(2008/05) May 2008

Icebaby, I also have problems with my sister. Cannot stand her behaviour. Only know how to take money and slack. WHen my dad is home, den she complain she very stress over studies. She thinks she's the only one who went through Uni... My dad still gong gong believe her... I dunno how things gonna be like when I stay there for my confinement.

Icebaby, I also dun wanna work for 5 yrs and rest...

Hi May'08 Mommies,

I'm new on this thread and expecting my 1st child this May too.
EDD : 22 May 2008
Gynae : Dr Yeoh SC / Mt. E
Child #1 Baby blue

Winnedy,

I'm also considering the role of SAHM, altho for me it might be more a necessity than choice. My parents work and IL is old/frail so she prob needs a maid for herself soon.

Hv bn home since Oct. My nasty boss who had an easy preg was unhappy/unsympathetic abt my really awful MS. She went around telling my colleagues/custs that I hv a bad pregnancy (so mean, rite?!) and insisted that I continue with my trvlg (abt 50%/mth). When I gave her the Dr's letter advising that I don't travel (I have complications w/ preg), she refused to talk to me for 2 weeks! In the end, my hubby encouraged me to quit cos I became depressed (already so worried abt the complication and still hv to deal w/ nasty boss). It is not worth risking the preg.

Now that I'm home, I definitely feel the loss of financial freedom. So miss my want-to-buy-what-then-just-buy days. Hubby is v sweet and he saves to buy stuff for me now and then. I really appreciate the thot but I know we shd be saving for bb instd now that we're down to single income. Both SAHM and FTWM hv their pros and cons and every1's situation is unique. Hv a good talk w/ your hubby. He might be really supportive and undrstdg! Good luck!

Hi Panpan and Smurferous,
Thanks for sharing.

I have yet to complete my shopping for my newborn. A bit nervous now, time seems to be running short. May is approaching and there are many things that I have not buy.

Some of my friends shared that rompers is good, the baby's stomach wont catch wind. Others said wearing top and short is easier to put on. So I am going to buy a bit of everything to try out.. Thus need to find cheap ones.. =)

Girls,

Need to clarify. My meaning that I can substain 5 years is assuming:

- The amount is for my own expenses (i.e. food, transport, other expenses)
- The amount is also for allowance to my parents.
- My hubby will con't to pay for our joint expenses, i.e. kids stuff, insurance, etc.
- Our car already fully paid (cos weekend car. =P)
- My hubby do not give me allowance
- And maybe abit of part-time work giving tuition or whatever I can think of.

Overall, I not rich. HAHAHA. But I save enough for rainy days.

hi LavenderDream,

welcome to the family =)

anyway, not everyone is sympathetic towards pregnant woman, be it if the person is already a father or mother. I came to understand this when I had issues in the 1st trimester of my pregnancy too with my senior making uncalled for remarks when he is already a father of one.

anyway, if can ren then ren first ba...if not for the 3 mths paid maternity leave i would resign already. even tho the mistreatment conts now, i will ren till my ML is over then i will resign.

mayb we are the unlucky ones but i am sure they will be gd bosses and colleagues out there too =)

there is alot of selfish

spotty,
i also like rompers cos it protects the tummy and holds the diapers well. but older generation like my MIL dun like cos difficult to put on. Gotta lift baby's head up to put the top thru. so at my MIL's place, my baby wears separates. at home, its rompers.

if you going or hv any frens going malaysia, can get very cheap rompers there from 'reject shop'.

Hi felval,

tks! :)

ya, it's only now thru my own exp that I realise pple who are already parents can still be unsympathetic to preg ladies. cross fingers, hope we both will get gd bosses/colleagues nxt time! till then, hang in there. may is coming up soon n u'll get 3mths away frm the mean pple!

Hi LavenderDreamz,
But she will be travelling ard my EDD to go for her son convention loh... did she tell u?

How did u get to koe her?

Yes, those pple who are parents can simply made weird remarks. And they are my bosses. However, i have other colleagues who are fathers will take care of me more than my hubby does...

Hi Winnedy,

No, Dr Yeoh hasn't told me yet. How long will she be away? Thk her partner Dr Chia will cover in her absence. Dr Chia is q popular too.

