(2008/04) April 2008

so happy today not working and Adel successfully pulled herself to stand from sitting position using the cot rails. I was so happy i went "yay!" and she was tickled by it she kept chuckling when she tried to do the same again. but haven't even succeed, just put her hands on the cot rails she chuckled non-stop already..

RE: Formula milk

Calamari, I am going to intro 1 feed of FM probably when Kayla is after 9mths old if the PD say its fine... cos right now my supply is still ok. But my MIL super worried Kayla might rejects FM. Haiz...

RE: GD baby flashcards
Lynn, I am going for the GD baby advance class on 17th Jan (Sat). If you still not sure, you want to go for the class again? Angel, you wanna join me?

Jaspire and Lynn,

Happy New Year! Very guilty to say we haven't been flashing the GD cards consistently to Dana as she's been down with several bouts of flu/fever since entering infantcare and we've also been struggling without a maid since Sept. Not to mention, we were away for a large part in Dec. So hubby plans to re-flash the beginners cards to Dana and attend the advance class only when we're ready. Sighz, we're really lousy, spent $ but didn't follow up. Hope we'll keep up the pace in 2009. Can trouble you both to drop me lil emails or posts like these often to remind me ya? Hugs to Bb Adel and Kayla.

Btw, Dana slipped and knocked her forehead when she was standing in her cot this morning. This is not her 1st knocks but the impact was the loudest! Now there's a big bruise on her right forehead, so heartpain. Our bbs are getting more active, learning to stand and cruise, we had to be extra watchful...

jgal/ lynn - my ger finally got her 1st tooth, out of bo geh club officially hehee..but duno why only 1 tooth not 2 teeth come out together.

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">HaPpY Ox Year Mummies &amp; Babies</font></font>

<font color="119911">Kaylen mama, my boy got 1 bottom incisor tooth sprouted at a time too, accompanied by another one after 1.5mth of waiting geez.. *shrug*</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Dana mama, there's this folktale saying, buay buak buay tuah.. it's part &amp; parcel though agree that hv to follow them everywhr hope allow me to slim down this way :p lil tip to minimize bruising is to apply cold compress to affected area instantly, this will reduce the swelling and brusing ya
Cheers, Dana &amp; mama</font>

Hi babyliss, nice to see you here. How have you been? Happy New Year to you and bb Owen. Yah, I didn't apply cold compress immediately, just picked her up and sayang and rub so become bruised...next time I will. Thanks for the tip!

Congrats to Kaylen on getting her 1st tooth on 2009. Dana's still in the waiting club....

Clover, Prince Alexander is so charming. That is a nice photo indeed, love his smiles! :D

Sputnik and maro,

Julian also like to play with the fan. Dunno wat's so nice about it. Haha. He will pull himself up to standing position. I need the fan cover too.

He managed to change position from crawling to sitting now. Hehe. So happy. He is still in the bo geh club. We could see the gums abit swollen. Think it's coming out real soon. His appetite is very much affected these few days.

Jules' mum,

same same Alaric gums also a bit swollen, wondering how long before his teeth will appear.

currently he is still in the "bo geh" club, and "bo moh" too hahaa.....

Ooh... Kayla shld be out of the bogeh club too! I saw a white dash on the top tooth, but same as babyliss, only 1 tooth wor... how come most babies sprout tooth from the lower gums and Kayla is from the top? So farnie leh... any other babies sprout top first?

Angel, dun worry... I have also stopped flashing for almost 1mth... dats why I am lacking behind too. I have not started the division and will start either this weekend or on next monday.

cOnGRats Kaylen and Kayla for your new tooth!

My mother warned me.. because it's been so long... my gal (she is a mar bb) may get many at the same time.. so it will be very painful for her..*Jmum! getting ready for many fevers, hunger strikes*

Bo Geh Club member **toothless tigress ** ha haha
1. Adel
2. Constance
3. Dana

Maro,
Ethan gets the occasional scratch on his face too, more so last time than now though. He'd get them on his forehead, nose and eyelid. He has a tiny scab on his eyelid now coz he scratched himself yesterday.
I don't cut his nails quickly enough hence the damage :p But they heal fine, doesn't leave a mark.
He's been scratching his ears lately coz his hair is growing out and probably tickling his ears a lil.
Could Davien's hair be irritating his forehead and ears, hence the scratching?

