(2008/05) May 2008

sorry to intrude. I'm from Feb 08 thread. My hb bought too many swaddle cloths from TMC. It's useful for newborns as they sleep better when swaddled. I'm letting go at $13 for 2 pcs. I'll cover postage. Pls pm me if keen. Thanks!

wah most of u went to the taka fair le... today im on MC.. but hubby is wkin n he dun let mi go alone.. so i'll haf to wait til tomolo..

i hope there r gd buy @ taka..

Jen, I intend to do waxing also. I read in some thread they say do at wk 36. My friend also ask me to wax, she went tmc, they shave for her, she said that after it started growing back, very pricky and itchy, so shaving is better.

I diam diam when my MIL said that leh. Don't wanna offend her later she go twist the story to my hubby. Endless trouble. I rather diam diam and scold my hubby. But then hubby later went to tick her off, my FIL later scold me say I created trouble. By rite in the past, the gal married liao really should just serve the in laws, no more turning back to the gal's parents. I told hubby, how much u all give my parents for "ping jin" when we got married huh? He diam diam and ask me to ignore his mum if she said all these again.

Felval, you never know hor. Last time my MIL really always tell me how she brought up her sons etc, it's his duty to take care of her. But I dunno read in some thread, they do have milk powder send to your house in half dozens, i might consider that.

Anyway I intend to give friso to my bb next time on top of BM, what you all wanna give?

Ladies, I heard putting a piece of cabbage to sore nipples helps. Not sure how true it is leh.

Kelcqi,

You can either try putting cold cabbage or warm towel around your breast. Make sure when put the cold cabbage to cool it, it is broken up by pieces and not the whole cabbage into the fridge hor. Hahaha

My 1st kid, KKH provide S26...I switch to Friso. He had no problem with Friso. My 2nd, cannot take step 1 Friso, end up drink Nan 1. Then when 5mths, I tried Step 2 Friso, he could drink so I con't with Friso.

harlo mummies! update frm my gynae visit. i only put on 0.8kg! hehe.. so happy. bb alrdy 2.1kg at 33 wks =)
i managed to get all the stuff frm taka bb fair. duno cheap anot, jus wack only! hahaha.. cos i got $250 vouchers so jus buy the things needed. lucky i got passdwns for the big ticket items so save alot =)

Hi Jen and Kelcqi, I still do my B-waxing. Been doing it for the last 5 months. I think as long as you are ok with it then can do la. So far I don't have any problems. Somemore my therapist is damn fast one, 10-15mins done. Haha.. I like.. Will be going again on 29th March, which I think I will be 34+ weeks. Mine is package one so I will keep going lo. Then maybe go again on the 37th or 38th week just before the EDD.. Hehe.. Cos if too long very uncomfortable then somemore after that, 1 month cannot go ar.. Too long already..

Hi moony, don't expect too much from the Taka fair.

Ya, at the cashier, they have Maternity & Baby Checklist so get 1 before you go shopping. Perhaps there are stuff that you haven't got.

poky,kelcqi,
heehee, can lah, you can produce lots of milk too. My freezer was also filled up with frozen EBM. When my fren came over and open the freezer, she said looks like a scene from 'X Files'. Hahaha.

Like wat pooh said, its a matter of demand n supply and how disciplined we are in feeding / expressing 3hrly EVEN waking up at night to do it.

Jen,
Is there a trade-in offer? I planning to buy some Pigeon bottles..hmmm..if have then i shall bring along some old bottles to trade in!

Icebaby, so the cabbage theory works ah?

Why your second one cannot take Friso? I intend to give friso so it smells soooo nice. Haha... Nan I heard is very tasteless and oily. Issit true?

Kelcqi,

Different babies take different milk...so it's really a test and try period. That's what I learn with my 2 kids. I do not know the reason why my 2nd one cannot take but he start having green poo n would poo many days. So we knew it wasn't suitable. After that change to Nan, his poo became okay.

Friso's packaging has change so much. The content of the milk is also thicker now. While Nan is "thinner" and hasn't change much (I think). You will notice that the more expensive milk, those with added "liao" the milk powder is THICK. While those like dumex, fernleaf, etc are much thinner cos they have less added "liao".

Oh, currently both my older sons are taking fernleaf full cream milk. Previously was Nespray but I stop because of their shipping issue. After I switch to fernleaf..also had shipping issues but I manage to get my stocks before the issue occur. Both my kids hate dumex. Hahaha

Cheri, I went Taka on wed to take the list and highlight all the stuff I wanna get liao. WHen I go shopping, I just tick off those inside my basket. Keke...

Cheri, where you do your waxing huh? I kaisi, scare of pain leh. But pain one time better than I suffer for that month. Cannot shower already so terrible, somemore terrible feeling down there. Yucks.

