(2008/05) May 2008

Fion- ya I heard earliest is 3mths. My boy been droolin a lot recently, duno if tats a sign!

choc- I’m a v light sleeper so even when my boy eh v softly, I also can hear. Usu I wait til his cries abit loud thn I latch him. Haha… smtimes he wil drift bk to slp.
I gt the playmat frm one of the BPs by small small world. Me KS, bot when I was 5mths preg. Haha… cost $119. strongly recommended by my mummies frens. I bot the pooh design =)

Cheri- my boy at times wil refuse my breasts n scream the whole hse dwn. It’s like once his mouth touches my nipples, he screams! Duno y leh.. but other times, he happily suck..
R we supposed to gv bb water? Heard if tbf no need. I only gv my boy fm for last feed.

Jane,
I go n check later. U transfer via ATM one issit? I check this morning got one ATM transfer, but no name, I dunno who is e one who transferred. Is that you?

Choc,
I'll jia you one! Hehe. Nowadays I so busy wiping her face n hands cos if I dun, her face will have those milk rash n everyone started asking me why like that etc.

Play mat I read that u can get from Mini Toons. They have those big n nice ones. Den need to spend 150 for one. Too ex le.

Foremilk is to curb baby's thirst. Hind milk is to fill e hunger therefore more fats.

CHeri,
Don't blame yourself lah. It's not your fault. No mummies want their babies to suffer one. So you don't feel so guilty ok?

Humidifier should help abit, but if you notice that the surrounding floor have water after use, u need to turn down the vapour cos tt means the air is too moist and can cause fungus and bacteria to grow in the room, esp the bed.

I think another type of cream or lotion can use is psysiogel. Some threads on eczema highly recommended tt. My GP prescribe me tt last time also, but each bottle is 30 plus, so I nv use when there is no rashes. And for eczema cases, if you are breastfeeding, mayb u can try avoiding taking too much nuts n eggs cos they can trigger eczema outbreaks one.

cheri, tracy.
thx for the advise. i being usin cetaphil for moisture but not the soap yet... will go n buy a btl of the the cetaphil soap tis wkend. =)

choc,
cos i a v light sleeper. i v sensitive to sound.. imagine, i can even hear the sound of a crocoach crawlin on a empty can when aslp... i wake up hearin that strange sound, switch on light n saw the croach crawlin on the can, wake hubby to kill it... i was the one who drank that can of beer somemore.. =p if i hear bb move n cry, i cant get back to slp one...

birdy,
hv ur ss totally stop? if not u can stil try lor... that time i got lazy, ss drop alot.. i hv to strive n b v hardworkin to get back a decent ss back... so u can try all the methods listed in the above thread to increase ss??

cheri, i intendin to use those normal big ABC foam mat as playmat.. also buyin a play yard, put mattress inside n let dd to play on her own when we not free.

ant1712,
me also v light sleeper. but i think it gd la. at least if bb got anything, we sure can wake up n make sure they r alrite. my hubby totally opp. juz the day b4, we stop swaddlin my gal. she woke up in the middle of the night, fussin ard, then started to cry.. hv to pet her to slp.. the nxt morn when time to work.. hubby still can ask she got wake up meh... how come i was huggin bb...

Ant,
I got the same playmat you talking about.

Tinkerbelle,
The mat from Mini Toons is very much thinner than the small small world one. The SSW mat is thick thick rubber mat. I like it very much so I great supporter =P

ant1712,

yeah, although my boy is on the small size group, but i think he is drinking more than babies of his age ba ....

choc,

i am also thinking of getting, the one mentioned by Tracy from Small Small World is in my consideration list, it has got good comments and feedbacks by alot of mummies.

Jane,

as my milk supply is getting low, thats why i thought of introducing to semi-solid plus formula milk for him.

Birdy,
My boy is born on 30 April, so turning to 4mths next week, gg to shave his hair and eat drumstick

I think you can do it again on breastfeeding ... just pump on time, eat fenugreek, and drink enfamum or anmum. Perhaps it will help ..

Ivy, Joanna,
I'll add you ladies into the waiting list. Once the payment for batch#1 clear, I'll order batch#2 cos I see we should be able to reach 8-9 cubes.

Xiao Hua, Twinky, Linda,
I don't know which one of you transfer via ATM to me this morning. Those of you who haven make payment by 12pm tml afternoon, I'll consider your order drop and move no.1 from waiting list up. And please note that batch#2 will be charged at 1.46 per cube and adjust according if the exchange rate is higher than that. I'm doing it on a first come first serve basis to be fair to others.

