(2008/04) April 2008

good morning. Thanks for your response.

Jes, I appreciate your sharing. My hubby and I will not hold it against the maid if she apologises for her mistakes (even if she did accidentally scratched Dana y'day). The most, I would be stern with her for few days then forgive her and move on cos we also dun want tension in the home. Infact, she has been forgetful and complacent on several occasions but we've never raised our voice or scolded her. We will always talk to her adult to adult during her pay day and advised her to buck up, be more diligent. This time round, we're just upset that she lied outrightly about the scratch
I like your suggestion of not asking the maid if she's responsible for the mistakes - just 'warn' her directly to be more careful in future. No point asking cos we know she'll deny it all the way. Thanks for the tip. It's just so frustrating to keep training new maids

i agree...good maids are extremely difficult to find..most of the times we have to bear with their lies and forgetfulness cos the next maid we change could be just as bad if not worst..my maid drives me crazy 9 out of 10 days she hardly remembers things and loves to make her own decisions with regard to my son or anything at all even though we've told her many times to ask first. she will just look at us and blink her eyes repeatedly if we ask her why didn't she ask us first.

Been a while since I last log on. Happy birthday to all the babies.

Is anyone keen to take over our slot for the April birthday bash as we might not be able to make it? Please let me know through PM as I won't be able to follow the thread.

Hi angel,

I'm glad that you are not offended by my earlier mail and gd to hear that you find my suggestion useful. I used to be very persistent, die die must forced the maid to admit her mistakes, in the end, both of us ended up unhappy. After a few of such incidents, I realised no point forcing her to admit. She already knew from the start that she is responsible for my kids, so if anything happen, then it has to be her since she's the main caretaker. I dun give her a chance to deny cos if she does, like u, my blood boil! But to get her to admit, it may be not so ez too. haha.... just got to play ard with this kind of thing. In fact, after having maid for so many yrs, I tend to let go alot more now as compared to b4. When I 1st started having a maid, i told my maid she CANNOT talk to other maid/pple cos scare later she's influence by them. Guess what my brother said to me? Prisoner also got the right to talk and yr maid is not a prisoner, so y she cannot tok to others? Aiyo.... that was kind of a wake up call for me.
Hope you iron the issue out with your maid. It's not ez to train a new maid, so for me, I try to tok it out and resolve it. Changing a maid is not an option for me, unless she's into stealing or hving a boyfriend.

Angel, Jes,

I'm also having problem with my maid. I've been complaining for months already but it's still the same one. Angel like you, I've never scolded her even if she did something wrong. I just tell her it's not right and life goes on. She is extremely forgetful too. I was gonna change a maid then my hubby reminded me. She may be slow, forgetful... but at least she doesn't steal. We are very careless people. We leave things everywhere. She's not capable of taking care of my son but we know that she dotes on him. It's true that it's not easy to train a maid. I always makes her feel like part of the family hoping she will feel the same.

calamari
your girl birthday is on 15th?
my boy also on 15th... i also went to the zoo yesterday. Wow, so smart .. can say zebra..
my boy zebra is... ba ba.. Never see you if not i sure go and say hi to your girl. I like her so much.

Caitlin
ur boy pout till sooo cute!! aiyo...if he pout next time u plant a kiss on him lar..ahhahaaa

jgal...
u like that say the fish oil...make me heart superb itchy leh....
how to eat? hehee...

angel...
could it be the maid accidentally scratch her? seems like she withhelding the truth wor..abit scary..must monitor her closely liao...

at home got web cam anot? to see what she doing?

goodbb..
wan to try petit miam? vanilla flavour..superb!
http://www.yoplait.co.nz/products.aspx?catid=32&proid=121

though its meants for 1YO, but i feed my boy since he 10months old

angel, jules' mum..
looks like i'm not the only one having maid's woes.. haiz
she quarrel with my mil last wk.. anyway, going to replace her la, she has worked almost 1 yr with us.. take good care of my boy but really cant stand her, always trying to provoke my mil even though she knows she has weak heart.. headache, headache

Hi choc,
Thanks.. But he can be a terror.. amused and angry at the same time. I always try to put a stern face and say NO but just can't do it when he starts all these expressions.

Hi goodbb,
I agree with choc that petit miam is yummy. My boy prefers the vanilla one. The all-strawberry etc is not at his liking. I started about the same as choc.. Think it's not as sour as baby yoplait.a

i personally feel the longer the maid work with u...their "wing harder"...so hor... more daring...
my friend's maid ah..work for 6months now ah..always on the phone... hahaaaa

caitlin....
hehee... how to be angry...so cute..haha

Advertisement

Fish oil and colostrum order.
Colostrum x 7 only
1-6. jaspire
7. sherin

Fish oil x 6 only.
1. sherin

For calendula cream, please email me.. cos' you gals are order so many many.. ha haha :p

maids

my 1st maid is very friendly type and always a bit kpo. she always like to chit chat to ppl n there are times i caught her not paying attention to my gal. when make mistake, she will insist she is right. there was once, she bathe my gal and i went into the batheroom to spot check n ask her why the water is hot? she said: i feel that is ok. then i put in the duckie thermometer and it shows hot. then i ask her to see. then i ask her y u always like to talk back to me? guess wat she say? send me back to agent. really dunno wat to say abt her. treat her so good n nv raise our voice at her. alot of times she made mistake, i open 1 eye n close 1 eye. and this is wat i get from her. i also caught her alot of times giving my gal cold milk but she keep telling me its ok. faint.

