(2008/04) April 2008

hi jgal, am not getting the baby einstein book from spree. managed to get it at taka baby fair. each going for @ $21.30 only. you may wanna consider getting there.

hi mummies! its been a while, busy with Byron since he is so so active now. I realised being a SAHM is so much busier than FTWM ha.

I noticed some of you were getting play yard earlier, there are so many brands out there, which are the better and studier ones? Byron is really really strong, i am afraid he will push them over.

long long time nv post here liow, been very buzy at work n home...
seems like all the bb's r cruising ard n speaking a little...my little Luann can stand without support but speech wise she is still blabbling...her favourite is pa pa pa pa and ma ma ma ma and mum mum mum or ah pa...not sure if she is calling us or nonsencial blabbling..ha ha ha

amy...

u also joining the club ah...ha ha ha...his package is ok lah to save the hassle of decorations...

strawberries

just had my boy's birthday today. thanks for recommending nee, my guests & myself like the cake. design is nice & cake is moist & not dry. really nice! except the fondant is rather sweet though but all fondants taste sweet.

re: Progress of Babies

Jayden is 11 mths 3 wks already. turning 1yr next week.

He is much slower than other children here. He can only say ," mum mum (eat), Ah, Oh." Can't pronounce any words with B, D.

He can walk without support for 2 steps at most. Show twinkle twinkle sign when you sing twinkle twinkle little stars. Will wave bye bye depending on his mood. But cant clap or other sign language.

But he is laughing a lot more than before. He screams too. *headache* --> how to stop him from screaming?

Cherish, Chewy & Jgal,
Thanks. Ya hope he will be well soon. Brought him 2 see PD afternoon, PD told us to do a urine test cos scared is urine infection, so checked oredi is not. Then he say mayb is fake meassel but hv 2 see if after mon any rashes or nt, if no rash then still fever hv 2 do blood test. Really hope he is juz fake meassel.

Cherish,
charis's fever since last sun, wat is her temp? cos eshin's fever abit on the high side oso on & off so hv been monitoring closely.

jamie thanks for the update.

scubababe i have the haenim playyard. it is quite ok. my boy can pull himself to stand in the play yard. quite stable too.

Hi JuniorRain,

My son had fever a month plus back, fluctuating between 38-39 degree celsius. Went to PD twice and did blood test for dengue n viral. In the end, the results showed viral infection and the whole ordeal took 5 days and the fever was gone.

scuba, I got e haenim playyard too. I put him inside e yard with some toys when I wanna get things done. actually I want to get another half set. anyone wanna share?

juniorrain, is eshin feeling better today? hugs to him.

Back from cruise but did not really enjoy the cruise leh
Hubby fell sick after eating pork loin. Food not clean and he kenna vomit and diarrhoea the whole of yesterday...argh! So it was me and Kayla hahaha and my MIL as usual, was busy at the casino for 2.5 days!~ From the cruise, I learnt that Kayla is terrified of mascots! And guess what! I actually hired mascots for her birthday party! Jia lat lah...how to make her not scared? Hahahahha...

scubababe: Haenim playyard is quite steady. Kayla can climb and stand and cruise around the perimeter of the yard and the yard won't fall. I would say after getting the yard, my mom is not so 'xin ku' anymore running after Kayla, as Kayla cannot sit still one, keeps moving and kaypoh-ing around!

jrrain: how is eshin now?

charismama: does charis have rashes now? If so, she should be recovering from the fever. The rashes after fever is called roseola. They will fade off after a few days.

caitlin,
oic. huh 5days then fever gone....... cos these 3days he is very cranky, oni want me.

Calamari,
huh ur hubby sick bcos of the food........poor thing must b xin ku for him.
Luckily u & kayla are ok.
Eshin still the same, fever fluctuated from 37- 39.4degrees. Hv been using the koolfever on his forehead non-stop but like no use, oso try 2 let him drink more water.

mushloom : thanks for the information.. ;) maybe later drop by taka. will update the list if going to get the book or not.

juniorrain : I think sponge with wet towel more effective than e koolfever. my pd taught me to wipe e face, body, back and neck. 1 part at a time then after few sec wipe with dry towel. normal room temperature water is fine. it's slightly more work but I think it works better. you may want to try.

Jules'
thks for ur advise
, ya me oso try 2 use wet towel to sponge under his neck which the gp told me more effective than sponging the forehead, quite effective oso.

<font color="0077aa">hi jamie,

hehehe.. u r welcome. .im juz sharing there's this lady oso doing cakes only haha.. ur boy name bryan? cuz i sae the cake from her webbie.. &amp; is very nicely done :D</font>

JuniorRain, Charismama: Hope your little buds get well soon!!

Xavier has also been sick since 8th March ill now, started off with fever and runny nose. Seen PD twice liao, still the same. Now coughing his lungs out, running a fever, choking on his phlegm amd runny nose ... I have given him hou ning powder from Yu Ren Sheng, but dun seems to work. Any mummy tried giving baby before? Can I know how long does it takes to be effective ?

<font color="aa00aa">morning mummies</font>
JuniorRainm Charismama, prawnie..
hope your babies will recover soon!

Prawnie,
I gave my boy hou ning 2 mths ago when he has cough and lots of phlegm.. It takes about 3 days b4 the phlegm is less, i only give him a btl (too ex :p) and after that bao yin dan for the next few days.. i think he recovers faster than taking western medicine. hope this helps!

