(2008/04) April 2008

Thank you gers! Really appreciate all the encouragements...at the meantime do take care as well
Guess will have lots to read when I'm back

Hey gals,

will u all be doing hair treatment / hair dye during this period of time? I got alot of white hairs (inheritance) and see already abit frustrated ar ... October still got to attend a fren's rom .. cannot go in this state leh ...

can advise?

anyone bought stoller liao? me tomorrow buying combi one keke~

Jenny: my sil still dye and perm her hair when preggie. y not confirm with ur gynae to play safe?

Cheesycake: hmmm gynae appt on 16th Oct .... was thinking of giving it a try... but scared if anything happen to bb i will be guilty ...

Jenny: Dun think its advisable to dye the hair during this period of time. As the dye might get absorbed by the scalp and might get transmitted to the fetus so its not advisable. You might wish to check with Dr Tham the next time u see him.

i m going for the scan tomorrow. not sure if i will see him there during the scan. otherwise, my next appt with him is in november leh. so wld be after ur appt. If i see him tomorrow, i will help u ask him. = )

Cheesycake: i saw 1 lucky bb, with 4 wheels rotatable, and can push from the front & back retail price abt $210+ .. but combi one will cost abt $300+ close to $400

I tonite go home find the website and let u know ...

jenny

mine is combi & i bought it abt $500+. its expensive due to the head & hip support for the bb. but there are some other models which are cheaper, ard $200+. maybe u can check it out.

Jamie: Yap thanks .. had checked it out .. but i prefer 1 which 4 wheels can rotate and can push from front & back .. so think lucky bb is tat one is within my budget ... dun wanna spend too much on just 1 stroller ...

Information gathered from another forum ...

Is it safe for me to continue dyeing my hair while being pregnant? I have heard conflicting information.

The worry here is whether the chemicals used will be absorbed through the scalp in large enough quantities and cause abnormalities in the fetus. Some animal studies have demonstrated possible teratogenic (causing birth defects) effects but there are usually disproportionately high doses of chemicals used on the animals and these amounts would never be used for the usual hair treatment. The crucial period during the pregnancy to avoid all possible unnecessary exposure to chemicals would be during the first trimester (up to 12 weeks) as this is the period of organogenesis. By the second trimester, all the organ systems are basically fully formed and the risks of abnormalities would have significantly diminished. If the pregnant woman can wait till then for the treatment, there would be less worry. The balance is between looking and therefore feeling good, and being worried about possible harmful effects for the rest of the pregnancy! Alternatively, to minimize exposure, just highlighting or streaking may reduce the chemicals used. Remember also to wear gloves and maximize ventilation should the treatment be attempted at home.

<font color="0000ff">cutiebb,
all the best... good luck

Re Hair Color,
i remember there is one type of Home DIY type does not hurt the scalp, maybe can try but can't remember the full spell... i think is helena something like that..</font>

Talking about hair color.
That time i didnt know i pregnant. Think i was about 4-5 weeks only, i went for rebonding. i am also worried leh.

seems like MS doesn't end in st trimester. I'm still having it too. Now 12weeks. Hope will get better and better.

felt that have been depriving my ger on outings, as I cannot travel much becoz of MS. Hope can bring her out to play soon, when i regain my energy level.

celine

same here. just dont hv the energy to bring her out. i already stop bringing her to play gym liao. hopefully it will be over soon ...

being quite bz in the morning tat i forgot to take my folic acid, ustrogen pills & Vitamins b6 pills ....

now already afternoon liao .. can still take it?

Jamie
ya lor. Some even till 6 to 7 mths leh.
My colleague till 20 weeks but average should be 16 weeks! Hope yours subside soon. Another 2 weeks but it seems like hell right!
One good thing to be glad about MS is that u know that ur baby is growing well =)
Thats why if i do exp nausea, i am pretty happy instead of feeling uncomfy.

Hi Cutiebb

all the best to you for your tmr op!!! jia you.

i will be going for my NT tomorrow. My gynae initially din arrange for it, but i thought through for a long time and felt that I should do it to rest assured. Kept worrying for days. furthermore I am 31. Luckily today call gynae, he said that tomorrow is the last day to the scan.

me too still having MS... it kind of stopped for a while and now its back in full force..

Cath: Me also going for my NT scan tomorrow..

me too. ms stop over the weekend took gastric pain helps for a while.. but today merlion twice.. i think going again.. used to be once a day at night.. today start in the morning, afternoon.. throw up until my throat is pain..

cath- what u mean by last day of the scan?

if yr ms is so bad do you still take the folic acid + pregvits?

for me i stop if my ms is really bad tat day. cos what goes in comes out

Hi serene

there is a window to do the scan. only when you are in 11 - 13week. According to my gynae, tomorrow is my last day of 13th week. Else I can't go for the scan already, already over the period. I only got to know about this today when i called.

