(2008/05) May 2008

tracy, eh.. sorry ah.. but hor.. does BM medically proven dat it will helps to improve eyesight? i saw ur thread liao i oso buay tahan.. so in the end did ur grandma come over?

Faith ,

Wow ....jia you jia you !!
Hahaah ..you veri good one min come in asking suggestion on induce or c-section .

1 min ...water bag burst and going to hospital .
Thought i will be earlier than you ....who know you are faster . Hopefully my baby will stay cosy these two days dun let me suffer twice .

Kelcqi ,

Left me and you holding hand liao ....Dun leave me alone here
.I`m havin slight contraction earlier on but went off . Hubby kept on saying please stay in there for 3 more days .

Mel c,
congats!!!

sparks,
omg, you fell from stairs?! So scary, lucky u and baby alright, btw congrats on your prince arrival!

faith,
Jia you!! The blood + jelly discharge is show.

Tracy,
huh? breastmilk for failing eyesight? if really can works then those with shot-sighted dun need to go for lasik and those lasik clinic can close down.

Jo,

Haha, No lah. I won't abandon you one... Why your hubby tell baby to hang in there? He dun wanna see baby ah? Haha...

I also had contractions last nite. Scared e shit out of me. Really tot that's it. Turned out false alarm again... Maybe what my mum said is true. She said I feel of funny ideas. No wonder my baby also playing tricks on me. LOL...

re: fisher price rocker.. god-sent.. i put my gal there in the morning and evening when she's awake but not doing much. can be adjusted to a non-rocker (she just lie there) or rocker. thinking of maybe getting a playpen to put in the living room next. hope GSS will have good deals?

yanling, dun give up! me pumping exclusively every 3 hourly. today's my first long outing with bb ang hubby (since bb celebrated full month yesterday). pumped 3 times outside, the third time my electric pump battery died on me (no power socket in nursing room), luckily i have my avent manual pump with me. managable with hubby's help, he helped to feed bb while i pump.

Thanks for listening. When they heard i'm not giving my breastmilk they decided not to come over. No logic or research that proves it can improve eyesight la. These people jus i dunno being ridiculous!

Dolly,
I haven tried drinking cold drinks but for my SIL, after confinement she took a few sips of coke, she got terrible engorgement!

I have a rocker similar to this from my fren. My boy dun really like cos its too warm.
http://www.fisher-price.com/fp.aspx?st=2002&e=product&pid=38712

Kelcqi,
Aiya..you needed the breastmilk collection shell. I was trying to sell my brand new ones in box away at $20. Cos my SIL passed me hers.

Vel,
Hang in there, the first few weeks are really tough as both baby and yourself settle into the routine. Baby will feed very frequently, driving us mad sometimes. After one month, baby will settle in and you will be used to it. Good that your mum lets you practice now. but remember to get some rest too.

Sparks,
Was wondering how come never hear from you. You fell down the stairs?! But glad to hear all is well now.

Mel C,
It was good your gynae could advise you to go straight for c-sect. As long as baby and yourself are fine. So is the c-sect wound better the second time round? I heard that it's not as painful second time.

Faith,
Jiayou! Wah, you still shower..I was in such a mess when my waterbag burst!

Icebaby,
I got notice your hair is very straight. Hehe, so it was just rebonded. Nice nice, looks natural tt I didn't think you just rebonded it.

Oh ya, forgot to add that it was my baby that helped me to dislogde the clog in my breast this morning. I was massaging like mad from 930am to 12noon when hubby brought bb and said its feeding time anyway so try. Then i remembered, oh ya, got baby to help hor. Once I latched him, voila! The breast became soft liao!

kelqi / tracy,

i went to kiddy palace earlier to take a look on the rocker and bouncer, nt much of a difference, instead my hubby is looking into another 3 in 1 model instead, it can be a swing, meaning that can put bb inside and it will swing and rock baby to sleep and it cost $199. in the end, i told my hubby dun buy first, cos if my boy is used to the swing, then it will be like "yao lan" and next time to make baby sleep in cot or bed, will be difficult, so end up i didnt buy anything .... just that now my boy has got a bad habit, he wants ppl to carried him all the way, until he is very sound asleep then put him in the cot, if not, he will wake up and cry once you put him down. haiz .... have been carrying him for the whole afternoon.

