(2008/04) April 2008

Jules' Mum, i haven't asked my PD abt trying to stop bb from standing, but from what i've read, baby won't want to stand if they're not ready to. so if they want to stand, it should mean that they're ready.

Adel can't sit up from stomach yet but she loves to try to pull to stand. before this, she'll scream to get us to help support her up, even when we try to ask her to sit by lowering her, she'll protest by screaming and locking her knees to try to continue standing. but when she's tired she won't be interested to stand at all. baby knows best what they need, i think we just be there to watch over them and give them support (both physocal and mental).

adel recently keeps throwing things down from the highchair. i think she enjoys watching our reaction and seeing us reach for her toy. sigh.. every meal she takes with us (if she's not eating we try to keep her occupied with toys) i think there's at least 20 picking-ups to do -_-

Calamari, Diva & lovemum: Thanks !! Shall try it out and decrease it gradually

Diva - i hv the mat from BP and i don tik its kinda ugly with weird designs, guess different pple hv different opinions, rather i like the prints, tik i like cute stuff rather than plain ones. So far its ok on kaylen.

goodbb: $40+ from Mothercare before discount (if u have Mothercare discount card). $30+ in Kiddy Palace perhaps. Defnitely works for Kayla as I don't see her perspire anymore even in hot chinatown!

lynn: i read somewhere that babies at this age know how to pull themselves up and stand. BUT they dunno how to sit back down. Hahahah!

calamari and lynn ,

ya. julian knows how to stand but dunno how to sit. he will throw himself on e mattress and smile. he thinks tat it's fun. he will keep doing.

he likes to throw things too. I pick up until pek chek. when he's crawling, he like to throw a ball or toy then crawl to it, throw again and crawl to it again.

diva

yes he wears e footed pj.

lynn, jules mum - my gal can sit back down by herself, can squat to pick up things from the floor and stand back up again..she learned how to do this quite soon after learning to stand and walk around....thik your bb will learn how to do that next!!

piggy mummy & araid22, I seems always feeding Charis too.

Average in total she drink around 1200ml + 3 solid + 1 fruit.
Usually I will make 240ml for her, sometimes she will finish all, sometimes 180ml - 200ml. If she drink less than 200ml, she will drink again in 2hr plus.

but when she is out, she drinks lesser. she is distacted by the surrounding.

I have bring Charis to Chinatown, she like to see the deco. keep pointing and say A A A

fan net - found it at a neighbourhood store! Can try there if you need..

BTW, any of you using the haenim playard? Thinking of getting it, any feedback if this is useful?

Calamari,
we oso brought Eshin to chinatown on Friday nite. Eshin was oso excited to see all the red deco hanging in the stores. Is rather humid and abit crowded but still not so packed yet.

Koori,

No misunderstanding intended, I was speaking for myself when I said that the ventilation pads from BPs were ugly.
I personally do not like the colorful prints and designs. You're right, it is cute. A lil too cute for me this time, plain and simple won this round

Another person might like them and by all means. Good for you that you do!
And great to hear that it works on Kaylen, it's cheaper than the Mothercare one isn't it?

Kaylen looks very ladylike in her dresses and very happy in the shopping cart too!

Calamari,

You're right! Ethan will spring up on his feet but he's almost impossible to push back down haha
And if we do manage to sit him back down, he'll spring right back up with a grin and a chuckle. He finds the whole game very amusing :p

Charismama,

1200ml is a lot! She's got a great appetite!

My son also drinks less when we're out, sometimes not at all and only on the ride home. He's rather easily distracted so we even have to keep a quiet environment at home during mealtimes.

It's near impossible to find a quiet nursery outside, the only one we've found was at Taka and he finished his whole feed.

Diva,
ya at first Eshin oso dun know how 2 sit back down, he will juz fall when he let go his hands on the support when he is in the cot or playpen. But after afew try, he now knew how 2 lower himself & slowly sit down on his own. I think bbs after afew try on the certain actions they will know how 2 do it oredi. Now Eshin is trying to stand on his own w/o any support, he can stand like afew secs w/o support.

Spunik,

I called chong choon a while back to enquire about the play yard too but decided against getting it. Since you are interested, you might 1 2 know that they are selling at 140 for a set of 4 panels and to surround a bumper mat you will need 6 panels which means 1.5 sets. They told me that we could do a BP for 10 sets and they will take $5 off each set. And the best part is delivery is to individual homes so no worries about collection later. If you are keen, maybe gather interest from the mummies here and see how to go about it later.

diva, agree that it's impossible to find a quiet nursery room outside. esp since Adel needs to drink milk while asleep (i think she does know she's drinking milk, like half asleep, cos she'll open her eyes a little) it's impossible to feed her outside anywhere. we always rush back to the car to feed her milk. it's not good environmentally to leave the car engine on, but we've no choice.

as for solids, it's very difficult to feed her outside as well, after a few mouthfuls she'll lose interest, but the same thimg happens at home. she'll want to reach for her toys or go do something else rather than sit down in the highchair and eat. i've resorted to feeding her on the playmat while she's seated and fingering her toys. after a few mouthfuls she'll reach for her toys or try to creep away/pull up on something, so gotta bring her back. but at least there's minimal screaming in protest, which happens a lot when she's trapped in her chair.

Diva - thanks for compliments, i tried to dress her more in dresses cos she looks like boy haha.

