(2008/04) April 2008

cherish

its better to sleep on the left side, for better blood circulation i tik, which i read somewhere in my pregnancy book.

jamie

thx..will look at it when i get hm...do u tink it helps in yr pregnancy?

By the way...to All ladies:-

anyone taking fish oil capsules now? wads the brand of yr fishoil..? care to share.....thx...

Xiang
i update the info .. will post in the next round.

jamie is right.. sleeping on the left is better.
http://www.babycenter.com/400_whats-the-best-sleep-position-during-pregnancy_505508_1000.bc?Ad=com.bc.common.AdInfo%401f585906

Jgal

i am taking Caltrate 600..can be found in Watson...cost ard 24 bucks for 60tablets..but my gynae sell cheaper 2bucks nia...

as for fish oil, anyone can share??? me haven buy mine yet....any brands?

Kea: Maybe you would want to get the fish oil from your gynae instead? Heard not all fish oil content make-up is good for pregnant women.

tratties: don't worry about the Oscar results. Usually if the clinic does not call you a day or 2 after the test, it means good news

Went check up last night, can see baby moving actively, soo..cute..can see small hand moving. XD
Was given calcium (Brand-Suncal-D), Vitamins A,B,C,D,E etc(Brand-Prenaforte)and DHA (Brand-Natal Care Plus). DHA was not incld in the package, cost me $30.

calamari

i have actualli notice that gynae fish oil, Epax , oso contains AA which is say not gd for preggie...but neurogainPB which my fren is getting fr her gynae oso contain AA ..then me manage to find neurogain at Guardian..but the Epax, cant find..is quite ex...58bucks for 30capsule....so i was still considering whether to buy Neurogain or get Epax fr my gynae....anyone????

Kea : Fish Oil - Neurogain PB - veggie....Have your gynea suggest that you take supp?

I am starting to drink more fresh milk these few days since 1st tri ended. and
nowadays fresh milk is more exp.

kea: or u want to ask your gynae to recommend? The AA content might be different?

Anyway, me not eating fish oil yet. My gynae said will only give me after 1st trimester. So now I am only on folic acid and multi-vits (Obimin).

Jgal

my gynae gt ask me to buy Multivits, calcium and Epax...but i only buy the Multivits and calcium coz at that time, i heard that AA in Epax can cause high blood pressure so i say i consider first..but thinkin if my nxt visit shld i buy fr him anot...coz i intend to tk it aft 3mths...so nxt visit is 3mths liao.......then my MS oso subside...so can consume , wont puke out.....

Kea : .AA is one of the essential in fish oil that is good the bb. Just that the amt and the ratio is impt..Actually fish oil lower blood pressure, according to reports found in many sites as well as the mayoclinic site.
As long as your gynea measure your blood pressure regularly, you shld not be so worry abt it. Here's a report from mayoclinic on fish-oil in general. It also talks abt the side-effects. (click on Safety )
http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/fish-oil/NS_patient-fishoil#31C2ACBB-E7FF-0DBD-127E9B27E12751C4

maybe you shld discuss with your gynea abt AA content. BTW, where do you heard the AA problem from. Is the source creditable? I dun think you can find prenatal fish oil w/o aa content.

Jgal

me was searhing online for information on Epax ...tinking if i can buy it outside, cheaper..but then come across a thread in SingaporeMotherhood that alot refund the Epax lo...i 4get where liao.....maybe u can search for it...by the way, u mention the neurogainPB selling at Guardian, is it exactly the same content as wad yr gynae give u?

kea.. that was given to me by dr fong. I think alot of gynea giving that..

cant find that thread also.. no lah .. only that gal got refund because the AA dosage on the box is different from the bottle. The gal who started the thread switch to neurogain. The supplier explanation is pack wrongly.. so the gal was furious lor.

Was MC the last 2 days due to bleeding... I stain my skirt and office chair.. just imagine how much bleeding..

I go directly to Dr Ong and the nurse told me he is on surgery but on the way back.. So nice of them to let me cut queue to be the 1st patient...

After checking, no internal bleeding(luckily).. Dr Ong say is external bleeding and commented that my uterus is low (Zi Gong Xia Chui)... I might need a surgery in the middle of my pregnancy. :-(

He told me that normally this will happen during 1st pregnancy but subsequently, it will not.. dunno why mine happen during my 2nd one... He say maybe due to generic.. :-(

Jgal, which Dr Ong you going to? Also douglas ong?

cherish: usually my gynae give multi-vits after the 1st trimester...but for me, because i told him i am quite tired always, so he prescribed me multi-vits early.

rain: i hope u are feeling better now...God bless.