now having my 2nd maid, so far after she cm, my things nv spoil or disappear cos my 1st maid always got things missing or spoil then i always tell her to be careful n i do not wan to deduct her salary as she dun earn much. but just got some wried feeling abt her. dunno is it due to the 1st maid. hope she is ok.

caitlyn ur boy's pout is so cute.... mine recently started to reject porridge. even his porridge he oso eat a little bit then refused to eat liao. but he is ok wif milk n cereal. i wonder wat is wrong...

pooh bear party stuff

i got some pooh bear theme party stuff from cath. Anyone need it can arrange to collect from me?

1. banner (pooh n happy birthday)
2. pooh bear n friends to hang at the door
3. table cover
4. piglet n pooh bear balloons

Cath

Thank you once again for the stuff.

Hi for those with maid problems, I have a contact that has good maids. So far, my mum and aunties all get their maids from her and all are good. All these are for doing housework.

I got 2 maids from her for looking after babies and both are good. My sis also got one from her for baby and also good. If u wan her contact can email me at [email protected]

Hi Yvonne,
Is it ok for me to borrow the things from u? (as I don't post here frequently). My girl's birthday party is this sat.

re: maids
i think it has to be a "one eye open, one eye close" thing..

just to share my bad encounter with my 2nd maid who was with us for 1 week..
- refused to eat anything the whole day (my colleague told me to bring her to police station to take statement in case end up she accuse us of abusing her.. only when we wanted to go police station then the agent offered to come bring her back)
- have giddy spell for 3 days and refuse to work
- squat on the floor and pretend to be fainting (cos when i told her agent come ald, she looked refresh)
- did not wash her clothes, even underwear for 1 week and kept them all in my baby playroom!!
- stained one big patch on the bedsheet and mattress with menses when i bought her 2 packs of kotex requested by her
- work wise, cleaned the kitchen walls 3 times but seemed like never clean b4
- threw her stained pat into the bin w/o even wrapping it up!!

Reason: her friend ask her to go take over her employer cos the fren is going back soon..

she could have just tell us she wanted to leave.. and not come up with such tactics!

In the end: the employer did not take her up.. cos she found another maid!

Jgal's Advertisement

Fish oil and colostrum order.
Colostrum x 7 only
1-6. jaspire
7. sherin

Fish oil x 6 only.
1. sherin
2. Choc
3. Choc

For calendula cream, please email me.. cos' you gals are order so many many.. ha haha :p

i got some Fun to be One 1st Birthday cutouts which are opened but totally unused. Anyone wants, can pm me
Collection at Raffles Place or my place at JE.

2359317.jpg

lovemum: did you get caught in the rain yest at the zoo too? We were caught for 1 hour but just nice, Kayla was asleep as well at that time hehehe... Manage to cover the whole place? Perfect weather yesterday, isn't it?

dunno that petit miam can be taken at 1 years old,thot is 3 years old,can c from the cover from 1 years old?for yogurt,is there other brands beside yoplait suitable for our bbs?think meiji is too sweet

Re: Maid
Many of you here have seen my Fili maid. When she first came in June last year, she was very kaypoh, and loves to chat people up. Even when I brought her out shopping, she also tried on shoes in Zara (!) and I was so paiseh cos people were staring at her. Then hubby and I really knock some sense into her, explaining why its not appropriate to be trying out clothes/shoes when out with me as she is supposed to be working when out with me, and I am not bringing her 'gai gai'. She used to be an ex-HK maid and maids in HK were being treated very nice and had tons of freedom. Work-wise, she is good. She does everything properly, cooks for my girl and us (she cooks fantastic! self-learnt from cookbooks) and basically 'bao ga liao' all aspects of the house. She is very independent and does all our twice-weekly marketing for us. So I practically left the entire household for her to manage with $250 per month and she reports back every single item she spent on in a note book with all receipts attached. Not enough, she will ask from me. (By the way, she does not take care of Kayla...I still cannot trust babies with maids, maybe when Kayla is 3 and older).

No doubt, she still has her bouts of 'black face' but she so far has never lied about things and respects my parents and MIL. Most importantly, Kayla likes her and I can tell that she genuinely adores Kayla.

