(2008/04) April 2008

sputnick.. i dun think you can do anything in this situation cos' she didnt dismiss you. And unless you earn less than $1,900, the employment law does not protect you.

However, i would like to us .. how is your last appraisal? were you given increment? if yes, you can chose to speak to someone in higher position. But normally it would useless because she muz have gotten approval do such things.

sputnik: really hv to say really sorry for your case. but i come across that they cannot demote you or redure your pay. they can change the scope and keep it at the same pay. i do a bit of HR too. call MOM to check cos pregancy is v sensitive.

tell the HR that the way yr manager handle the case is v insensitive that is not pro-family. have to let her know is MC due to health reason not MIA from work.

make a big deal out of it also let her look bad, tell her that are entitle to 14 days mc per year if you are within that range.

also ask HR to give you the past few years apprasial if you recored is good ask the HR be the meditator or go to her boss or some big shot to reason things out. last solution is change role but no cut in pay.

i also went on mc for 2 weeks but i clear my work from home but all my bosses also not too happy. i m in healthcare so a bit shock at his remark too. my case also quite sensitive cos i relocate overseas but my contract says following all singapore employment act.. they also not get back to my am i entitled to 12 weeks maternity leave or not.

sputnick : dun think so much.. this kind of person will get retribution. Now the most impt is you and bb is well cos' your bb is going to be your pride and not your job. Family is the measurement of a woman success and not work.

sputnik
i am almost in the same situation as u. I taken lots of MC esp this week i only work for 2 days cause of food poisoning. My manager is not happy. She is married with 2 kids but so what? She doesnt understand moreover it is not what i wanted. My boss keeps justifying my case for me and today my boss sms me "as long as it is genuine cas, it is always justifiable" in fact she encourage me to take care of my health. She is not married yet she understands.
I also tot of resigning but now no way! I will claim all my entitlements before i leave.
Lets be strong and face this together.

i m going to do some survey first what to buy. if not hv to struck with it for a while. actually i am thinking if need to drop baby every morning than i will get the one year use. don want to disrupt bb sleep every moring. if not get one can last for a long time more cost efficient. see what is your requirement before decide.

Thanks for all the encouraging words. Really makes me feel better with all your support.

Her justification is that she is not doing this becos I am pregnant or becos of my current and future MCs, but based on my past records, e.g. my health has not been very good all along so my MC rate is higher than average. But its not like I dont work hard, most of the time I have to work late. But I guess she have selective memory since she is doing this to me. And so coincidence that she is doing this to me just 1 week after I informed her that I am pregnant.

Jgal : My appraisal this year was on target. In fact, before the appraisal this year, all my previous appraisals were quite good. Every year got increment. Dont think I can speak to her boss, as I am sure she has obtained his approval to cover her behind.

serene123 : Is it really true that they cannot reduce my pay? Even if the job scope is changed such that the work she wants me to do now is done by someone lower ranking than me? Will try giving MOM a call to check it out. Do you know what no I can call? Was looking at the MOM website but they dont seem to have a customer service hotline. Is it the no for general enquiries?

Adeline : No way am I resigning too. Must at least claim the benefits before I go.

Sputnik
Great!
u know today i was on my 3rd day MC. My colleagues were asking me to rest @ home initially i wanted to go work but i am still having diarrhea cause of food poisoning and i seems to be abit dehydrated cause not enuff water intake.
My HB was angry and i think stress over my MC or worried that i will lose the job. HE commented things like "u want to go you go.. u dun want to go u stay at home. if not if u want to resign then u go ahead" So heart wrenching. I am really sick and i vomited alot times after taking med. Tats why i didnt recover. cause no med actually went into me.

Adeline: How r u now? Better?

Cutiebb: Thin i have to stop drinking coke totally. Didnt know it's harmful.

Cloudluv: Thin it's cheaper to deliver in malaysia. Heard that pantai hospital is good, like gleaneagles.

Steph77/serene123/jgal/kea/cheesy: Thanks for the many recommendations. Thin it's a good idea to buy during christmas, got sale at major shopping centres. Combi sounds a gd buy, will look out when i go shopping next time.

