(2008/05) May 2008

tracy- gd idea! hehe.. shall pack the breast pump n botls in another bag =D

jen- i bot the disposable panties frm watsons. bot 6 packs of 5 each. shd be enough bah.

I doubt 30pcs is enuf leh.. haha. cos i rem i used more than 30pcs leh. I have leftover from my colick & she dun want and she gave it to me. she gave me abt 20+ pcs liao leh. then KKH gave me another 10or14pcs leh. then still not enuf leh. i still ask my sis to buy for me leh.

ant1712,
so cheap. thanks

breast pump & sterilizer

the previous time, i brought my avent manual. then the nurse told me actually dun need to bring as they have a couple of medela electric pump.. so this time i'm not bringing.. abt sterilizer, they placed a pigeon rapid sterilizer in my room also.. i din asked them is it every patient have it.. but was really surprised when i got my "own" hair dryer and sterilizer thru out my 5 days stay.

Pooh,
can i knw where u giving birth ar? i wonder if KKH have this leh? actually i thot latch on will be better? but then if bb cant empty them then nid to pump hor.. cos my gal during NB mth she keep sleeping leh. can slp 8hrs dun nid drink milk one leh.

jen
i giving birth at nuh. latch is better but the third day, my bb got send for phototherapy as her jaundice level quite high.. so i need to pump out lor

pooh,
the last time i at TMC they din provide sterilizer. Yours very good.

Jen,
ya, sometimes baby sleep then dun empty our breasts, we gotta pump otherwise very pain!

Pooh, NUH so good service ar. i wonder hw is KKH service???

that day who were saying taka fair the bb pampers is cheap ar? what brand liao ar? cos tonight i will be heading dwn to taka bb fair after work..

moony,

It depends what u intend to use as diapers. I intend to use cloth nappies but I also got a box of sealer diapers (180 pieces - S size from a spree, just recently) just in case cloth diapers not washed in time or not dry.

At the hospital, they will give at least a packet but dun think will last.

Optional diapers (besides pampers brand - which is ex):
- babylove
- sealer
- nepia
- drypers
- goon
- etc

**Note: Baby poo quite often during the first few weeks and some baby are sensitive (i.e. cannot tahan dirty diapers or skin get rashes). Try not to get those diapers with added stuff (like aloe vera) cos some baby cannot take it.

tracy/jen
i din expect them to have such good service also.. the nurse saw me coming out after a shower then she quickly help me find a hair dryer.. when they know i need to pump milk, they immediately placed a sterilizer in my room and gave me some empty glass milk bottles. The sister of the ward also came and help me.. teaching me how to massage and pump..
both my kids i give birth at nuh.. 1st time there, blur blur somemore that time no more single bedder.. i stay in 2 bedder one. it's only the 2nd time round, i got single bedder..

i've been wanting to try out the deluxe rm.. hee.. heard that it got a mini fridge, sitting area for the visitors and i got my own bath-tub.. but think hb won't allow.. the deluxe is double the price of single

icebaby,

thanks! ;) actually i gt intend to let bb use cloth diapers but bcos im still very new so i tot mayb using diapers will b better.. but on the other hand if bb wear diapers for too long backside will have rashes rite?? correct mi if im wrong..

icebaby,
i also intend to use cloth diaper. but 1st mth realli cant leh. realli disgusting leh. always nid to wash leh.. cos i rem my gal highest record of poo (i think on poo) in 1 day is 10times leh
i chg until i scare leh.

i din use cloth diapers.. somemore am gg to BF.. i'll die from changing and washing them.. but i bought the nappy liner.. will plc inside their diaper, coz sometimes the diaper only got poo but no urine.. so i can still re-use it unless kenna poo and urine lor.. then bo bian..
if not, i'll be broke if bb changes 10 pampers per day

pooh- wow seems nuh svc is reali gd! but i heard lots of stories abt nuh leh. everytime mention abt choosin which hosp to gv birth, sure got ppl say nuh shd be last choice!

icebaby- u use cloth nappies for ur elder kid? is it manageable? i also worried abt the washin n changin since NBs wil poo v often. but my mum insists on usin nappies, says it's beta for bb.

moony- it wil be gd to standby 1 pack of diapers. i bot huggies frm the taka fair. if nt enough, thn get hb to go buy more.