Tracy, haha except those packets in white? Dunno I can produce so much milk or not, later my hubby call me a cow how?

Hey moony, I mean don't expect too much of a sales la. Cos I don't really see it as sales leh. Their 20%, 30% off put for fun one. The price indicated are after discount but seems like the same normal prices lo. It's good to go there to take a look if you haven't got anything yet la. Or maybe will see some interesting stuff. Haha.. Like I bought this "hand" pillow thing(like bean sprout kernel pillow) cos my hubby said I very stingy everything also don't want to buy, that one cost $60+. Abit heartache la but hubby wants to buy lo.

Kelcqi,

You so cute..say later ur hubby call me cow. Actually the main worry you should have is the pressure that other pple around you will force you to give ur child formula milk. Esp during the first few days, if the milk dun come. Dun get pressure from them okay. Get ur hubby to support hor.

Mine, I had pressure. I already in the begining ask my hubby to support my decision to give breastmilk. He end up side with his mother and they secretly give my son formula milk. I so angry and got depress. (That's why i say my hubby not the kind that will support me. If I want support, I need my own back up).

This time around, I intend to hope and pray really got breastmilk and try to pump, if baby dun latch. Cos i got 12 weeks maternity, want to do the best for this daughter of mine. =)

Hi Kelcqi, I think the list is quite useful but it came too late cos I only saw it when I at the cashier liao and I got 2 lists myself. Haha..

I go to Spahaven for B-waxing. Maybe you can check it out. I think the normal price is about $44 ba. You can call and ask them.
http://www.spahaven.com.sg

If it's the first time you are doing, it will be pain lo cos the hair is very thick but subsequently won't be so pain liao. Also, when pregnant, our skin more sensitive so will feel the pain more. But can tahan one la. Giving birth is more painful lo. Haha..

Cheri, oh okok.. mm.. i tink i better go down n take a look 1st ba.. haiz.. feeling so terrible @ tummy nowadays.. eat abit will feel full.. den today i saw hubby's fren.. he commented dat i looked bloated.. ;(

Icebaby, my hubby dunno you so cannot call u a cow. Haha, but next time he'll go moo at me one. Expected already.

But I think I'll get support from breastfeeding, cos I'm early childhood trained, I told everyone I wanna give breastmilk cos baby will be stronger if I give breastmilk, my MIL saw my neighbour's baby very chubby from drinking BM, she keep on telling me must give BM next time. Hehe, so tat shouldn't be a problem. At least to now I'm hoping lah.

Cheri, I think I sure cry from the pain liao. But I rather do it than suffer later. Pray pray I don't cry...

kelcqi, at least ur hubby will cal u cow.. mine still say dun buy breast pump so early den i ask him y?? scared i no supply ar?? he dare nt ans mi.. kaoz.. looked down on mi leh..

Moony, U tell your hubby lah, I dun buy now, so if I have milk, you come and buy ok? Cos I'm in confinement.

Think he be paiseh later to buy cos later still have to ask how to use etc. Keke, but provided ur hubby is those "Da Nan Ren" and scare paiseh one lah...

kelcqi, eh.. he said dat he will buy after i gif birth.. he nt pai seh one.. hehe.. he still can help mi buy pads.. haha.. n will follow mi to the bras section so buyin breast pump is nt a problem to him

Moony, your hubby power leh! My hubby prefer me to buy now than he run down. But your hubby hor, so bad one, so discouraging. *Bish Him* Haha...

Some of them started expressing at hospital leh. So at hospital, you borrow from them?

Then you must tell your hubby specifically what u wanna get, in case he gets u the wrong one...

kelcqi, actually ok lah.. he scare i end up c-sect or dun wanna breastfeed den waste $$ haha.. actually when i c the breastpump so ex i oso dun feel like buyin..

finally woke up, took time off after last post to go home n slp. got flu n cough again for the past two days. after preggy, really v easy to fall sick.. sigh...

Moony,
my hubby also dun encourage me to buy pump now.. also say in case i cant bf. =( but i still v tempted to go n buy, at least with a set,, think i will find it wasteful if dun used.. so will try even harder if initially cant produce much?? hahaha

Kelcqi,

You naughty hor...i made mistake. hahaha. My hubby won't call me cow cos he born in yr of the cow. But he calls his mum the big cow.

