(2008/05) May 2008

icebubble,
i bought both the cube and braun blender... but my SIL was saying that the blender maybe too much... cos will only use a couple of mths...

for yr tots...

feifei,
u can try bellamy… I bought mine from there… where to see if the products have melamine?

Ant_ting,
Hope Aldan is better now…

Yanling,
NTUC finest is selling bellamy so cheap?? I bought in cold storage at $6.80 I think!

Angela,
Bellamy really sucks??? I am feeding my boy now… I dun dare to try…

Cheri,
Im using Drapolene as well… recommended by my colleague who has 2 kids.. she say cheap and good! Only $4.40 per tube… now $7.95 for 2 tubes… haha

Alice,
My mum also got the high chair from ikea… only $25… add the table top and the cushion only come up to be $38…. I am using combi at home.. the one that can be use as a rocking bed…

been busy over the weekend. my boy can finally flip over easily and on sunday morning, he managed to flip back once. he started to flip on wed once then aftertat all attempt nt successful lor.

choc, ur hb nv help u to 'fight' those kpo relative off?

loomi, thks i hv pm u my address lioa...

dolly, the organic tea work for u? i still no time to go get it yet...heehee

Ant,
I also thinking of bf my boy till he is 6 months. But I think my supply can only last him for a month, or the most 1-1/2 month.

Choc,
Those relative really dont know how to think leh. BB so young only, how can they feed him ice-cream. For me, I think I'll tell them off already.

Diana,
i did try the tea and its help, but still need to work really hard. I went down to TMC and see mrs wong, she said that in order to push back the ss, i need to pump back 2hr - 3hrd interval, and i dun think i can do it anymore. So decided to stop. I do have spare tea bags leftover, do you want to take and try ?

diana, dearie..

my hubby paiseh to tell them...so i be the bad DIL and bad person lor.. i dun care what others think of me anymore
the most impt thing is i stand by my belief... no one can shake that
hahaaa

stubborn choc..

BF..
i also intend to stop by end of this year.. by then he be more than 6months!
hehee
i try frisomum and my supply maintain at 200ml 2hrly.. maybe u gals can try..
now ntuc selling $9 per tin...very cheap! i stock up 4tins lor!

just my 2 cents worth on diapers

i previously used pampers premium and found that was the best during the time they had it...then they switched to pampers active which i found that it was not as good. i found the next best choice was MP (till now...). using drypers for the day and night MP. bought some huggies ultra to try too so if some mummies wan some samples, can let me know

pants wise, MP i think still the best...i tried huggies and drypantz as well. drypants got free from the radio station...hehehee...

ling,
so scary... cannot imagine receiving call from the delivery guy at midnite... so weird! I hv always asked for delivery from Carrefour but so far ok lei and somemore very punctual wo... guess is juz that weirdo one hehe =)

feifei,
i bought the bk from popular at ard $27/-... recently i saw someone posted (can't find it now lei) that order through SMH can get disc plus home delivery... very gd book la... once u read it, u will know how to start and make cereal, puree etc... =) My bb is now 5 mths and PD asked me to try cereal first and slowly then intro puree. U chk with yr PD on the next visit and see how. I bought the Braun hand held blender, heard is gd feedback...

Dolly,
Hope Rayden butt gets better =) btw, bb skin recover damn fast lor... so dun worry.
me went to Isetan PP today to check on the price for the highchair... So sad
is $279 lei. They said only 100 units for the private sales selling at 199, hiaz! Missed it...
haha... thanks thanks shopaholic! must inform me hor... me KIV the highchair first hehe. I will PM u my hp... give me yrs too k!
Rachel also drop her milk intake to oni 100 ml each time i feed her... also worry, but luckily PD asked to start cereal if not think she will lose weight man! Is Rayden having dry skin from newborn or only lately? if he has sensitive skin then hv to be careful lor... did u chk with PD what is best to avoid?

choc,
understand how u feel lor... the thing is that these pple is not the one looking after the bb mah, so always think is ok with it. bcos if anything goes wrong, is not their problem... they dun even know how diff to take care of cranky or sick bb, hiaz! The last time my mum fed Rachel with Durian Mooncake I almost fainted too... true enough after that LS... Arrghh..!

