(2008/04) April 2008

just went to puke again....... shld not have come in as well... but i am only 3 weeks into this job so very worried how my colleagues will think..... they still dunno i am pregnant.....

wat's thalassemia?

i think OSCAR test or any other test are only done around the 4th month...... according to my aunts and other friends..... your gynae shld be able to advise you the cost and when to take it

Hi gers who experiencing bad MS, u may wanna try eating chewy sweets. I read fm the web saying that it will minimise MS and it did work for me. I told my gynea that chewy sweets help me to cope MS, he said is fine and didn't stop me from chewy sweets though I consume like 1 tube of abt 8 sweets per day.

Hi jamie & cheesycake: noted .. thanks for the explanation ...

Was on MC for past few days cos feeling very giddy and keep puking. Had some light spotting last week also. Think my boss not happy, and wants someone to take over my duties. Dunno wat i am suppose to do if that happens. Sigh. Very sad that some bosses are so mean. She's aroung my age, not married, when i sent her an email to inform her that i was pregnant, she did not even bother to reply.

Sputnik
it's unavoidable. My boss behaves the same as welll. Or rather my manager. my boss is new so she dare not say anything much to me.
Just do whatever u think is correct and wait for ur delivery day. Having a baby is a happy thing.

I am doing Oscar on this thursday.
Surprisingly my manager approve my time off for 3 half hrs.

Hi Ladies and new mummies,

I just came back from spore yesterday. So tired that i slept and rested at home yesterday. Funny my nausea comes on and off at nite now making me no appetite to eat so much like the first few weeks.

Jgal,
I didnt do oscar test yet need to wait for another 3 more weeks to do oscar. So i will be back again in spore for that. So exp to do oscar test in TMC like $300 t0 $400 but now got 10% discount as i joined tmc FBI (first baby incentive) program at $148 for 2 years. Hopefully can minimise my cost in long run.

My gynae is cheap. Have u found another one liao. He's old (like 50s to 60s) but look young, waiting time is like a few hours daily. Super crowded every time i see him. Take appt no. in the morning and come in the afternoon to wait.I dun think he has package but he never charge me for ultrasound scan everytme i see him. The oscar test is done at the hospital and not by him. His consultation charge is only like $46.

My EDD is 11 April 2008. Now can see baby's head, hands and heartbeat at 2.7cm but my adenomya also grow bigger now at 6cm instead of 5cm. I gained liked 4 to 5kg till date. Look super bloated now.

I got him from my hubby' colleague's wife. She has all 3 c-sec by Dr AL Lim. His stitches according to her were good that she worn mini skirt when she discharged to go home. That was like more than 11 years ago when she gave birth to her 3rd child. He's experienced and fees reasonable so i am now with him. If not i would have sticke to Dr Loh SF from KKH. He's more exp compared to Dr Lim.

Anybody went to eat crab? I didnt really eat crab per se but i drank the soup. My hubby brought my parents to eat this famous crab bee hoon soup and crab in 3 sauces in ang mo kio coffeeshop. Quite siok and cost reasonable. Is it too sinful for preggy mums?

should be okay la.. not too sure..

i hv been wanting to eat nissin cup noodles- the chilli crab..hee..

sometimes, i place my hands on my belly area, can feel some soft heartbeat..wondering if it's mine or bb? anyone with such experience?

i had crabs twice in 2 weeks ha..... read in another post that one of the MTB's mother told her to eat more crabs so that the baby's bones will be very strong. But i suppose everything in moderation is fine.....

Simp
i had crab consecutively for 3 days but all home-cooked and fresh done by my aunty hehehe..

hoops&yoyo
we're unable to feel baby's Hbeat at this moment. i would say it's yours.

Recently feeling flutters might be baby's movement.

Cheesycake
i can opt not to as i just deliver my #1 not long ago but my HB sort of INSISTED that i must go thru oscar test to be safe. My gynae say base on my age and NT scan, there is nothing to worry about.

