(2008/04) April 2008

Amy; aiyooo yan yan so cute! Like china doll hehehehe! I bought 3 pcs of CNY wear for Kayla too. Bloomers, cheongsam and pants but haven't try. Keke, me also lazy mum.

Am at wedding dinner now with hb. Next week oso another wedding dinner... Sian. Miss my daughter who's at my mom's...
hehe

amy i got the exersaucer and she don like to put ivan in it. oso donno y. at least for this mth ivan will have plenty of tummy time cos i am the main caregiver. subsequently, i tink i will make sure he gets at least 1 hr of tummy time when i reach home. will put him in his exersaucer more often too.

hee speaking of cny costume, my fil has bought 1 set from china. have yet to let him try on though.

burpy, actually i oso bf my boy to sleep. i am oso quite worried how to wean him. but this is so far the oni way to get him to sleep. most of my fren say this phase will pass. not sure when it happen, but definitely it will

prawnie
you can get it 20% off at metro storewide sales some of the times. i used to buy my stretch mark creams then. if you use the metro card, can get 5-6% rebate on top of it.

my ger discharge from KK yesterday...
friday she was vomitting and brought her to KKH emergency.
she was admitted to KK on that very night per doc's advice (afraid she will dehydrate if we bring her home)...
she was given drip and being monitor on her milk intake...

me so heartbroken as she was crying and screaming all the way when she was being brought to have the drip inserted on her little hand...
but she soon forgotten about it the next day...

stayed with her till she discharged yesterday...
being told the root cause of her sudden vomitting is due to stomach flu...haiz...now worry if she is drinking well to prevent the dehydration...

now this mama is having panda eyes....

Good morning mummies
Thank you for your kind words

Goodbb,
Wah, your eyesight very good lei can notice the small hairclip in the small picture kekekeke, thank you for the compliment. I made those hair clips for her

Cloudme,
Do take care of yourself as your baby needs you

hi amy,
Yr gal look so ladylike and sweet in the cheongsam....so sweet.

Cloudme, oh dear...hope yr gal is better now...

cloudme,

hope ur bb will recover soon. it's always upsetting to see them sick. =(

amy,

zhiyan so girly..aiyoooo! i also bought cny clothes for my boy but this KS mummy bought too big! hahaa!

jules's mum,

i rem Julian also has eczema, has his subsided? so which brand of formula u intending to give him?

my bb's eczema still has flare ups...esp now he takes porridge...the sides of his mouth all red n rough, sensitive to the food, i tink. =(

anyone conducting bb centre spree soon?

lynn_, saw your post there asking for it too...hope someone does sthg...i am clueless as to sprees, can't post there and ordering small items only anyway. =(

Cloudme: Pls takecare and ur girl will recover very soon

amy: ur girl is so pretty with the qipao. so cute she can have the hairclip made by u. my girl still botak after we got her hair shaved when she was 4th months

Jules' Mum: My girl is coming to 9mths now. she can sit but not too steadily. i believe it is becoz my PIL always carry my girl whenever they can. i must let them know it is not good for her self development. when i got home at night usually i will put her on my bed and let her explore things ard her. sad thing is, she still doesnt know how to crawl

burpy_babe: i guess it is normal for them to nap lesser now. my girl average sleeping hours per day is abt 14hrs.

my boy too can't crawl! it is the most DUI thing for me hahaha. >.< and yes, my MIL is very hands-on with him, lots of carrying and reaching on his behalf. i psycho my hb to tell his MIL to let boy have more tummy time and challenge bb to reach for things himself more. we know she loves the boy, but pampering him too much is to his detriment! when boy is home, i give him lots of tummy time even though he protests every time.

To Jasmine
DBS Savings Plus A/c # 048-0-024839
Please indicate nick once paid, those not paid by sat 13 will not have x'mas hat for babies. I need to get my maid to do some sewing cos its too big.

---------------------------------------------
Xmas party!!!

venue: Jasmine new place at Toa Payoh
Date : 20 Dec
Time : 11-3pm
Food: Potluck
Budget:$8/family for logistic, drinks and bb x mas hat
Theme : Red for girls and Green for Boys. Mummies and Daddy come in white

Suggest each of us bring 1 dish for helping of 10.
Main Course (Colour in Green, if not ganish it Green)
1. Yvonne - nuggets &amp; seaweed chicken
2. Serene- Fried Bee Hoon
3. Joelle - vege salad

Desert ( Colours in Red):

1) Serene123 + Maid + Roy Zak (paid $25. Jasmine will collect from you instead. bought the slightly expensive ones cos its nicer.)
2) Mushroom + hubby + Ivan (ref: 2018966985)
3) Yvonne (HB, me, maid &amp; Tiffany) trx: 2018577551 on 12/12/08
4) Winter
5) Vonn (with hubby and kaleb) $8 paid on 12 dec ref 2018666884
6) na_na (with hubby, Alaric and helper) Transaction ref no. 2018740646, paid on 12 Dec. Thanks!
7) jasminechenx
8) joellez (with Dominic and helper) $8 paid on 11 Dec Trx 2016737080
9) zishumo ( with Hillard, Hubby, helper) $8 paid on 12Dec Ref 8200
10) anyone interested to take over stawberries slot, I have bought 1 extra hat

