(2008/05) May 2008

How much water do you let your newborn drink per day? My mil whenever baby cry, she want to feed her water but I think I saw somewhere that cannot drink too much water right?

Re: Peein after delivery
Could only pee once durin the first nite after delivery. but also drag a long time b4 able to dribble out.. but stil feel the urge that there stil alot more.. more after sittin on the pee pan for more than 2hrs.. stil none.. so nurse must take off... =( only the nxt mornin abt 10+am, then get down bed to pee in the toliet. But wasnt able to clear all while seated down... need to "half stand" n give a push b4 the rest come out... mayb u can c if this work for u also. =p

Re: BB irregular BM timmin
Now fully BM my gal liao. 1st nite at home, after latchin her for 15mins on each side, then feed her FM, she will b v lazy to b cup feed with FM,, then couldnt finish the 20ml of FM.. at most less than 10ml, the rest puke or dribble out... so decided to only BM only.. then monitor if she stil hungry enuf to want fm.. (cos lazy also... else hubby will hv to start preparin the FM when i latch her on the 2nd side... total BM, hubby can rest more liao.... juz carry her to me, he can go n ZZZZ>.. liao)

at first nite n day,., her interval was abt 3hrs, will auto want to b fed again.. but yesterday nite... start to b lesser.. only 1.5-2hrs intervals, start cryin for milk again. also start to slp after only 10mins or so... but when squeeze, still got "sht" bm out.. so definitely it tat she lazy to eat n not hvin insufficient supply. =( after readin up on the TMC guide bk on bf, this mornin then started to latch her on one side for as long as she wants, instead of both side.. then also change from cradle position to lyin down... tis way, no matter how long bb wants, i wont feel so back ache.. she can also take her own time to suckle. but if too long, no suckle, will stroke her chin or move move a bit to get her goin again.. this way take abt 45min.. hopefully, her intervals will b constant again at 3hrs intervals... =p

Jer,

Congra, and welcome to motherhood..;p Tat's great, at least u hv a maid to help out as after del is not easy to do lots of things.. take care good care of yourself and ur bb as well

Luvbella,
my mil also wants to feed my bb with winter melon water for cooling. but my bb alrdy so lazy to take milk, if let her take xtra fluids, she where got stomach to drink milk? only the first time gave her 2 teaspoon, to which she also puke out mostly. so now no more "xtra fluid" alrdy.

tot water only to give if bb got special health condition?? then water to dilute the "effect"...?? i also not v sure...

Jer,
hahaha, I "jio" you go zouk ah? well done for you delivery! Very smooth leh, and natural tear, no need to cut. Can consider #3..it'll be even faster! So nice your whole family outside waiting some more.

getting up 3hourly at night to express helps with supply right?
My baby is now fully on BM.

Dolly,
It took a few days only, less than a week for the rashes to go away by itself.

Luvbella,
My CL gives my bb water after coming back from sunbathing cos its quite hot. Then during the day, in between feeds a few sips.

I finally got to see my princess!

update w my birth story when I discharge.

MelC,
I did it. natural without epidural! what about u?

Tracy
Likely Dr Eunice Chua will take over. Do u know her? Is she pro natural?

icebubbles
Really ah? I dunno can't touch the cot leh... me everyday fidgit around with all the baby things.

Birdy
Congrats! Me still growing mushrooms leh. But now worry bb will come when gynae is away this weekend... timing so wrong!

Jer,

Your birth story ending like mine in trace. Know what's going on but refuse to let pple take the mask away.

poky,

So young can take winter melon meh?

RE: HOLIDAY
See lah...where got mummy plan holiday so fast? By the way, I book next yr March holis to bring my parents + hubby + 2 kids (baby not included) to BKK. Hahaha

Dolly, my gal now oso has the red patches on her face and oso pimples lidat... the whole face, ear, head all kena. Very ke lian, see liao super heartache... cos born wasnt lidat. Only started at mid of 2nd week. PD say its heat rash wor... weather is too hot and the confinement food we eat oso hot. He ask us to let her sleep aircon, room temp. Still hoping it will clear soon. Her full mth is this sunday and still face so red and full of pimples... so sad!

hi jaspire,

oh yes, you are right, not only red patches, he is also starting to have pimples looked alike on his forehead as well, see liao feel like squeezing out for him. This is what i suspected too, due to the heaty food that we have consumed ... haiz ... but as per the newborn guide and Tracy, it should go off by itself, but not sure how long.

