(2008/04) April 2008

Joanna
guess this is normal as i've been feeling exceptionally cold during evenings, was told that its because our hormones are changing to make us adapt to 2 body temperatures..

Yea!
I dun mind MJ!! haha.. my place is always open for MJ (but very messy)
Somemore we stay near each other right hehehe.. Next time baby have play mates also!

Hi ladies ,

tsukushi - i feel bloated very often...feel v hungry but cannot eat as much as i would have like to.

for me..strictly no preserved food. no century egg, none of my favourite salty egg..no bitterguard, no mei cai, salty veg etc ;( life's such a bore. or i realise tt previouslt i was such a trashy eater. i love sunny side up..but it is a no no right? can someone advise.

oh yeah..no tuna also. but i heard tt canned tuna is ok..but can food also don eat too much
better.

think a few mtb here..feel cold all the time right? me too..i read some where tt it may be a sign of iron deficiency..so will ask gynae next monday..but iron supplement will cause constipation!

Haha
... sk/amk already got 1 table of ppl liao

North-East(sk/amk) : Adeline,schnauzie,Sputnik,Jenny
East (Pasir Ris/Old AP): Jenny,Jamie,Tratties
West/Central : Jgal , Cloudluv

Had a great lunch mummies?

Jgal am residing in north-east 2 but not a prof. MJ player though I noe how it is played.

Its TGIF...more resting time on weekend!!!

tsukushi - jgal is right..bittergourd is too cooling. thoroughly cook liao is not sunny side up..i like to see the yolk leak ;p

schnauzie: haha me too ... everytime buy breakfast fried beehoon always add 1 egg .. and the egg is not fully cook one the yolk will leak when u poke .. :p

i feel cold most of the time as well.. will check with my gynae during my next checkup. I also fall in the Northeast region, but I dunno how to play MJ =D

Jenny & Schnauzie- I also like leaky egg yolk but not the fried version. I like half boiled eggs or those they just crack a raw egg into mini steamboat. But now have to totally avoid coz uncooked egg yolk contain lots of bateria.

Now I have alot of curving for sour stuff like vingar, lime, green apple, lemon etc...

btw, gals.. how often you go see your gynea.. given that you dun have any serious problem. i went to see mine on the 5wk (1st appt) , 6wk (to confirm Heatbeat), 9wk, 12wk ( 17 Sept).

Hi Jgal, i went to take a look at the fish oil that you are taking (neurogain). One of the ingredients is AA (something acid). Seem to remember reading somewhere that this is not good for pregnant women? U know anything abt this?

Heehee, sorry, me dunno how to play MJ, never play before in my life

I also saw the obimin that some ladies are taking, it contains vit A, which I thot we suppose to avoid? Confused.....

BTW, saw that some of you are given 'an tai yao' when you see your gynae. My gynae did not give me when i went to see him for the 1st time. Must everyone take this 'an tai yao'?

Spuntik, If i'm not wrong, have to avoif vitA in first trimester. So try to avoid LIVERS.

Now i'm very conscious about what i eat and drink.
No cold drinks, no tea, no coffee. Only soyabean milk, and plain water and occassionally fruit juices.

My mum say cant take too much orange and orange juice. Though no harm to ur body, next time bb will have alot of phelgm and will have cough v frequently. Well, i guess betta choose to believe for the good for our bb?
Even buy fruit juice, my hubby also stand there and see what the uncle put, scared later he put wrongly put pineapples. As per dr adrian, pineapples are the big no-no. Will cause the womb to contract and then miscarriage.

I was reading the latest (Sep07) about bonding with your bb with he/she is in your tummy. And there's this part abt 4D scans. Anyone going to do 4D scans?

sputnik - my gynae also havent give me any an tai yao..maybe after first trimester bah

sherin - i think my gynae got the 4d machine (i know definitely got 3 d)..i tot i remember he showed me one where the bb is waving or something (not my bb lah) ;p

Cutiebb, u may want to ask your gynae why he sees you at 3 weeks interval.
So far i'm seeing dr adrian every 2 weeks. until the second trimester.

schnauzie, i think different gynae will prescribe different supplements. Im given folic and prenavite which is a multi vitamin and just as many other supplements for pregnancy, it contains quite substantial amount of iron which in turns cause constipation. To fight constipation, perhaps have to take more fibre frm fruits and vegetable. If not it may get pretty bad in the later stage. There's more information frm Motherhood Mag(Aug07).
So far i'm ok. An tai medicine is mainly for ppl with unstable first trimesters, like spotting or MS.

MS occurs when the body recognises the foetus as a foreign object in the body and is thus repelling it.

