(2008/05) May 2008

Just went to the Gynae yesterday, i am 32 weeks pregnant and i have put on 7kg and my baby is 2.3kg.

Really very excited, cos about 6-8 more weeks to go and my baby will be out! A little sad too, cos i know this will be the last time i will be pregnant, cos we have decided to stop at 2. Any mummies feeling this dilemma, on one hand i can't wait to deliver the baby on the other i am also going to miss this pregnancy and also the one to one time i get to spend with my elder daughter...

think i will juz use normal neighbourhood waist binder. those 1 for $5??.. before married, my mom always want us to "keep fit"... so she keep persuadin me to buy the waist binder.. buy liao.. in the end, nv use.. now can bring out n try liao... scarely all rubber lose liao.. hahahaha

to all 2nd time n above mommies,
can ask abt how pc of clothes are necessary for bb? i sortin out the clothes le. but duno how many to prepare... is 20 rompers, 8 long sleeves, 8 short sleeves, 8 slp suits enuff for a wk?? how often need to change the clothes per day? b likely to wash at least once a wk... thinkin to set aside this amt, the rest "dabao" back into store room for emergency... my bb drawer not v big. =p also, do bb need to wear pants?? since they b wearin diapers n b wrapped out in the cloth mostly?

mornin everyone

moony- u so cute lah, kept comparin uself to lcd tv. hehe.. tonight i go bk n measure my tummy, see got win u anot. lolz!

poky- u got the same qns as me! tink as 1st time mums, reali duno wat to expect. did u buy pillows for ur bb? i got 2 leh thn my fren passed me 1 pillow n bolster. i asked my frens who got kids alrdy, they said newborn no need pillows de! n i was stil tinkin shd buy sm more anot! hahah

Hi poky,

I think what you mention above is enough, cos normally you need to change babies clothes about 2-3 times a day, once in the morning, out from pyjamas, then at night into pyjamas, unless he throw out milk, then you have to change more frequently, and also, since baby clothes need to use baby detergent, so i wash baby clothes about once every 2 days. Usually i dress my daughter in rompers and if cold i will cover her up using nappy cloth.

poky,
my advise for your query.
wow 20rompers, 8 LS & 8SS shld be enuf lor. I oni bath my gal in the moni, then at nite wipe her body then chg another set.. If you want to pack the rest in storeroom is fine lar. but dun place too high & deep in case not enuf. cos scare bb poo or urine too much wait nid to chg & chg.
Elderly always say must wrap bb tight tight cos scare they cold lor. i think better to wear long pants & long sleeve than wrap cos they dun wish to be tied up one. I always swaddle my gal but she will hv way to take out one of her arm one.

ant1712,
ya leh. NB no nid pillow & bolester one leh. I oni let my gal slp on pillow when she is bigger like above 10mths lidat. else they are alrite sleeping flat on the bed.

Will you all let ur bb slp on tummy?

poky,
wat you have should be enuff if baby do not throw out milk. As for long pants, it depends on how you want to dress your baby. For me, during the night i will dress baby with long sleeve top and pants.

ant1712,
ya, nb dun need pillow. Even now my #1 also dun really use pillow too.

Jen,
Maybe i will let my baby sleep on tummy but will depends on baby too. My #1 i let him sleep on tummy back then, if not he be waking up every 20 to 30 mins.

ant1712, haha.. ya mah.. other den tv i dunno wat else gt 40".. sianz.. ytd i measure i nearly faint.. i told my hubby my waist last time the fattest oso 28" nw 40".. -_-" really wanna faint..

i bought 4 pillows n 4 bolsters for my bb leh.. hehe.. i very kiasu hor..

morning all =)finally its thurs!! going to see my gynae this aftnn and book hosp room. hehehe. me so excited while hubby sad coz he says $$ flying away. hahaha

moony,

nvm la. since u ren 8mths lioa just ren a little while more. hehehe. are u planning to go for short trip during ur 3mth maternity leave? i actually wanted to go for short one but hubby says NO, waste $$....so i think i will wait till baby is at least 1 yrs old liao. meanwhile save up for the next trip then can shop shop shop! hehhe

kelcqi,

oh, the hosp will ask one ah? so far the hosp nv ask us wo...but if donate i think hubby will la...he v charitable one lo...