BTW, i already tried to let my boy sleep in aircon room as much as possible, although i am afraid that it may cause his skin to be dry.

I'm feeling nausea today leh.. dunno y.. my bleeding had stop already.. yeah!! Still thinking of wat to wat 2nite leh.. hehe.

icebubbles,
wat time u gg in hospital tml??

Jer,

So exciting ur birth story.. congrats!!

Tracy
Tks for the link, dats very helpful. Quite reassuring to know she is popular and good but still wondering if I will hv successful VBAC cos not much mentioned abt it abt her. If at the end of it all still hv to hv a ceasarian den might as well had done it long ago...

Anyway, I can only hope bb decides to pop by Fri or else wait till wed... ;-)

icebubbles..
ice cream is recommended! or those ice blended..hahaaa..ice kacang...hmm...wahh...i am craving for these!

oh ya..regarding peeing..me was "ordered" to go to toilet on my own the nite after i give birth..they so cruel..took off my tt tube ah... so i got to walk slowly to toilet and pee... damn pain the first attempt... but subsequently bo bian lor..

even passing motion also... so scared my stitch will tear.. hai... lucky now ok liao..coz i ate alot of fruits... else cham...

btw...for those who had stitches below..how do we noe the stitch had dissolved?

i cant c leh

Sorry to intrude this thread.
I am selling my THERMOS Leak-Proof Food Jar B3000PK2 (blue) coz I find it too small. Used only once, selling at $28. Interested pls email me [email protected]
collection :parkway

icebaby
duno leh.. mil bought those preserved sugar winter melon strips (white colors ones)... then she cut a stip n poured hot water into it to make "syrup winter melon water".... She says it to make bb "cooled".

hi vel,
i will be checking early in the morning at 5.30am
cos my c-section at 8.30am
cannot eat after midnight liao
so planning to go out for supper =)

choc,
hee muddy mud pie from coffee club is great!
had it once and i was totally hooked.
been wanting to eat cookies and cream ice cream too!
but no craving for ice kachang cos i dun like red beans. hee

Jer ,

I really salute you ..hahah you still can rem the timing for evry process . How to do it !!
If i`m you with so much pain and stress ...dun think i can rem who m i . hhahah ..BRAVO!!

Ladies ,

hahah ... everyone here got craving before their delivery . hmmm i also need to think hard what i want to eat before my turn .

Mel,
I guess its all up to baby and we gotta take the chance of we will never know if we could ve gone VBAC. My gynae already told me if my bb beyond 3.1kg she recommend c-sect. Who knows, baby decided to come on his own early, so we try for natural.

poky,
my CL also boiled something like dat to bring down my boy's jaundice.

dolly, now really pray her rashes will go off soon. I still hv 3.5kg to lose to get to my pre-pregnancy figure wor... haiz, really hope can quickly jia you to reduce my weight. The fat now seems oni left at my tummy. Its slim down alot liao but i still find it a lil flabby. I din go for any massage or use binder wor.

Anyone knows c-sect when safe to go massage and if it will still be effective? My hubby reluctant to let me do massage wor.

RE: Massage Lady Siti (which I had reccommended and used for pre-natal)

I am updating my massage with Siti. Dunno if it sounds like bad news again. But if u read my last statement, I had nothing to lose...so here goes:

She massaged me 4 times and took 1 day off on Labour day as she said she had errands to run. The night before the 5th massage, she smsed me and told me she will come later as she got home late. I was okay with it.

On the 5th day, at 10am, I smsed her to ask if she was coming. She smsed me and told me that she just left her home at CCK and hence I presumed she was gonna take at least 1.5hrs - 2hrs to reach as she takes public transport. But by 12pm, I hear nothing and smsed her again. No reply. At 4pm, I smsed again, she didn't reply.

So I presumed something had happen and didn't contact her. I waited afew days later and tried again. Still no reply.

By then I already contacted Mdm Sadiah to do my massage and Mdm Sadiah is now currently massaging me (this is the 3rd session today).

Surprisingly I received an sms from Siti, I think she sent it wrongly and am very sure now that she is AVOIDING me. I do not know why.

Anyway, I had nothing to lose. I only paid her the $50 deposit. She never chased me for the rest of the session $$ and neither am I going to chase her for the other sessions as I already got Mdm Sadiah to do the massage for me.