My GP recommended Dr Yeoh. Was seeing anthr gynae at Gleneagles at 1st but was not comfortable w/ his bedside manners. Were u recomm by yr fren?

hey spotty...me in the same boat too. Still taking my own sweet time! Think i'll only start getting panicky in end March!

hi LavenderDreamz,

provided they dun disturb me by calling me non stop. =) When i was on bed rest for 2 weeks, i had calls frm my senior practically at least once per day asking me this and that when i have documents created and he can easily refer to it...in the end he told he he have no time to go thro my document and wans me to guide him over the phone or log on to the company network to wk...i of coz complaint to my boss lo.

i just hope they dun cum disturb me for watever trival matters man...

cant turn off hp..will get scolding when i call back....to my snr, i must always be contactable...even when i went overseas for my wedding photo shoots he insist i on my handphone so he can contact me...again, i complain to my boss la...then my boss told him i am on leave and should nt be disturbed unless really urgent and even so, can check or work with my backup when i am nt ard...

Re: Bloom photography
-------------------------------------------------
LATEST UPDATE:

**!!! Last 2 slots left!!! 2 more mtbs to get CD with all the shots at $200 instead of 250!!!**

** Do check out their biz thread (link provided below) in the forum, They have just posted some new Bloom photos **
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/586645.html?1203572993

** All mtbs who participate in this BP will get 20% discount off the basic package as a returning customer if they bring their newborns to studio loft for Little big shot photoshoot in future. Check out their photos for newborns and infants**
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/586645.html?1203575836

Will need minimum 10 MTBs for this BP to take off. They are offering us for the same price at $160 for 1 super 8R photo, 5 5R photos and extra 3 more 5R for this BP. For photos that are selected, the soft copies will be given back to us. For mummies that are interested in keeping all the photos taken during the photoshoot, you may also purchase a CD with all the shots taken on that day for $250 if you are a forum member which we all are here...

If there are more than 15 MTBS who sign up for the bloom BP, the CD containing all the shots can be bought at $200 instead of $250. If we only have 10 mtbs, the previous offer still stands

You may refer to this link for their pricing details http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/rates/TSLoftRatesY9T04N7.pdf

To look at their work you may go to:
http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/
or
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/594409.html?1164635256

Mummies participating
-------------------------------
1. Amy (Apr mtb)
2. Yo (Apr mtb)
3. Gervynne (Apr mtb)
4. Wish Come True (May mtb)
5. Piyo (Jun mtb)
6. Veniz (Jun mtb)
7. Mogudog (Jun mtb)
8. Chewy (Apr mtb)
9. Jer (?? mtb)
10. Juin (May mtb)
11. Serene123(Apr mtb)
12. Jellyfield (Apr mtb)
13. Pinkbunny (Jul mtb)

***Anyone else?? 2 more to reach the min. 15 for the $200 offer!!! ***

Hi LavenderDreamz ,
Is Dr Chia popular?

She like always not many patients as compared to Dr Yeoh.

I used to be in the healthcare industry. So knew her a few years back, so just continue using her. Her daily consultation is quite cheap. However, its the delivery charges which is expensive i think. The delivery charges is $2,000 - $2.,500. This exclude hospital stay.

May I ask how much is your doctor charging you for the delivery charges? Means the doctor go down on your labour day and receive the baby, excluding hospital stay.

hi winnedy,

so far each time i'm there, Dr Chia seems to have many patients -- both locals and caucasians.

did Dr Yeoh say when exactly she'll be away? real bummer if she can't deliver my bb tho. she was specifically recommended for her experience cos of my complications.

Winnedy,
My gynae also charges about there. S$2,000 for normal delivery and S$2,500 for c-section. This excludes hospital stay.

For mine,

Normal birth is 1200 – 2000
Assisted by Forceps 1500-2300
Elective C section 2200 – 3000
Emergency C Section 2500-4000

Then how come some pple say that they have a package from example 6 mths onwards, pay abt $1,200 which includes consultation and delivery charges?

I was thinking how come theirs is so cheap!!

Hi LavenderDreamz ,
Her date are not confirmed yet. Most likely 9-13 May, which is most likely to affect me, 16 May.