Munchkin Mozart Magic Cube:
1. Tinkerbelle(Kelcqi)
2. Linda Chang (lindachang)
3. choc (tge25) - Paid
4. Jane - Paid
5. Xiao Hua
6. Twinky
7. Poky - Paid
8. Winnedy - Paid
9. Lynn Chang - Paid

Munchkin Mozart Magic Cube:
Waiting List:
1. Jocelyn Ng ([email protected])
2. Icebubbles
3. Diamonddust
4. Ant1712
5. Annabelle
6. Ivy ([email protected])
7. Joanna Ong

Choc,
Haha, your choice lah. For me as long as it serves the purpose, I'm ok. Cos too thick very heavy also.

Hi Ant
Perhaps u can use ur finger to feel on his gum any tooth or see any white color on his gum?? Me too i'm v light sleeper, i will wake up whenever my son move... sometimes i'm not enf sleep cos of him..

Poky- my hb is a heavy slper too! Tink the sky collapse, he stil can slp! Haha… Durin the 1st few wks, our boy was screamin in the middle of the nite, he cant hear at all! Unless I put bb nxt to him, thn he wil wake up!

Tracy- gd hoh the playmate? I like it v much too =)

Dolly- hey our boys born on the same day!

fion- no hv leh. i hopin he dun teeth so fast ah! haha...
me too, ever since our boy came into this world. nt enough slp everyday! he eh abit, i wil wake up liao. sighz...

Tinkerbelle,

I am still in office now..Later after i go back i wil transfer to you. Possible to sms u after i transfer? Can PM me ur hp no?

Coz i dun think when i reach hm i wil go online. Very tired oredi..

Tinkerbelle,

Transfer done. I gt my hubby to do for me. Ref No : 3619..Transfer done at ATM machine.

Can check & let me noe whether u rec'd?? Tks!!

ant1712,
i do get up once in the nite to pump.hehehee.if i dun i feel v guilty le..
u try latch then sayang his head? sayang his head is a new method i discovered lately that calms my boy *i wld say 99%* last time we also describe which part of the hse we are but nw nv le la. hehhee. by nw he sld be v similiar with the hse liao aft parading him for so long. hahahhaa
ya, i cut my boy's hair myself now except first time the taimoubi's staff help us to shave. my boy also got flat head on ONE side but we decided to trim his hair coz v patchy..hopefully trim liao will grow out nicer.ya, u n ur hubby consider tall sure ur boy will be tall next time...well...my poor boy gonna be a shorty liao unless i get him to jump alot next time. ahahha! my boy also meaty then ppl like to press his flesh like buying fish like that -_-'''

choc,
i think depends on individual baby ba. some kids even at 2.5yrs old still get up at nite for nite feeds and this happen to my colleague's daughter lo. so i think no hard or fast rule when to stop le. for me, if my boy demands then i will feed him lo, if he didnt, it will be a bonus. hahaha

poky,
oh~~~ okok.then the potty u got for @ the same price since u mention u order from a shop? ya, babies sldnt be in front coz of airbag but like tt hubby v lonely infront ho? hahaha. for me, only u short trips i do that la =) but if i am driving and my hubby in the passenger seat besides he will nt buckle up my boy with him . instead he carry baby facing him.

linda,
ya. no hair easier to maintain la. hehehe. u can bring him to suntec top front, there is a shop that cut hair for kids n babies but i duno ex nt la. then aft tt u can trim urself le.
hmm...i am happy to say my boy didnt develop fever aft the jab *hopefukky the same for the rest of all his jabs in his entire life!* altho he was v cranky la. it depends on individual body whether ur boy will develop fever nt..hmm..old ppl will says let baby drink rice water, ginseng all these but i didnt coz baby too young le.

dolly,
last nite my boy broke his own record...2 feeds of 120ml each within 3hrs...i thot with the extra feed can last him till early morning but who knows he woke up 2hrs later n finish another 120ml~ i cldnt replenish the stock fast enuff!

lynn,
hind milk is the milk that contains more fatty content that helps baby to gain weight..if they have enuff hind milk, the poo will be yellowish...how to increase ah? argh..i duno le. tracy, u know nt? i reckon u r an expert in breastmilk. hehehe.