**Although whatever I say above, I still maintain what I have to say is that her massage skills are not too bad.
Those who are wary of the part where she MIAed like she did with me, then the decision is up to you.

jaspire,

Lucky you...you got 3.5kg. So fast. Me..still got around 5kg. hahaha.

Normally C-section they say around 3 weeks later. I asked Mdm Sadiah and she told me 3 weeks can.

If you manage to get Siti to do your massage, do ask discreetly why she stop my massage. I want to her what "story" she going to tell you. LOL.

mummies...do u put yr babies on a bouncer during the day? or let them sleep on the bed/ bassinet?
The weather has been very hot & poor baby has been sweating when he sleeps. Bouncer = enuf head support?

Dolly, can't help it I guess, probably have to wait till it's gone by itself. Last time, my nephew also got red dots on his cheeks, then my mum use pearl powder mixed with water and apply on his face. Then after a while, ok liao, face nice nice lo. Maybe you can try if you have some pearl powder.

Luvbella, your baby is so chubby.. Hmm.. My baby is 11 days old and he's drink 80ml now. But sometimes like not enough then I'll give him another 20-40ml. Feeding him breastmilk. If you latch baby on, then just let him suckle for as long as he wants, if he's full, he will stop one. If he sleeps, just let him sleep lo. If he's hungry, latch him on again. That's what I usually do.

Yanling, after I gave birth, I also put on catheter for about 30 hours. Then after that after removed, they required me to be able to pass out a certain amount of urine twice before I can be discharged. So I drank lots of water then go toilet after an hour, got alot of urine liao. So able to did it twice so ok liao. I remember the first 2 days, I cannot really control my urine very well, it will just come out when it's full. But after a while, alright already. Maybe you try to drink more fluid and see how it goes.

Kelcqi, no problem about updating the table. No worries. Just that I hope I won't be too slow in updating it. Just take care of yourself and watch out for contractions.

I think it's normal to feel that way at certain points in time. LIke 2 weeks before my due date, I also kept telling my hubby that I wished I wasn't pregnant and I'm very afraid of giving birth. But I think it's largely due to the fact that this is our 1st child and I'm very uncertain how everything will end up with. Basically, I think it's just the mixed feelings in us. But eventually, the baby will come and day after day, it will pass. And you will get over it and do it well, so don't worry about it.

I bought my Medela Postpartum belt online from US together with Medela's pregnancy support belt. I remember it's quite cheap only, probably about US$25. I like both the pregnancy and postpartum belts cos the material is soft and comfortable.

I can understand how you feel about having no feelings for your girl. But when she's out, you will develop that kind of motherly love for her. You will want her to be safe, to be protected. It's a natural instinct. We shall see...

Anyway, for now, just take care. Soon, you'll pop!

icebaby, your girl can really give u shock. If it's me, I probably cannot make it liao cos my first child got so many problems. Then again, my boy also got problem, bump on his head not gone, his left eye always tearing then will have alot of eye shit, somemore green one (is that normal?), his right eye still got burst blood vessels not recover yet, his left ear have to go rescreen to see if really cannot hear. Sigh.. Different sets of problems..

Yueling,

The massage didn't help me to lose weight. The purpose of the massage is to help us clear body wind, also help "realign" our body structure and also the womb.

I lost weight cos of less eating. But I think I reach to the stage where less eating isn't gonna help me lose anymore..cos I dun eat much. For me, to lose further, the only way is to skip dinner totally but I haven't been doing that cos I am at home..so cannot skip (if not, alot of pple will scold me!). Haha

Cheri,

So how now? When do you have to go for rescreen?

So far, today never hear her cry that much liao. But now I know at 3 weeks old, she weighs 3.42kg. She likes to give us her that "doe-y" eye look of innocent. My hubby cannot tahan. Say at night bring her upstairs to sleep, why her eyes open big big and stare. Hahaha

beans,

I let baby sleep in cot. Yes, it can get abit hot..but the old folks say to keep them warm. She is also very well wrapped. Must wait until she abit bigger than can "free" her hands! Hahaha

icebaby, really ah? I haven paid Siti the $50 deposit. Gosh, really dunno wat happened to her leh. I din even start the post natal massage yet cos hubby dun allow.

