(2008/05) May 2008

yeah! why shld pple be commenting that we pregnant zar bor are fat...
if i hear such comment i sure scold..hehe..i pregnant k..not fat..
...easier to tan if wear bikini... oh ya..i didnt lie down on the chair to tan
i swim mah...so the back is taken care of...as for the front..will lie down awhile to "bbq" lor

i jus went swim at ILs' condo ytd. reali shiok! keke.. stil force myself to fit into my swimsuit thou tight lah. haha! supposed to help in smooth delivery. my coli who swam all the way til delivery gv birth within 2 hrs!

moony,

hehhee. when i apply baby lotion to my tummy i will tell baby also i applying lotion then the smell is nice nice n mummy's tummy will be smooth smooth but my baby nv kick me one =( so duno he like or nt. hahaha

u pretty mah, can see frm ur pics ok. hehehe. fat ah, mayb now we are duno hw many sizes bigger but its all for a gd reason so be daring ah and show ur beauty ah =)

choc,

hehhee. i nv lie dwn to bbq coz v xin ku ah, so i just stand in the water and get a good tan. if my cheeks turn rosy red or get a bit burnt, i feel so shiok. whahaha. i am siao ya? hehehe

ant1712,

ya lo. swimming is shiok coz when in the water i feel so ligh! hahahah. i wear my bikini so no restriction on the tummy area. but i wonder if baby like me to swim nt. hahaha. at times i swim halfway he will kick me hard.

felval, -_-" plz!!!!! i nw totally look sooooo different.. haiz.. im fat lor.. n my nose big.. n my skin nt too gd.. haiz.. i really hope i faster gif birth so dat i can do watever i like to my body..

Mummies, do you find yourself looking very different with the pregnancy ?

I think I was really ugly when I had my dd #1 (pimples breakout on face and body) but I think I am looking great (better complexion, neater "Waist") for this round (having a boy) Does having a girl or boy really make a diff to the looks ?

kelcqi, icebaby,

thk i'll wait till bb is born and after 1st 3 mths then decide if i will be SAHM or wk. v torn cos i miss hvg my own income. i know bb shd be priority but when i see nice clothes, shoes, bags that i used to be able to buy, i feel q sad that now i can only see no touch. cos muz save for bb...everythg nowawdays is so ex $$! yes, v selfish of me. guess dats y they say be mommy is to be "wei da" and sacrifice. hopefully when bb is born n i see his cute face, then i will naturally be willing to stay at home n take care of him whole-heartedly. nowadays i am a bit crazy also...i keep imagining if i hv a maid, then the maid will abuse my bb. juz thkg abt it makes me start crying. then i feel i muz protect my bb. thk the hormones r still going wild.

re:insomnia

hv bad insomnia too. then feel so shag in the day n juz knock out. when i wake up, usually i'm v hungry already. always feel so bad like i starved bb but seriously, i m so tired dat sometimes juz can't open my eyes. hope i'm not hurting bb's stomach.

cheri, moony,

at least u guys' one is a dark line from chest to lower tummy. mine is a dark WAVE from chest to navel, then a dark line from navel downwards. <faintz> aiyoh, my body cannot draw straight lines v well leh... :-\ buay tahan.

then my navel can't decide whether it wants to stick out or remain in. it's half out but also a little bit in. v strange-looking one. like the base of a pomegranate!

mrscheong,
for me, my skin for both gal and now boy the same, no diff. Only difference for me is gal i had pigmentation on tummy, then this boy is armpit. Gal i was also fatter and hips bigger. This boy, not any fatter and hips still same, can fit into usual undies.

LavenderDreamz, same!!! haha.. my navel oso.. half in half out.. haha.. buay tahanz leh..

i ask u all hor.. hw do we noe r we goin to gif birth early??

Bodyshop having warehouse sale from 25-27 Mar at Suntec City Convention Centre!!

Can stock up and beautify ourselves after the confinement period!

Yesterday when i look into the mirror while applying my stretchmark cream.. i saw STRETCHMARKS!!! already 32weeks now den appear.. aiyo so sad leh. i've started applying the cream since 16weeks leh.. still will appear.. will they disappear after delivery anot?? my breast oso haf leh.. so worried..

