(2008/04) April 2008

hi ladies, would the organiser of the april birthday bash be interested in the banner below? i can give it out free but pls self collect.

there's a date printed on the banner for the march mummy bash but maybe can cover up with something else? the banner cost $25 and it's a waste for me to throw away.

pls pm me.

2347519.jpg

srerene, PG cake not nice? i tried their normal cakes before, liked both the blackforest and the lychee martinee. did they use the normal Pooh cake toppers?

koori- is not the design.. is the bewteen layers is creamy..also could be the cake not cold cos they send too early. told them send at 7pm but they deliver at 550pm.

i found it cumbersome to cut too cos of 2 layer + sloggy cos left in room temp for too long.

next year will go for cupcakes. easier to manage.

lynn- yup used the pooh ake toppers. i actually when my guest told me not nice i also find it weird. than i try it myself, found it v disappointing too.

even the kids did not eat the blackforest.. after i taste it than i realise is bitter.

for adult guest, they feedback is at 1st they thou is peach. than i told them is lychee martinee. they are saying "oh is it" my god. thou the cake is the highlight of the day.

on the design of the cake, i used the standard design.. the yellow colour cake. did not even change anything. feel the cake v flat not v 3-day except for the toppers.

i have used them before 3 yrs back for my wedding. the cake taste so much better and workmanship is v fine. but not this time round.

any mummies ordering or ordered from cupcake divinity? wonder if i'm the only one with problems getting through to their "team".

i'm provding my own figurines for the cake, and told to pass it to one of them. then when i asked abt the colours and design of the cake i was told to leave it to the baker to decide. i again asked to discuss the design and colour scheme cos i'm oh-so-fussy and then the reply was for me to contact another one of them "the baker" at another number. i asked if i can just contact "the baker" direct to discuss design and also pass the figurine to her but no reply. i smsed "the baker" also no reply.. hiaz..

so headache, think they're more difficult to get hold of than Michael! doesn't make sense to pass my figurines to one person and then discuss my design with "the baker" who doesn't have my figurines right?

Do you have any contact to help pump helium into balloon? I went to check with the nearby florist and they charge $2 each for Latex balloon...Gosh!

Hi mummyfei,

You can go to HeartLink at middle road. They charge 1 balloon and $1 and comes with curling.

I passed them my balloons on Last Friday and told them i wana to collect my balloons on Saturday. They asked me when is my party and told them Sunday 1300hrs. They advised to collec like only 2hr before the party. They said if left overnight the ballons will be deflated.
I find that is a very nice gesture.
My 60 balloons were like smaller after the party which was only 4 hrs.
I can give you their contact if you need it.

Need to ask something... Lately my gal's appetite improved significantly le.. But funny thing is sometimes when i try to feed her milk she gag... but most of the time she will still drink her milk but sometimes she will throw up. I wonder why she keep doing the gagging action. Is it coz she really feel like vomitting or what... Coz like out of 5 times that she show the gagging action there will be 1 time that she really throw up... I am starting to wonder is it coz she is too full...

hi mummyfei, where do you stay? I found this info in another thread, may be useful to you :

Shop you can go for Helium gas
BALLOONS R US
200 Turf Club Road,
Turf City, #01-39A
Singapore 287994

806 upper serangoon road
Call:62823916/96451069 Evan ($2.00 18")

Party with us
Centrepoint #05-01
176 Orchard Road
Singapore 238843
Tel : 62350221

Party with us
Valley Point #01-10
491 River Valley Road
Singapore 248371
Tel : 62350326

Party Joy
Parkway parade #02-k5 (opposite Mothercare $2.00 18")

Party city
252, North Bridge Road, #03-28, Raffles City Shopping Centre, Singapore 179103
Ph : 6336 2161

Shophouse 277A, Holland Ave, Level 2, Singapore 278994
Tel: 6462 6011

KK Hospital (Astoria florist $2.50 18" / Gift shop $1.50 18")

Thomson Medical Centre (gift shop)

SUNTEC (gift shop lvl 1 - ard $3.00 18")

CAUSEWAY POINT LVL 5 ($1.50 18")

TAMPINES MART LVL 1 ($2.50-$3.00 18")

UNITED SQ B1 ($1.50 18")

JUNCTION 8 (opp DBS $2.50 18")

Rocher Centre (opposite Sim Lim Square) have many such party shop, their price is the cheapest compare to the above shop

GROW® For children 3 years and above
Just wanna share my friends's bad encounter:
My freind had a 5 yrs old daughter, currently talking Grow...she bought 1.8kg and her girl already drink half tin....she realise a strong rusty smell whenever she open up the tin, but she thought maybe cause by the tin's cover.
Last week out of the blue she go and examine the residue last over from her girl's milk bottle and shock of her life....the residue left on the bottom is rusty in color and smell....she passed the whole tin and milk bottle to NTUC Sembawang(where she bought from)...and now my friend are still waiting for their reply and examination.
We suspect the problem lie on the tin......but she forget to get the manufacture date...
I will like to remind mummies who are giving their kids Similac ...check out the milk tin to play safe...

hoon - thats sounds scary!! Ask your friend to write to forum, sure can get fast response....especially for things such as milk powder, now very sensitive issue after what happened in China....

