(2008/04) April 2008

Hi adeline, ur bb ger is very cute. Saw some of ur wedding pictures 2, though simple but the deco looks great
I also stop intimacy w hubby since preg...don't ve the mood leh

BTW any 1 has lesser discharge now as compared to previous weeks?

Tratties: but most of my fren was saying try to avoid during the 1st trim ... issit true?

Tsukushi: me just had bak kut teh for lunch hahaha .. shld be okie ba .. cos mostly shld only have pork ribs & garlic & white pepper seeds ba ....

Wendy: think old folks say its not advisable becos got the chemicals and all tat which is no good ..

hi, wendy

still remember me? u are joining us as MTB?

colouring, rebonding (i.e. chemical treatment) is not advisable.

according to the books i read, there is no real scientific finding on the effect of hair treatments on pregnancy. It kind of a pre-caution not to do any chemical treatment. I wont do it lor.. cos' it's not a die die muz do thing.

Jenny: dunnoe whether issit true anot.. my mum & older folks have advised hb & me against BD during 1st trimester - but gynae say its perfectly fine so we continued BD but not as often as before though.. i personally feel that if we are up to it, y not? but remember to excercise precaution..

er...i read somewhere that when you have sex with your husband, be careful that no air goes inside your v, or else it will be dangerous for your baby...

my gynae told us to abstain from intercourse for the first trimester...maybe because i had spotting during my 5th to 7th week...my spotting has since stopped, but during my 2nd visit, forgot to ask him whether can resume intercourse or not :p heh heh

Jenny
think precaution such as "wash clean clean before and after is a must"
but till now i still have not BD yet. am very tired looking after #1 and work + study. I am even too lazy to talk to HB after everything.

tratties

your mum & old folks feel that our trimester is the most unstable period thats y advised u not to do it. my gynae also advised me the same.

heee...

Today is my 11 weeks and 1 day...

looking forward to end my 1st trim..

My NT scan is schedule to be on the 28th Sept!!!

Hopefully all my bad experience in this trimester will ends when it comes to 2nd trimester...

But I read alot of books and internet saying that 1st trimester ends on 12 weeks. My gynae also says that...

**puzzled**

adeline, u still continue w ur studies ah? u r very strong!

Jgal/wilest/hoop, do u all still BD? keke come to tink of it my poor hubby only had BD for less than 5 times since we hatch and now he has to tolerate for close to 1yr.

Jamie,

My gynae told me othewise.. My 1st pregnancy, no complication, so he is okay with it..

This pregnancy, spotting in early pregnancy. So he advise not.

But within though my 1st pregnancy no complication, and go signal from gynae. My hb just play safe and didnt dare to touch me.. kekeke

rain

as i hv 2 previous miscarriage, so during my #1 preggie, he advised me no swimming & no BD. now my #2 he also advised me the same. i didnt bother to ask him coz i also too tired lah & no mood keke...

cutiebb.. *shy* lah .. but i help my hubby lor.. cos' even though can.. i also no mood
.. it's common in 1st tri to be not interested.

anyway, he tell me.. he endure NS.. so he can endure this.. ha ha ha

Jamie,

yup.. I also no mood..

ben so busy with my #1 and this pregnancy is making me sick...

keep on losing temper to my hb

Hi ladies..

Looks like I'm the latest addition to the April MTBs. I just went for my 1st Gynea check last sat..so exciting to see my little one's heartbeat. Gynea told me my EDD is Apr 27th.

Hi ladies..

Looks like I'm the latest addition to the April MTBs. I just went for my 1st Gynea check last sat..so exciting to see my little one's heartbeat. Gynea told me my EDD is Apr 27th.

Rain
think we sama sama hahha. In fact i am starting to ignnore my HB and our relationship is turning sour. I dont even care about what is he doing. I am too tired.

Cutiebb
i have no choice. I stopped last year cause of my girl. i dont wanna give up halfway. Have to endure..

welcome to the club okiedockie!

rain

same here, busy & also tired taking care of my #1 & this pregnancy, my MS is so terrible! so different fr my #1. just hope things will be better after 1st trimester

welcome to the club okiedockie!

rain

same here, busy & also tired taking care of my #1 & this pregnancy, my MS is so terrible! so different fr my #1. just hope things will be better after 1st trimester

Adeline, i have also took a break for my course as for now coz of this preg. Mine also no choice coz of op which will disrupt my course. I can only take max. 2yrs leave of absence, how abt u?

cutiebb
i took 1 year break when i was preggy last year. I wasnt working or studying in fact i was at home enjoying and therefore i had a smooth time for my pregnancy. no MS nothing!
this one i having difficult time. every week i have 2 days MC. Hope this week not. i had very bad headache as i sleep late in the night cause of projects and my sch in jurong yet i stay sengkang. See the difficulties? During weekends i looking after my daughter and recently cause of earthquake, she wakes up at 4am. I'll hv to play with her till 6am then she falls back to sleep. My HB cant even wake up to play with her. I basically have no mood for anything during weekends. Just feel like sleeping thats all.