peace,
i face the same prob as u. my hubby n i simply dun feed him lo. let him be...till he is ready to drink *in peace* coz initially we try to force him to drink but he fuss even more so we thot let him be la, he wans he will drink.

kelcqi,
^5, me also like u, keep pulling his fingers off his mouth n say "NO! NO!" my boy can even stop for a while, smile n me n put them back into his mouth while i cont to stare at him...*faint* no worries la, i also nv let my boy take pacifier. if u dun intro, they will nt take =)

jovial,
thx for sharing! =) the kodomo powder is the normal powder like J&J powder ya? i also applied J&J powder for him so it will be more smooth so less friction on his legs when he wears the diapers. i hope will go off soon lo coz now v v red le.

yanling,
aiyo, how is ur boy nw? i hope he is ok. any bumps or watever?

ok gals, i reply till here first coz i wanna catch the live telecast of the table tennis match! hahaha. *nt tt i am a fan of li jia wei but i am a fan of olympics and world cup!* GRINZ~

Twinky,
When did your hubby transfer?

Linda,
WHen you transfer?

Cos I only got 1 payment juz now, 1 in e morning which i dunno who transfer one. cos no reference no

well, so sg lost the 2nd olympics medal..wonder when will sg ever have a chance again? another 48yrs? hehehe

Cheri,
gd to know u still can substain the amt for ur boy n preserve coz its really nt easy pumping when u have returned to wk ho. how u managed to do 2 or 3pumps at wk? ur boss ok? i am thinking when i return to wk at most i can do once during lunch only coz my office no nursing room le...i wonder how...i will talk to my boss n se eif he can allows me to wk frm home till end of this yr nt..if nt i see how..either i extend my npl or i will just go back to wk n pump once while at work...
u can actually change the teat to a smaller hole so ur boy also have to suckle harder then he may turn to ur breasts again? hahhaa. first kid always get alot of toys frm parents coz first time parents tend to be more kiasu.hahaha me also get alot for my boy till my hubby nag n nag =P oh man, i am sure the feeling of teeth on our breasts sure hurt! hehehe. v fast ho, first they were newborn n it only seems like yesterday only and now they have gotten bored with lying dwn n wans to either sit or stand..haiz..b4 we know it they will be crawling n walking n then running liao...sorry to hear abt ur boy having to go thro so much but u dun be upset la, u didnt wan him to suffer also mah...think on the bright side, he shares the same prob as u but look at u now! hehehe, doing so well! i am sure he can ride thro this =) oh, got scar ah...how come? thot only swelling then on ce swelling gone ok le? by the way i wanna ask u, since u stay so close to ur mum, do u get another milk warmer/bathtub for use at ur mum's place or u bring it back n forth?

loomi,
cant imagine 18needles! 1 is already painful imagine the pain * 18 times! sobsoob. BCG done once during the first few days of birth n then @ pri 6.

birdy,
its suppose to cont but got to be v hardwking n determine lo. either u pump or latch more. u can try, jiayou ok? coz i believe for everyone of the bfeeding mummies here, everyone have exp a dip in the supply sometimes, so got to preserve in order to increase the supply.

ant1712, tracy,
i wanted to get the mat too but very ex and hubby stopped me from getting. ask u ah, is the mat material rough?

kelcqi,
u seen the mat from mini toons? hubby n i find the material abit too rough le..

felval,
thanks a lot. my boi ok for now.. but shall continue to monitor him.

Re playmat

Tracy, ant & poko
which design u all got? i went to see the small small world website, they have differnt kind leh. some even $200 plus. actually i was thinking of getting from mini toon, but since u all said the ones from small small world is better then i shall keep a lookout for that. hopefully someone organise spree. hehehe

choc, yanling
i also bot the mat but my spree is done by yew kim. from wat i know ssw and yew kim's mats are carrying the same brands(LG and Parklon) but are of different sizes and thickness (prices are diff too). in addition to tat, i also bot a play yard round the mat so i can leave baby in it and do housework. i think this beats buying a play pen.
yanling,
my design is yellow bear and cost $178

I see, first 2 days of birth birth BCG done, I guess most of the mummies didn't see the process. I guess there is no fever etc... I never heard any of you complain about fever of your newborn due to BCG!! Sighz, my boy caught flu from me and hubby now fever, so heartpain seeing him ... I cannot imagine the BCG.. super worried now.

Re : Milk supply
Anyone hear about "Hop" somekind of plant they use to make beer, will increase milk supply. In Europe, some old wives tales about drinking beer to increase supply. Of cos, alcohol is a issue to us, but they claim it helps to claim the baby. Wikipedia also mention Hop increase milk supply.