Like my son, say I am a horse, he a pony. Then my younger son a goat..with "horns"!

poky,

At the moment, among the "premium" milk...friso the cheapest. I bought friso for my 1st was because my fren could get it very cheap but then that was 6 yrs ago and for only 1st few months. After that...haiz...have to pay the price.

yueling, i buy the baby tummy binder for $2.90 (b4 20%+10% discount...after disc ard 2.20?)

re breast milk... i also intend to buy the milk bag...hahaa...but also worried that i dun have the supply... if bo..then store other liquids lor.. LOL

hey hey...does ur MIL ask u gals wan to BF bo..and how long u intend to do so... my reply to her was...depend on i got supply bo mah... now i dunno wat.... my first baby leh.. how i noe i got milk bo...hahaa

kelcqi...u realli very tolerant... hahaha... if me...i guess my face be BLACK.. kekee

Milk powder... tot S21 is better? i saw from ntuc ah..so exp! one tin ard $30+++ leh..wa lau...

last time i drinking dumex...so cheap leh... didnt expect got such exp milk powder...

tml i hoping to go to the taka fair...maybe 10am reach..to beat the crowd! hehehe =D KS MUM

Hi Jaspire & Kelcqi,

Hope you gals got recover from cough.

I have been very tie-up at work these days & the thread move so fast. Scroll last few days thread & saw kelcqi asking for the dessert ingredient, here you are:
nan-xing + bei xing + white fungus + red dates + bai he. & remember to put some rock sugar instead of sugar. For me i seldom take sugar if i cook dessert i always put a bit rock sugar :)

Re: Taka baby fair

I went to Taka & found that not very full range of baby stuffs. Looking for Pigeon's baby washing detergent but they only have liquid detergent for bottles/food. Still i spent $100 on Pigeon frige to go $47.92, Pigeon disposable milk bags $13.04 Pigeon diapers (S size) $21.30.
Then only realised Pigeon diapers are exp after i saw Tracy's computation for Goo.N & Nepia diapers (NB is around $0.25 to $0.26/pc). Anyway, i am too lazy & busy to go round for the price with my tummy. Just wanted to grab everything at 1 go.

I saw you gals are talking abt BF & worry abt supply, me too coz it's my 1st baby. I believe BF is best for baby (provided i don't get sick during BF & self-discipline enough to stay healthy diet)

Choc, I used to drink S26 when I was a baby. But I check ard, Friso I think the price looks reasonable, plus the smell hor, very nice one. Last time when I was teaching, I make milk for the kids, so tempted to drink their milk. Haha... And from my boss's wife review, she said the milk not only smell nice, but even when baby vomit out the milk, it doesn't smell that horrible.

Icebaby, I think liao, if hubby calls me a cow next time, I'll call him a bull. Keke...

Dunno leh, my hubby suggested buying the Avent Duo for me off ebay, he said cheaper. At most if I never become a cow, then just sell off at ebay again loh. Anyway it's cheaper than our local, so we sell off same price as we get it, nothing to lose. But I think Uno enough liao, cos Duo very very expensive leh...

Yaoyaomum, Thanks so much for the recipe again. Tml I go down and buy. Make for hubby and myself. Poor hubby down with cough, think I pass it to him one.

If I'm not wrong from my books last time, even if we fever, can also breastfeed, but not if you are on medication. Cos our illness itself will not pass through breastmilk. But usually people will stop BF to play safe, also the mum will be too tired to BF.

I not really intending to get fridge to go leh. Cos I think if I go out wif baby, I will have difficulty in warming the milk and also very le chey to express milk, so at most direct feeding loh.

I know liao ladies, if we no milk supply, we can ask the lady for supply. She got whole freezer of milk, enough to feed all of our babies liao. Keke...

Kelcqi,

good idea if don't get enough BM supply. I read from books if fall sick & still BF, the virus may pass on to baby b4 the symtom has shown to mum's body such as fever, so still i have a long way to go keeping myself fit.

Just wondering for BF pump how much is e-bay cheaper than local price?

I bot fridge to go coz i am sure I still work full time after i gave birth, & to keep the supply which i read from other thread, the only way is to keep express every 3 to 4 hrs a day. So i think better buy one for convenience at work place or travel also :). Think every mum have diferent environment factor so justbuy for practical, i saw some other mum shopping too much then have to put unused item on sale again, tat's headache too :p

Yaoyaomum,

The Avent Duo pump cost ard 400 plus on ebay for 1st hand, cheaper if second hand. But we'll not have warranty lah, cos US products mah. Dunno sg warranty got cover or not. So have to risk loh. ANd also will have to find adaptor for the plug. But if can save 300 plus if nothing goes wrong lah. So it depends if you and your hubby willing to risk or not loh.

For the fridge to go, If really need then I buy bah. Now all the big ticket items plus baby stuff I calculate liao, will cost us almost 2k le. So now I think just buy what will come into use first.

I also dunno leh. From what I studied last time we can still BF if we have fever. But running nose all these I dunno. But if we on medication, no BF. But like I said, likely if we sick, we'll stop cos we too tired to BF le. So no worries for that.