oh yes ... my ML has went back home tonight, and will only be back tomorrow night, so tomorrow morning i got to bath my boy and manage on my own, wonder if i can cope or not .... anyway, just now i went to get the anti-slip mat for the tub, just for in case ... must pray hard that my boy will guai guai and let me bath him.

moony,

dun give up pumping ... even SS has dropped, you should continue to pump. i only pumped twice yesterday as we celebrated my boy full month, and this afternoon, my SS has also dropped to 30ml ... sad too ! Told my hubby abt it, and kena scolding, cos he said that i keep having the mindset that after i go back to work, i will stop giving BM, thats why now my SS started to drop as the signal has been sent to my brain.

So now, i guai guai and sit in front of the laptop and pump again ... my SS has begin to increase back, at least now i managed to get 60ml back .. so the same theory, dun give up and keep pumping, the signal will be send to your brain. Jia You !

dolly, my hubby opposite from you.. he see me pump every 3 hourly so stressed must keep to the time and wake up twice in the middle of the night to pump. sometimes i so tired will be a little cranky, plus nipples are like forever sore, he see me so kelian keep telling me it's ok to stop giving BM. then kena scolding from me say why he dun support me and discourage me. heehee

but he very supportive lah, after i pump he'll wash up the pump parts and sterilise..

moony,

forget to add ... i also feed my boy with FM this afternoon, as nt much BM left in my fridge, so tonite i will be more hardworking to pump so that tomorrow he can resume back to BM.

So if u dun mind, before your SS increased, you can supplement with FM first, and dun keep saying that it is fated , okay ?

Tracy,

your baby is so cooperative, that can help you to dislodge .... if this happen to me, i think i still have to go back to Parentcraft and get the LC to help me to clear, and each consultation is $40 ...

lynn,

oh yeah, my hubby is very supportive of me pumping out and give BM to my boy .. just that at times, when i am pumping, he cannot manage my boy when he keeps crying. Although he keeps asking me to continue with my pumping, i can tell from his look that "are you done and can take over the baby" ? ......

dolly23,
go get this bathtub for your boy. it's easier...
1443289.jpg

can use from newborn to toddler.
my boy love this bathtub...it's $49. he wont slip into water...

muzicgal, i have this bathtub too! i'm currently using it with the net thingy, makes it so easy to bath the baby (minus the pee and poop accidents lol)..

dolly23,
i got it at robinson. i bought 2. one for mil's house, another one at mom's place.

lynn,
u bought the deluxe edition, it's more expensive. i think $69.
hahahaa.. my boy poo in the bathtub while bathing...

1443339.jpg

my boy enjoying...

Muzicgal,

yeah yeah ... from the photo, i can tell that your boy seem to be enjoying his shower.
My boy is opp, seem to scare of water or what, every morning when shower, he always cry loudly and dun seem to be enjoying ...
okay thanks, i think i will go and get it, not sure if the sales in Expo is selling or not.

dolly23,
robinson having 20% sales now.. then every $50 you spend at kids section, you will get a chop. 5th chop get mystery gift. 10th chop gets $20 kids section voucher. cant remember 20th chop is what liao...

Tracy I also kena a clog duct on sat, did your ss affected now? I only able to get half of what I got on my right br don't know how long will it last...

If your grandma really need the BM you tell her can give those left over one lor if BB can't finish then pass to her. Fresh one need to reserve for him lor.

Moony
You can't just pump when br is harden should do it constantly if 3hrly is too tiring for you can try 4hrly the ss will still come back one if you keep with that schedule.

I got this traditional bouncer from KP good and BB can sleep inside for more then 3hrs 8)
1443410.jpg

Muzicgal it look painful to me are you too tired with your routine? Should rest more... and take care..

Yah the bouncer is really big my MIL say can use till BB older.

Bath
I got a non slip mat so that BB can sit on the tub while bathing.