Anyway, this morning, I found this sparkling water, made from grapefruit and Hop. Usually, I pump once during office hour around 2-3 pm, I get 160cc everyday, today after drinking that drink in the morning, guess wat I got 260cc !!! wonder if it is the work of the drink. Just a suggestion for those who are trying to increase supply, try to drink/eat something with Hop.

did anyone buy those kind of ABC mats, like jigsaw puzzle?
Are they gd?

or the playmat from small small world better?
anyone got picture to share?

kaka, thanks for the webpage.
but hor all pooh designs sold out le...

tempting hor!! omg...i am troubled by which one to buy... hai...
antz... what thickness u get ah.. me troubled over 15mm and 11mm...

so exp leh...but tinking may be a worthwhile investment... hai..headache..

there goes my $$$

<font color="ff0000">Thanks for everyone's support! I have sent out an email to PMO and MCYS with 150 signatures. Will be waiting for their reply. Let's keep our fingers crossed and pray. In the meantime, in case we need to rally again, please PM me your name, IC number, bb BC number and DOB and child order if you wish to join this petition. Rest assured your details are kept in confidence</font>

sugar, choc
aiyah. should have seen ur post abt the yew kim's website first!! anw i just placed my order for the yellow bear from the august bulk purchase link. it's selling at 170. Choc, i also saw ur post there.

Tracy,

Am also very tempted to buy the LG / Parklon mat , designs supercute &amp; seems to be sturdy enough for lots of usage but the price omg is super exxx !

Cheri,

My elder gal went though the hearing test when she is abt 3 or 4 mths old cant really remember ! When u arrive at the clinic done with registration they will give a mild sedative to the bb. Once bb is sedated they will put on a pair of headphones on the bb &amp; monitor the sound waves pattern. The test will over is a jiffy &amp; report will be out shortly after. Dont worry Spore Drs are very skilled and the are hearing aid implants (if necessary can be arrange to improve ur child hearing ). Dont worry will pray for ur bb.

As for ezcema all my 3 b have it ! U can try to apply a thin layer of hydrocortisone 1% when red patches appear. After that apply a layer of cetaphil cream on top of the area. Remember to reapply a few times a day to hydrate the area.

As what kelcqi mention u can also try the physiogel hypoallergenic lotion for ur bb ! It is quite ex but if u want to try to see if it work I can get u some samples foc to try. Our dermatologist recommends them !

Btw lets joins hand and support the rest of the mommies to petition to the government to backdate the baby bonus to jan 08

Felval,

From my own opinion, the quality looks ok to me. In fact like what icebubble mentioned, I thought of just getting the ABC mat will do. Cos these kinda mat, will get dirty very easily, you wouldn't want to reuse it few yrs later for your second child cos after u wash and keep and when u take it out again, the smell is really horrible. Besides, once the baby starts crawling, the mat is not as useful le. The other thread I visited for my gynae the mummies shared with me that the Tiny Toons mat work just fine for her 2 yrs old. So to cut cost, it doesn't make sense for me to spend such amount on a mat esp when I am not working now. No offence ok?

Felval- ya nw I wil sayang his head whenever I latch him.hopefuly it helps. His head also flat at one side- the left side!
So wasted rite, li jia wei din win. But the china gal reali gd lah!
The playmate material is soft de. V nice to lie on! Keke.. I find it’s a gd investmt lor cos once bb learn to crawl, can put him in there too. Can use for v long =) I gt the pooh design, the cheapest one. Haha.. the $200+ are the premium ones which I feel no need so gd lah. The $119 is gd enough liao.

Sugar- hw much u bot the play yard for? I tot of buyin too thn can put my boy in there.

Choc- tink mine was the basic one, 11mm. I didn’t wan to spend so much lah. My hb says I siao, playmat costs $100+! haha

Playmat,
Mumies i m from apr thread n i bgt mintoon mats, parklon n lg mat as well. i wan to sell away my mini toon mat cheaply n if ther is anyone that is keen , pls pm me for more details. My mini toon mat is winnie e pooh at 1850 x 1300 x 12mm. SP abt $70, m selling it away at a loss. Do let me know.

ant,
i ordered the 6 panel play yard from cheong choon..cost $195..can call winnie to order.. the no is 6532385.. my sis waited 2 mths for the stock to arrive

Hi Choc,

I had a playmat. Bought from BP wz Alien. Sweet Bear design @ $152.00 dunno have the price increase as i bought them beofre i gave birth.