Yup ade, I understand how tiring isit to be preg, tts y quite happy tt i applied for my leave of absence. R u studying in ntu? If not, y u choose such a far away sch? I also sleep every weekend...weekend is so precious

rain .. you there ? how much is your first visit to dr ong ?

Adeline.. your hubby not bad to you. lah. you say he do all the housework for you. mine still expect me to clean the house
**really hope my MS is more serious, then i no need to do liao**

hi okiedockie
and cherish.. ha haha ... missed your post.. how you doing?

cutiebb
nope private institute. Ya.. my daughter fall off bed last weekend cause i handed her over to my HB.

jgal
ya he is good lah.. but i have real bad temper.
basically he helps me do everything.

Good to hear that can still eat bak kut teh... next time take a few sips..hehe.

Can check whether laksa (with cockles) and rojak still can eat?

Hi... cockles contain bacteria..not too sure if the hawkers clean or cook them well..so better not.. I've been craving for my favourite oven baked mussels..but my friends advised me not to eat cos of the same reason..guess for the good of bb, have to be disciplined..

Tsukushi: Me still take laksa & char kway teow (but w/o cockles) ... better dun take cos might not be fully cooked and may have bacterias

i quit seafood for my bb... scared of mercury and poison.

jgal: i have been going up and down to the toilet.. have been vomiting badly and feeling giddy the whole day..

can we take milo? I have been drinking milo since i cannot take coffee.

cherish.. ifyou are vomit badly.. i advise you to avoid milk/milk stuff all together, including milo lor..

I have to take coffee in the morning 1/2 cup else in the evening..*preggy or not preggy* sure have headache and nausea.

i read a article, although 1 cup of coffee dun harm the bb, it is wiser to avoid them.
hig caffeine consumption linked to high risk of MC. So i am scared.

No wonder I have been vomiting, i already have 3 glass of milk..

i was a coffee-addict before i knew i've a bb.. now i quit..switched to drinking horlicks, milo and milk.. hee..

Food and Drinks to Avoid During Pregnancy
As mentioned earlier, avoid alcohol. No level of alcohol consumption is considered safe during pregnancy. Also, check with your doctor before you take any vitamins or herbal products. Some of these can be harmful to the developing fetus.

And although many doctors feel that one or two 6- to 8-ounce cups per day of coffee, tea, or soda with caffeine won't harm your baby, it's probably wise to avoid caffeine altogether if you can. High caffeine consumption has been linked to an increased risk of miscarriage, so limit your intake or switch to decaffeinated products.

Pls contact yoga teacher Rita asap at 94872845 or 62588304 for registration. First come first serve.

Here's the updated list for prenatal yoga class.
Venue: Bishan Blk 145 RC
Fee: $35 for 4 session(1.5 hrs/session)
payment: 3 months in advance
Time: Sat or Sunday
class size: 10 pp
Name/Thread/ prefer day for yoga class
1. Katechow March saturday/sunday ok
2. Red tea March saturday/sunday ok
3. Bevweb March Sat/Sun ok
4. Babe_dude March
5. Adeline March
6. Kais March Sat/Sun ok
7. Twinklestars March
8. Clover March Sat/Sun ok
9. Dorothy Feb Saturday ok
10.snowbelle Feb weekends ok
11.Eliaw Feb Weekends ok
12.Babe/Jan/Sat
13.mtanlove Mar weekends ok
14.Mspiglet/Jan/Sun
15.goodbbb

Help During Pregnancy...
Increases overall strength, flexibility & well-being X When you practice yoga, you are not only stretching your muscles, you are stretching the tissues that encase your muscles, stimulating your organ systems, promoting the circulation of blood and oxygen, breathing more intentionally, and focusing your attention inward through imagery and meditation. The combined effect is intended to be one that promotes a heightened state of physical and emotional well-being.

Reduces low back pain & sciatica X As you become acutely aware of proper body alignment, you can carry yourself and your belly in an integrated manner. This can help to reduce the degree of pelvic tilt associated with pregnancy and significantly reduce the lower back pain which it can cause. Additionally, there are specific yoga poses which stretch the muscles and tissues associated with the lower back, hips, and hamstrings. Your instructor should make these poses a part of each class.