Lynn,

Your comments on the rocker makes me so happy. My mum and hubby keep saying dunno got use or not, although I said can come into good use if we need to sun the baby in e future, they are doubting me and said I waste money. Hopefully my baby fully make good use of the rocker...

Tracy,

Haha, Wasted! But You check with any mummies here if they wanna get it or not? Esp those suffering from Sore nipples. I happened to ask Muzicgal if that shells are useful. She told me is a God-sent, and that evening I met her and we went PS and I got it at Mothercare liao...

Dolly,

Maybe your baby insecure thats why need ppl to craddle him to sleep?

Wah, that swing very expensive leh. My gf also said wanna get the swing for baby but I worried abt the motion also. U discuss with your hubby lah. Cos the rocker can act as a chair for the toddler, that's why I chose that over a pink bouncer cos I wanna stretch my dollar. hehe...

If we let baby sit on bouncer or rocker now, I worry that bb will get too used to it & dun wanna sleep in cot anymore or hard time to ask him sleep in the cot....

But at the same time, rocker & bouncer did help us to rock/bounce him when he want us to carry him around... kinda dilemma now...

Ladies ,

I saw another bath tub..which is under lucky baby which i saw at NTUC extra Ang Mo Kio .Quite similar ...can be detact out the non-slip mat and sitting area when he is older . Dunno how much was it ... Was thinking to get that but always out of stock .

Let me see i can the picture ...hubby going down to see have stock anot tomorrow .

mummies, my girl these couple of days behaving strangely when drinking milk..

she wil, halfway into the feeding suddenly cry veryu loudly and reject the bottle, as if complaining about something. we gotta remove the bottle and then reintroduce it to her. and then after a while she might again turn her head away and start crying and rejecting the bottle. any mummies know the reason why babies might do this?

she does this for both FM and EBM leh.

Kelcqi & Jo, still got me havent pop. Can only slient read, cannot contribute about babies and Milk ..

Last Sat, during checkup Gynae said I have risk of PIH, or preeclampsia. So need to induce or c-sect if it get worse. I got scared, stopped all the junk food and Mac. Have been eating salad and tasteless food over the weekend. On Sat night, I couldn't sleep and BB was super active.. also scared the wit out of me, I thought he is in distress .. asking mummy to help him ..
luckly hubby calm me down. Everything back to normal.

Since 5 am this morning, I am having contraction every 30 mins. But I am not sure if it is BH or real contraction, still very much within my pain treshold. Anyway, later going for checkup at 1pm hopefully, can last till then.

poko, my girl dun wanna burp leh, cos when she's in one of those moods where she cry during feeding burping her makes her cry worse..

dunno if it's wind or anything, but the PD that time dun wan to give ridwind or infancol, she say try the probiotics which should make her digestive system stronger but takes effects more slowly, but is more natural than the medications. i wished she would have given me the wind drops, then maybe can have faster relief..

yesterday my MIL was with me in the morning (hate her!) and she insisted on feeding my girl for 2 feeds. i see the bottle almost empty liao keep asking her to stop, even hubby also. but she insisted on finishing the last drop of EBM in the bottle, like very scared if waste my BM then i would blame her like tat. i so worried my girl has sucked in a lot of air, see already also heartpain

wah.. last night here so bz ar..
i might as well log in last night and chat also.. since my boy poo 4 times in his sleep and almost every hour he want to nurse.. i only managed 3hrs of sleep.. now need to juggle all my kids while MIL goes marketing.. sianz.. i want to sleep but cannot..

faith
jia you! hope u've popped by now

sparks
aiyo.. how u fell down the stairs one? lucky u and bb alright. enjoy ur confinement

ant1712
i bring my boy out alot of times liao.. i brot him alone to nuh, polyclinic for check up.. jurong east de entertainment center.. i even sneak him out to jurong point.. keke.. brot him to toyrus bcoz i forgot to buy the party favours for my #2 bdae bash

tracy
so our BM becomes "xian dan" liao.. haha.. dun noe where ur grandma hear from.. think those eye doctors will be jobless soon

loomi
good luck to ur appt later

Poko,
In fact after removing the clog my supply seems slightly better but I can't really tell yesterday cos I latch baby more and pump irregularly.