Re: continue to breastfeed after back to work

birdy,
you can do it. I went back to work 1.5 mths ald and still continuing now...

Re: place to express milk in office

Do u all have a place to express milk in toilet?

I am doing it in toilet. Anyone the same pathetic state like me?

thanks gals for ur feedback on the playmat... really headache...hubby at first say dun buy...see me so tempted and keep naggin..he say if i want buy lor.. BUT...i pay...

hahaa....Simp...u got so many play mat ah! omg...

wow, too many posts, no time to read... need to pack for a short trip tomorrow. Now then realised to bring bb for a trip just like moving house. Clothes, diapers, sterelizer, bottles,breast pump, bathing stuffs, toys, medicines &amp; many more... OMG

Poky/ felval, i BM but EBM, cos my boy dun latch, i every time have to express out and feed. My milk like very diluted, charm, how huh? how to increase my hindmilk? Nowadays i eat less cos wanted to lose weight...

kelcqi, i wont be in Sin for about 10days, any changes on the magic cube, can u sms me? i PM u my number.

dolly, nice meeting u at vivo today. hopefully my Dylan can swim with Rayden khor khor one day...

Cheri,
Ha.....thanks for the clarification re. swimming..i tot the "real" swimming pool...heee....

Poky,
me poor thing lor...i now try to tong till at least 3 - 4 hrs then express...cos me caring for my boy alone so very xiong pumping &amp; washing the pump every 2 hrs, plus i also lazy la...erhh..but i dun empty my breasts each session cause the bottles not enough to hold the milk so stop expressing when the bottles are full...that's why breasts engorged very fast lor....haiz........now i start storing up 2 packs of ebm each day cos me going to start work in Oct..scare supply then will not enough for my boy..he's drinking 180ml now...

Choc,
just given my boy the jab, now monitoring my boy's temp every 4 hrs... ;) yeh...my boy has double his birth weight..doc laughed &amp; teased saying that other babies 9 to 10kg @ 1 year old my boy @ 3 mths old already 8.6 kgs...like big baby now..kekeke....no wonder both my arms aching man...

Wishcometrue,
ya...agree with u totally (no hair easier to bath him)....my boy got lots of hair so got to wash his hair everyday &amp; he don't really like it...ha...got to sing or talk to him while i wash his hair each time...tough man!

Winnedy,
my co...some mummies bought up the matter with mgmt &amp; so they convert 1 handicapped toilet to nursing room for mummies to express bm about 2 years ago..hmmm...maybe u can talk to your mgmt on this? express in toilet got to use manual pump rite?? very time consuming &amp; tiring for u leh...

Antz,

our boys not only delivered on the same day, also delivered by same gynae, Dr Khi. Think that morning, after delivering your boy, Dr Khi went back to wash back then come back and delivered my boy ... BTW, added your blog to my boy blog.

Choc,

i am also trying to convince my hubby to let me buy the playmat, as he find it too expensive, and also i just bought the Fisher Price Rainforest Jumperoo ... keep spending $$ .... but i think it wil be useful when our bb start to crawll.

Tracy,

ask u huh ... i saw that you let Duncan taste the chicken when he turned 4 months, do you cook the drumstick or can buy from the coffeeshop chicken stall ?

Lynn,

nice meeting you too ... hope that i can quickly convince my hubby and bring Rayden to join Dylan for the swim. When i cam back, i keep telling my hubby that i find both Rayden and Dylan looked alike, so cute and adorable.

winnedy,
my office dun hv nursing room too
i pump 2-3 times, normally 1 time in company clinic, others in toilet
no paan fa as the nurse has only a few timings for me to go and express
once i miss, i got to go toilet

i use manual pump in company cos faster and can control speed. pump abt half hr each time.
but at home use electical cos wanna rest my hand, pump abt an hr cos my supply flow out very slow...

can check with u anyone got good lobang to purchase cheaper bm storage bags?? me presently using first year storage bags &amp; avent bottles to store bm...very x so need to check whether u ladies have any good ideas to help me cut costs (since government not including us for the just annouced baby bonuses...haa....)...thanks!

Linda, alternatively, you can get a 25-pack size to try first.. I have one 25-pack to let go at $13.20. I got it from a local seller 1 month ago.. Brand new as I am still using my 50-pack. You want to take over?