I read in the mag, it's $150/hr and they will give u a DVD of ur scan. so u could see ur baby moving, sucking thumb, v v clearly, can see the baby's face and everything. If u do a search on the internet, the main purpose of this 4D scan is to detect any birth defects which may not be detected through blood test. So eg, a mom who is test for high risk for down symdrone may want to do the test so see if the baby is normal. But i think it is increasingly gaining popularity with many others. I think i'll go for it. Though it may seem a little costly.

cutiebb, i'm not sure also. So far gynae says ok to take cold drinks, but in moderation. I read on the internet that for those mummies having MS, good to take cold drinks in between meals but not during meals. did not state any reason.

My grandma and my mum also say no cold drinks. So i just listen lo. My cousins took alot of cold drinks during pregnancy, all the kids turn out to have asthma and premature, until now when they grow up also v unhealthy and skinny.

Oh btw, ladies, i read somewhere that the environment that mummies live in esp in the 2nd and 3rd trimester can affect the bb, if there's alot of allergens, bb may develop asthma.

Schnauzie: me din know tat cannot take those half cooked egg .. so last week i also got eat .. hahaha

Jgal: me be seeing my gynae in every 3 weeks also i presume .. cos my next appt is in 3 weeks time...

Sputnik: the an tai yao which i checked with my gynae is to strengthen the womb / uterus in early stage .. and also for those who have spotting etc ...

Sputnik: some one mention that AA will cause high blood pressue.. I did abit of search on the internet. Good amt of fish oil actually stablise blood pressure. There are ppl that report that high pressure deal to fish oil and it deal to 8x the normal amt. I guess.. if fish oil has am effect on blood pressure... too much of it definitely will cause problems also. Actually DHA and AA are the 2 component that make fish oil beneficial for brain development.

cutiebb.. i think probably because you are not spotting.. Just the cryst problem, which does not hinder bb growth and can only be deal with after the first tri so the doc also dun see you so often lor.
hee hee .. your cryst is not as serious as you think lah. I think mummie with spotting.. see gynea more often lor.

Cold drink is no no .. too much fruit juice also no good.. then what can we drink?!?! plain water and milo !!?!? ... freaking stressful to watch diet everyday.

i don even feel like drinking milo..so i just drink plain water everyday(orange juice when im at macdonalds)` and when i cannot tahan..i treat myself to ribena hehehehe

yipee! tgif tgif!

Wah so good ... me yesterday test abit high on the sugar level ... dun dare to drink soya bean nor other sweet stuff liao ..

Haha. Cannot drink too sweet also. Pregnant ladies are more prone to diabetics even though we may not have it when we are not pregnant. Some preggy ladies will have calcium deficiency, some this, some that. So i guess it's impt to have a healthy diet during this period.

Just have to "ren" for another 7 mths.

I know it's tough. I've been complaining to my hubby everyday. Just have to control lo. I'm a green tea lover. Now also cannot take green tea. Now i only take plain water and hot soya milk. Dont know why, but cant stand the smell of milo anymore.

Jennyhoo, sugar level tested through urine or blood and done at which week? I havent done any of these test yet. High sugar level cannot take soya milk? Then how, left with plain water? I think i betta drink less soya milk now.

sherin - ^5! im so sad i cannot take my pokka green tea and seasons ice lemon tea...i dun think i can ren until i give birth..i think abt it also feel thirsty liao

jenny - be careful with the sweet stuff yah?

yeah lor, so sad, i also drinking plain boiled water everyday. Used to drink cold water or cold drinks very often b4 i got pregnant. I also love coke, last time drink almost everyday, but now have to abstain... today drank a small glass of coke, 1st one i had for the last 10 days....hope can tahan for the next 9 mths.

Sherin: done thru urine leh .. everytime go for check up the nurse will give 1 urine strip than urine on it .. after tat show to them they c the colours changes etc they will say oki or sugar high or watever lor ... (tat is @ KKH) i dun know if the other gals have done it during their check up?

Can drink soya milk but ask for less sugar or no sugar lor ...

Okay .. gals.. dun get paranoid :p ... there are things, we shld not drink at all.. that there are those.. that shld be taken in moderation depends on our health

If you had previous done some health check (last 1/2 yr).. you shld refer back to it.. and see if you will be expose yourself to high risk.. e.g. you know you have tendency to get diabietes because of age/health condition/family history .. then you shld take that into consideration when you drink or eat lor .. even carbo (complex sugar) is bad for diabietes meh.. not just pure sugar..

If you have UTI / yeast infection, which the dairy pdt that you are taking lor.