Vel,

i also apply stretch mark cream since 12weeks.
now 32 weeks still appear the stretch mark..
sigh.. wat to do..
what cream do u apply?

yueling/moony- i also feel darn hot leh! esp past 2 nites. like so stuffy lidat. fan blowin directly at me n yet i stil feel hot
cant sleep well. but my hb ok leh, he stil snorin away!

felval- hehe.. i wanted to wear BKN but hor paiseh leh =/ tot if cant fit into my swimsuit thn wil wear but i stil can nw! haha! my silly hb says nt safe for me to swim nw n also beta for me to stay at home frm 1 apr onwrds! kaoz! i say he siao! all the more i shd walk n exercise more lor!

yueling,

less itchy and the red red dots all gone. i am nt sure if it will reduce the stretch marks le.

moony,

hehehe. relax. u sure can be a pretty mum =)

mrscheong,

hmm..i duno if i look very much diff nt le...but i know my nose is bigger and i pile on more weights! but less pimples as compared to pre-preg (happy.hahah) my friends commented i look gd when in pregnancy tho...but that is if i tie up my hair and put on makeup.hahaha

LavenderDreamz, moony,

my belly button used to be like tt then slowly it pop out completedly..but sometimes will be flat also..then i thot wats wrong asked gynae he says v normal coz depends on the pressure inside...so its normal to be half in half out or pop out then suddenly flatten again.

ant1712,

i v thick skin lo. i still wear the same piece of RED BIKINI that i wore pre-preg. hahaha.

hmm..i think as long as he is with u when u go swimming and nt alone sld be fine ba. i have friends who swim all the way till her edd..in fact her water bag break just when she finish her swim for the week!

I used to think when preg with boy, high tendency to have bigger nose and more prone to water retention after i observed some frens.

Hm, so far so good....I am still keeping my fingers crossed :p

For my first preg, i went swimming in bikini despite the pimples outbreak. Its quite shiok esp in this kind of weather. For this preg, I just wanna hide at home to rest cos oreadi feel heavy tho only 31wks. Perhaps my energy is kinda drained out cos i have a young kid to take care of ?

Still praying hard for no stretchmarks and regaining my pre-preg figure. I got it back in <3mths for the first preg.

WCT,

Actually my mum only study till Pri 2 or 3. My dad study till Sec 4. While my MIL almost completed her ICPAS while my FIL has a dip. In terms of education, they are worlds apart. My mum blur blur kind lah. She most of time just listen when the 3 of them talk and help take care of kids.

Moony,

Me took photos last week to record my tummy. Still waiting for hubby to download, once download will try to load onto friendster. For my 1st 2 kids, I didn't do it. Haiz..a real pity. As for swimming, I dare not wear bikini and "tan" hahaha.

ant1712,

I have read up that swimming is actually good. But because of the rashes I have, I dare not go to the pool. Scare later skin condition become worse cos swimming pool water also not so "clean".

RE: Cream

I stopped putting stretch mark cream cos dunno why suddenly 3 months ago, if put..rash will start. So stop safter for me.

But i heard clairns oil is good leh. Nvr try.

RE: thigh area

I now see my thigh area, damn scary. The amount of "fats" there. Yikes. Dunno if after pregnancy will go back to size. I have big thighs (my friendster pics normally see only my upper body but I actually quite unproportionate. <-- alot of people who seen me in shorts say that! sad sad...now worse!)

Mrscheong,

Actually when I had my boys, I feel I look very bad cos that time still wearing specs. Now slightly better cos I dun wear specs and still put on makeup everyday. (cannot live without makeup!). So would say I look better now. But if compare to before pregnancy and during pregnancy...I dun think I have that pregnancy "glow" like some fortunate people have.

LavenderDreamz,

Hey, dun think too much now okay? Some maids isn't that bad as the papers make out. There is a fraction which are bad but I think more than 50% are not that bad...if not, singapore would had ban maids.

As for income, it is a sacrific that u are making (or can be spouse if he wants to be house husband and u work. *grin*)...make sure ur hubby "compensate" u with good allowance. Heehee kidding...it really depends if you can afford it. But ultimately, it's always a give and take (i.e. can't have both worlds).

I actually really HATE it when Straits Times publish those articles about SAHM. Most of the time, they will say SAHM very good blah blah. But if u really read the article, most of the time, the HUSBANDs are working like those high positions that allow them to have that "luxury" of less worry on income. Wish they be more realistic with their articles. No offence..but if I had a husband that brings in $6k-10k a month, I won't mind not working at be SAHM also.

Hmm...sometimes SAHM is not as easy as what alot of people believed. I am FTWM and have friends who are SAHM. The life as SAHM isnt much easier tho hubby is high income earner. Anyway, its a choice and alot of hardwork....