<font color="0000ff">Talking about my MS... though i'm done with it... .the whole day today is super super bad.... no mood at all.....haiz...

Medicine....
haha my timing is all odd one... try to take b4 5 om... i have the calcium pill... think of it when i type already fill to vomit.... haiz...

hmmm how come ... my gyn din send me got NT test..... any reason.. .my no 1 also don have... just do blood test...... funny rite.. .though i'm not yet 35 but i'm over 30 lah</font>

poohie.. which gynea are you with ? cos' i know some very good gynea has to very good machine.. they will do the nt scan for you during the regular checkup. Frm what i know , Dr Chan does that for all his patients.

Ladies - how does ur gynae do the NT test? using the same u/s machine? I was wondering? How long will the test results take?

<table border=1><tr><td>NICK </TD><TD> EDD</TD><TD> GYNAE</TD><TD> HOSPITAL </TD><TD>CHILD #</TD><TD> Pref </TD><TD> Res </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adeline</TD><TD>24Mar</TD><TD>Dr Lim T.B.</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>SK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cath </TD><TD>3rd</TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tratties</TD><TD>8th</TD><TD>Dr Sng </TD><TD>GlenE </TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Pasir Ris </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kea </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Dr Chong</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>G</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Alexia</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Simp *</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>KL/Tiong Bahru </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gail </TD><TD>13th</TD><TD>Dr Leong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sock Ling </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sling </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chew Yuan </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jgal</TD><TD>2nd </TD><TD>Dr Ong </TD><TD>Mt E/A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rain </TD><TD>6</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong </TD><TD>MT A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gemini05 </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ann </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Tan Hang Yang </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>LL77 </TD><TD>12th</TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Dr Gordon Tan</TD><TD> Glen E </TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD>Old Airport Rd</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pucca </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cutiebb * </TD><TD>3rd</TD><TD>Dr Sito </TD><TD> Glen E </TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bun </TD><TD></TD><TD> Dr Esther Ng</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cloudluv </TD><TD>8th </TD><TD>Dr WK Kee </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Jurong W. </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheesycake </TD><TD>1st CH Koh </TD><TD>Mt A </TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>blessed</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>schnauzie* </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Chan</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sherin </TD><TD>6th</TD><TD>Dr Adrian </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mushloom </TD><TD>7th</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dolphin </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sputnik </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian Tan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jenny </TD><TD>24th</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham </TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>SK / Pasir Ris</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celine </TD><TD>16th</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD> Yishun</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xiang </TD><TD>16th</TD><TD>Dr Woo</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD>Redhill</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Doobie Doo </TD><TD>14th</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Christine</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>honeybunn</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Wee</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>calamari</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>B</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lee </TD><TD>9th</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>eSthericiious </TD><TD>21th</TD><TD>Dr. Devandra </TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>burpy_babe </TD><TD>16th</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham </TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>SK</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>scubababe</TD><TD>15th</TD><TD>Dr Chan</TD><TD>Glen E</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Pasir Ris </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tsukushi </TD><TD>14th</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>XiaoZhu </TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Dr Woo BH</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Tiong Bahru</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>calender </TD><TD>9th</TD><TD>Dr Adrain</TD><TD>Mt A/TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Bedok</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>hoops&yoyo </TD><TD>22</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Michelle Chua </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>ABC mum </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>OkieDockie </TD><TD>27</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jaspire </TD><TD>27</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cherish</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>B</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serene123</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Kee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>G</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ashleyjames</TD><TD>6</TD><TD></TD><TD>MT E</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>B</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Strawverries</TD><TD>15</TD><TD></TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohies</TD><TD>3</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>G</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>QooSan</TD><TD>6th</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>BabyDust&Luck </TD><TD>18</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starling </TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></td></tr></table>

hi babydus and starling
welcome.. and congrates.

Time tken for NT test depends on the baby position.. My baby was sleeping and refuse to move in position when i was having my nt scan. Dr has to do V-scan to "meet" the baby.. ha ha ha... so it took more than 20 mins.. Dr use the same machine for normal u/s , nt scan as well as 3d scan.. i guess depend on how powerful the machine is.. the machine my dr has my details stored inside also. he click some button when he is doing the nt scan.. *so the scan pic writes nt scan * diff frm the normal scan that i get frm him during normal visits.

hi poshies

my gynae din ask me to go too. He felt that it was unnecessary... since we have triple blood test. But just to feel more assured, i rather go for it. this is my first bb.