But she was saying I may have to give birth earlier due to my baby being overweight!

Hi Winnedy,

I checked w/ the nurses before and Dr Yeoh doesn't do pckgs altho quite a number of other Drs do. Thkfully, her regular visits don't cost that much. I'm going to see her 2mr and will update u if she has confirmed her trvlg dates.

hi LavenderDreamz,

been with this co for 5 long yrs....so if i can ren for 5yrs...another few more mths is nthing unless he realli go overboard la. shall see how it goes =)

Muzicgal,

I had very bad leg cramps the nite before, I'm not too stressed if it's caused by my stress or what. I woke up 2 times at nite screaming. My hubby got frustrated and scolded me for taking too much cold drinks. Haiz, I dunno why like that since I tried the exercise already.

U know hor, there are times while I'm doing the calf exercise, the cramp just come in, does it happen to u?

oh, i had my first calf cramp tis morning too. it was PAINFUL!!! In fact, i still feel a bit pain now.

anw today is really hot. i keep perspiring and feel breathless. anybody feel the same or is it just me?

Yanling, I also perspire alot last nite. I dunno, I realized recently I perspire more than usual, even though I seldom move ard.

kelcqi,

since from that day i did the calf exercise... i dun have anymore cramp liao leh... now instead waking up numerous times to go pee pee... and even have nightmares... then wake up crying and feeling scare... the more i countdown the more i scare.... 51 days to go...

Muzicgal,

I get nightmares sometimes also. That time I was crying in my sleep cos I dreamt of my family member dying while I went into labour. I ended up crying and my hubby woke me up to tell me I'm having nighmares.

I fear of giving birth also. You know hor, sometimes I wonder how come you so many mummies like so enthu when it comes to shopping for baby stuff, or dealing with contacts of CL and Massage Ladies. I kept procastinating with the shopping, calling etc. Dunno issit I'm in denial or what?

Sometimes I even thought of fostering out the baby to my MIL at the 2nd mth, cos I fear of the night feeding and caring for the baby. Me one big sleeping queen. I can't imagine having to wake up every 2 hrs to feed baby. Even now waking up 3-4 times to pee already made me so frustrated.

Sometimes I have Leg cramps, I woke up screaming. I see hubby frustrated, makes myself feel worse. So I feel that since pregnant, I've become a burden to hubby.

kelcqi,

I dreamt of my boiboi got no mummy when he come out... mummy die of pain... i'm those type superb scare pain. Even a small poke for blood test i cry and cry... so my gynae suggest c-section under GA.

Then another nightmare is after c-section, i woke up... i reject everything... cos the cut very pain... keep crying and crying...

So far I only bought steriliser and some clothings... the rest havent wor...

Re: Bloom photography
LATEST LATEST UPDATE:

***** We have reached 15 mtbs, any mummies interested in the BP but has not contacted me yet may do so before this coming Wed 27th Feb before 5pm. After which this BP will close. *****

Will need minimum 10 MTBs for this BP to take off. They are offering us for the same price at $160 for 1 super 8R photo, 5 5R photos and extra 3 more 5R for this BP. For photos that are selected, the soft copies will be given back to us. For mummies that are interested in keeping all the photos taken during the photoshoot, you may also purchase a CD with all the shots taken on that day for $250 if you are a forum member which we all are here...

If there are more than 15 MTBS who sign up for the bloom BP, the CD containing all the shots can be bought at $200 instead of $250. If we only have 10 mtbs, the previous offer still stands

You may refer to this link for their pricing details http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/rates/TSLoftRatesY9T04N7.pdf

To look at their work you may go to:
http://www.thestudioloft.com.sg/
or
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/594409.html?1164635256

** Do check out their biz thread (link provided below) in the forum, They have just posted some new Bloom photos **
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/586645.html?1203572993

** All mtbs who participate in this BP will get 20% discount off the basic package as a returning customer if they bring their newborns to studio loft for Little big shot photoshoot in future. Check out their photos for newborns and infants**
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/586645.html?1203575836