Abit high blood tendency , then watch your seafood lor. me in the "low blood" cat... so no issue..hiak hiak

schnauzie, esp when with my mum, she is constantly staring at what i eat and drink. Last weekend, i cannot tahan, saw pokka green tea. ask my hubby quickly go and buy then i drink a few sip first. Feel so ke lian u know. Last time i drink almost everyday, like my daily diet like that.

schnauzie: yah .. hehehe dun know if it has to do with wat i had for breakfast also anot yesterday ... but for time being i think i cut down on soya milk and take plain milk instead .... me every since found out i preg have not being drinking cold soft drinks liao ... have to REN ....

Jenny.. sorry to ask hor..how old are you .. and if you are over-weight?
Cos' i know doc give diff treatment to diff mummies according to what they think is good.

Jgal: me now craving for Black pepper crab which my hubby does not allow me to eat at the moment ar ... will pester him again after next check up ahahahah .... thinking of it makes me drool ...

woah u all so discipline can stay away from sweet drinks ah? I still drink abit of spirit or ribena sometimes or even dark choco ice cream.

Jenny: how to test sugar level ah?

Jgal: totally agree! Its so freaking diff to monitor fd...this cannot and tt cannot. It just makes me tink of the olden days when ppl dun have so much knowledge abt health & food, yet they can deliver healthy babies..hmmmmmm..........Yah so far bb has been doing fine in me, just tt mummy got problem keke always tell hubby poor bb has such a lousy mummy keke :p

cutiebb: did the test @ clinic with urine strip ..

think it shld be a checkup routine ba ... cos will do the test, take weight and blood pressure .. which i saw all the mtbs at the clinic also did the same thing

Jgal,

My place is in central but now in staying in kl. Gynae is Dr A L Lim, Thomson medical.

Do u gers feel tired of eating. Think i have been eating almost every hour for the past few week and this few days, i kinda tired of eating. Think i home sick, i miss spore food, there are so many variety. KL food so far only ok, maybe i am tired of eating. I also miss spore shopping. It's more happening and i so wish i can shop in the places u all have been talking and going soon. Must ask hubby to stop over spore for a few more days when i visit my gynae in 2 weeks' time.

Sherin

I was told not to attend prenatal classes too early coz u may have forgotten most of the stuff by the time u deliver...was told to go during 3rd trim. I was told mummies have bad memories after preg...isit true or coz have not enough omega 3?

cutiebb..if you want to test yourself.. can buy the test strip from pharmacy. the strip will turn color after contact.. then you compare with the guide if your sugar level is too high lor

Jenny.. your gynea KS.. you sound healthy to me.. ha ha ha :p no leh.. i habe not take any test until now.. except V-scan.

Jennyhoo, but hor, milk also stored in fridge also cold ma. Is it ok? I find it very difficult to eat and drink. Everytime before eating or drinking something have to think so hard. I'm thinking of buying ANNUM MATERNAL. Anyone tried? I read in the ad, sounds so "wow", but i dont know whether will lead to vitamin "overload" so wait till monday then ask Dr Adrian.

BLACK PEPPER CRAB!!! makes me want to drool now le! So far my mum say that chilli and pepper crab not so cooling as compared to steam crab but i still prefer steam crab ma le.

Jenny, i think high sugar level got nothing to do wtih age or weight le. My friend just gave birth abt a mth ago at the age of 25, also developed diabetics during pregnancy, family got no history of diabetics. I think it just happened kind of thing.

jenny - my clinic also do the same thing, come in take one strip to test then show nurse before disposing

cutiebb - haha i already have bad memory now..keep forgeting things.

tomoro i am attending a talk on how to bond with ur child (infant etc)..will ask if it applies to foetus..haha

sherin - good that ur mum is observing ur food intake. my parents ok lah..but dunno she dunno or forgot ..yesterdae i went to their house to eat she actualli cooked bittergourd and preserved veg (the 2 veg tt i cannot touch) ;( sigh.

Sherin: me dun like the taste of powdered milk .. so have to drink fresh milk ... (think me only drink powdered milk when i am still a baby hahah :p)

Me like black pepper crab and chilli crab .. dun really prefer steam crab cos like not much taste leh ..

But after ur fren give birth does the diabetics go away? or it still remain? My mother and aunties all have diabetes history and on medication ... so abit worried

Actually diabetics is not only caused by sweet stuff, its also due to too much fats intake. Unburnt fats are converted to sugar in our body which may lead to disbeties. Preg mummy can't exercise tts y fat level accumulates very fast...hmmm is abt fd selection again

Does any mummy miss sports or gym?
I start to miss my gym more now.....