(2008/04) April 2008

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

Thank you to those who have completed my survey - I have already received 25 responses!! I am hoping to get 5 more so I can do my comparison study. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! Here are the details...

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education. The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary and confidential. Thank you for your consideration.

Robyn Maley

My son is having this persistent cough almost 1 month.
Does any mummies here knows of any good doctor that treats cough? Thank you.
I had brought him to see PD 4 times and to TCM but nothing works and now at my wits end.
Any kind mummies have any suggestion?

Wishing all a happy and prosperous new year ! May all be bless with good health and HUAT AH !

Strawberries: alright lah ... hahaha... I kinda getting a bit lazy ... hahaha... Will compensate him with a trip in July hahha...

Calamari: wow ! Book one year in advanced !! Best !!

Cass: you might wanna change a doc or tcm ? This is what I did when Xav's PD doesn;t work. I brought him to the tcm @ Rochor Centre. Her medicine works well for Xav. Infact much better than western medicine.

As recommended by some mummies, I have been giving Xav GNC cod liver oil daily. It helps and I have not been hearing him cough since then. If it does, I will give GNC Allercare and Vit C together and it works well too.

Herbs like cordyceps do help in healing cough too.

Hi cass,

I bring my son to Dr Ong EK at SBCC (Thomson). He specialises in cough. Another doctor that someone recommended was Kai Clinic at Katong. A rather old doctor though.. Maybe u have to watch his diet. My son has sensitive airways so he is prone to persistent coughing. He had never taken citrus food and I control his snacking of biscuit. No cooling stuff etc.. I think I saw in some thread that some mummies recommned Eu Yan Seng cough medicine.. Hou Ning.

I have been giving him cod liver oil since he turned 1 and also sambuccus.

Thank Mummies for all the advises and recommendation for PD. I will bring him to see Dr Ong as recommended by some mummies and hopefully it the end of my nightmare.

i intend to send #1 to cc. since i will be working full time i was planning to send him for full day cc. i called one of them and it is fully booked until 2011 *faints* i quickly chope a place for nx yr nursery. u girls better go fast.

hi mommies, any of your babies still sleeping in cot? i wanna move my boy to a single bed, but he moves around the cot so much i'm worried he'll fall off the bed.. any one with experience with this?

jojoz kinderland near lot 1 lor...

cotegr my boy sleeps with me on a king size bed and he takes up a big space. or try let him sleep on tilam on the floor? at least wont fall so badly?

mushloom:
my hubby don't allow the boy to sleep in our room.. kicked him out when he was 6 months! :p we bought the new bed for him coz need to prepare the cot for 2nd baby.. maybe should have gotten a lower mattress.. we bought the spring mattress so it's higher than the foam or tilam one.. wondering whether should just let him learn on his own.. hopefully he fall once will learn not to anyhow move on the bed??

<font color="ff6000">looking for magazine - The Finder (Just 4 Kidz) Jan 2010 issue, anyone has it? Thanks

tks mushloom! will go have a look... it's been 3 nights.. so far no rolling off the bed.. but he's been waking up earlier.. ;P

Stress of being a parent - Quick Survey - help a grad student

Thank you to those who have completed my survey! I have until March 1 to get a few more responses so I can begin my research project. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

Robyn Maley

mushloom - wat nursery you sending your child to?

cote gr - i put leo's cot mattress on top of a single mattress, so he can climb up on his own, &amp; then a foldable mattress on the bottom &amp; i fold it so he doesn't roll off when he falls alseep. i've attached a pic but i din put the foldable mattress yet. if you want a pic wif the the foldable mattress can pm me wif your hp &amp; i'll mms you.

3674257.jpg

sapphire going to send him to learning vision tomolo. they got this flexicare thingy where i put him there for 3h thrice per week. will try out this see how. if he adapts well then will put in half day then full day cc.

i will be going to mmi at ten miles to take a look too

shampoo n soap is the same as per normal bathing, sebamed bubble bath n shampoo

If interested, pl PM me.

Huggies Ultra - $14.50
Huggies Pull-up - $14.50
Huggies Dry/comfort - $15.00
Collection at Punggol.