ladies, brown discharge at this stage for us is ok? i just found out me having brown discharge, called gynae but he's not in. the nurse says it'sok, unless it's a lot of fresh blood..

ant1712,
i think it will be good to standby that as well.
As for gripe water.. dun nid to buy so early hor. my MIL go buy for my gal cos my gal confinement mth cry & cry .. then she scare wind will enter. alamak but the dosage is oni recommended for bb above 1 yr old. So i die die also din give my gal drink.

i also intend to use cloth diapers..my mum recommended also la, say if nt will need to buy alot of diapers then v wasteful...but she doing the washing...in fact she has 20++ pieces and i went and buy another 2 dozens...so i think sld be enuff ba. hehehe

but i also intend to get diapers as well. in the day use cloth one at nite will use diapers..more convenience. hehehe.

lynn
u got the labour ward hotline? call them and ask.. this time ask his nurse.. no use one.. ur brown discharge is it alot? better play safe

Lynn,
At our stage now, brown or fresh also worrying. i tink beta to call labour ward line instead of clinic. The labour ward will page for your gynae.

Re:Wind drops
I'm going to standby one bottle of Infacol in case baby gets colicky. This one newborn can take and can be bot from pharmacies. When i went to consult PD for my #1's colic, he also prescribed windrops but different brand.

lynn,

can ask the nurse to page for ur gynae then have ur gynae to advise better.

jen,

wah. gd question. this one must go hm and chk. ahahha. but i got the cloth diaper frm the shop in queens street. as for the one my mum keeps, heaven knows lo! hehehe. this one donkey yrs liao and it was used by my cousin last time. =P somemore my mum even have them folded nicely, wan use can just use directly no nd to fold...but now she gonna wash them la, so aft tt got to fold and keep in cupboard so wan use can just use liao.

sun nite she was still training me how to fold lo. hehehe

moony,

Just get ready some extra diapers just in case u have no time to wash.

Diaper cream is a must BUT not every baby can use the same brand of diaper cream.

For me, I dun use destin cos my sons cannot take. So I switch to johnson.

Jen,

Ya. Baby poo alot. Dun worry abt it being green in the begining, it's normal. But after a week or so, colour SHLD change. If not, check with PD. =)

ant1712,

For my 1st, I used cloth cos everyone say good good. Plus I dun need to wash (got maid mah). I think I only started him on diapers when he hit more than 3mths or so (cos by then, he too FAT liao). He was 8kg when he was 4 mths old.

For my 2nd, I used diapers mainly...used EQ cos cheap at that time. 1 maid didn't have time to wash and I didn't want her load too be too heavy. So we spend more on diapers.

**By the way, no need to buy expensive diapers esp when u know that u will be changing VERY OFTEN. Hence baby's butt will be aired pretty often. =P Important is the airing! So those plastic diapers will do. (Aiyah..women we shld know. Cos imagine when we have our "aunty" that time. Wearing the pad 24 hrs we cannot tahan. Imagine BABIES!)

RE: Ru-yi wind medication

Do get it. Helps in clearing wind.
Not expensive and also the baby binder for the baby tummy. =)

Lynn,

I think best to check with gynae. If the brown discharge is alot...better call!

Re: Gripe water

Do buy and put abit in plain water for baby to drink. Also good for wind. (but need to check the age..I also suppose to go check but forget)

WCT,

WAH....u really buy alot! Hahaha

Pooh, I went for the 2nd Jab today. Ouch ouch ouch! The person who jab me is different, but today the china lady jab very long but the pain effect gone quite fast compared to yesterday. Yesterday I had alot of bleeding from the wound.

TMC if they dun have sterilizer in the room, can we request for it? If use their pump rite, how we gonna store our milk huh? Need us to bring our own storage?

Today TMC got bb fair, 2 tubes of desitin diaper cream cost 20 bucks, same price as the BP they have in the forum. Those of you going down TMC these few days can go grab the diaper cream.