If this case, maybe i dun nid the massage liao... cos i thot can help me to lose weight mah. So no help lah... Haiz...

last day of confinement! yeah! hehehehe... but actually hor... i already break all the confinement rule liao... but sianz.. tomorrow shifting back to in law house then next week back to work. =(

beans,
currently my baby is in the cot but he seems rather hot in the day and will fidget. My fren is buying me the net bouncer. Will try it when i get it this sunday. Hopefully he will feel comfy in it and can nap better.

Now my baby demands for attention. Often making noise and will stop only when someone goes to talk to him. :S

hi cheri,

i do have the pearl powder, but my mil used it to mix with water and feed my boy instead of applying on the face.
i just checked his face and seem to be slightly better.

hi muzicgal,
you are not alone ... me too, broke almost all the confinment rules ... today is my 13 day, just now went to bugis junction with my hubby to run some errands, and so shiok to go out and left my boy with my mil.

hi icebaby / jaspire,

i have lost 10kg and another 5kg more to my ideal weight at 45kg .... but my tummy is still there, looked like 3 months preggi, how to get rid of it ? like jaspire, as i went through c-sect, my hubby refused to let me book for massage lady and i also didnt wear binder, how to get rid of my tummy ?

icebaby, have to go re-screen end of this month lo. See how it goes, maybe he's just like me.

I also cannot tahan when my boy gives me an innocent face esp when he wants milk. He's been drinking more and more.. Think now can drink 120ml liao..

Dolly, if better then maybe no need to put the pearl powder lo.

How come all of you so slim one and lose weight so fast. I dare not weigh myself man. Sigh.. I'm going to start my massage next Tuesday. Hopefully will help to lose some weight lo.

Today is my first day to take care of my baby myself. And in the afternoon, he just doesn't want to sleep but I wanted to rest cos very tired. He kept wanting milk. Then just before my hubby came back, I broke down. Really cannot tahan. My hubby so anxious, wondering what has happened to me.

Yueling,

Siti did 4 days of massage. Currently I finish 3 days massage with Mdm Sadiah, tomorrow will be my 4th session. Mdm Sadiah is nice to tell me that if my rash starts then she bo bian have to stop the sessions. Haiz..my skin sensitive. =(

beans,

For me, I wrap to keep them warm. Used to the "old" method.

jaspire,

I will again suggest that you have ur massage. It's to help get rid of the body wind. It makes a difference with and without (i know cos I been thru my 2nd kid w/o).

muzicgal,

So u go cut hair already? Heehee since u finish confinement?

Dolly23,

Not bad liao. You lost 10kg and left 5kg.
Me, 3 weeks (as of today) lost only 9kg. Got abt 4kg-4.5kg (depends on the time I weigh myself. Haiz) left. My ideal is hopefully back to my old weight of 44kg.

Cheri,

Wah, your boy big drinker!

hi cheri,

yeah, i think i better leave the rashes alone ...how come you are alone to take care of the baby, no one helping you ?? in fact, i also have my fears too after my confinment. actually i hope that i will resume back to my life after confinment and ask my mil to go back, but on the other hand, i am also worried that i cannot cope with the baby alone.

hi icebaby,

same same lah, i used to be 40kg only, and put on 20kg when preggie ... now, i am at 50kg, so hopefully to down to my ideal weight at 45kg ... so taking muzicgal advices, and cut down in eating rice.
but i am thinking of ways and means to get rid of my tummy ..... earlier when i went out, saw one of my ex-colleagues, and she still think that i am 3months preggie, piangz lor !

icebaby,

r u using breast pump ? im using steam sterilizer to sterilizer the breast pump & bottle, after sterilizing the bottle has condensation , do i need to remove the condensation ?

Hihi Ladies,

I am still here... Haha... But soon soon. The clinic ppl told me soon liao... Judging on my symptoms. Sian... I telling baby not this week please. Cos her daddy got to run ard for meeting to earn money for her. Be a gd gal and stay inside first...

Anyway update for Felval's baby, Damien...

Baby's name: Damien
Birth weight: 3.73kg
Birth height: 51cm
Birth time: Ard 6pm today
Birth Mode: Natural without Epi (Another brave mummy!)

Her water bag burst at 1pm, Ard 6pm her baby is out. I'll update her baby's pic when I reach home. Now @ my parent's place.

Before I forget, Congrates Felval! Hehe...

Kelcqi,
I think everyone will have different labour signal & birth story. When i had false labour signal, i was stunt coz mentally really not that prepare well 2 weeks before EDD.