Lynn,
Like Adel, Ethan actively pulled himself up from sit to stand position using the cot rails today too. He's like a spring, hubby tried to push him down and he kept bounding back up! He was grinning and chuckling the whole time. It was a riot :p
He's also attempting to move along the cot rails, somewhat successfully.. he just needs help with his footwork

Koori,
Congrats on Kaylen's first tooth! Many more to come, 19 to be exact :p

Jules' Mum,
Where is your fan that Julian can get to it?
Our fans are very much out of reach.

Angel,
Kisses to Dana's bump. She's a tough cookie!

jgal,

my neighbour bb has her teeth out at 11mth old, but she has 6 teeth out at the same time! No fever, only slight cranky, so good! maybe Constance same too!

Re: crawling on floor
Recently Charis wants to get down and crawl on the floor, walk aagainst the wall.. usually i let her crawl on mattress and stand in playpen.. so scared that she will hit herself on floor, so far she has knock herself twice..

Re: calling mama
Charis will call ma ma when she cry or want something, but this ma ma is not refering to me.
It is refering to her ah ma.. so disappointed.

sputnik,
went to daiso at vivo, the fan cover is sold out :p think hv to try to look for it at those neighborhood stores.

angel,
*sayang* dana for me! davien also has a fair share of knocks ever since he starts to crawl

diva,
suspect that too, trying to bring him to my usual hairstylist for hair cut today but fully booked
where do u ladies bring yr babies for haircut har? :p

btw, anyone wants to sell their jumperoo (in good condition)? my sil is looking for one..

jaspire, me now doing the equation cards but flashing only answer cards, but not asking bb for the answer (problem solving yet)..

now must sit Adel on the floor and show her the cards, she doesn't want to be in any chair. even feeding her in the highchair is very tough. she'll take a few mouthfuls before screaming to get out. i've always wanted to cultivate good table manners and feed her in the highchair all the time, but now to save my sanity i let her just fit on the playmat and feed her while she fingers her toys.

jgal, how is Constance's appetite now?

my supply dropped cos i reduce to 3 pumps a day now, dunno can mainatine till 1 yr old or not. can check with other mummies her how many bottles and how many ml are your babies drinking each time? Adel take anything from 4 to 6 (if she's not in the mood for solid food) bottles, each time from 80 to 180ml. so difficult to predict how much she'll drink so i've gotta fill her bottles up to 180ml everytime and just see how much she takes and gotta throw away whatever remains. ever since i reduced pump frequency i can't afford to do that anymore. wonder if i should start FM?

angel, i think there's no need to re-do the beginner cards even though you've stopped for a period of time. i remember lawrence saying just pick up from where you've left off.

you've had it so tough with Dana's flu and all that. is she still in infantcare? i'm wary of putting Adel in infantcare for reasons like these. my colleague's bb in infantcare also same case, frequently down with one thing or the other.

maro : trattie wants to sell hers.. you check with her if she still habe it..

lynn.. my gal still doing 30-120ml per meal.. :| I have given up on giving her more milk. I am now feeding her biscuits in between so that she needs less milk. My mother told me that my gal can go on 2-porridge-a-day when she is 10 mth old since she dun like milk.

charismama,

I was worried like you about julian crawling on e floor too. I kept bringing him back to e mat. one day I decided to let him crawl on e floor. I crawled beside him. haha. I tried to save him from knocking a few times. now he is quite stable already. sometimes will still knock on wall la. or step on toys and lose balance. haha.

diva

my fan's in e leaving room. it's a standing fan. I think it's quite difficult to get it out of his reach unless we dun use it. he will crawl towards it and stand up. he will crawl to cupboard to open e doors or play with curtains. thanks to my sis. sigh.

lynn,

sometimes julian also scream after few mouth. for me, I'd take it as he's still full and will take him out and try later. I gave him pasta stars. he dun really like it.
he dun like oats too.

nana,

I can feel julian's gums bit sharp but still can't see anything.

he's been scratching his ears too. not sure if it's teething. just to share, few months back he scratch till bleed. found out it's ear infection.

jules mum &amp; nana,

if you feel that his gums are sharp, before you know it, the teeth will be out! =D

that's what happened with sean..his 2 bottom teeth has been sighted for ard 1 mth, not grown fully yet and his upper ones are cutting thru..can tell he is teething coz more whiny, keep chewing n salivating!

sean is still not crawling..=( the thing dat he does best is bobbing, at best, rock n rolling to music. tickles and amuses everyone in the house! haha..

can i check with the mummies here how often do ur babies poo? is it normal to poo only once every 2-3 days? still TBF..with 3 meals of solids..

maro &amp; diva,

i also have a problem with sean scratching himself silly, bleeding and all. scabs, blah blah. sighz. nails cut and filed, still not much use. worse, he has pretty bad eczema that hasn't cleared. i hear jaspire's kayla and julian already slowly recovering, but sean's stubborn eczema seems to be staying put, for now only, i hope!

for me, no choice, i let him wear mittens when he goes to bed. =/ and has even resorted to leg warmers to stop him frm scratching his calves.

