but advised me to get BF-friendly antibiotics from doctor (i went to a GP). She said i was lucky not to get a fever, and if wait any longer might turn to pus. Had to go down to KKH for two days in a row to get it cleared, cos she couldn't clear it all in one day.. Be warned it is very painful to clear - some say even more painful than labour... i wouldn't know cos i c-section, but she will ask you to take 2 panadols 1 hr before seeing her... If you want her contact, PM me... quite a few of the BF mummies used her to help clear their blocks...

thanks for all mummies who gave me suggestions.
sigh.. actually this is 2nd time i have breast infection liao. the first time is the right breast and lucky i dun have fever tat time, my gynae gave me antibiotic straight away. so it's not tat bad.

but this time round. cos it's another doctor covering her and he said can be cured by itself. but i am trying to see if i can get come medicine from him first. if not i really have to seek 2nd opinion liao. can't having fever all the time and now the infected breast start to swell lioa.

Tracy remember that time I did say about my girl latching with sound, today then I realise is my flow too much for her to cope and she will still suckle but some of the milk will flow out from her mouth. If this happen I will try to pull and press my br so that the sound gone. I think that help to reduce the flow as I realise after the latching with sound she will puke out some milk. Initially worry she drink in air now think about it might be the flow is too fast for her to cope.

Kelcqi
My confinement just over 3 days... All the best for your delivery and enjoy you dinner and show 8) Hope to hear from you soon.

Just come back from her 1st Jab @ poly clinic
she is now 4.79kg and 57cm tall. Jaundice level is high @ 225 Doc say if mon still not dropping got to go KK 8(

Poko,
today i tried leaning back whenever i hv letdown n so far so good, no regurgitation of milk after latching.

Today my first day latching him outside with nursing shawl, but not really in public. In the car and in gynae's clinic. Quite ok, need practice. And he took sooooo long to drink! spent 30mins on each breast.

Oh, my lochia discharge actually finished like 2wks ago, but ystrdy the flow came back again. Today see gynae, she said its ok, wound heal nicely. I told her i used mirror to see my wound n i dun tink its nice, she said this is already considered nice liao. She said dats why alot of women now prefer c-sect cos after normal delivery, down there not the same anymore..

And hor.. i saw now sign up for FBI or SBI at TMC, get a free bag quite nice leh. Why didnt they hv that at our time?! The bag can put my ameda pump n fridge to go when i return to work.

HI all,

My Breast really hurts today.. no lump but got the blue black feeling especially below near to my rib cage.. not sure y oso.. tried to massage though it really hurts n oso ise hot towel to massage lo.. hope it gets better. my milk supply not fixed one leh.. this morning i wake up n pump, left side only got abt 30ml den right side got 120ml.. haha.. so much diff rite.. den juz now pump left side got 100ml right side got 160ml.. the bottle almost full.. think coz i massage in the morning n juz now bath wif the hot herbal water i keep massaging den my left side not blocked lo.

I got questions regarding freezing of milk.. for eg i've pump out my supply rite, shld i freeze it straight or put in fridge if there's still milk in the fridge?? den muz i freeze it straight after i opump or can i put it in fridge first den if cannot finish for the day den i put in freezer?? i really confuse leh.. since i keep pumping rite, den when i start to gif baby those freeze milk??

Weight:

Anyone got any idea how to lose weight fast?? i very impatient.. still got 7kg more to go but i aim to lose another 9-10kg.. n anyone noes after the massage roughly how much weight can we lose??

Kelcqi,

Jiayou!!

hi piggymummy,

me too, taking the tablets as well, and going to finish 1 bottle. Do you know whether i can get it at the phamarcy or i need to go back to TMC to get it ?

Kelcqi,

EBM:
Do I have to sterilize the bags before putting my BM in it to freeze? and how long does it take to thaw the BM? Please advice. i think my supply is going lower. today first pump of the day only managed to get 80ml and i only managed to pump 2x a day.....