I saw the huge bouncer at KP! I was very amused by the size cos first time seeing bouncer so big. My CL was recommending it as she said can use till quite old. The one i have now is the smaller version.

Moony,
Dun give up pumping. Nowadays I often miss my night pumps cos really cannot wake up. For eg, last night I pump at 1am, then next pump only jus now at 7am. But later in the day I will switch back to 3hourly pump. I dun go think how much I can get per pump, as long as there is milk to feed bb can already. So keep pumping or latching!

Dolly,
My bathtub also has a removable bath seat inside so its easier to bathe baby.

Muzicgal,
Your baby's got your eyes hor.

Lynn,
Are you still latching your baby? Maybe your baby knows and prefer your breast to bottle thats why fussing?

Loomi,
Maybe baby was trying to engage that's why moving actively. Good luck for your appt later. Who knows, maybe you will be popping soon!

gd morning mommies... wow so many awake at the wee hours of the morning...

i really impressed with all the mommies who take the effort to pump... my girl drinks VERY little, and from over supply, my BM production now v v miserable coz she only latch on every 3-4hrs... in fact, last night, she only woke up to feed 1am, 6am, and now still sleeping! sigh...i hope when her appetite picks up, my BM supply also can pick up... else i cham liao!

lommi, good luck for your appt later! hope you're all packed and ready to be admitted
me also had baby moving more actively than usual for a couple of days, followed by lower activity levels before i gave birth..

tracy, me latching my baby occassionally only, and she has no problems with the bottle before leh, so upsetting to see her cry in the middle of a feed. my girl also likes to poop in the middle of a feed, so sometimes see her stop drinking and give me the gek-sai face i know she'll poop lol..

i heard that is baby absorbs BM very well then will have very few bowel movements. my girl poop many times a day, like at least 5 or 6, does it mean she's not absorbing well?

i also brought my baby out, to PD and to shopping centres etc. and after her full month celebrations on saturday can officially bring her out for long periods of time already. but the amount oif barang i have to bring out is shocking! really fills my tiny car boot lor. dunno how it'll all fit when i upgrade to using my own bigger stroller. now using a smaller one passed down from my sis.

re: car seats
my girl now sits in an rear-facing car seat, wonder when it'll be safe to change to a front-facing convertible one? cos the car seat now presses upon the front driver seat. everytime must shift the driver seat position to put and take it out.

lynn,
then could it be the bottle teat? maybe she finds it too slow flow?

for car seats this is the advice:
Rearward-facing seats provide greater protection for the baby's head, neck and spine than forward-facing seats. Thus, it is best to keep your baby in a rearward-facing seat for as long as possible. Switch to a forward-facing seat once your child has exceeded the maximum weight for the baby seat, or if the top of your child's head is higher than the top of the seat.

Kelcqi,

It shows that ur hubby really cares for you and worried that the "nurse" can do anything to you.

Yah, wasted no pictures. Very disappointed but my hubby had no reaction. Haiz

Yes, I heard Mirena has effects and really depends on individual. But I would go for that rather than the others such as pills and patch. Of course, the "balloon" is an option but I have never got hubby to use it before *haha* so....

poky,

Meihao catering do provide warmer. Where u read that they dun?

Oh, their customer service is good. When I sent an enquiry via email, the lady will call me and talk to me. When I order online, the lady will also call me and then ask me to confirm via email the orders. The week that the catering going to come, she also will call to confirm 1 more time. You tell me, good service anot?

Even the driver that picks the trays is good! and damn polite.