Maomi: Kayla poos once every 2 days without fail haha! She's on TBM with 3 meals of solids a day on weekdays and 2 meals of solids on weekends.

Lynn: haha! Adel sounds a lil like Kayla! Next to her solids, she is managing about 5 to 6 bottles a day, to an avg of 680ml to 750ml of BM each day. I also fill her bottle up to 180ml, of cos sometimes waste lorr
so heartpain. Only morn feed I fill up to 200ml. Morn she most guai, normally finish 200ml.For me it gets most stressful when its that time of the month, cos BM supply will drop by 200ml+ a day.

Mummies: I wintend to waen off xavier totally by the time he turns one.

How to I cut down my milk supply without having engorgement.

Anyone brought baby to Chinatown to soak in the festive mood yet? hb and I brought Kayla there yesterday and I think she enjoyed seeing all the RED decor. Even got a couple of freebies from stall owners hahaha! If interested, better bring baby there soon before the crowd thickens in the next weeks! Here's a black and white 'trying to be artistic' pic we attempted to take of Kayla with the flavour of old chinatown at the background:

2039605.jpg

Calamari,

Cute!
I'd like to bring Ethan one of these days but he's teething again and I'm not sure if he'd enjoy it since it's his molar coming out and he's been screaming coz of the pain.

Where did you park? I'm not familiar with Chinatown and neither is hubby since he isn't from around here.
Btw, that ventilation pad is a real life saver isn't it? :p

diva: go during weekdays after 3pm...or else too hot! Plus u need one of those fans. We even bought another manual fan haha just in case it gets too hot. But recently the weather has been conducive, not too bad and YES, the ventilation pad is definitely worth the money! Got 2, 1 for the car seat, 1 for the stroller! Hhehehe...

We parked at Keong Saik Rd opposite Hotel 1929. Impossible to find parking at the covered carparks!!

jgal,
thanks, will msg tratties :p

maomi,
that's bad lor.. davien so far only at his face.

calamari,
hv not brought my boy to chinatown yet but he is already fascinated by the decorations when we went to bugis to buy yday, guess they really like RED colour :p

Ventilation Pad
When did u all get them calamari n diva? Good to use? How do i know if shevon needs one? Check the back for wetness if she is on stroller n car seat?

Simp: you know shevon needs one if her back is wet or feels hot. We bought the Aerosleep ventilation pad from Mothercare (only avail at the Harbourfront branch). Think its avail at OG as well. Sometimes there's BP selling but not the Aerosleep brand and not sure whether its as effective

Prawnie: must be cold cabbage hor. If I'm not wrong, have to use the china cabbage. Tear out the leaves and apply on breasts.

Happy New Year to all!!! :D

Sherin: hahaha Summer looks so cute! Our supergal!

Babybliss! Must meet u up soon.. sorry been busy

Elliot gave me New Yr pressis too AMy! He can crawl!!! Hahaha

JTS: Pampers Dry promo @ shop and save

My boy use that during the day. It is now $9.90 per pack . Max 3 packs with $10 purchases. I think only 2 days promo .

mummies who let babies crawl on e floor, did you notice if their knees are red? I tried giving julian knee guards but it's rather slippery. he looks like he's skating and slipped a few times. haha. my hubby joke tat he wants to get julian a helmet to protect his head from knocks.

Happy new year! Finally back to Singapore, sort of miss the convenience of having so many people willingly taking care of Maddy back in Indonesia though
Now back on our own.

Yesterday we discover that Maddy finally get 4 teeth at one go. Haha quite funny because I thought they all will get only one each time, not 4 at the same time.