I believe that maids have to be trained. Sometimes giving them extra stuff like more money, more off-days, more hand-me-downs, buy some new stuff for them, etc might work in their attitude improvement. I promise my maid that she can go home every year for 2 weeks to visit her family and I will pay for her ticket home. Have bought her 1st ticket for this July
I also bought a box for her to send stuff home and I bought many canned food and clothes (at Gimmill warehouse sale) for her children. So little things like that will make them more appreciative. I also allow her to chat with other maids then she will know how good a life she has now. Of course, at the end of the day, next year, she might just say she wants to go back and not serve anymore. But at least she would have worked a good 2 years for me.

Goodbb,

petit miam shld be fine. My cousin and I have been giving tat to the kids since they are abt 8-9 mths old. At least it taste better than baby yoplait..

I have seen many mummies ordering colostrum powder. May I know how good is this powder? Should I feed my boy everyday and how long shld I feed that?

<font color="0077aa">good morning mummies

Finally the dae had come hehee todae is Baby Gid birthdae hehe.. think back, at this hour im preparing to be admit to kkh for induction heheeheh.. now the boy is sleeping beside me :p</font>

brought my ger to have her final prenvar jab yesterday and was told she was underweight for her height...

how to i increase her weight?

Hi Jgal, previously i made a transfer of $20 for the books.. stuff still not here yet? haven't received any email from you. let me know yah?

-- please confirmed if you still want ? -----
Baby's Box of Fun: A Karen Katz Lift-the-Flap Gift Set: Where Is Baby's Belly Button; Where Is Baby's Mommy?; Toes, Ears, &amp; Nose
http://www.amazon.com/Babys-Box-Fun-Lift-Flap/dp/0689038623/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&amp;s=books&amp;qid=1236859139&amp;sr=1-1
Spree price : ~ $24-$27 (U.P. : $29.48)
1. jaspire
2. cyl_16
3. maro
4. cotegr
5. jellyfield

--- the following book set is cancelled.. because the book is not nice -----------

Little Do's and Donts (3-Volume Set) : Excuse Me!/ I Can Share/ No Hitting!
http://www.amazon.com/Little-Dos-Donts-Gift-Karen/dp/0448445735/ref=pd_bbs_2?ie=UTF8&amp;s=books&amp;qid=1236859613&amp;sr=8-2
Spree price : ~$24-$27 (U.P. : $28.89)

jgal,
please cancel mine.. thanks..

Baby's Box of Fun: A Karen Katz Lift-the-Flap Gift Set: Where Is Baby's Belly Button; Where Is Baby's Mommy?; Toes, Ears, &amp; Nose
http://www.amazon.com/Babys-Box-Fun-Lift-Flap/dp/0689038623/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&amp;s=books&amp;qid=1236859139&amp;sr=1-1
1. jaspire
2. cyl_16
3. cotegr
4. jellyfield

--- the following book set is cancelled.. because the book is not nice -----------

http://www.amazon.com/Little-Dos-Donts-Gift-Karen/dp/0448445735/ref=pd_bbs_2?ie=UTF8&amp;s=books&amp;qid=1236859613&amp;sr=8-2

1. jaspire
2. cyl_16
3. cotegr
4. jellyfield
5. esther

I have a friend who is a SAHM currently staying in China. She is organising a private spree for chinese books. Anyone who is interested in getting chinese books can PM me and i can forward you her details.

Hi Jgal,

Pls cancel mine too. Thks.

1. jaspire
2. cyl_16
3. cotegr
4. esther

I have a Avent manual pump to let go at reasonable price , the box is opened for trying once only...actually its for my SIL but she bought herself a electric pump already....
i bought last week at kiddy palace for $75, willing to let go at 10% disc....

cloudme...
u wan to try to feed ur gal yogurt? heard will plump up the baby... or can try feed brown rice... also hearsay..

i been feeding yogurt lor.. hehee

strawberries ,...wah...so fast one year past! happy birthday to ur boy!

cloudme,

my son's also under weight. very gek sim. I've actually more relax with his food now. giving him little more flavour to food, if he wants bread, i'll let him eat tat instead of forcing him his food, he's little more meaty now. I'm giving him yogurt and he loves it. I also added butter add cheese to his diet.

sunday's ju's lunar birthday celebration. i'm down with viral infection. had fever this afternoon and both eye swollen. hope I'll get well by sunday. :p if not I'll be in shades on sunday

hi piggy mummy
Nordic cod liver oil may not be suitable for toddler. how sure who has made the recomm to you. but i am using nordic fish oil caps for myself.. but not for my little gal.
refer to recom age for nordic pdt
http://www.nordicnaturals.com/en/General_Public/Which_product_for_me_/166/

So far childlife is the only brand name that i come across recomm for young troddler but the pdts are very expensive in sg. If i am not wrong the CLO is selling $60++ a/f disc in gnc.

jules' mum,
take care of urself yah...

hmm tried yorgurt b4...tried brown rice...
well...me also let her eat what she wants now...
but still under weight...about 1/2 kg under weight...

maybe should get the cheese for her to try...
can they take the cube-type cheese with multi-flavours?