++++++++++++
mushloom: i will be at harbourfront in the morning. will go n jalan jalan and see wat to get.
Zishumo: will confirm food item later.

hi Diva

I think you can pass on cloth books. Back then they were useful because baby can't control his hands well and cloth books are less painful when baby flings them around his head. Now your baby has better control of his hands and arms. Also, cloth books are usually smallish and full of colorful illustrations - most of the time you can't even spot the words! Not very useful at their age when they can do word recognition. Paperback and board books are fine, although baby may have problem turning the pages of board books himself because they tend to stick together. Paperbacks are easier to flip, but will get crumpled and dogearred when baby rough-handles it. Personally I'm fine with it - books should be well-loved and well-used. :D

thanks mummies,

my ger is better already....just *crossing my fingers* that her intake of fluid will increase...

Re:motor skills development...
hmmm...my mil(bb sitter) is the bo chap type....will not carry bb at home loh...telling us that she no strength la...
she will either put bb in walker or on the mattress on the floor with my niece(a yr old bb)...

my ger can sit well when we put her into sitting position but she has yet to venture into sitting or crawling position by herself when on tummy...my mil believes that my ger will slowly crawl by end of the 8mth loh...

my ger finally know how to wave goodbye at the hospital to my sils and bils when they visited my ger on sat...
so happy and she also know how to clap my hand when i said clap....

Mummies...

just want to check if any of your baby is sleeping in a room with TV and PC? anyone knows if it is unhealthy to do so becoz of the radiation?

Porridge

may i know wat do u add into ur bb's porridge? i always add fish, carrot, tomatoes, potatoes, veg... sometimes my mil will boil water with fish bones. she said is good for bb... think my girl is abit alleged to fish. coz she always have rashes ard her mouth after porridge with fish.

Cloudme: Thank god and glad that ur girl is ok now...

cloudme

hope your ger will recover soon. any idea how she get it so that can take precaution in future. Your niece nv got it? cos its air borne.

motorskill

my gal still dunno how to clap or say bye bye but she can stand up by pulling herself up using the sofa or anyone near her.

Cloudme, take care of yourself and hope your girl will resume her normal intake soon.

Yvonne - same. I say bye bye, my boy will jus look at me

Food - have been introducing fish to bb, thinking of introducing Salmon and pork. Any mummies can share how to introduce to bb? Can pork be blended? And which type of pork?

To Jasmine
Please indicate nick once paid, those not paid by sat 13 will not have x'mas hat for babies. I need to get my maid to do some sewing cos its too big.

Xmas party!!!

Theme : Red for girls and Green for Boys.

3. Joelle - vege salad

1) Serene123 + Maid + Roy Zak (paid $25. Jasmine will collect from you instead. bought the slightly expensive ones cos its nicer.)
4) Winter - paid to Jasmine.
6) na_na (with hubby, Alaric and helper) Transaction ref no. 2018740646, paid on 12 Dec. Thanks!
7) jasminechenx

++++++++++++
mushloom: i will be at harbourfront in the morning. will go n jalan jalan and see wat to get.
Winter : confirm food item later as I got no idea what to get

cheesycake:
my bb is sleeping in the room with Tv over at my mil place...but over at my place she sleep in a room with no TV...

i heard this radiation thing from my mum b4...that why i insisted that in my house bb sleep in a rm with no TV...but i have no said over at mil's place...

RE:porridge
my ger tried pumkin,fish meat,mince pork,carrots,cabbage(purple &amp; white one),potatoes,scallops,white baits,brocoli for her porridge so far...

yvonne;
no my niece didn't got it...i think her vomitting also tribute to my niece(4yr old) giving my ger fish cake to bite upon w/o my sil or my mil's knowledge...i saw in her vomit that the fish cake is a big chunk loh and a number of them...maybe also due to indigestion that lead to the vomitting...

winter,
erhhh..the mince pork is given to my ger over at my mil's place,
so i see in her porridge is also the ba chor type...
personally i hate the raw pork smell...so i don't cook this at my place...

cloudme take good care of urself too. rest whenever u can.

cheesy basically for porridge, i will definitely add in meat and fish. fish i have tried giving cod, threadfin and salmon. meat wise basically juz pork (mince ones and oso those soup bones) n chicken lor. veg i will vary between potato, sweet potato, carrot and pumpkin. i have not started wif the greens. will try broccoli soon followed by spinach.

btw mommies, anyone tried pork liver porridge on their babies? cos my hubby asking if can cook pork liver porridge cos liver rich in iron.

winter actually i juz cook everything til porridge nua nua and then juz fed him wif the porridge. so i guess some smaller pieces of the ba chor did get into his mouth. but bigger pieces i will remove lor. i guess the essence of the pork should be in the porridge oredi. so didnt really bother with the meat. fish wise i will juz mash it and feed together with porridge

I feed charis pork with porridge.. porl = ba tao

the meat become very nua nua after cooking, so she has no problem with the meat. same for the fish.

cloudme: oh no, take care of yourself and baby. Hope all's well soon.