Sputnik: Thin employers need to reach agreement with employee if they want to change job scope for pregnant ladies (rank & file staff & executive level). Is it temporarily or permanently? Dun think they can downscale your pay by changing your job scope while pregnant. U may have a case. U may refer to the employment act & maternity act in mom website. Whether the record is based on mc of the past or present, they shouldnt even discuss this at this moment when u r pregnant. They would reflect v badly as employer esp if spore is now pro-friendly and i think MOM will take some action especially if u r a rank and file employee.Executive level, they may only advise u and employer. If u want something concrete, i would suggest that besides giving mom a call, write officially to them once your employer gave the firm indication to go ahead of their decision. But do not agree on the downscale of pay at all even though it's a change in job scope. This is to have a strong case that u r not agreeable to their decision at this time. Do quote the government's stand to create or promote pro-family status in spore like childcare leave, 5 day work week, longer maternoty leave and present your case.

May i check if your company is a SME/local company? MNC should be cautious with such suggestion. Think your supervisor is not understanding. Your HR should know and put in a case for u.

I believe your supervisor may bear grudges towards u if she cannot win this case. Do it in a professional and tactful manner that u r looking at the case and not aiming at her ignorance to avoid unnecessary blacklisting by her or your HR. I am sure if this case goes to MOM and they do take action, HR would treat this case with tender loving care.

Do let us know how u approach this and we would plan with u.

Simp : Thanks for your advice. Really appreciate the support. The arrangement is permanent. Do you think it would make a difference if I was working 4 day week now? Becos I requested to go on 4 days week a couple of months back to reduce my stress level as I was trying to conceive since early this year without success, and HR prorated my pay accordingly. I told my boss since my job scope is going to change, I wld prefer to continue with my 4 day week. Im worried that this would be used as a reason to cut my pay now, instead of continuing with the current arrangement of prorating my pay.

I work for a foreign bank. Last year this same boss terminated another colleague just before she was suppose to receive her bonus. Altho there were grounds for dismissal, all of us felt that it was very unfair, as the bonus was given for the previous financial year which had just ended. And the bonus was pretty good.

Hi Sputnik,
Am terribly sorry and actually horrified to hear about your case.
You should not just take this quietly. Instead, you should approach HR and tell them you are in contact with MOM about the "pay reduction" - and MOM is looking into it. This will totally FREAK any HR department out. And they will definately be very very careful in thier "payment" decision.
I think your boss has every right to change your jop scope if she insists - but she cannot reduce your pay ( as you never requested for a change in job scope in the 1st place)

Wish you all the best. I still cannot believe there are people out there like this. I really think you have a case..... after all, they won't dare fire you cos they know you are in touch with MOM and they will be in bigger trouble if they fire you now. Good Luck.

Hi Sputnik

While I was reading your post, i was so mad with your company. they seem to be totally heartless. Gosh... Hang in there. She is so calculative. Wonder how she rose to her position when she does not understand the importance of building a good working relationship with her subordinates, esp they are the ones to help her excel as a team. For someone is so narrow minded and totally micro-manage, i don't think she will go far in her career also.

Stay in there and enjoy your maternity benefits - what you rightfully entitled to... place your focus on your nicer colleagues and think about working with them is a good reason to stay around for the time being. After delivery & maternity leave, then quickly job hop.

sorry not very good at offering solutions, but can offer listening ear. If you need to let off some steam, feel free to.

Rain, take care and hope that you are feeling better as everyday comes along... must enjoy pregnancy o...

Cutiebb, i just realised we have the same EDD. How is your bb now? How are you feeling? hope all is well.

Jgal, your mil seems like "scare the whole world won't be chaotic enough". don't mind about such a mindless remark. Sometimes senior people tend to say something very insensitive. Maybe they don't even realise, esp sms. Smile smile.

Simp
finally slightly better today but no idea how is my bb dealing with the food poisoning. today is the 4th day. Finally have appetite for some food. Last 3 days didnt eat.

Sputnik
now ur health and bb is more impt. See what u can do and like i say.. take the benefits and hop hop.

sputnik

i can understand hw u feel......me oso have been taking alot of mc coz i have spotting ..haiz..mentally totured arady but still must stress over mc.....and tink of company..haiz and now i am dw with fever n flu!!haiz...hope i will be well by
Monday......don worry k,u can call MOM to check..........tk care.