RE: yueling,

I'm using the clarin cream.. so sad lo.. so happy leh tot dun haf stretch mark compare to my frens.. who noes suay suay now kana!! so better dun be happy too early!! i still wan2 wear bikina nxt time leh.. pray hard it will disappear.. my tights oso got cellulite lo!! OMG!! so many changes!!

icebaby,

mayb the cream dun suits u? initially i applied J&amp;J baby lotion but my rash became worst...then i switch to watson baby lotion and it solved my probs =) so mayb u wanna try a diff brand?

I oso haf pigmentation ard my navel area lo.. it's like black marks.. will all these disappear?? n anyone noes whether the TAKA baby fair still on???

re: bikini
haha i can't fit into any of my bikinis anymore. for the bra part, i'm delighted (altho still not dat big, juz less covering)! for the bottom part, i'm so sad cos feel my hips r like a hippo's now. pull up to my thighs already feel v tight.

re: SAHM

icebaby,
ya i know it's a give n take. dats y hv to adjust our lifestyle accordingly. can't eat out at nice restaurants or shop like before. can't go on long vacations also. i m quite paranoid type one when it comes to finances...always feel dat muz save for a rainy day lor. cos thgs juz get more ex, never cheaper. so muz plan for bb's education etc. even if hubby is high-income earner, also muz save la. these days, no iron ricebowl anymore. + if my mil falls sick n nds surgery (she always says she's sick one), then my hubby n bil will hv to bear the cost lor. dat one would be a major headache cos her mthly allowance is already so high! dats y she wants me to go bk to wk.

mrscheong,
ya, SAHM is really not dat easy. my SAHM friends sometimes get frustrated n depressed cos they do so much at hm (take care of kids, wash, cook, iron) but outsiders always paint the picture like they r taitais sitting at hm shaking leg. now dat i'm hm, i also kenna pple saying such thgs. q irritating.

LavenderDreamz
i understand your frustration tho' I am a FTWM. In this society, the expectation on SAHMs are very high, expecting them to be able to manage anything and everything under the sun &amp; moon. As a FTWM, sometimes I still hv excuses to make hubby to share my loads. So its not just about finances.

I prefer to be financially independent as both side parents are likely to depend on us heavily as they ages. Therefore, doing financial planning and saving for rainy days are still a must whether one has a high income earning hubby or not.

mrscheong, agree with u! :) but i thk the pressures on FTWM r also not easy. hv to juggle wk n kids n still run the hsehold. societal expectations of women these days r juz so high.

Vel,

think the Taka fair over le. it ended on 23th mar if nt wrong =)

Re: SAHM vs FTWM

i think both also not easy lo. it takes alot of tolerance, getting use to and sacrifics in both roles.

VEL,
i also happy too early, tot dun hv stretch mark,
my colleague said bcos of overweight tummy growing too big, tat why got the stretch mark

i heard tat clarins cream v good one.

sparks,
no loss on yr part...hehe. i will try to fit into them agn after delivery. but if can't, then prob will hv to donate all to my younger sis already. heartache, man...haha.

Yueling,

Good oso end up got stretch marks.. maybe i apply not enuff lo.. coz sumtimes i only apply once per day.. shld apply at least twice. but can last quite long leh.. i only bought once n now still using.. wat to do.. think most of the mummies will kana stretch marks lo..

Tha TAKA fair over ar.. so sad.. should haf bought more things that time i went.. still haven;t buy baby mattress for the cot, bedsheets, bathing unit, detergents n those small items.. wher to buy will be best??

i gonna be sahm leh. heard it's not easy at all, facin bb 24 hrs a day! sm of my frens said they prefered wrkg life thn face a cryin bb!

Vel,

for those detergents ah, powder or bathing liquids ah, i think giant is the best...i compare quite a few places and i realised giant is still cheapest lo...NTUC Fairprice Xtra should also be cheap....as for cot all these mayb u can try warehouses like Baby Hyperstore. But if you gonna buy 1 item or a few items may nt save u alot coz imagine u need to travel to the warehse which is out of the way and time spent on travelling also.

ant1712,

its nt easy to face a crying baby and 4 walls all days of the 365 days in a year...neither is it easy to have to work and be a mummy coz may nt spend enuff time with baby or cant be there to see the development of a baby always...so my conclusion is mummies are wei da. hahahhaa. coz in both roles, got pros n cons lo...what is best to one may not be best to another lo...

ant1712,

its a choice
Its like WishComeTrue said, both has own set of problems. Juz make the best outta it and you will do fine.