Prawnie,
I gave him 1 bot of Hou ning then i continue with
bao yin dan or ba bao san frm EYS also..will recover..I continue with PD med as well
Chinese med work slower than western med so nid sometime to let the phlgem clear.
Issac also coughing for ard 2 weeks le..now is recovering le..

Look like a lot of bb are not feeling well..

My gal also had high fever since sat evening (37-39.5 degrees) but we just monitor and give her fever medication since she was playing and rather cheerful still. Only brought her to Raffles Hospital last night when her temp remains at 38.4, the doc give her some medication though the butt and her temp drop to normal. This morning her temp is ard 37.5. I met Yvonne &amp; Tiffany at RH last night too. Tiffany is also had temp.

Anyway, doc told us it's not so bad that bb is having fever because this means that baby is immune system is maturing. And that's good news.

Anyway, I highly recomm to bring baby to RH during emergency. My wait at RH is short 20mins only and they give me all the medication required by my gal *cough syrups, powder for diarrhoea, fever medication.*

hi mummies..will be bring my bb to aust next month so now thinking how am i supposed to bath for him...can any mummies share experience or advise??
Please help, thanks.

pinky poh,

I'm also going aus next month! hehe. Going Sydney. I thought of it. Either buy a inflatable tub or let Julian sit on the floor. We started to bathe him with shower. He is ok it so we might just let him sit on the floor.

Pinky poh and Jules' Mum,

I have started to train Ernest to stand while bathing
So no worries about bath tub or not.

Hope all babies get well!

Calamari : Oh no, then ask the mascot to dress down?

winter.. my gal also standing up for bath now.. but she very scare of the shower... when she see my maid touch the shower head.. she will get worried.

strawberries
yup, my boy's name is bryan. she already updated the pic on her blog. she's a very nice lady &amp; i like her service too.

sick babies
oh dear, seems alot of babies are sick. speedy recovery for all!!

Prawnie &amp; Maro

Cherish
This morning noticed there are some rashes on his stomach &amp; hands. Then nw my mum told me his face oso hv. Really hope is false measles. Later bringing him 2 see PD again.

Ya hope all the bbs get well soon.
When they hv fever must observe whether their appetite drop or nt &amp; also if they r restless or nt.

Pinkpoh: I bought the Safety 1st inflatable tub to bathe Kayla for her holiday. Cost $29.90 at Toysrus and on top of that got 15% discount. Don;'t buy at Robinsons. It costs $49.90 there!

Jgal - I've emailed u asking u to take in my order for the no mess mat (tiger/bear) as im unable to post in your overseas thread. Kindly confirm b4 i make the payment. Tks!

Jgal, same.. my boy will start to fuss when he hears the shower.... Think it is very scary for him?

Calamari, hmmm, Mickey and Minnie mascot, ask them to reduce to doll size? Or move less? hahahaaaaa.

Hi Calamari, thanks!! Will go down this weekend to look for it.

My another qts, is about the bedding setting..did you gals put your bb to sleep on the hotel bed or bassinet(if bb still can fit in...)??

Winter, jgal, my son's ok with shower. I think he love to play water tat's why. hehe. We started with sprinkle bit of water on his face then quickly wipe his face. Slowly, we use cup then now shower. What I was told is to count to 3 before you splash or sprinkle water. Let them get prepared.

Pinky : My service appt is not providing cot so I may rent a cot there or bring my portable playpen. Still not sure. I don't intend to put him on the bed. Worry he'll get the habbit of sleeping with us.

winter n jgal, i also use the 1..2..3 technique. this was taught to me by the aquaducks. tat time brought ivan to the trial and they actually mentioned by counting to 3, it helps them to get ready for something to happen. initially my boy will cry when the shower head goes over his head. now he quite ok with it and whines less.

Mushloom and Jules' Mum,

I also use 1, 2, 3 but my MIL don't... so now he hear the noise and somemore I 1, then he start to cry liao... So gu niang right?

Maro &amp; Mifi: Thanks !

Just brought Xavier back from PD, been given antibiotics and neubiliser.Hope he gets better and recover in time for his birthday..

Hugs to Constance and Tiffany. Get well soon babes!

Winter : u very funny. haha. I think he's scared already. Slowly build up his confidence again. I can imagine... say 1 then he start to cry. Haha. He knows something is going to happen.

jgal,
hope Constance recover soon.. i use those forehead type of thermometer, can be used for ear too.. may not be that accurate but at least easier and faster to take bb temperature..

re: showering bb
think it's time i'll try to shower davien, till now stil using the tub.. hehe.. would try the tips offered here. cheers..

Gals' if no objection.. i going to get from Taka this book for you tomorrow at $21++ according to mushloom! .. please remove your name if you dont want the book anymore..

Jgal Spree - Amazon books 365 Days of Baby Einstein and Katz Karen Book Sets
Baby Einstein :365 Days of Baby Einstein
http://www.amazon.com/Baby-Einstein-365-Days/dp/0786819081

Spree price : ~$24 ( U.P : $SGD31.32)
1.araid22
2.kate
3. verre
4. jgal
5. cyl_16
6. bebe11
7. eniale
8. na_na