Hi sputnik..

Not too sure if this is useful.. do take a look on how the employment law protects us (pregant women) ..go straight to Pg 29 & 30..you may call MOM to know more...

...looking at the 'tricks' of your boss, she won't dismiss you..she'll make life miserable for you so that you resign on your own accord.. that was what happened to me in my previous employment..I was not pregnant that time..some bosses are just terrible..the worse is to think they're women.. shame on them..
hang in there..will try to find out more for you..

http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/etc/medialib/mom_library/Workplace_Standards/files.Par.2861.File.tmp/One%20MOM%20Guide.pdf

Hi gals, just came back from my check up with the gynae. he gave me multi vitamins this time round. but he did not give me anymore folic acid. Is it alright? He gave me Obimin, calcium tablets and neurogain (fish oil)....

Jenny: how's ur appt with Dr Tham? I reached there ard 1245 and the clinic seems so empty. First time see the clinic so empty. other times when I went, it was always so crowded.

I felt so guilty ... just splurged on clothes again... aiyo.. spent over $300 on new maternity wear at Perfect Mom. Geez...

hmmm

y my gynae ask me to tk folic thru out my pregnancy leh..hmm...i oso tot is tk for 1st 3mths...=/.....

burpy

u oso get Neurogain fish oil ah...hmmmm , seem like mostly all gynae give tt..haiz..y my gynae give Epax de...

hi all..i just came back from A&E.. I am having a threatened abortion..will go for more tests tomorrow..pray hard all will be well...

Take care, gals!

hoops: take care yah...

Adeline: oic. Thanks.

Kea: hmm mebbe ur gynae prefers Epax to Neurogain?

Cath: Its okie lah. Dun have to feel guilty. I have also been buying new clothes from maternity clothes and normal clothes which can double up as maternity tops too. I had also bought the belly belt which I find that is a good buy as I can still wear my normal pants/jeans by using the belly belt. So that at least can save some money on bottoms and can buy more tops hehe.

Danadele: Welcome welcome....when is ur EDD? my EDD seems to shift... from my previous visit.

Hi Burby_Babe: yap tat day was abit empty ... me reached @ abt 10.40am ... din have to wait long for Dr Tham to c me ...

Now already 9 weeks + ... my EDD will be on 24th Apr ... if c-section can choose any day after the 10th Apr .. was hoping whether can be done on the 8th Apr ... hehehe (the day when me & my hubby 1st met)

He still gave me folic acid, vitamins b6 (Pyridoxine -reduced to 2 tabs per day) & Progesterone (reduced to 1 tab per day) for next 3 weeks. After tat to start on the Obimin, calcium tablets and neurogain (fish oil).... (Forgot which to take in the morning etc) have to double check with the nurse again keke (Think Obimin & Neurogain cannot take together)

burpy babe...

i compared the ingredient liao....Expax content is higher DHA than Neurogain..maybe tts y he give tt bah...hmmm...but cant be found outside...

burpy babe,

I got the belly belt too, but after buying, I think I wouldn't be using it for another 1-2 mths. And this belt should go along with long tops or else it will be exposed to the public..haha

morning
hoops..take care!

Simp..i not sure sing how much, i think msia is cheaper. i choice at msia bcos my mum help me for confinement,is convenience lo. i C-sec my son is abt RM4k, do u think is cheaper..

Sputnik..yup, u shld check with MOM, you must stay strong, e important is your health & your BB...take care..

another 3 more day i ll reaching 12 wks..

Hoops: hope u r doing fine. Take care ya!

Over the weekend, I almost scared my hubby off over a silly thing. When I got up fm bed, hubby tot tot there was blood stain on my shorts and hurried me to check if I was bleeding. It turned out to be a stain fm a tiny bit of choco which I sat on.

BTW any of u bought car seat belt which fasten around the leg rather than the usual 1 around tummy?

hi Jenny: U intending to go by C-section ah? Not intending to try natural? actually the multivitamins can be taken anytime in the day. Just make sure that you do not take the fish oil with obimin. neurogain can be taken with the calcium tablets. but obinmin have to be taken separately.