Jo,
Glad to hear that Jorel is better! chk with u ah... u bring jorel to doc and not PD huh? what kind of med doc give? cos' very strange lei... the last time PD told me there is no diarrhoea med for bb so young so PD gave me "Pro-S4" a kind of power to mix into milk once a day. It suppose to intro good bacteria into bb system to fight the bad bacteria thats why it takes ard one to two weeks to recover loh.
Think if Jorel is better than most probably can jab ba.
I tried the Soy myself lei... taste like Soya bean milk with no sugar lei... hehe

cheri , winnedy
me using Drapolene Nappy cream too! I really like it a lot cos is water based so easy to apply... Me stock up a lot liao, haha!

Re: PlayMat

I receive my Playmat from SSW liao today... she is like MIA then all of the sudden can call me and ask for delivery date! So funny... tau initially but damn fast in delivery lei... so also dun know what to say abt SSW, haha! So happy managed to get it in time b4 i fly to india this sat =)

alice,
is it back to the usual price for the highchair, weird leh, cos the promoter was telling me that the new stock will reach and at the same price.. let me call them tomorrow and check. These 2 days are monthend, so most likely will shop around on Thur or Fri .. Anyway i am on leave on Fri to bring Rayden back to TMC for review. Will let you know again ... i am gg to miss Rachel and her cheeks.

alice & feifei

ya lor...damn shocked when the guy called me...of coz i wouldn't open the door la...even though he said he was outside my door...somemore my neighbour saw him outside my door when he came back home...was wondering who was the guy with the boxes...hahaha

cutie,
yup. I use the needle and cotton wool soaked in warm water to pop the milk blisters and clear blocked ducts. Warm cotton wool helps to expand the milk blisters and thus, making it easier to clear the ducts. To use the needle, you need to use it horizontally and not poke into the nipple. Poking right into it will force the dried up milk inward and worsen the condition.

choc,
I totally agree with you. We mummies need to stand firm. Should anything happen to our babies, we are the only one who hv to go thru the heart pain and sleepless nites to care for them. Not to mention the "blame-pushing" action. Frisomum $9 per tin is really cheap.

Cheri,
I hv bought the Earth Best's Organic Rice Cereal and hv yet to try it on Rene. Now I'm feeding her Heinz rice cereal. I bought the Pigeon feeding bot to feed Rene cereal. But she's spitting it most of the time and her blouse ended up wet even with the bib.

Feifei,
^5. My ger behaves the same way too. She talks when she drinks & I hv to keep telling to stop talking and finish her milk. Somemore, she gets choked easily when she drinks and sometimes even when she talk. She will kinda lick her lips when she c us hving our meals. Haha... So cute lo.

yeah yeah...frisomum is real cheap now... hehee... i goin to stock up a few tins more... coz i drink 1 tin per week...hmmm...so maybe need another 4 more..hahhaaaa

ya...anything happen to our baby, be it cry in middle of nite, stomache, LS, sick..is all we need to take care...

yalor..confirm got blame pushing at that point of time..i am even "blame" for raphael sensitive skin..coz i got sensitive skin..so they say is genes... hai...

anyway...stand firm wor! we must work hard for our babies...

hahahaa...

solid food:
oh ya..i going to start once PD say can start... hehehee..so nw is merely looking ard for receipes lar..and the cereals... hehee..

i am so excited to make pureeesss... (cham..how to spell)...

dolly...yeah! jia you lor! supply ok lar..now raphael drinking more..so not so wasted..he can drink max 180ml! yeah..

but most of the time is 120-140...and at times can be as little as 80ml..nvm...just feed lor..hehe

Lynn,
So ur planning to try 2nd child in 2yrs time..n i'll plan for trying for a 3rd child in 2 yrs time too... hehe

C yeo,
I tried break latch-on by changing the bottle to "Breast flow" bottles from First Years, since to be working now with this bottle but still need to coax my boy, it takes patience.

icebubbles,
I m not staying in buangkok, im staying in tiong bahru area.