Usually when we book hospital huh? My gynea haven ask me to book hospital leh.

icebaby,

where u get the baby binder ah?

hehhee. ya. its alot lo...imagine 40++ pieces..hahaa. but i told my mum gd lo, then she dun nd to wash so often coz got enuff mah.

btw, anyone knows wats the diff in nappy liner? that day saw 1 brand that says one-way nappy liner, so got 2 way one meh? all the other nappy liner nv state one or 2 ways le...

kelcqi
u can ask if they got sterilizer.. some dun have but the ward itself has a sterilizer somewhere.. the nurse could help u with it.. if use their pump, u can request for the glass milk bottles.. u remember some nurse would feed newborns via a small glass bottles kind.. those babies finished le, the hospital would keep it and do sterilisation.. so that can re-use..
althou the clinic knew i got pre-term but til now i also haben do any pre-admission.. my next visit is 2 weeks later.. think by then, they'll be asking me le

WCT,

You can buy from most shops. I bought mine at Taka fair. Those tie version cost $2.05, those with velcro is $2.70 per piece. =P

Pooh,

Yah. I intend to ask for the glass bottles. Heehee.

pooh,

WAH.

I already sterilized all my baby milk bottles, pumps, plus pacifiers, etc. Now it's in the steamer. Hahaha. Intend to wash and on the steamer every week until I born. If not, dunno where to put in the house.

I think must try to make an effort tonight to really pack my hospital bag.

icebaby,

hmm...does it looks like a waterproof pants? we went mothercare and a few shops and ask then some say dun have..then kiddly palace say "there there there" but cant find =(

pooh,

wah! 30 glass bottles is a lot of $$ u can save lo. hehehe

icebaby
wanted to pack my bag.. suddenly forgot where i plc my nursing bras.. hahaha
i haben start sterilizing leh

felval
yalor, think i dun need to buy milk bags liao.. i still got a full set of avent VIA cups.. but if my boy goes to my mum hse then i need the milk bags.. coz he's gonna be a weekend bb for us

pooh,

30 bottles enuff le la. hehehe. me only buy a few pieces..hmm..10fingers can finish counting. hahaha.

but if ur boy goes to ur mummy place, milk bag more convenience lo. that is wat i think la. but the thing is u have to transfer to bottle then warm up..if use bottle then can direct store n direct heat up no nd to waste the milk bag...

mayb u buy 1 pack of milk bag for standby? for convenience. =)

Kelcqi, Pooh,
the clinic nurse told me next appt which is this thursday (32wks) gotta pay deposit to book room at TMC liao.

felval
he will go over when i finish ML.. so i'll transport my BM over weekly kind lor.. by then, i'll buy the milk bags.. my mum will help me take care til the end of this yr. after which my boy will join me back.. my MIL cant cope with 3 kids at home thus the decision.. my eldest is already attending half day school.. now is waiting for my 2nd one to reach 18mth, then we'll send her to childcare

re: baby binder
I dun find it good to use leh. as it always goes up as the baby is wrapped with diaper mah. so the binder tend to run out of the belly button one. but then i thot air it shld be better lar. else after bath got moist then we trap the moist inside dunno will kana infection anot...

icebaby,
u sooo fast sterilise the btl liao ar. thats fast.

felval,
oh u buy from Queen street one har. that one also cheap & quality quite good right? cos i rem i bot Pigeon brand cloth diaper & it is very exp leh. cost $20+ leh. i think queen st oni sell $12+ oni leh for the best quality one.

pooh,

u transfer ur BM weekly kind think milk bag more convenience lo...imagine u have to transfer nt 1 or 2 bags but quite alot...

my hubby dun support us being weekend parents...so will be v xiong liao lo =(

tt day he was saying he getting more scare and delivery draws closer..coz the nitemare will cum and things will nv be the same again...

jen,

yaya. v cheap but i duno abt the quality coz i havent open up. hahaha. only intend to open up with i bring over to my mummy to wash =P

sld be this weekend can start to bring over to my mummy all the things that need to be wash coz i intend to settle all the purchases this fri liao. dun wan dilly dally liao.

wow i also want to take from the hosp glass btl.. haha. can use that to feed baby or u all will use that to store EBM?

Pooh,
how is the age gap of ur 3 kids ar? i am wondering if my mom wants to continue to work.. baby put at my MIL hse.. dunno she can cope anot? but i wish my mom to take care lar. 1pax look after 1 child.

felval,
is true leh. once bb come liao life will be different. he will take the role of papa & hubby.. bb cry at nite also must wakeup to see & feed.. but my hb very good life one. he dun nid to wakeup one. oni i wakeup.

the cloth diaper one brand i dun like is tollyjoy. the cloth seems sooo thin lidat.