I am now in my 10th week... my edd pushed forward to 13 April 08.

will be going to do the NT scan in 1.5 weeks time. did dr tham speak to u abt the NT scan and the blood test for down symdrome?

When is ur next appt? my next appt with dr tham is 6 weeks later... so long. hehe...

Kea: oic. u mean it cannot be found in other pharmacies ah?

poshies: congrats....welcome...

tsukushi: ohh.. i m now using the shorter of the two belts. Have not tried the longer one with the cloth yet. hehe.. coz i cannt button most of my pants now hehe..

Oh yes, there'll be a isetan pte sale on 27 Sept 07. Can go there to see if the prices are cheaper......

Cathy, my fetus is 12weeks now...my edd does change abit for every appt. Next week is thy time I'll be facing reality...hope to be back to join u gers!

btw, is there a law stating that if a Public holiday falls on saturdae, we will be given an extra Annual leave or it depends on the company??

kea: I think there is no such law. It is more of a HR policy of the company. I once heard something from the HR of my previous company that it is a privilege, not an entitlement.

Kea, if your company is 5days wk, it have to compensate a day AL. the below search from MOM website...

Q:Is an employee entitled to another day off if a public holiday falls on a rest day or non-working day (or off day)?
A: Yes, if the holiday falls on a rest day, the next working day shall be a paid holiday. If the holiday falls on a non-working day (or off day), the employer may decide to compensate the employee with an extra day's pay in lieu of that holiday or give the employee another day off as a holiday.

cutebb,
I did buy the car seatbelt.
Let us know if there's anything good at the pte sale. I don't have the Isetan card so no use for me to go

burpy_babe (burpy_babe)... folic acid is to be taken through the preggy but hor.. normally it included in the multi-vit.. So check your multi-vit content, if there is sufficient amt, dr probably wont give you folic liao :p

Danadele.. welcome
what is your edd, dr , hosp ?

hoops&yoyo : what happened!!! ??? take care hor..
kea : depends on company.. mine gives extra annual leaves.. my ex-company's just get monday off.

Sputnik : I believe you are an exec, and earns more than the min to be protected by the employment law. If mom can do anything for you, then it good. If not, i suggest you let the matter rest and enjoy your preggy. With the new arrangement, mean that you no need to "please" your boss anymore. You can 1) Take MC when you feel like it 2) Take rest when you feel like it.. cos' all these are "catered" for meh. :p After the preggy, then you ask HR to revert back to you old portfoli and fight later.. when you have more energy. When you do that later, you can say that you have act responsibly in handling your preggy, and not company suffer any lose in productive due to your preggy.. In a long run, it will put you in good light..

If you fight your case, if you win, you need to "perform", stressful because 3rd tri will be worst. But once you fight, you will have "bad" blood with your boss/big boss etc. It will affect your promotion and "hopping" opportunities if they tell other ppl you are not responsible etc. And very impt, your bonus make up a large part of your take home pay..and they have a say in it. And like you say, you need to work there for at least another 6 +3 mth. Not to scare you, but when you are a exec, company can dismissed you w/o a reason as long as they give you 1 mth notice. This is in the contract i believe. According to mom stats, less than 1/2 of the complains result employee winning the case, the rest is dismissed as poor performance.. The employment law only enforce that 3mth maternity leaves is to be given. It does not protect you from dismiss. There another reason why you shld not fight, cos' it will be impossible for you to find a job that you are preggy and give you "4-day" wk.

*Section 33, Part IV and section 115 of the Act shall apply to other employees who are in receipt of a salary not exceeding $1,600 a month. vide S 425/95 wef 1.11.95

morning mtbs... (how come everyone seems to be an early bird.. hahaha..)

seems that i'm given different vitamins from most of u, my vitamins are at home therefore dont have the name of it.. i'm taking everyday folic acid + neurogain (fish oil) + calcium + brown capsule (forgot the name of this vitamin) - anyone taking the same kind of brown capsule?

my bb has also graduated to 12 weeks..

tratties

i tink the brown capsule u saying is multivits...i oso have that...is spell as pre------...hee, i oso 4get the same....

cherish: think might be too early to tell... maybe gynae will tell you how % boy/girl. dont think can confirm now.

anyone going for checkup tonite?