Angel: Maddy too knock her head a lot, but so far also no bruises or major impact

Have a good night everyone

prawnie: my hairstylist told me to fry black bean and drink the juice and you will not feel engorge. She says the milk will not come in but you will still have milk slowly it will decrease. And if you decide to breast feed again you can do so.
Its actually the one in chinese cooking, we always use to add to steam fish, that one is the preserve form. We need to buy the fresh one.
She says her mum and in law are both confinement lady.
Please don't ask me if it works. I have not tested it myself. But will definitely give it a try when my boy decide to stop breastfeeding.

Calamari,
Ok we'll park around the hotel area, will probably end up driving around a bit looking for lots anyway. Hope Ethan will be in better spirits next week.

Simp,
The ventilation pads from BPs look kinda ugly with weird prints and all. Like Calamari said, don't know if it's effective too. The Aerosleep one from Mothercare is definitely worth it, Ethan no longer perspires at the back of his head/neck.

Jules' Mum,
Haha we joke that we should get Ethan a protective helmet too! My aunt even said that the rugby type is best coz it's just a leather cap of sorts.. wonder if there's infant sizing :p
Actually a good idea though coz I'm very worried about Ethan getting big knocks as he's still quite unsteady.

Prawnie,

Definitely cold cabbage leaves. Like Calamari said, use the China type.
At the time, my breasts were very warm/hot for some reason so using chilled leaves from the fridge wasn't good enough as it got warm so quickly. Put it in the freezer to make it extra cold if you like, it'll also last longer.

That's what I did when I decided to stop breastfeeding

mummies who feed their bb 3 solid meal per day, wana to know how u slot in 3 solid n 5 to 6 bottle of milk each day?

currently my bb taking 2 solid and 3 milk.i feel very pack le, coz like eacg interval ard 2.5 hr

re: Aerosleep ventilation pad
found it at kiddy palace, and for a few bucks cheaper than at mothercare, not to mention i can't find it at any mothercare outlets other than harbourfront.

diva/calamari or othe rmummies with this, can i check if the sharp edges of the pad (at the velcro) will irritate baby? i find the edges where the velcro are sewn are a bit stiff and sharp, wonder if it'll irritate baby when she rests on it. there's a stroller pad version where tehre's no velcro, but so sad i can't buy it for my stroller, cos mine is a Peg and the 5-point harness shoulder straps aren't attached to the back of the stroller, so there's nothing to hold the pad in place

calamari, cute b/w pic
the stroller toy looks familiar, is it from lamaze? i have that too, adel was quite lukewarm to it at first, but now she likes to explore the different ends. wonder when she'll discover the pull and tug effect of the toy.

diva,

if there's such helmet I think I'll be e 1st to get. haha. on new year's eve, we went to my sis place. julian was in his pj and crawling around. his pj was abit slippery and my brother's gf was playing with him. crawling was ok till he decided to pull himself up with e help of some cupboard. his feet slipped and he fall head down. it was so lucky tat he landed on my brother's gf's thigh! my heart missed a beat. I'm really worried when he tries to stand up.

a friend told me not to let julian stand so early as he might develope bow legged. anyone heard of it

piggy mummy,

I have e same qn. I feel tat I'm always feeding him. haha. 1 hr after his breakfast lunch and dinner, he will take a bottle of milk. then sometimes 2 hour or less he will take another bottle or his meal. someone advise me to reduce milk and give more solid. I tried but he's like craving for milk.

Lynn,

We've got no problem with any sharpness though I see what you mean. Another point to note is that baby is gonna be clothed while in the car seat or stroller, so the chance of actually being irritated by the velcro is probably quite slim.

Have you tried aligning the strip to the velcro as accurately as possible? It might help as nothing will stick out.
Alternatively, how about snipping off whatever you find sticks out? Hubby has a habit of snipping off/sanding/filing down anything with rough/uneven edges.
All with baby's safety in mind

Jules' Mum,

Julian must have been wearing a footed sleepsuit? Ethan only wears those and yes it is dangerous especially as they get more mobile and try out all sorts of stunts!

The bowlegged idea is very, very common though I'm not sure I believe it. I mean, when then is it ok for a baby to stand without the risk of bowleggedness? Ask your PD, that's the best thing. I'm curious to see what mine says :p
My parents tell me the same thing but I can't imagine trying to keep Ethan from standing up, he'll no doubt scream his protest coz he's got strong legs and loves to use them.

Anyway the sooner baby gets used to being on his feet, the sooner he'll walk. It has to start somewhere, why stand in the way of that?