Dolly,

A rocker can be quite warm. I have 1 now that my niece pass to me...but too warm. So we sticking to the traditional bouncer.

moony,

when u ask ur gynae...let us know also. I think a few of us also interested to know. =)

RE: Faith

Has she delivered?

tracy,

yeah, i supposed i need to go and buy another bath tub, may consider to get the one that muzicgal recommended, so thought of sneaking out to Singapore Expo Robinson Sales.
initially thought that i will be alone this morning as my mil went back last night, but didnt realise that my hubby took leave to company me. Juz now i bathed my boy and luckily he cooperated with me and it was a smooth bath.

dun know what happened, my boy refusd to sleep since early morning until now... I carried him to sleep and then put him in the cot, but after 10 - 15 mins, he started to yell and start loudly, then need to carry again, not sure whether it is due to colic or what, already called and made appt to see PD later.

kelqi,

i also dun know, just that nowadays he likes ppl to carry him, and once you put him down in bb cot, he will wake up and start to cry again .. haiz ...

lynn,

same same .. my boy also dun like to burp, if not he will take very long time to burp, so usually for the midnight feed, i am always not successful in burping him, cos he will knock out after the feed, so can i ask if it is alright if we never burp the bb ? i suspected he is having colic so that why bringing him to see PD later

my boy oso loves to be carry and shake shake... all thanks to his nai nai... eat too full nutting to do... always carry him and shake shake...grrr...

muzicgal, i complete agree with you.. some people just so buay zi dong, eat too full nothing to do think can play play and carry my baby the whole day.. after they happily leave can leave me to die, must do housework, pump and still carry baby the whole day???

ya lor... i told my hubby to tell my mil dun always carry liao... but when i go work... she still carry shake shake... see liao damn pek chek.. then when pek chek i go pump milk.. milk supply drop... very frustrating... my fil still can touch the rubbish chute to throw thingy then never wash hand... walk around.. then he forget he havent wash hand go touch my boy.... GRRRR.... damn angwee...

when my boy at my mom's place, his face acne gets better... then when go back mil's house... the acne back again.. and getting more and more... told hubby liao... he say wanna buy osim ioniser. then mil house now doing lift upgrading, then mil scare house dusty, so all windows close, then on fan speed number 1 to circulate air. then when i step into the house.. the air was so stale and stuffy lor... kaoz... no wonder my boy so cranky at mil house... so maybe tats y always need to be carry... cos he ek ek ek alot...

need advice on freezing EBM..
right now i freeze EBM using milkbags in bags of 5oz, but i find that taking up a lot of space in my freezer. any space-saving way to freeze EBM? Or any way to freeze milkbags so they take up less space? I'm i'm lying them flat while freezing.

also, since frozen EBM can only keep for 3 months, do you mummies constantly thaw frozen EBM to be fed and then freeze new batches of EBM? If not they'll 'expire' in 3 months and all wasted.. my hubby ask my i keep freezing EBM for what since right now got surplus everyday. but then if not then pump and throw away meh??

Lynn,
My frozen milk dates back to 1st May. Now that CL is leaving, I will take down frozen milk to use whenever I need to leave my bb at MIL's when i go check-up etc. Then I freeze my fresh ones if have to. I plan to pass few bags of milk to MIL every morning when I return to work. Then those I pump at work I freeze. At night return home, latch bb.

lynn,
i always thaw the old EBM to feed my boy then freeze the fresh one. i use avent bottle with the sealing disc.. very convenient.. thaw and warm up the milk then replace the sealing disc with teat then can feed liao.

muzicgal,
Cos I had oversupply in the first few weeks so end up alot to freeze. After latching I still pump to empty breasts. :p Now i'm aiming to supply only enough for the day.

muzicgal, u use avent bottles to freeze ah? so expensive to buy so many bottles leh.

i've not yet tried thawing and feeding my frozen EBM, how long does it take to thaw? Under normal room temperature or u thaw in hot water?

i aim to thaw and start feeding my girl when she takes 150ml in one feed, cos i've frozen in bags of 150ml (cos milkbags are so expensive!)..

for FM, it says on the tin to discard after opening for one month. but after one month i still have more than half a tin left leh. mummies supplementing with FM, do you follow the instructions and throw the tin away after 4 weeks?

Lynn,
haha, i worse. Some of my frozen milk come in bags of 280ml! I have more than half a tin of FM cos I only fed a couple of feeds in first week. I plan to throw away even tho my fren said no need, still can feed. I dun wanna take the risk.

For me last time, I will bring down the milk into the fridge the night before. But sometimes come morning still haven defrost. Then I'll put under a cup of running tap water to quickly defrost it.