BF--i bot bottle storage instead of milk bag, coz i will be staying at home, so will try to latch on my bb..

but mummy here don stress urself on bf, shu qi zi ran..

taka fair--we spent ard 150 yest, not much to but at fair coz i already got bb clothes, n they up grow very fast, so not intend to but so many clothes.

i bot bb bottle drying dish, cotton wool,washing detergent, body wash,maternity pad,nappy liner, nail clipper..

still searching for cot, coz we prefer those wood natural color, not painted wood..

breast pump--

fr mrs wong class,she not encourage us to buy pump now, she suggests better try on diff brand b4 buy.but i got a hand me down..

yaya agree. not really much to buy cos mostly are on big items like stroller, cot and those fisherprice baby gym or bouncers.

went last nite. not really super crowded mayb cos it's late liao around 8plus 9pm. in the end bought the philips avent baby monitor which comes with free milk bottles, changing pad, bean sprout pillow, j&j tip to toe shower gel, pigeon wipes and non-slip mat for the bath tub.

a bit disappointed cos the pigeon booth like very empty not carrying the whole range of products. and a lot of small items are not found

still thinking of whether to get the cot though but heard from aunties tat foam mattress is very hot and baby actually grows out of cot very soon, even those convertible to toddler bed type. so still not decided yet. sigh headache.

maybe will go one more time tmr to see more clearly and whether got any other stuff to buy.

pooh,

wats the difference between the pigeon compact sterilizer and the normal one? less milk bottles to sterilize at one go?
saw the compact one at carrefour $47+ with some bundled gifts like wipes.

btw, i have 2 avent small milk bottles from my antenatal class. Do i have to buy more?
thinking of buying the pigeon sterilizer cos heard can store most brands of milk bottles.
to buy at robinson, taka or the mother n baby fair???

icebubbles
i can plc the compact sterilizer at my workplace. i've got 2 pumps so can plc one at my workplc and one at home.. dun need to lug those pump to and fro mah.

Some updates. I just realized 13th March is private sale wor. Very sorry for the wrong update that time. But those mummies who have Isetan card can go and get Car seats. Dunno got 15 or 20% + 5 or 10%. Avent products 20 percent off. Haiz, private sale dunno wanna go or not, super crowded one.

But Pigeon Sterilizer at private sale selling at 129 with 2 bottles, food maker, and a pack of wipes. But hubby said get Avent wor, cos one is UK made and one is China made. I see how then.

I think not so much ppl at baby fair cos they having IT fair at Suntec. Alot of ppl there wor, so those of you who intend going there, be careful ok? I was there yesterday. Scary. So many ppl and ppl don't care whether you are pregnant or not. Inconsiderate Singaporeans.

Where can we find non-slip mat for baby bath tub at Taka fair?

taka baby fair, the pigeon rapid steriliser comes with new born starter kit and food warmer and a pack of wipes, it's S$ around S$147. the one at isetan only two bottles and food maker and a pack of wipes which cost 123.90. maybe you see which one u prefer lor. i check with the sales girl at the taka fair, she said pigeon sterilier can be used for any type of bottles.

just receive the isetan mailer, dunno whether to buy the cot or not. $339 with free latex mattress. good deal?

choco,

I went to the taka fair and john little.
@Taka - The baby tummy wrap (with valcro) $2.70/pc, with string $2.05/pc (I think it's $2.05). Bought some baby wash towels and wipes. Almost done with my list of things to buy. Now still waiting for the maid to wash the stuff. Already 2 days no rain...she still lazy to start washing them. I think she waiting for new maid to come and start washing. Damn pissed. She dun wash, I can't pack my hospital bag!

Thanks Yanling, I go see if I can find it at Taka.

Icebaby,your maid got alot of stuff to do ah? How come take so long to get it wash?

icebaby,
your maid waiting to throw her work to new maid? I see today weather good, wash whole load of baby clothes and bedding sets.

Icebaby, if your maid intends to bully the new maid, you tell her you intend to get a new maid to replace her, see she wash or not. Haha... Me so evil.

Today weather really gd, we also send our car for wash. So many days we put up with a dirty car, today see car so clean, so happy.

been following the thread but seldom contribute...

for b-waxing, i go for regular waxing at strip for its convenience (location). they used hard waxing for pregnant woman as it protect the skin better. Not sure about the price as i have a package with them. the recent hard wax they used has chocolate smell.. heheh... but dun worrie, it is not brown in colour... i will definitely be going for one session before i give birth. cannot tahan having messy menses for one whole month.

kelcqi, i agreed that today weather is terrific, washing some of my bb clothes to prepare for her arrival.