Vel
Is best to store into freezer immediately... As for when to give freezed milk hor. You see how much your BB consume each day and extra freeze inside the freezer. Those freezed milk is for rainny day or when you go back to work as ss will affect greatly due to irregular pump. My sister in law give 50% fresh and 50% freeze once she go back to work.

Tracy,

i am also using Ameda pump, can i check what is the fridg to go that you have purchase ? i am looking for 1 after i go back to work so that i can store the BM

Vel,
Initially quite confusing about the when to store in fridge or freezer. For me, after expressing it goes into fridge first. I always maintain about 5 bottles of 100ml in the fridge. If go beyond that, I start freezing liao.

Like Poko, my frozen milk is also for when I need to leave bb at MIL's place when I go out, and also when i return to work. It's true, when you return to work, supply may dip slightly cos new pumping environment. Also, if your period comes back, supply also dip.

Piggy mummy,
I didnt take Fenugreek for this round. For #1 I tried but didn't like the smell and not much effect for me.

Dolly,
Can get from GNC also. But price wise I dunno how much difference. Compass Point got GNC.

Yueling,
This morning I just started giving him 110ml-120ml cos after finishing 100ml he was still fussing. With 120ml, last night he could last about 3hours. Fed at 1am, 4am and 6.45am. But daytime he's still 2hourly feed. If I direct latch for 45mins-1hour, it can last him about 2hours. Your gal asking for 2hourly BM is normal. BM digest very fast.

Tracy,

How will Fenugreek help in BM? and can u advice me on BM? do i have to sterilize the bags before pouring the BM in the bags? 5 bottles of 100ml in a day? that's wonderful!

Beside Fenugreek, there is another supplement called Motilium. Anyone try before?

If we start taking Fenugreek, will the supply come very fast & need to bf or express out more frequently or just like normal 3hourly?

I'm worry if I start taking supplement then when after ML & go back to work, need to express frequently during working hours which might be quite difficult.

Poko,
tink its for chilled milk and to chill freshly expressed milk when you are outside. I dun tink it can keep frozen milk frozen.

Poko,
Do you mean bb after 1 month old might still have jaundice? If the jaundice level drop, does it mean it might go back up again ?

hi laddies,

i remember we discussed about the choice of shops for Baby full month cake in this thread before but i can't locate it now. Anyone has a shortcut link to it?

My girl still have jaundice leh, last time my boy also have it for quite awhile more than a mth too but I can't remember how long... The doc say until very scary he say need to be treat within 6wk as he worry is liver problem. But I told him my boy also like that most likely is BF prolong Jaundice. Anyway going back on Mon to check her level again.

Pooh,
ya ya, sama sama. bite and tug and gag and choke.

poko,
today my gynae say my boy still slight jaundice but she also say its cos i'm breastfeeding.

birdy,
yupz..its known as breastmilk jaundice.
http://www.kellymom.com/newman/07jaundice.html

Extracted from above article:
So-called Breastmilk Jaundice
There is a condition commonly called breastmilk jaundice. No one knows what the cause of breastmilk jaundice is. In order to make this diagnosis, the baby should be at least a week old, though interestingly, many of the babies with breastmilk jaundice also have had exaggerated physiologic jaundice. The baby should be gaining well, with breastfeeding alone, having lots of bowel movements, passing plentiful, clear urine and be generally well. In such a setting, the baby has what some call breastmilk jaundice, though, on occasion, infections of the urine or an under functioning of the baby's thyroid gland, as well as a few other even rarer illnesses may cause the same picture. Breastmilk jaundice peaks at 10-21 days, but may last for two or three months. Breastmilk jaundice is normal. Rarely, if ever, does breastfeeding need to be discontinued even for a short time. Only very occasionally is any treatment, such as phototherapy, necessary. There is not one bit of evidence that this jaundice causes any problem at all for the baby. Breastfeeding should not be discontinued "in order to make a diagnosis". If the baby is truly doing well on breast only, there is no reason, none, to stop breastfeeding or supplement with a lactation aid, for that matter.