poky & ant1712,

me nv buy any pillows or bolster too lo. that time went to the shop @ Queens St the person was asking us if we wan but add on to say actually NB dun nd...some ppl buy to make the cot looks nicer coz 1 set mah...so far i only buy beans sprout pillow nia...

jen,

i dun intend to let baby slp on tummy le...i read an article that says not v gd...coz baby will be on one side of his face also..then u need to rotate the face left n right so baby will nt always slp on 1 side...so i think i will let my baby slp on the back la...then also can see his pretty face. hahaha

jen/jer- keke.. i tot NBs needs to be surrounded by pillows =D heng i din buy too many. hee

moony- my pre-preg waist was 29". nvr expect i wil see a 4!! nw i look dwn hor, cant see my feet also, tummy blockin =_=

felval/moony- i like travelin too! keke.. jus went to turkey in dec when i was 5mths preg. steady hor! hehe.. used to travel at least twice a yr since married. n every natas fair, we sure go to book a tour for the comin sch hols. 1st time this yr nvr go natas fair =(

poky,
wow, your clothes are enuff. i also will dress my bb up in long sleeve top and pants at night.

ant1712,
ya, newborns dun need pillows and bolsters. I jus fold a cloth napkin and place below baby's head. This is to 'catch' any milk vomit.

Smurferoos,
You going to close shop after this? I'm hoping to have #3. haha, cos I wan another gal.

ant1712,

wah!!!!!! u nt scare ah? doc gave me approval letter to travel till 30th week but i kiasi...scare later due to the high air pressure in the aeroplane then abdomen pain or wat...so didnt dare to travel...then hubby also scare wat if anything happens oversea then wan look for gynae or doc nt convenience....so didnt travel anywhere...sad le...actually planning to go NZ in jan this yr prior to knowing i am preg...nvm la..now i plan to the next trip will be with the little one together. hehehe

Thx mommies for the advises on clothes.. then i can rest my mind to stor the rest away liao... =p will only bring more out when i off to work... cos need to prepare another at mil place.... then wont hv to keep bringin to n fro. =)

Jer, cos got prepare slp suits that r long sleeves n long bottoms le.. so night time not using.. if wear long pants, also in the day.. but so hot in may... so wonderin if need or not lor . =p

Re: pillows n bolster
heard that nb no need in the initial stage... cos their head need to flip... so far suggestion was to either use the swaddle cloths to place underneath or those that middle got hole one... colleague recommend to use pillow only after the "head shape" stable liao... but the bolster or pillow can put at the side to prevent bb rolling..

felval- tat was our last trip liao for at least few yrs so i die die also wan to go! hahah.. my gynae gv me the letter to certify tat i'm ok n thkfully also, my preg is v smooth thru out. no MS at all. actuali i dun even feel preg, except tummy gettin bigger! haha.. i got swollen feet due to the long flights but other thn tat, everything was okies =) everyone in my tour grp so amazed tat i cld tahan the long bus trips n the walkin. keke

poky- i bot one pillow middle got hole de. the rest shall jus put at the side lor

ant1712,
i plannin to use cloths to put underneath only... cos thinkin the hole one also duno can use how long only.. unless my mil want us to buy,, then we go n buy lor. =p speakin of this.. need to ask her on this liao... cos hvnt ask if durin confinement, she b helpin to take care bb or i take care of bb.... =(

ant1712,

envy u la. hehehe. for me i kiasi coz 1st trimester got spotting all these and on bed rest for 2 weeks so even when doc certified i can travel aft the 1st trimester i dun dare to risk =P

felval, & ant1712, we planning to go holidays but nt during the 3 mths maternity.. will b goin end of dis yr.. hehe.. i told my hubby 1 yr wanna go twice.. 1 big one n 1 short 1.. hehe

Morning ladies

poky
ur clothes enuf la. dun worry

pillow-wise, i bought the babysafe latex flat pillow

do u all know if i can hire a maid just for 6mths?

poky- u gonna engage CL? or ur mil helpin u?