Can i check wif fellow mommies who r on exclusive bf about the frequency of your babies passing of motion...my boy is passing watery slightly greenish stools like 3-4 times a day since 2 months old..is it too often? cos my friend baby abt the same age on exclusive bf only pass motion like once evry 2-3days & her PD say that this is normal for bf baby, this means my baby not normal?

Choc,

yeah man .. last night rayden's face has got rashes breakout when i fetched him from my mil place .. so poor thing lor, and i think it is quite itchy. Then my mil also commented how come his skin is so sensitive, is it because of me ? i also dun care lor, and i told her yes ... mummy also got sensitive skin, then i told her that i can take care of him, and bring him home ... haha for me, so what if he has got my genes, it is also not what i want lor. just ignore !

dolly, u dun wan the tea liao? i dun mind...but let me pay u ok...if nt i be beri paiseh lor...heehee...

choc, one ting is tat i hate to drink milk. i hv enfamama...finish a tin of chocolate favor de...but the vanilla favor still left half tin.

meira, if u worry, i suggest u chk wif ur PD...coz every bb are diff....mine dun poo daily and my PD say it is normal de...

Kelcqi- no need pay me lah. Hw u wan to collect?

Dearie- my ss v erratic leh. Smtimes can pump 90ml for one side only, smtimes only 50ml for both sides! Reali siao one. N my boy’s milk intake incr liao so cant catch up at all. But I’m stil pumpin n latchin. Hope can maintain the ss at least.

Choc- siao ah ur relatives! Heng u were there to witness tat!! I sure tell them off too if they do tat to aldan! Tink I gonna get friso mum to try too. C if helps my ss anot =D hw many cups u drink a day?

Dolly- me also hesistant to start aldan on semi solids cos of his dry skin. He inherited tat frm my hb. Haiz…

angela,

I will think abt it to see worth buying the bb cubes or not am working full time where got time to make puree but well will give it a try once Amelys turn 6 mth ba !

Poky,

Yay I have drop the envelop containing 3 L size pullups to u yesterday nite so u keep a lookout shld be today recd or maybe thurs due to the holiday. Cross my finger no extra postage incurred on ur side hor coz i dun know if the postage enough though ha ha !

Dolly,

dun feel bad mah all my 3 kids got sensitive skin what to do coz mummy got childhood asthma mah ! Just keep clean i bath my Amelys twice a day ( the older ones sometimes more than 3 times a day), change the bedsheets twice a week , change her clothes frequently and the rashes will be kept at bay.

meira (meira)
Hey, gd for u...my bb still struggling, yelling, crying then he sees the bottle..yest, tried to bluff him by carrying him to feed him. Before that, my maid was trying to feed him with bottle..he was crying like hell. So i take over, show him my nipple, he stopped crying, opened his mouth, then i quickly stuffed the bottle into this mouth. The moment the teat is into his mouth, he cried loudly again...sigh...didnt know he so smart....Now my maid will try to feed him when he is sleepy....so tt he will drink...sigh......
BTw, i think bf baby's stool should be yellowish brown....not greenish...unless the baby starts on food, ate veggie...normally from wat i read in magazine, greenish stools might be diarrhoea....think u better bring your child to see a doc...
I am on exclusive bf..my baby, will pass yellowish motion at least one a day..the worse is two day once, but tt only happened once a blue moon...

Alice,
Tks ya...Will get the book since it has good feedbacks..hee =D...How much u bot the hand held blender?

Gina,
hee, ya lor, bbs at this age are cute...=D.

cutie.

thx v much! =)

meira,
my gal also on tbm. used to poo daily few times when she on direct latch for the whole day. shortly after she on bottle, she start to "store" liao... so far, longest is a wk. sometimes also got greenish poo.. but nxt round b mustard back.. she stil puttin weight.. play ard.. so i leave it..

another prb might b due to my diet also. i hv constipation since young. when i latch her the whole day while on ml, i drink yakult daily to help me pass motion. recently, got lazi, n stop drinkin.. also abt the same time when my gal start to "store".. i now drinkin yakult daily to c any difference...

Gina,

I call for a private Lc service yesterday to my home to help clear the milk blister here is what she did for me !