Mummies participating
-------------------------------
1. Amy (Apr mtb)
2. Yo (Apr mtb)
3. Gervynne (Apr mtb)
4. Wish Come True (May mtb)
5. Piyo (Jun mtb)
6. Veniz (Jun mtb)
7. Mogudog (Jun mtb)
8. Chewy (Apr mtb)
9. Jer (?? mtb)
10. Juin (May mtb)
11. Serene123(Apr mtb)
12. Jellyfield (Apr mtb)
13. Pinkbunny (Jul mtb)
14. Prawnie (Apr mtb)
15. Jia Jia (May mtb)

***Anyone else?? Please contact me before 27th Feb at [email protected]***

kelcqi,

Fear is a norm. Some of us has been thru our 1st kid already but then some of us still has the fear. Hence the reason for coming to a forum to look for support. =)

Dun worry too much. As the time comes, you or your body will naturally change. Have faith in urself. I think each of us has a mummy instinct in us.

kelcqi,muzical,

no need to fear, when the time come, our body will know how to deal with the pain..our mother also gave birth to us, that time more jialat, no painkiller..

for me, i don scare of give birth, i feel wei da to give birth n to hug our bb in my arm..

so,jia you!!don worry so much..

wow, i missed so much topics when was away for CNY.

Hi Amy,
I am interested in the BP, can you please count me in? i am sorry i think i missed the procedure, how do we go bout it? including make up and hairdo? When is shooting going be?

Hi Jespire,
Can you pls to update:

Mummy weight gained: 10.8kg @ 27 weeks
BB weight gained: 1.2kg @ 27 weeks
Gynae: Dr. LC Cheng
Hospital: TMC
1st Baby (Blue)
Thanks, muaks

Feeling so sad after visitng my gynae on Friday. I gained about 4kgs within a month. Doc said i putting on too much, asked to reduce milk intake and fattening food. It is all because of CNY, i non-stop eating. Feeling so regret now.

Hi piggy Mummy,
You are so brave and i also like Kelcqi and Muzical, fear of giving birth.
Well, i want to have that kind of spirit, feel pround of giving birth. i hope i can do that.
(i sometimes told myself can i stop this preg now, i am not ready)My hb will be upset whenever i told him my feeling. i am very emotional and need lots of encouragements. Thanks for that.
I almost bought all the neccesities for the bb but not because i'm ready, i just like shopping.

Hi all, I got calf cramp for the first time few nights back. It was really painful but it was over pretty quickly. Then in the morning when I woke up, that area was aching. Anyway, I hope it's the first and last time.

Nowadays, I feel my boy kicking much harder and can feel his slightest movement. Sometimes, he really stretched and remained in that position for a while and make me feel really uncomfortable cos that area becomes so tight and a little out of shape. Haha.. Now counting down the 10 weeks before he's out.

Btw, I'm planning to get stuff from US using Vpost. Buying waterproof mattress protector, GAP stuff, maternity tummy support and maybe some other stuff. Anyone interested?

I'm waiting for sales to get all the baby stuff. Really not much time left now. I read somewhere that we need to start packing our bags 8 weeks before the due date. I'm left with 2 weeks.

Going to see my gynae coming Thursday! So excited to see baby again.

As for the Aquafitness, it's really fun.

hi kelcqi,

dun think u are a burden to ur hubby ah. u didnt ask for the cramps too. if u are in fear or wat, talk to ur hubby?

at least when i am in fear, i talked to him and let him knows how i feel. i think hubby will understand us better if we let them know hw we feel etc. now, we all need our hubby's support more than previously.

i am quite glad in a sense that when i scream at nite my hubby dun give me a irritated look. instead, he actually try to calm me dwn so that I can relax and loosen the tension in the calf muscle and this helps in releasing the pain too.

so if u have cramps in the calf again, try to relax take a few deep breathe and slowly relax ur calf. this sld helps, at least it does to me. if not try taking warm milk at nite. it sld help as i got calf cramps when i skipped the warm milk. =)

Lynn Chang,

Can you email me at [email protected] with your nick, real name and contact number. Then i will forward you the details for deposit collection and appointment booking with the studio. Make up and hairdo is not included in the price stated above. But they do have a make up artist available at a fee. You can book your own slots for the shooting. Details will be in the mail that i will send to you later