Cherish - your ger really drink alot, kaylen only drank at most 750ml per day if not around 500ml.

re : feeding outside
My gal is the opposite, she finishes her whole feed without fuss when we are out. In fact, she tend to be more distracted when she is at home!

feeding outside

julian eat very little solid when outside. less than half of his usual very little portion. but he's ok with milk. in fact he will cry for milk.

my maid really innovative. she spoils julian. in order to make him eat, she put longan and his food on a plate and pretend he's eating longan. today pretend he's eating prawn mee and he finished it. no wonder whenever I feed him he dun wanna eat.

charismama : i hope so

calamari : that's a excellent shot..

koori : Kaylen looks so happy in her trolley.. ha haha

Jenny : happy new year

Spuntnik : i bought the play yard last wkend.. no choice.. Cos' my gal is crawling all over the house.. 4 panel $149.

Koori: Kaylen looks so cute in her hat! Love the look!

RE: Feeding on little solids when outside
Elliot has same problem! I thot it was him.. hahaha.. my PIL still said he's very "Dor sum". So I have to have his fav toy to standby to distract him back to his food.

Jule's Mum: Gosh your maid really creative! Has he tried eating longans already? ? :p

Playyard: I am also considerating.... I am going mad just looking after Elliot and abandoning the house which looks like a pig sty now... humph!

chewy : no la. julian haven't tasted longan. my maid only put it there so he thinks he's eating it. he's more interested in our food then his own.

summer mama : is e walker stable? I'm looking for a walker tat's not too light weight and slippery. my neighbour got him 1. instead of pushing, he lift it up.

I intend to get e play yard too. it's so tiring chasing him around.

Charis drink alot but eat little. Usually less than 20spoons feed.
I have not try feeding her outside, she is messy when eating at home.. so scare to feed her outside.

when dominic eats porridge you find fish flakes on his hair and even on his privates at the end of meal time. i'm scared of feeding him outside!

<font color="aa00aa"> Good morning mummies</font>

re: playard
i have the playard borrowed from angel, put my boy inside but still one has to be around cos scared he bumped himself and my boy likes to stand up now when he can get hold of anything, a picture of him inside the playard.

2044893.jpg

re: feeding
my boy also, when outside, do not wan to drink or sleep. headache lor.. these few days lagi worse, refuse milk even at home.. one day less than 400ml, not sure if due to teething or he is not well.. headache

Maro:
my ger same same...dun like to drink milk these few days...

my ger's insurance agent came by on sat for filling the claiming process and she told me that she notice my ger's gum a bit white looks like going to teething soon...

cloudme,
oh, so possible is due to teething.. i really hope so, super stressed, my boy is like shrinking in size. he seems smaller when compared to my nephew who is only 6 mths old

anyway, wat insurance u bought? need to fill forms for claiming? mine is GE and hospital told me they will help us process the claim! so we did not do anything at all.. :p

maro:
i bought AIA for my ger as she born in ESH,
KKH also told us no need to do anything but AIA sent out a letter to us and cc my ger's agent
so she just dropped by to see what other things can be claim for the stay in hosp...and to give us a pkt of ang bao and a 2009 diary...

Looks like there are quite a few mummies who are interested to get the playard. Shall we combine orders to get the best deal? I need 6 panels. Anyone interested?

Jule's Mum, yes this walker is stable. she can walk around the cart playing with the things inside and it doesnt topple when she press on it to walk.

Hi juniorRain,

yes, it's something like the enclose picture.

Hi jaspire, I think it's $149 per 4 pcs based on 1 of the mummy's email abv.

Happy New Year to all Mummies &amp; Babies!!!

Any babies having rashes or lil bumps around their mouths? I've been constantly keeping my son's mouth dry &amp; clean. Tried to look for pacifier which sides doesn't touch the skin but can't find in kiddy palace. Any advice?

Sigh! Baby Kayla has been having on and off low-to-medium grade fever for 6 days now. It always subsides after paracetamol or suppositories. But will recur after 10 hours. Seems always there, and never goes away for good! PD took a blood and urine test today and confirms there is no infection whatsoever. Just a virus (my mom passed it to her). But why is the fever still there after soooo long? PD says to return if fever still recurs on and off in the next 2 days. Otherwise, Kayla still as active as ever, seems that its not bothering her...except that she drink lesser BM.

winter: if so, it will be her 7th one lor ...can't imagine so many more teeth to go!! :p

jgal: thanks....so far she is ok now 7 hours more to the 10th hour mark, hope fever does not come back again!!

Hi juniorRain,

not sure if there will be better price if we buy more. Got to check that out. I went to Hyperstore and Baby Kingdom just now and both are selling at $149. Does anyone know if there's any cheaper brand play yard available?

Hello mommies,

My mom, hubby and I brought Ethan on a day trip today and we fed him solids outside for the first time.
We sat ourselves in a relatively quiet spot by Singapore mall standards but he was still distracted and bothered. Hubby held him while I did the feeding and he was arching his back and wriggling like a fish outta water.
We finally put him in the stroller and fed him there, should have done that earlier coz it was easier! He was still squirming though.
Thankfully his arms weren't flying otherwise mom and baby would've been covered with food by the time it was over!

He still managed to finish 6tbsp of barley cereal, 1 jar of carrot puree and drink 90ml milk. Feeding time FELT like 1 hour.. hubby and I were so exhausted after.

He even pooped immediately after eating and screamed through the diaper change. Everybody was staring and I was just laughing coz I didn't know what had come over my 'usually pretty well behaved' son. My gosh, what a day!

Thank God Ethan napped for 2 hours when we got home coz we knocked out too. It really felt like our whole family ran a marathon today! Haha :p

Hope everyone else had a good Monday

Calamari: Elliot hugs Kayla and we wish her speedy recovery!

Babe, babies' fever take a longer time to recover, glad to hear Kayla is still her usual self
My PD said teething won't cause fever so much so probably it's the weather. You &amp; Alvin take care too k. *hugs*