gave my boy FM yesterday and he vomited abt half of it out...
so kong bu...
then from yesterday 1am till now, i am doing full latching on liao...
i dun wan him to drink too much FM le...
but hor, he has been wanting milk for every 1.5hrs or so...
he will only suckle for 15 to 30mins each time then will fall alseep le

i am now alternating both sides per feed
like that hw to pump extra milk to store???

hi harnee,

u can consider fenugreek to boost milk supply, can take 6-9 capsules a day n effect shd come in 2nd day. In addl, do drink alot of water, rest n pump ;)

hi Yanling (tutu_san),

are the lumps = infection ? i hv same prob and it get better with massage but wl come back again kind. I noticed it when i hv bad engorement on day3-4 (saw LC for this)!

hi cheri liao,

i tried pressing hard on the lump + cold compress but it doesnt seem to resolve much
some times i felt i massage till i buay tahan (blue black feeling). However, i concluded that i better b hardworking n avoid bad engorements n it somehow helps. Reading yr post, i will try harder to press again

i tried feeding my boy frozen milk, fridge milk, fresh milk (latch on), formula milk. he prefer fresh and formula... fridge milk depends... but frozen milk he make alot of noise when drinking..

kelcqi,
jiayou!!! waiting to see your erica's photo.

update..the last time i sms kelcqi, she's 2cm dilated and give in to epi liao..

Tracy I will be going back for the test again if the result is not reducing I will go back to my PD for 2nd opinion, I still feel that is prolong jaundice due to BF I don't want to make myself worry too much.

my gal has suddenly developed this bad habit of wanting to be carried when she's awake. And must carry her and walk around. Once I put her back in her cot she will cry very loudly, even if she already fell asleep in my arms. It only started this few days and previously we have not been encouraging carrying her all the time. Anyone knows how to break this bad habit? Can't carry her ard the entire day wor, very tiring and impossible to do anything else.

Diamonddust,
same here my boy is exactly the same as your gal, also thinking how to stop this habit. Very tiring and depressing cos dunno why my milk supply for today like drop drastically then baby like becoming more fussy. I feel like pulling my hair!!

today is the official day for my baby full month, which means my confinement ends today as well. My mil has went back and i am on my own from tonite onwards. Luckily my hubby is around to help me out, and finally made my boy sleep. Now pumping milk, and later need to prepare for his next feed at 1130pm.

Just to share, i ordered the cakes from "Sweetest Moment", packaging is nice and the cakes are quite nice, so quite worth the price.

hi muzicgal,

i didnt have the time to go Taka earlier, cos it was aleady 7plus when i left my mum place, anyway my hubby and i have planned to bring our boy out tomorrow afternoon for shopping. Only thing is that i have to prepare and bring out alot of things if we are planning for half day shopping... oh yeah, we are decided to get the FP rocker as well

Hi Jer / Diamonddust,

Same same, my boy also like that, always wanted ppl to carry and pat him to sleep, and he has to be sound asleep before we can put him into the baby cot, even in the middle of the night, so sometimes, i am quite tired and hold him in my arms and sleep. So this is one of the reason why i wanted to get the rocker, and hope that you can sleep in the rocker without wanting ppl to carry around.

Hi Tracy,

thanks for the information. Now i am just wondering whether i will still be so persistent when i go back to work and pump regularly, if not it will be a waste to get the bag, and also, as i do not pump regularly for the past few days, my SS has dropped, and now in the afternoon, i can only pump up to 80ml, trying hard to make it increase again

Jus bottle fed my boy, changed his diaper 3x cos he poo n when i change he poo again. Now I'm pumping...Hope his next feed is 330am (3hour) and not 230am cos now ut's already 130am and by the time i finish pump, wash n sterilise will b 2am!

Muzicgal,
My boy's navel also pop out. Maybe cos now their tummy still bloated?

Dolly,
So when you go out you bring pump, EBM, hot water, milk bottles? If you buy the FTG can store your EBM and also those you pump when you're out.