felval- since u got spottin n bed rest, beta take extra precaution! for me, 1st tri my appetite was bad, cld only stomach in soupy foods like porridge n i literally ate tat everyday! but stil i put on wt! n my tummy started showin at 8wks liao!

moony,

then who help u to look aft the baby then? last time hubby and i also agreed 1 yr twice...1 big 1 small...think need to shelf this plan liao =(

moony- tink the most we can do is drive up to msia niah. w the little one ard, difficult to take plane n go for long trips. tot of depostin at my mum's plc but sure bu she de de.

moony,

I also love to travel. For my 1st and 2nd pregnancy, I travelled when 27 weeks (once to BKK and other to HK). So fun. But this yr no chance cos co-incides with hubby's reservist and then CNY. So no travelling.

So hope maybe end of the yr bring kids to BKK or Phuket. But my dream is still to travel further however, budget wise and "old" folks at home sure complain why I travel w/o bring kids. So sianz. I also want to bring my kids far far away but $$ abit tough.

RE: Pillow and Bloster

My fren gave me 2 cute bloster and I bought a bean pillow for baby. Will also be using a napkin for her head rest in the begining.

ant1712,
so good you can travel. My hubby and MIL forbid me to travel once i preggy. So i missed the recent staff subsidized trip to Osaka/Japan during CNY! Two years ago i also missed the staff trip to Melbourne cos I was expecting #1. Argh!!!

ant1712 & felval, eh.. my mummy will help mi take care lor hehe.. if nt my MIL lor.. cos i already told my hubby if he wan bb everything cannot change.. i still wanna go my holidays.. luckily my hubby oso love travelling..

icebaby, ya bring kids along need alot of $$ but oso need to bring alot of things oso.. my hubby says until bb is ard 5yrs + den can bring him overseas..

moony,

ya lor.

So far my older son (this yr 6) been to genting, KL, tioman, bkk (3 times), krabi. Younger son (this yr 4) been only to bkk. My older son more fortunate than younger son.

Sigh, my last trip was in Nov to BKK with older son and relative (w/o hubby). This yr miss my yearly March trip to BKK due to pregnancy. I love BKK leh, because of the food and shopping (my yearly clothes spree! LOL).

Was thinking of going HK. But abit sianz to always go back same place. So thinking further like Japan, NZ, Turkey...my dream Paris + Italy + Greece. Haiz. I can con't to dream away. Hahaha

ant1712,
so far is that mil says she will cook for me. the rest she didnt mention.... nt hirin CL, since mil will cook. now need to ask more clearly if mil goin to help out in the rest lor.. cos she only comin to my place to pass the food. then go back... she also didnt mention if stay til hubby back or jux stay awhile.. many many uncertainties..... =( will need to pester my hubby to ask liao.. but as usual,, he will sure procastinate..... but i feel that i ask straight also is rude... =p

ant1712, moony,
actually ok lah, to bring baby on trip. its a reduced rate. I brot my gal to HK when she was 6mths old. This is quite a good age cos not on solids yet, so fully on milk, jus bring 1 can of FM. Diapers gotta bring alot lah. She also slept thru the flight.

Perth would be good too, cos short flight and free & easy. Only that the taxes now is ridiculous.

moony,

wah. ur hubby so gd...my hubby also love travelling la but he says got baby our lifestyle will nv be the same again...=( so actually i told him i wan to go overseas with baby when he is older like 1 yrs old and above lo...he says if financial wise i can save up for it he ok...but then dun expect too much...i tell u ho, for me i sure fight for wat i wan. hahaha.

my last long trip was to japan last yr jan for honeymoon and last short trip was last aug to bintan to celebrate his bday lo...now thinking...when will my next trip materialise....

icebaby, wah den will cost alot anot since u bringing ur kids along..