Cheesycake,
I will be doing the oscar. Do you not want to do?

hoops&yoyo,
We should not be able to feel the bb now. Sometimes I get a throbbing sensation in the tummy too but it's probably my gas moving around. Now very prone to heartburns and gastric.

any of u all discover the changes in your nipple?? i discover there r small little yellow stuff pop in the middle of my nipple..am worry....i dunno hw to describe...is like when we squeeze our pimple, those dry up pums....

Hi all mummies to be...

thanks Cheesycake for the explanation of thalassemia. My boss doesn't like us to surf internet while in office. So I can't log in during office hours.

We are going for the test along with the blood tests for oscar tests in the 4th month. Crossing our fingers.

Scubababe, I am like you... for a moment, i tot i was in 11th week... nearing to end of 1st tri... should be feeling better... Nope, got worse. The sight of food makes me feel like wanting to puke... for the whole day, except morning...

my bb is about 4.5cm... can see his legs and legs swinging actively when we were looking at the scan. It was a memorable experience. trust you gals have the same feeling too, right? excited and very touched right?

I will be scheduled for a 3D scan at Thomson sometime ard 4 months. heard that this is to check the internal organs of the bb to ensure all is ok.

Do you feel thirsty perpetually? I am kinda worried abt getting gestational diabetes... now dare not to eat anything too sweet nor too much carbo at 1 meal. I think I am getting a little paranoid cos many of my friends got this during pregnancy.

Morning laadies,

Do you gals feel very light headed in the morning? Recently I feel very light headed in the morning whenever I leave for work. Feel like I am floating around like that. My HB quite worried that I might just faint anytime.

Adeline: my DH said to do bloodtest at 4th mth for DS test. he said coz im young lower risk, my sil nv do at all...

tsukushi: am doing bloodtest at my gynae clinic for DS can le. yes not doing oscar, my gynae said bloodtest are 70% accurate.

Cath: but oscar is to be done 11-14wks. 4th mth is bloodtest only ya?

morning gals

just come back from my first visit to dr ong.
quite happy with the decision to switch to him. He take time to explain things to us.. even through he has an operation to rush off to.
I ask him abt Down Syndrome test. Here's some info. that may be useful fo you.
At my age,30, the chances of having a SD kid is 1:800.

To evaluate the risk, I can take 1) NT test-scan 2) triple test-blood test
NT test has to be taken in the 11-14 wks and the accuracy is 70%
Triple test has to be taken in the 15-20 wk and the accuracy is 60%.
Result of 1+2 = 90% accurate...However, these 2 result only give Low/high risk..low risk does not = no risk.

If over 35, he advise to go straight to ammiv test, after 16 wk.. which is invasvise test and has a chance of miscarriage 0.5%(1:200) ~1% (1:100)... this test will give a confirmation( yes /no) result..

Anyway, ocscar means 1+2 ... because frm uk , where the term is taken, the 2 test are done together as the english only visit the gp/gynea twice throughout the preggy.

Thanks Jgal for the information. Guess I can ask my gynae if it is ok for me to take just the NT test-scan and the triple test - blood test coz I am around your age.

Good morning,

Have u gals experience cramping in the lower tummy? me today got the sudden cramp when standing up & sitting down ...

while brushing teeth in the morning also suddenly feel a fast sharp pain in my left side tummy..

Is it normal?

Me also having a slight backache ...

burpy_babe ... actually dr ong hint that i can dun take any of the test. Cos' the first 2 tests, are not affirmative and if the result come out high risk, I will torn to make the decision to take the 3rd test which subject my bb to higher risks.
If i am not ready to take the 3rd test, the test result of the 1st 2 is meaningless and just subject myself to greater stress.

His charges are quite reasonable and clear..the nurse discuss all the charges, including things like auspicious delivery timing etc, with me... 1+2 cost less than $300

Jgal...sound like all the tests impose risk ah? My gynea told me no need to go for any of the test...just simple check on fetus 1st

hi jennhoo, I've similar symptoms this morning too..now feeling giddy. Dint wanna come in to work today actually but need to sign some docs..sobz..

nope.. invasive test will risk miscarriage lor .. the other 2 is scan and blood.. no risk but not affirmative. So it up to you whether or not you want to take lor..
yeah cutiebb... you also quite younger .. so no need lor.
btw ... your surgery.. you know what is the risks or not ? i heard frm my mother.. one of her churchmate has 4 crysts.. and didnt take them out ,cos she dun want to risk miscarriage.. bb come out healthy and strong.

what blood test ? never mentioned leh..maybe that's the triple test... triple test not only test for DS but also spina bifa.