From 30th Apr to 8 May, i have a few times false contraction & also the cervix check bleeding got me confuse until the day where true contraction kicks in, cramps longer

For my contraction pain, the "false" one only cramps at lower front tummy. The "true" contraction i had is cramps from front to inside "zhi gong", to my back & to the spinal part. It is not those cutting pain but can feel very "suan" like a uphill then downhill curve. Each cramp starting at lower hill, then peak of the hill then went down.

Felval
congratulation

wow ....another chubby baby !! Can`t wait to see
sooo brave mummy without epi

Kelcqi ,

You also soon .... hmmm dun seem to have any sign these few days for me !! Sigh !!!

Cheri ,

Hmmm ..relax think now is a critical situation when we are left alone and do not know what to do with our little ones . Cos we first time mummy dun know how to handle them . Relax oki ...cheer up

Yao Yao ,

Occasionally i do have the same pain for past few days . You mean is contraction feeling ?
Cos most of my frez tell me is like mense cramps.

reyne...dont get too depressed...me too, the most i can squeeze is 90ml. If really no milk, then supplement with FM ya. Now i'm supplementing 3 feeds with FM.

cheri.. guess just hv to stay calm...I'm having the same fear cos next week, i'll be alone handling my son. Till now still blur on bathing him & understanding his needs. Worse, I'm not exactly the most patient person! Afraid I'll get mad!

Hihi ladies,

Me back. Notice that recently our thread kinda quiet. Mayb cos most of us already pop, so probably tied up with the little one...

Vel, Icebubbles,

Tml is your turn liao. Jia you jia you wor... Icebubbles, I think if I'm you I'll also be unwilling. Like me lah, keep thinking why other ppl pregnant shun shun while mine from 1st trimester till now full of "surprises". But since you made the decision liao, just look forward to holding your baby in your hands tml bah. Good luck!

Tracy, Poko, Jer,

Me feeling better now le. Just take it loh. Anyway now too late to back out or do anything now. So can only hope for the best and let baby come to this world safe and healthy will do. And best is no more last min surprises for me liao... If somemore, I think I might fall into depression liao. Almost at the verge liao. Hanging on there only! My last hope of happiness is let me end everything in natural birth and not C-sec. *pray hard* :p

Icebaby,

How come Siti like that one??? OMG, I booked her already how??? I don't want her to go missing leh. I was even thinking maybe I might request for 3-5 more sessions to speed up e weight loss leh.

Choc,

Sian liao lah. I really dunno how much longer of freedom I have.

Jo,
So shoik, no signs... I want! But hor Me this morning still cramp. I keep staying in bed don't dare to move. Den until my whole body numb and my hubby helped me get out of bed. I made him go tabao lunch for me for I scare of the cramp. Sigh, think my time is near liao...

Cheri,

Wah, seems like it's really tough on you handling Matthias alone. U got ask your mum for help? Or maid? Mayb if you really cannot take it, as in the time intervals too short when Matthias ask for milk, juz give him one or two feeds of FM. Cos FM keeps them fuller for a longer period of time, like tt you'll get to rest more also. No need to feel guilty abt giving FM to baby cos I always believe esp when one is handling baby alone, mental health also comes in very important. Once you lack of sleep, you'll get more frustrated and baby can sense it also. So mayb you may wanna give yourself a longer break by supplementing it with FM to catch up on some rest.

Thanks thanks. Nvm lah, I try to see if I have access to my hubby's com when he's not using n i help u with updates if u really lagging loh. No worries...

Yaloh, till now like near the finishing point, I do suddenly wonder and fear what is ahead. Like how is baby gonna be like, how we gonna cope, think of living seperately from hubby, then staying with the CL and dunno what my sister will say of me when I stay there etc. I think already super sian. Everything's ahead is like a blur, rather than my usual self whereby I plan and organise my life and everything flows in a system. Suddenly now there might be last min changes next time, and I kinda worried my life will become a mess with the baby ard.

Does the belt helps you in losing the tummy? As in flattening it? I think I must get some belt to support or something. I dun want a loose tummy or myself becoming a hunch back next time...

Moony,

Peep peep, you ard??? How are you feeling already? Got call the helpline? Anything can call me to talk also ok?

Icebubbles, Vel,

Felval passed the message to wish you two Jia You and Good luck!

And yah, juz got one more pic of Felval's baby. Here goes. Super duper cute!

1422120.jpg