Tracy, wah ur gal so gd.. 6mths go HK le.. need to bring alot of things rite?

felval, actually my hubby says he oso still wan 'er ren shi jie' so he said go oversea is relax.. if bring bb go.. den gt to take care of bb.. hehe.. i told him dun say say only.. muz action.. actually dis yr after CNY we plan to go HK de.. but hor bcos im preg.. argh!! spoil my plan..

moony,
heehee, her things occupied one luggage by itself. then hubby and i share one luggage. we were quite kan cheong lah, first time. But my in-laws went along, with SIL, BIL, maid and all. So at least got some help.

moony,

my hubby got say wan er ren shi jie too la...but in a diff way! like still can go back to our twice a yr spa or just stay at hm with the 2 of us lo...but to me i feel its different when one is overseas n in sg la. hahhaa. can relax more when overseas...

but i think if i have a concrete plan and can show my hubby the pros n cons especially the $$$ part he sld be ok la...but i think no long dist trip coz will cost more lo...but i am thinking of gold coast or disneyland when baby is at least 1yr...so that sld give me plenty of time to save.hehehe

felval, haha.. i told my hubby i wanna bring bb to disneyland when he is old enuf to eat n walk on his own.. ;P so dat i no need to carry him..

moony,

if go also me and hubby only but i dun mind! hahaha. unless my parents going to china with our relatives then i may tag along coz they going back to "ji zhu"...but if go with my parents to china, then i need to pay for hubby expenses liao...

moony,

When I travel, I travel budget. Most of the time I go BKK is because FOC ticket (from budget airline) but pay taxes only (Most ex was $111/pax, hotel around $40/night, so expenses is never abt $2k). Same with going Krabi (we spent abt $800). That's why considered not ex. But budget airlines the taxes went up to $150/pax. Abit sianz.

Last Sept also went Taipei but it was the worse trip cos I was having MS. So most of the time didn't enjoy the food or anything. 5D4N spent around $1.5-2k (cos hubby spent $300+ on tattoos! Our ticket cost only less than $600/2 pax, hotel around $320/4 nights)

So most family trips nearby for 4 pax, I try to budget within $2k. My hubby always just rely on me to budget and plan everything. Haiz.

moony- my fren went bkk once n deposit her bb at mil's plc. she said cldnt reali enjoy herself n in fact cut short her trip cos missed bb so much!

tracy- she didnt cry thru out the flight? i scared bb start fussin thn disturb the other passengers, nt v nice lor. so tinkin jus go on car trips 1st. wait til he's much older thn bring him take plane =D

talking about disneyland, if i am not preggie, i should be in hong kong right now. My in laws went there for holidays, supposed to bring my son along with me but then preggie cannot go then my poor boy also never get to go cos he too sticky to me liao. BIL still can joke said scared i in aeroplane in labour then place of birth in baby birth cert is aeroplane!

tracy,

baby good leh. Dun cry on flight. My younger son almost drove me crazy (actually he drove my parents crazy) on our flight to and fro BKK last Mar.

moony,

Every yr, I try to arrange 1 trip is with kids, 1 trip is just hubby and myself. However, looking at this yr..dunno whether have time and budget to go anot. In-laws did promise my older son to bring him to HK..but I think they sure break their promise. The other day just heard my MIL talking to Aunty-in-law that "adding this and that person = 10 pax...can go in July-Sept..say my parents & got new maid will help take care of baby...blah blah". Got new baby in the house, plus she knows that we have to deal with Pri 1 registration in July somemore, yet she xxxxx. Yet, u imagine my mum says my kids is my IN-LAWs problem and not theirs! I haven't even decide when I want the maid in and she knows that fact. *faint!

Every yr, they (FIL & MIL) sure go for long trip for over 2 weeks. Then it's my FIL poor thing, miss my older son. Always call back to check on him (but dun bother abt my younger son...bias hor).

felval, y go china u go to pay for ur hubby's expenses?

icebaby, wah!! u really noe hw to 'jin da xi suan' leh.. muz learn frm u.. mostly we both go holiday will b ard 2k de.. i dunno hw to budget hehe..

ant1712, eh.. i tink i will b more heartless ba haha.. i still miss my travelling.. n hope gt kids wont change my lifestyle..

icebaby, wah.. y ur FIL so funny huh?? both are sons mah y only dote on eldest one..
u really mean ur mum says ur kids is ur in laws' problem??? i mean seldom our own mum will say dis de..

moony,
my SIL offered to bring 2 strollers there, one for my gal and one for her boys. But in HK, stroller quite inconvenient cos roads are bumpy, alot of steps etc. We also brought baby carrier.