Hoon, ask your friend to take the bottle and can back. Make a fuss! once they took it back, your friend dont have evidence. Did she take photos? Goodness, so terrible. Cant imagine that this happen here. It is intolerable! This is highly harmful even to adults not to speak of feeding to a young child.

Hoon call WanBao and XinMing. They will even reward vouchers for the news. But the vouchers are not impt, it is highlighting this to other parents so that they can take note of it. Make sure Abott send ur friend's child for a body check up too. So angry.

My boy has been gagging on his porridge and spitting it out. However he would eat rice like us adults. Is it ok for him to start having rice? any mummies with same experience? My boy only has 4 teeth so pretty worried on his digestion etc.

Caitlin

my gal also like tat(gagging, spitting out e porridge n wanna eat rice). she will eat rice so i just give her sm and continue to give her porridge.

Hi Yvonne,

Tried to mix porridge with rice but my boy immediately spit out and refused to eat anymore.. Even covered his mouth to protest.. sigh... Today's dinner I simply just give him rice with some veg n chicken

my gal like to drink soup so will mix the porridge with the soup. sometimes she eat sometimes she spitting it out like the merlion. she is like that for quite some time liao. she also do that for the cereal.

<font color="aa00aa">Morning Mummies..</font>

caitlin, yvonne,
my boy likes to take out the food we've put into his mouth to see before licking them back or simply play around.. haiz, so messy
anyone has the same experience??

Caitlin,

The way your son pout so cute!

It's always been challanging feeding my son since birth. I was just telling my maid what kinda pattern he had.

2 months, he had to be entertained with toys while drinking,
4 months, entertained by magazine (we have to flip the pages while he drink),
5 months, drink milk with spoon,
6 months started solid and was quite ok.
7 months, gotta look at our food to eat his own baby food.
8 months, have to hold his bottle cap and hit the bottle to drink milk. have to smell our food to eat his own.
10 months, have to eat his meals with him holding bread or biscuits.
Latest pattern, he have to have his own set of spoon and plate and some food in the plate. Eat some food also so much pattern. ahaha.

caitlin,
yeah.. your boy pout so cute le, brighten me up.. so sleepy at work now.. ha.. ha..

Jules' mum,
agree, our babies lots of pattern la.. hehe.. my boy most of the time only interested in our food and on &amp; off will go on food&amp; milk strike too..

Thanks... That's why I am so pissed yet so amused when feeding him. Guess all kids have their own pattern. My boy needs a lot of entertainment (toys etc) while eating. During weekends, I rather go out shopping &amp; feed him cos he would be too distracted with the environment...

HI Cath
my fren said the Abbot personel call her and said need 1 mth to investigate.....and told my fren the smell may be "milk sugar"..now she is going to ask them to return the evidence back to her.i already ask her to call Xinming if they trying to be funny..

Advertisement.

<font color="aa00aa">California Calendula cream @sgd$17 each. </font> -fixed. Postage another $0.50.
<font color="aa00aa">Childlife colostrum powder @sgd$24 each. </font> -fixed. Postage another $0.50.
<font color="aa00aa">Childlife Cod Liver Oil Strawberry Flavor @sgd$24 each.</font>-fixed. Postage another $1.50.

Email me if you are interested, getting from amazon sale. [email protected]

angel : okay.. let you know when the cream arrive..
Hoon : dun have..if you want, i will source for a cheap price and ship back together.

re : fish oil
So far ,my gal likes it.
Not so sure whether it really improve her learning abilities and health though because my gal so far only sick thrice since birth and she is consider quite up to speed in most of her skills, she could walk on her own before she turns 1.

need advise.

The Abbot peronel called my friend said that they will return 1/2 the milk powder cos they need to examine but the milk bottle with the evidence she said she washed away cos it grow mould already...so what shall she do?

hoon : i dun think abbot personnel will do much, i think they will be hoping that the whole episode be *swept* under the carpet.

I think your friend lacks evidence against abbot also. So I dun think it's advisable to persuade the matter unless she got photographs or other things to proof. There is also a possiblity that something wet dropped into the tin after the tin is opened. since you mentioned that she has been feeding her gal finishing 1/2 a tin.