WishComeTrue,

that's why i am very thankful to my parents for the efforts, love and care in helping out with my #1. My girl is a monster when in bad mood and sometimes I got to say i surrender also. So as at now, I try my best to provide a better life for all
and hopefully save up more and utlimately spend even more time with my kids....

icebaby,
Same here, also get to sleep at 1am plus. Actually already fall asleep around 11plus but my son keep waking me up and said mummy cannot sleep. Finally falls asleep at 1am plus and woke up at 5 plus then go back to sleep at 9plus. Your hubby sounds like mine... haha.. The worst is my hubby snoring, sometimes when finally get to sleep but when his head is beside my ear, i will be awake by his loud loud snore.

Same here if hubby earns big bucks i also hope to be SAHM.

Tracy,
I keep saying i want to pack hospital bag but haven pack yet. Had wrote a checklist, i think i will try to finish packing it by his week. Haha, hope packing earlier will works for you again for baby to stay longer. For my first pregnancy, baby came out early at 37/38week.

RE: Hospital Bag
I was thinking of putting some entertainment stuffs to kill time and distract myself while in labour ward. Any suggestion?

lavender- wil def need the support of sahms, can share experiences tog

felval- yea, to be wrkg n takin care of bb at the same time is no joke as well. imagine goten wake up in the middle of the nite for feeds n go to wrk after tat. i def cant do tat! hence opt to stay at home since hb is supportive too. n of cos the best thing is to witness every developmt of my bb. most of my wrkg frens missed their bb's 1st crawl, walk, words.

ladies, me these couple of weeks cannot sleep well. either itch or backache or dunno why no reason just can't fall asleep or wake up in the middle of the night and can't get back to sleep. damn sian and stressed cos i know the next day sure tired until siao..

my stretchmarks also appeared around 32 weeks. i'm using clarins oil, i think it does help cos although got stretchmarks it's not very bad and not terribly red like some of my frens'. right now only confined to the area below the naval, hopefully dun get more stretchmarks, now applying the oil twice a day..

felval,

Thanks for the info.. think will get them from giant since i'm staying at tamp.. hehe.. bedsheets i thinking of getting from aussino or ikea or kiddy palace lo.. need to measure my cot size to get the mattress soon..

WCT,

At first the cream worked, but later it didn't. So now left half a tub of cream at home. No use for it. Maybe later after birth will use it for leg cream bah. =P

LavenderDreamz,

Yah. Everything in singapore is so expensive and I agree to save for rainy day. Plus like you, I worry about kids' future education, parents' health (not in-laws..they can well afford it themselves, plus I dun intend to touch their money), etc. Hence been savings struggling to save.

I planned quite ahead lor, at 21 I bought an endownment plan (25 yrs - mature ard $60k-$80k depends on returns) as I didn't want my child to suffer the fate of having to dig out cash (if no savings) to pay for education. At least got that sum, if oldest never use, younger one can use...etc. Although the sum isn't big BUT it helps.

Also the reason I force my hubby to buy a flat is not only for investment purpose. But it's mainly for my parents to move there in future so that they can sell of their own flat, which is quite a huge sum for retirees esp when they did not use CPF to pay...they paid cash. So whatever they get back will be their "retirement" amount, which should be sufficient to cover any medical and their retirement.

I have a very bad tendency to plan very much ahead. My dad cannot tahan me but at least he understands my logic.

RE: SAHM

I salute the amount of things they do. I admire those FTWM also that can handle their kids and work. Sometimes I wonder how they manage...esp those w/o a maid or helper. For me, w/o help, I dun think I can manage that well.

ant1712,

Hahaha. I have a neighbour who is my ex-colleague has been a SAHM since 7 yrs ago. She prefers to be a SAHM rather than FTWM. She feels the joy of watching her kids grow up. Dun worry lah. Different people make different choices...it's really hard to have both worlds. *grin*

Also we are all here to support each other regardless what role we intend to take. It would be nice to share each other tots and a place where we can vent. =)

Jer,

Eh..my hubby also SNORE damn loud. That's also one of the reason why I cannot sleep. My sons quite okay. Ask them to sleep, they will sleep (99% before 11pm) and they won't bother us when we sleep. If they do, we just ask them to keep quiet! LOL

lynn,

u're using the oil ar.. i'm using the normal clarins stretchmark cream leh.. so they haf those in oil form?? think those are better? yala.. true.. not those very red kinda stretchmark.. is faint n pinkish red oso below the navel area.. bt scared it will get worse lo..