<font color="119911">chewy: good tips shared.. I need a more understanding TOT leh tsktsk.. any mamas find this book Have a New Kid by Friday good and effective

Preschool
some 'hot' schs do advised to enrol the kid at PreN level as priority goes to the existing students when they get promoted to nxt level.. a peace of mind for sure

leo's mummy...urs a good idea too...

i haf 3 sons all i leave them to sleep on the mattress (bought from childcare -with pvc cover) on the floor...hehe

<font color="0077aa">mushloom &amp; calamari, sorry fer the late response
i m thinking of putting one more yao lan in my room.. cuz sometimes the 2 of them can really fight fer one.. hmm my boy dun usually sleep in yao lan at nite. . but sometimes he c his little sis slept on it he will be one of a kind.. i do lay tilam too on the floor so when my boy asleep from bed.. will put him there..

xav's mummy &amp; calamari, m oso planning to throw a simple party fer my boy at home.. juz asking some close frens and immediate family to join tat's all. .

leo's mum, leo is so cherry
hehe
i use kodomo shampoo and body foam fer my boy when go swimming.. but at hm usually use J &amp; J product.. </font>

<font color="0077aa">juz wanna find out.. anyone sending their tods to PAP nursery?? im tinking whether shud i send my boy fer the few hours @ nursery or shud i juz enrol him to CC.. hmm .. but toking bout CC .. i had one at my workplace.. but that is super long Q . . </font>

Hi, I am selling 2 adult tickets for Disney on Ice presents A Disneyland Adventure. Able to bring in child for free below 2 years old.

Date: Thu, 18 Mar 2010
Time: 7pm
Venue: Singapore Indoor Stadium
Original price I paid: $52.95 per ticket (Early Bird Price) x 2 = $105.90
Selling: $95 for 2 tickers

Very good seats as I booked way early:
Block A02 Row 6 Seats 12 &amp; 13

Reason for selling: I will be bringing my girl to HK Disneyland from 8 Mar to 11 Mar so no point seeing Disney on Ice in Singapore again.

Let me know if you or any of your friends are interested.

I'm planning for my kid's 2nd bday party. Any recommendations for caterers? cupcakes?

Any mommies have experience with Chiltern House PLayclub?

Need 5 More Parents to Take a Quick Survey - help a grad student

This is the last time I will bug you about my survey.
I need to have 5 more surveys completed by March 12 to be able to do my study. If you haven't taken it already, could you please take 5 minutes to respond? I really appreciate your help! The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

Robyn Maley
University of St. Thomas
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Hi calamari,

Pls kindly contact me abt the Disney on ice's tickets. Wish to get the tickets asap as my son has been asking abt the show. I hv pmed u my contact. Pls SMS me as I may not answer call at times. Thx!

hi sorry to interrupt
I have a BNWT Kate Spade Bedford Street Noel Stevie (Black) selling at S$288 only and Kate Spade Bedford Street Noel Jillian (pink) selling at S$268 only. All items are BNWT, comes with original Kate Spade dustbag, care card and hanging tag. For fast deal, please email [email protected]. Prices nego. Thanks

Cheap Huggies for Sale. Drop me a PM if interested,

Huggies ultra - $14.50 per pkt
Huggies pullups - $14.50 per pkt
Huggies comfort (red) - $15 per pkt
Huggies dry (blue) - $15 per pkt

Collection at Punggol/ Toa payoh (fri evenings &amp; sun mornings) / Amk (prearranged) / Pasir Ris ( prearranged) / Science Centre (prearranged)

Selling 1 unopen GNC Childlife Essential Fatty Acids Natural Butterscotch flavor.
Expire date: 23 Oct 2010

For infants 6 month old up to 12yrs old kids.

Product detail: http://www.childlife.net/node/53/

Original price: $ 43.50
Selling cheap now: $ 35

Pls PM me if u keen. Collect at my blk (hougang). Thanks!

Dear mummies

I need advice.. any of your toddlers seen tiong bahru plaza PD before? My son was hospitalised during end Feb, after discharge, he was well...then 2 weeks later, which is mid Mar, he was sick with fever again..and then recover again , till yesterday fever again.. so i was thinking to change to tiong bahru plaza PD. ever since he discharge, his temperature is alway 37.2 as compare to last time before hospitalise at 36plus..

<font color="0077aa">haha time really flies

Happy brithdae to all Apr babies, may ur be always healthy and strong!!

kea, i had not been there before.. hmm.. have u tried sbcc??</font>