Jgal

so u alway buy yours fr Dr Fong or get fr Guardian?? me tinking to buy Neurogain fr Guardian....yours is 500mg per capsule rite..i went to Guardian n c and it stated 500mg...sorie, me alot of qns...coz quite worry if consume wrongly...

any ladies takin fish oil??? hands up!!! heeezz

Rain.. yeah.. been looking for you! .. hee hee .. just switch to Dr Ong because his pkg is clear and my neighbour who has a difficult preggy was "saved" by him..

that day when i was there, he was actually 1hr late for a surgery already ,due to a sudden delivery in the morning. He's very patience, and detail.. he didnt do a fast job so that he can leave earlier.. he also explain to me abt the DS tests. BTW, i think he charging the medicine at cost, $10 for multi-vit pill.. which as a recomm retail price of $15.

Rain

take great care....maybe u can do the Kiagel exerise...(dunno hw to spell the exact name)...means u contract and release yr uterus, to prevent xia chui..do ard 20times a day...this is wad my gynae teach me...

Jgal

thx....i have 1wk to consider before my nxt appt...will tink properly..hee...........seem like no one takin fish oil here ah??

Aiyo... my MS going worse.. recently keep on vomiting lei

just now after eating KFC, straight away go toilet and merlion it out...

initially only nausea.. now vomiting...

This morning I come to office, then my boss call me.. he ask me why am i here? I told him got unfinish work so i come back lor.. then he say aiyo.. why u also so bu ting hua.. later then panick again.. better rest as much as possible....

that time i also 2 weeks MC due to continuous spotting.. afer 2 weeks, my boss ask me to work from home.. but i pai sei...

i think compare to other bosses, my boss like so fatherly... but sometime he is so nasty...

kea

yes, it really helps. u may not feel it now coz our tummy is not big yet. for me if i lay on my back when tummy is big, will be difficult to breathe & get up.

rain

sorry to hear that. u better take care & rest well.

Jgal,Kea i taking Shaklee Calsium & fish Oil. It 100% natural, US product. you can check it up at Guardin. i buy the product at Msia, is cheaper. I did check with my gynae, he said is ok to take these...

Just to share this email that i just received:

9 mois will be having a 3 days bazaar at the warehouse from 21(Fri) - 23 (Sun)Sep'07

This is one sale that you cannot miss cos items are as low as $2 and nothing is above $30 (apparel).
Not forgetting 9 mois sample pieces are on sale too.
We will be having some fashion leather bags and shoes too.

Bring all your pregnant and non-pregnant friends, there will be something for everyone. See attached for add. details
BTW, we accept cash only.

9mois
627A Aljunied Road
#07-01 BizTech Centre
Singapore 389842

Tel / Fax : +65 6747 9865
Email : [email protected]

Jgal,

ya, my 1st gal was deliver by him.. oh.. so did u saw me that day? I was with my hb... and i will be there next fri for my NT scan. I heard he is good with complicated pregnancy...

kea... those with MS are normally not offer anything else expt folic acid, because foilic acid is the only thing is a muz throughout the pregnancy. Fish oil/multi-vit are good to have provided that you dun vomit out.;)

calamari,

yes.. better now.. thanks

Kea,
I tot fish oil is taken on 3rd trim? actually my gynae didnt gv me.. he say no need.. I just eat during my 3rd trim during my 1st pregnancy.

jamie,
thank you

Jgal,
maybe you can update my profile
EDD: 6th april
Hospital: MTA

Rain.. i thnk i missed you, when i reach doc already seeing his 1st patient(which is you lor). My friend had twins and bleed for the 1st twelve wks. She had 2 gyneas(twin needs 1 for mum and 1 for babies).. and she said Dr Ong save them lor.

Jgal

thx...hee...coz i abit KS leh...i c pple all eat multivits, calcium, fish oil...but i ok nw to tk multivits and calcium coz i tink my diet is not v gd in vitamins oso, so is gd to tk supplements...but for fish oil, me still tinkin here n there...haiyo...headache..

anyone knw Dr Woo give wad kind of fish oil???

cloud,

Thanks for your concern..

I can foresee that this bleeding and spotting will be with me for the rest of my pregnancy.