She check the blister and say that is a milk cysts ! Then she start with a gentle massage on the lump near my armpit slowly increased the strokes until the pain made me grit my teeth lol !

Abt 10 mins later with my tears streaming but the lump softens she taught me how to hand express . i manage to express using my hand abt 70ml before she ask me to stop and she massage my breast again .

Then she ask me to latch my Amelys for abt 10 mins which she continue to massage when my bb is latching on. Well deep breath juz recalling this for only makes me well wanna faint ha ha !

She told me she will need to break the cyst with a needle, no choice mah she is the expert so I agreed lor ! At first i can feel the needle just rolling on top of the cyst the she jab the needle the pain sharp boi & blood flow and before i can even blink she jab the other side as well and squueze the nipple . I wish i can faint away then no pain mah !

Aft cleaning the blood away with the cottonball she jab the needle again this time deeper and i saw how she do it i nearly swat her hand away coz the pain is terrible lor. ( the earlier two times she made me looked away ).

Aft cleaning up the 2nd time she ask me to continue to express using my breastpump this time for abt 15 mins, no much milk liao but the cyst looked drain.

She ask me how many feed am giving to my ger , i say abt 6-8 feed average and she say my ger overweight for her age lor lol ! Ask me to try to reduce her feed to 6 nia per day am still wondering how to cut coz my ger will cry extremely loud if give the feed a bit to slow for her liking hor !

Another tips she gave was can feed bb egg yolk when bb turn 9 mths not egg whites and to try to feed bb with homemade fresh fruit / vege purees !
Strictly no sugar / salf for bb b4 1 yr old is the best. Also she caution me to check & read labels b4 buying bb food those packs / jars !

Yesterday when i feed my ger her night feeds i notice the lump is back sigh and the cyst seems to fill up with milk again but am to scared of the experience to call for another consultation too soon lor !

Sorry if i sound so loh sor and i really salute u lor u date to poke the blisters urself any bloosd comes out / pain ??

Re:Bottle feeding
i dunno how my MIL manages to make my baby drink 180ml at 4hourly interval. I've been looking after him myself while on leave these 2wks and i can never make him finish 180ml unless he's sleepy. He will always drink and leave 30ml. So i make 150ml, he still leaves 30ml! Then i gotta keep warm this 30ml and wait for him to fuss like 15-20mins later then feed him again and he will finish.

Cutie188,
Ouch ouch! Yes the massage is very painful. Geez, the needle poking part doesn't sound too happening eh. The LC I saw used an empty syringe to suck at the bleb and not needle to poke it. But it still took another week of latching and pumping then it finally cleared. She said mine was dried up milk clogging up the hole and skin grew over it. It still keeps coming back once in awhile.

Tracie,

Which LC u call previously ?/ I will juz store the info 1st if really need to then call lor yah i still shudders juz recalling yesterday night event loh ! Really kudos to my mum she bf my youngest brother till 2 yrs + but she say never got this problem lei so hmmmm ....

Icebaby,

Thks i really cross my finger hard i will need to recover fast already my frozen ebm running very low and due to my bb heart defect I have to persist to feed her on bm until she is at least 6 mths + coz my pd says bm very good low on sodium which is good for the heart lor !

Diana,
no need to pay me, just arrange with me for the collection.

Ant,
same lah, when i see the mummies started on semi-solid, i am also tempted but controlling, till rayden dun want to drink.

cutie,
thanks, i dun feel bad lor, this is not what i want for him, and since he got it from my gene, then no choice. I just got to keep him clean and dry ... , his rashes and dry skin still not so bad with my care ... hahaha

Tracy,
same leh ... my mil also said that my boy can finish 180ml on weekday when he is there during the daytime, but over the weekends, my boy only drink like 100ml or 120ml, and sure will leave balance of 50ml ... i dun have to patience to re-heat, and he will drink again in another 1 1/2 to 2hrs when i feed him again with new feed. Dun know what's wrong with these boys, trying to tekan mummies !

meira,
im staying in redhill! Finally found someone staying near my place!

my son is on exclusively bf. he poo at least once a day. still yellowish in colour.

i tot if its greenish means not enuff hind milk?