Nevertheless, she can report to ava and see if there are similar cases reported.

mummies, I need to vent

Just now while bathing Dana, I saw a big scratch on her upper left chest (looks like made by fingernails). Immediately before dressing Dana up, I questioned my phil maid (of 3 months) if she's aware of this scratch as she was the one who bathed Dana this morning. Without even thinking or looking at the scratch, she replied 'Maam, yah I saw it this morning'. I questioned her why she didn't inform us, she said 'I forgot'.

I immediately showed my hubby the scratch mark,and together we went to question her again why such a serious thing she didn't tell us. Guess what? She changed her story and replied 'Sir, I didn't see the mark. I dunno why just now I said saw it this morning. I didn't do it'. OMG! She's obviously guilty so she changed her story and try to lie to cover up!!!! We told her to tell the truth, even if she accidentally scratched Dana, it's ok but she must inform us. She insist it's not her but last night when I bathed Dana, there was no scratches on her body!!

Last week also, she wrongly opened Friso 3 when Dana's still drinking Friso 2. She kept quiet abt it until hubby discovered it. When we questioned her, she said, 'she didn't noticed'. Luckily we discovered it or else she would have fed Friso 3 to Dana without our knowledge!!

We're feeling really disturbed that our maid has no integrity....very vexed too cos it means that most prob. we have to hunt for a new maid again...
why is it so hard to find a trustworthy maid??? Feel very sad leh that Dana got scratched and we can't trace who did it. sighz!!!

angel

better change the maid..this maid dont seem honest. and handling toddlers, most important is careful but fr what u mention, she is not

Hi All Mummies,
I have nt log in for a long time.....
Wow all our little bb r now 1 yr old liao....
Time files....
Big boys n gals...

Happy Birthday to all April BBs....

My gal birthday is on 29 Apr 09... hehe, celebrating on 26 instead... hope all turns out well and hope my little gal will be happy abt it...

angel - based on what I have heard from my friends and relatives about the maids they have, it seems really difficult to find a good maid. 9 out of 10 seems to have problems with their maids....

Today is Kayla's actual birthday. We took her out to the zoo and I think she enjoyed it
She surprised us by saying another non-repeititive 2 syllable word - "ZEBRA" ahahaha...so in the end we bought a toy zebra for her :p

angel: its true that its difficult to find a good maid, especially for handling toddlers. I guess its all luck, sigh..

hi angel,

I have been having a maid 2 mths before my 8 yrs old son was born 8 yrs ago. Along the way, I had changed about 5 maids. My current maid has been with me for the past 4 yrs plus. Before her, there was also another 1 who completed her 2 yrs with us. With yrs of experience having a maid and going thru my 4 kids' babyhood with them, I can understand how you feel when you saw the scratch on Dana, especially so if she is your no. 1. But may I ask if you really mean it when you mentioned it's ok to tell you and your hubby that she had accidentally hurt Dana? Let me tell you, it's definitely not ok for you. I had went thru all these b4 too. I can totally understand why the maid dare not tell the truth cos she's just simply scare. I can assure you that you will definitely scream and scold her if she has admit the mistake. What I had learnt thruout these few years is not to ask my maid if she has did it or not. If she's the only 1 taking care of my kids (I do not have any parents staying with me), obviously she has to be the one. I will simply tell her "Dana has a scratch on her and I'm sure you must have accidentally scratch her. Please be careful in future cos she's still a baby and her skin is very delicate". There is no need for her to admit or deny that way.

As for the milk powder, I would want to believe she might really has mistaken the step 3 as step 2 since both the tins does looks alike. For me, I do sometimes mistaken too.

Please bear in mind that maids are human too and they tend to make mistake. After making a mistake, it's just human nature that she's afraid she will get a scolding, especially so when she see us parents so kan cheong over our kids. I have no intention to side with the maid but I would always like to think that they have parents like we do and if in future, the employers treat our kids the way we treat the maid, as a parent, I will feel heartpain too.

Hope you are not offended by my mail. Am just sharing my opinion.

Angel : Actually, i may consider changing her if i were you. Trust is very impt, once that is broken, its very difficult not be worry.

then again, i was lucky that i didnt need to change my maid since she arrived. i always remind her that it is very impt that she has to build up trust with us. So i expect her to tell us everything she does. and she did.... she told us she bathe my gal when she is feverish with vinegar. And afterwards, i had a "good" talk with her.. .. reminding her that constance is my child and she cannot make her own decision on how constance is to be treated.

any 1 remember what is the other brand for baby yogurt?where to find it?cos i cant seem to be able to find baby yoplait recently

Hi goodbb,

I saw baby yoplait at raffles city (tanglin marketplaece or jasons not sure) a few days ago.. U can check it out