Reduces aches & fatigue in the thoracic & cervical regions of the spine X During pregnancy, it can be difficult to find a space for yourself when trying to sleep. As a result, spinal alignment can become compromised. Certain yoga poses create more fluidity in the spine by stretching the Para spinal muscles.

Reduces swelling & inflammation around your joints X A regular and consistent asana practice improves and promotes the circulation of blood and oxygen throughout your body. This, in turn, can reduce swelling and inflammation around ankles and wrists.

Aids in digestion X As baby grows, your intestinal organs get pushed around, which may affect your regularity and cause indigestion. Safe and gentle rotations and forward folds can help to promote regularity and aid in overall digestive flow.

Helps prepare you physically for giving birth X A regular practice of squatting asana helps to tone muscles of your pelvic floor and helps you gain strength to remain comfortable in a squatting position. This is an integral part of any yoga program as it helps to familiarize you with these very useful muscles. Even if you choose not to squat during labor, you will want to be able to use these muscles efficiently and effectively when nature calls upon you to push your baby into the world.

Improves emotional well-being X Participating in a group prenatal class provides a community of support from new friends who understand what you are experiencing. Some programs may even include discussions about pregnancy-related topics such as doulas, nursing, and birth plans.

Help During Labor...
Regardless of whether you are looking forward to a drug assisted birth or planning for a natural delivery, regular participation in a prenatal yoga program can reduce labor-associated anxiety by helping you tap into your own labor tools.

Soothe & empower yourself by finding your own inner rhythm X You can learn to breathe in a way that is relaxing and natural, rather than contrived or awkward. When you consistently practice moving your body in a rhythmic fashion in unison with your breath, you carry with you a powerful relaxation and pain management tool.

Facilitate the labor process X Through yoga, you can learn how to identify when you are holding to tension in your body. A body that is tense is not going to facilitate the birth process as easily as one that is relaxed. Moreover, when the body is tense, you may experience tension in thought and a withholding of breath.

Improve your physical comfort X If you are hoping for a natural birth, it can be helpful to have an idea of how you can position your body to help you during contractions and during relaxation. Many yoga poses can translate wonderfully into comfortable laboring positions.

Learn to use the tools of meditation & visual imagery X When it comes time to ride through the most powerful of contractions, visual imagery combined with breath work can be one of the most useful labor tools.

Become familiar with the concept of vocalization X Labor is no time to be shy. It is the rare woman who births naturally and does not make a lot of noise in the process. If your yoga class includes chanting, you have an opportunity to become comfortable with the inherent power of vocalization. After all, Om is the birth sound!

Use the muscles of your pelvic floor effectively X The weeks of squatting were not done in vain! Squatting combined with a kegel-like movement during pregnancy really can help your labor in two ways. If you receive an epidural, you may lose sensation in your pelvic floor which can make pushing your baby out a bit of a guessing game. If you are used to working with these muscles, you will find it easier to use them even if you cannot feel them. Alternatively, if you are opting for a natural birth, you will want these muscles to work quickly and effectively when it comes time to push.

calamari
taking coffee in moderation like twice a week is definitely safe. Dont make urself worry =)
I myself take quite often as well. I switch between enfamama, aussie milo and coffee.

been feeling terrible over the past weekends so didn't post. Stomach is terribly bloated. Constipation strikes these days... sigh... MS is getting worse during the evenings. For those hvg the same problems like me, must hang in there...

Kea, my gynae is at Beauty world plaza at Bk Timah - Dr Lim

Anyone went for the Thalassemia tests?

cath

yes, my hubby went for the test just before we got married, abt 5 yrs ago. need not both parties to do it, either one can liao.

hi hi....... been feeling terrible as well.... puking non stop over the weekend and was worst yday..... i was expecting to feel better as I am nearing my 11th week but i think its getting worst..... anyone else feeling that your MS is getting worst and worst?

when shld we go for the antenatal classes?

Jenny: for my fil he has minor thalassemia before i preggie i know liao. i brought his up during my 1st visit to gynae, advice my DH to test. coz chances for my DH to have is higher, gynae did bloodtest and found +ve for DH. so i need to do also but found luckily im not a carrier as my family got no history of thalassemia. either party need to do, if one party is carrier then the other one need to test also. like my case if DH found -ve then i no need do liao. y dont u ask ur DH family? tat time i very worried, my mum said our family dont have then sure i not carrier. chinese name call "di zhong hai peng xue zheng' does it ring a bell to u?