I only know i need to take 1 more detailed scan at the 5mth to montior the growth.

Jgal so u not going back to Dr Fong? Did u inform them? Previously I just gave them a call to inform them....

Yup 5mth which is about 20weeks, detailed scan is required to check our fetus. By tt time shd be able to see the features very clearly.

i guess normal blood incl - thalassemia, HIV, iron deficiency ..etc ba. I also not very sure, will ask doc today as i'm going check up. :)

cutiebb.. i dun think so i am going back to dr fong. Quite satify with Dr Ong's service.
and cab to mt e is only $5. At least now i have a clear pic of how much i am spending.. Dr Ong's nurse give me a pricelist for his services... and hospitalization/est paediatrician prices for MT A, MT E.all in there..

now i am considering for 3d scan for all all the visit..(top up 400).

i didnt inform dr fong.. since i didnt take up pkg.. just call to cancel appt after checking our the prices..

hoops&yoyo:

Me too feeling giddy...

This few days after 5 plus in the evening start to lose my appetite ... can only take soupy things .. if take rice will feel like wanna vomit ...

My MIL was quite surprise tat my MS only come in during my 9th week ... hhahhaha

oh..looks like we're in the same boat, jennhoo..

not too sure what causes the sharp pain.. anyone can enlighten?

Found in KK website:-
The assessment also involves the following blood tests:

A full blood count to exclude anaemia (low blood count which leaves you tired and less able to cope if you lose too much blood during or after the birth) and thalassaemia (a common genetic blood disorder in Singapore)
Blood grouping in the event a blood transfusion would be required
Hepatitis and syphilis screening
Rubella antibody screening (optional) to establish a history of exposure to this infection
An HIV screening as the implications on your baby may be significant should these infections be present.

Jgal, yes I noe risk of miscarriage. But no choice coz its too big and resting on my uterus. If I dun remove and fetus gets heavier, my uterus will collapse. I also dunno y gyneas didn't advice stopping the pregnancy early given tt its harmful. Anyway I have tried my best, shd face the outcome bravely.

cutiebb- Varicose Veins

These distended veins around your calves, back, legs or thighs may be reduced by avoiding prolonged periods of standing and exercising regularly.

jenn, hoops

as long as the cramps are not accompanied by spotting, its ok. its probably due to your uterus expanding to accommodate your growing fetus.

cutiebb

these are varicos veins, it shd go away after u gave birth. try not to stand for too long.

Just wondering, are employers allowed to terminate ladies who are expecting? Seem to remember something i read before that they cannot terminate a person who is more than xx months pregnant, but not very sure abt this.

Hi calamari
may i know when you due date is and when u are taking oscar? I am due on the 15 of april but doc ask me to do test on the 28th of sept. isn't that abit too early? its just the start of week 11.

Hi hi Cheesycake

yup just called my gynae to clarify... he didnt wan me to go for the NT scan. Just the triple tests in 4th month.

thalassaemia test is not inclusive in this triple tests. But will not need to take a separate blood tests. Just do everything together.

Cutiebb, be strong... jia you!!!

I have yet to have leg cramps, but my colleagues who has just given birth said that she had leg cramps since 2nd months onwards. When you have leg cramps, use a towel to pull your feet inwards towards you, keeping your leg straight. The cramps will go away though its rather painful.

I've quite a fair bit of varicose veins on my calves and ankles already... looks awful...

if i am not wrong, under employment act, employer can't dismiss employee who is doing confinement. But not so sure about termination of a pregnant employee... you may want to check out MOM.gov.sg for the employment act.

Morning MTBs

Thanks Cath...will sure stay strong, so tt bb will tink likewise
So glad to get so much encouragement fm ppl around me
Okie will try the method to prevent leg cramps. Got hubby to rub my knee area where there is pain, instead end up with blue black...keke dunno if he assert too much force.

Wonder where is schnauzie?