I was asking Dr Ong, so when must I be alarmed when i see blood? Then he say you have to come and see me everytime u see blood as u can nvr trust 'wolf story'.. he say maybe the 1st and 2nd time is due to external bleeding. then the 3rd time is due to internal bleeding. you will nvr know.. so this pregnancy i guess will hv to spend alot of $$ lor

My nt scan : 28 Sept. I actually not so keen to do the test now.. cos' i dun think i can bear to d/c the baby anyway.

yeah... rain.. take care.. dun think so much abt work liao.. baby is more impt. Since your boss so understanding, you shld give yourself more rest.

Jgal,
wow, same as mine. I am also doing NT scan on 28th sept 1030am.
actually just do lor.. if nvr do, your heart will not be comfortable also...

Jamie

u say it reali helps ?? mean the exercise i mention??

Rain.

i not sure leh...alot say is taken aft 1st trimester..but one of my fren she didnt tk it at all..i tink fish oil is depend on individual..fish oil is not for us..is for the bb....hand n leh coordination better nxt time....

wads is NT Scan ah..sorrie...didnt follow the thread coz quite busy...i ask my gynae by Oscar and triple..he say oscar at wk 12.....Triple at wk16.....he say mostly all his patients tk triple...coz can only chose one...so maybe i tking triple oso....wad is oscar ? heard is v ex??

do u ladies experience abit of urine coming out when u sneeze?

Kea: u got ur supplements from gynae? am going to ask gynae this coming mon to see if need to take onot. i wont mind to spend the $$$ for the sake of my bb.. keke KS mum~ am taking triple test at 4th mth also. gynae give me the option to choose, did u gynae told u how much izzit? mine ard $140. oscar $350 at TMC. oscar test to detect whether ur bb got risk of DS onot.

cheesycake

i gt mine calcium n multivits during the second visit with Dr Chong le.......am considering the fish oil now only...keke...and for my folic, i have to tk it thru out preggie..not for first 3mths only.

OSCAR

OSCAR stands for "One-Stop Clinic for Assessment of Risk". This is the latest prenatal screening program for Down's Syndrome, introduced from Fetal Medicine Foundation of United Kingom. The screening program is performed during 11-14 weeks of gestation, and consists of the measurements of Nuchal Translucency, maternal serum level of Pregnancy Associated Plasma Protein-A (PAPP-A), and free beta-human Chorionic Gonadotropin (free beta-hCG). The chance of having a Down fetus is computed using the above information. This screening test is safe with a detection rate of 90%.

http://www.fetalmedicine.hk/en/oscardetails.asp

Where else triple test is blood test portion which allow you to check more than just DS. However, for DS testing, triple test is only 60% accurate, so , it up to you to take lor.

KKH just call it fetal testing. Cos' they offer to do the test seperately. Instead of "One-Stop"
http://www.kkh.com.sg/PatientHealthLibrary/WomensHealth/First+Trimester+Screening

cheesycake

so u bough yr folic fr guardian??? actualli me a coward...haha..although knw outside gt sell, but still i don dare buy fr outside...=/...

jamie

hee...i didnt mention anything abt slping position..heez....

Jgal

thx for the great info...but they say OScar depend on age then advisable to tk rite??

cheesycake : i have that problem. Few years back i have the same problem. My GP told me to do the "squeeze" exercise to strengthen it, which i have doing it (100x per day) daily now. I hope it will go away soon.

Kea.. the folic acide tablet is the same everywhere.. clinic and pharmacies ($5 for 1 big pkt) (watson/guardian).

kea.. i post this yesterday.. i hope i dun bore the rest..

morning gals :)

just come back from my first visit to dr ong. :) quite happy with the decision to switch to him. He take time to explain things to us.. even through he has an operation to rush off to.
I ask him abt Down Syndrome test. Here's some info. that may be useful fo you.

At my age,30, the chances of having a DS kid is 1:800.

To evaluate the risk, I can take 1) NT test-scan 2) triple test-blood test
NT test has to be taken in the 11-14 wks and the accuracy is 70%
Triple test has to be taken in the 15-20 wk and the accuracy is 60%.
Result of 1+2 = 90% accurate...However, these 2 result only give Low/high risk..low risk does not = no risk.

If over 35, he advise to go straight to ammiv test, after 16 wk.. which is invasvise test and has a chance of miscarriage 0.5%(1:200) ~1% (1:100)... this test will give a confirmation( yes /no) result..

Anyway, ocscar means 1+2 ... because frm uk , where the term is taken, the 2 test are done together as the english only visit the gp/gynea twice throughout the preggy.