meira
My is on TBM as well. He will poo 2 - 3 times a day. Sometime he will poo 4 times a day. Occasionally, he will have greenish stool but most of the time is yellowish in colour.

c yeo,
Is the teat of your baby bottle make of silicone? Maybe you can try using the latex teat. I've the same problem as you when my boy is ard 2-1/2 months. Only want breastfeed and dont want bottle. Then I go and buy nuk latex teat, then he is fine w bottle feed. Now I change back to silicone again.

dolly,
i saw the price went back to $279 lor. Ya please call them and chk, maybe got another story hehe... Oh ya... update us on Rayden condition, think he shd be fine, very active le and can kiss pple too... haha!
I will miss u & Rayden... and all mummies with their cute little ones too, sob sob

Gina,
r u feeding cereal mix in milk through the milk bottle?? Why not let Rene taste it from Spoon? Cos' I was reading the bk and it said is better to feed thru spoon to let them learn how to swallow lei... make cereal into watery paste, easier to swallow. Then thicken it slowly once Rene can adapt in swallowing. Very interesting, u must try!

feifei,
cannot really remember but i think is ard $35/- ba. I got it at CK tang... maybe other store might have too =)

Nuk latex teat,

am using these latex teats for abt 2 mths , wash & sterilise but recently found that the teats are sticky to touch ! Hmmm is it okay to continue using them, anyone experience the same ??

cutie188,
i went to Parentcraft at TMC cos i gave birth there. Must make appt. You can go thr too even if u nvr give birth there, but i think charges slightly higher. Number is 91193502

cutie188,
Is it best to change the teat every month if you are using it everyday. Once it became sticky, dont use it anymore.

ladies, i bringing daryl to swim at hwa xia 2molo finally after hearing u ladies talk for so long....gng to punngol plaza branch at 2pm...see if he like to swim or nt....

i start putting him on walker liao...and yesterday wen he walk towards the main door direction last night wen he is in the walker...was telling my hb...see ur son so 'hui ka' wan to go out by himself liao....wahahaha

Tracie ,

Paiseh ah how must they charge per session ??

Nuk Teats,

Oic, Thks joelle , dearie for ur kind advice will throw them away am using silicon teats at the moment.

Diana,

I have brought my Amelys to Hwa Xia before and its best to try one session 1st b4 buying their package ! I did not sign up for their package but bought their portable tub version package instead kinda regret lor ! Firstly I tot my ger love it so i buy to use at home lor , turns out the tub very big use lots of water plus sometimes she will refuse and cry, water kena throw away !

cutie188,
i was even thinkin to buy the tub from mambo bp instead.. i got the neck float liao. wanted to bring my gal to pool, but scare she stil too young. but buy the tub, later waste alot of water,... but at least can own time own target to let her play in it.. =p stil ponderin to buy or not. =(

Re: Blogs

Hv finally finished updatin n writin the html script. although there r stil some minor adjustments, but blog is ready for viewin liao. =)

http://jerinlaw.blogspot.com/

Please feel free to view n comment. will add all other mommies blogs to my site when i free over the nxt few days. =)

Poky,
i have added your blog to mine ... omg, Xuan Xuan has got alot of toys .. now you are motivating me to buy more .. hahaha

i justify myself by thinkin of the toys as investments.. can pass to the nxt one mah.. lolx!!! hubby cannot stand me liao.... keep buyin n givin excuses... =p

ant..i drink 2 cups per day mixed with milo powder... can try lar..worth trying..and becoz it got alot of vitamins etc..haha
so i forced myself to drink to improved the quality =D

dolly,

o...ya hor....tat time u mention before....then when u free to mit up? hmm...willu be in 2molo? or if ur place near punngol plaza, coz i will be there at 2pm 2molo...

cutie,tat wat i tink also...tat y i wan to let him try 2molo 1st lor...

choc, last time wen i drink the chocolate favour, i mix wif oats de...nw both the oats and vanilla favor milk in office...but hardly drink...coz buzy lor.....muz find time to drink and finish it...if nt waste $$

Dearie_e (dearie_e)
The teat i am using is also nuk...latex...maybe i started getting him using bottle too late....