Re: clothbooks
Yes, babies will outgrow cloth books but for now, it is the safest for little fingers. I have many board books as well, and sometimes I see Kayla's fingers kenna 'kiap' by the hard pages or accidentally knock the book on her head or face. For now, cloth books work best for me, at least when on the high chair. I will read the board books with her but will not leave her alone with them, unlike cloth books. Btw, not all cloth books are small and just full of colourful illustrations. There are big cloth books which are educational, with touch and feel content.

Btw, Borders is having a buy 3 for the price of 2 promotion for childrens' books. Bought some Baby Einstein small board books, only at $5.95. The Baby Einstein 20 pc flash cards only selling for $7.95.

calamari, borders' promotion ended yesterday. that's what i was told by the cashier.

feel that some parents are quite terrible, treated the bookstore like a library and worse still, left the books lying around after their children has finished 'reading' them.. they parked themselves and their children right in front of the book shelves, making it so difficult for us to get near the shelves and so difficult to push the stroller around without running over books etc. very ugly singaporean behaviour

lynn,
agree wif u...most of the time will get to see this ugly singaporean behaviour...

Re:Cloth bks...
me also gotten one from popular and my ger love it cos it got a "mirror" at the end...she love starring/kissing(muar) at her own reflection...hahaha

thanks to mummies for the well wishes...

To Jasmine

Xmas party!!!

Theme : Red for girls and Green for Boys.

3. Joelle - vege salad

1. Homemade Mud Pie - I will try to make it pink:p

4) Winter - paid to Jasmine.
7) jasminechenx

++++++++++++

Lynn, got to agree with u on this ugly behaviour. Once I want to take lift as I was carrying bb using carrier, but can't enter. The lift was not packed, only got a family of 4, plus one stroller at the door. And the parents jus gave an irritated look like it is my fault that the lift open at the level.
So inconsiderate.

I can go on and on for all the inconsiderate acts that I encountered while on the street or during shopping. But got to add is that it is not limited to Singaporean.

goodbb when i buy fish, i will usually buy those that has minimum or no bones. u can ask the fishmonger to choose those for u. i juz put it to boil together with the rice

Had a busy day. Just brought Julian to pd. His nose is still runny. Poor boy has been breathing through mouth for 1 week! Now he is using the nebulizer. He's so manja when he is sick. Only wants me and hubby. Rejected the maid who's the main caregiver.

Maomi,

Julian's ezcema subsided. I'm not sure if it's the california baby calendula cream or the probiotics. He will get it on and off by very mild ones.

As for milk, I'm not sure which taste will suit him leh. I've got samples for karrihome(goat milk), similac and friso. Not going to choose similac cos I really hate how difficult it is to dissolve. My friend strongly recommended Enfa. Maybe will try that lor.

Fishes - I've not started Julian on fish. I'm not sure if it's related but 1 of my friend's baby, suddenly had rash break out after taking rish porridge. The PD advised her to stop awhile and start again to see if he is allergic to fish.

My boy is able to pull himself up and sit up quite steadily. he can get into crawling position when sitted, cos he cannot sit still, but cannot sit when on tummy or crawling position. He hates to sit. Yesterday he decided to learn bye bye and "gong xi gong xi". Waiting to take ang pow. Haha.

Winter,

You can use pork loin and grind them. Those are without fats so baby won't choke.

Ugly singaporeans..

I've got a friend who had his leg amputated cos of accident. When we were at orchard, the people in the lift saw him and closed the lift door.

tv

My son sleeps with TV on. Hehe. Me and hubby can't give up TV.

Joelle &amp; Cheeseycake,

Don't worry. Give your baby some time. Let them practise. Babies are fast learners. You can help by teaching them that they can go forward. Ever since my boy can crawl my maid has been carrying him. She can tell me it's easier to carry then to let him crawl cos more tiring for her! My hubby heard and scolded her. Told her to leave him on the ground.

mommies, when you say ur bb can sit, does it mean ur bb can get to the sitting position by themselves or u will put them in the sitting position and they can sit on their own?

jules' mum
thanks for encouragement. i m over-eager :p my boy too can wave bye and "gong xi gong xi" , but only when the mood strikes him LOL. it's funny cos he'd be doing the hand actions, but his face is totally dazed, like "i think i'm supposed to do this, but i don't know what for...."

joelle,

ya. his face blank one. thinking why r we cheering. haha.

I'm thinking of changing maid. I remember someone recommended their agency. can help? my maid's good for daily housework but too slow for my boy. on e other hand feel bad for my maid.

i am considering to enrol julian into infant care.