ant1712, icebaby,
Thank goodness she never fuss during the flight. We time her milk in such a way that its during take-off. So she fell asleep after take-off. On our way there she woke up when going to land so its ok. But i must say Cathay Pacific not v baby friendly. Heard SQ is the best cos SQ will zi dong serve one parent food first to allow the other to handle baby then later serve the other parent. Cathay...serve both at once and we were thinking if baby wakes up, siao liao lah.

moony,

coz hubby sure ask me to go alone with my parents then he look aft baby but i dun wan..then the only way is to pay for his...he is like tt one, if he dun wan but i offer to pay he sure ok. hahaha. v practical ho him? unless is we go alone la...then ho, if his parents ask him to pay for their trips and we all go together i also ask him to pay for mine if nt i dun wan go. hahaha.

nearby countries 2k i think can be done rite? unless go taiwan, HK shopping the diff...

tt time went taiwan 5D4N already spent 3k (for 2pax) coz buy alot alot of shoes and makan thing lo...so if no shopping mostly on relaxation like go beach resort think can be so much cheaper...i went bintan 5d4n (hahaha. v long ho) spent 1.2k for 2 pax, including makan, water sports all these. if bring baby along think only can watch hubby play water sport liao so sure can be cheaper. unless butt itchy go banyan tree sure v ex...hahaha

Jaspire--
can update for me..thanx

mummy weight gained @32 weeks--13 kg
bb weight @32 weeks--1.859kg

Smurferoos,

wa, ur bb weight 2.3kg arh,very gd leh, mine only 1.8kg..

poky--

20 rompers, wa, so many..me only bot 3 rompers so far, the rest are lonh slv, short slv,n pants.

nowadays weather like that, only washed ard 8 pieces bb clothes so far

Goodday ladies,

Later me going for Gynea.

Today shoik, sleep until 12.30pm, but then suddenly my MIL open my room and ask me where my hubby is. So rude rite? Else me still sleeping away. I rarely get to sleep well nowadays, she go and spoil it for me. Hubby not home means go out meeting mah, tok cock one. Somemore open my room door without knocking. Pissed...

Talking about travelling. I so sad. Hubby and I yet to go for honeymoon since we got married in 2006. Cos we used the Ang Pow money to help my FIL clear his credit card bills. Finally last yr natas we went and book a trip to Taiwan this CNY, ended up the agency screwed up. But it's a blessing in disguise, cos me pregnant and not very well plus we managed to get the ballot last month. So we planning to go Taiwan prolly this Oct without bb. At least we go in peace although dunno if we'll miss bb over there or not.

Now I still can't feel much for bb but hopefully when she comes out, I'll love her more.

Moony,

That's why I so pissed lah. Last time I complaint to hubby before liao. She still never change...

And worse, see me still sleeping and insist on waking me up to answer her question. She so worried abt her son then just give him a call lah. Wake me up to ans this kinda question.

moony,

haha. I very "cheapo" one. Always look for bargain. BKK so used to going liao. Hotel always stay standard and to us & parents is good enough. My hubby very funny, say dun ever go with his parents holiday cos they dun budget. With my parents, he dun mind!

WCT,

Yes, most nearby countries can be below $2k for 2 pax. Normally it's the hotel + airfare that takes the bulk. Of course, shopping takes the other bulk. =P

Got once I went to HCM for 4D3N (felt 1 more day would had been best), airfare + hotel + tours + food + shopping + taxes cost us around $800 nett. My hubby can go flaunt to his colleagues we go so cheap! (I cannnot tahan him...only know how to say but everything I need to plan and source).

Kelcqi,

No worries. After baby born, can still bring baby go honeymoon. Heehee

And ya, ur MIL damn rude hor!

icebaby, i dun like BKK leh.. went there once n dun haf a gd impression.. its nt abt the ppl there is the hotel i stay gt 'dirty' things.. ;(
den somemore there soooooooo hot.. haiz.. next time gt bb i oso dunno plan where for holiday..

felval, i oso at times feel the same as u leh.. i dun feel much for bb nw.. mayb haven c him yet.. at times will feel dat he is '3rd party' ;( crazy rite?? haiz.. but when he nv kick mi for long den i will cry.. aiyo i oso dunno myself..