(2008/04) April 2008

Hi Choco,
Can advise how much u paid for your baby photo shoot and for how long etc package? like include what inside? Cos i am interested too!

maomi
generally for eczema case , their options for FM as follows:
HA formula
soy based formula (but some say no good for boys cos of estrogen)
goat milk

To Jasmine
DBS Savings Plus A/c # 048-0-024839
Please indicate nick once paid, those not paid by sat 13 will not have x'mas hat for babies. I need to get my maid to do some sewing cos its too big.

---------------------------------------------
Xmas party!!!

venue: Jasmine new place at Toa Payoh
Date : 20 Dec
Time : 11-3pm
Food: Potluck
Budget:$8/family for logistic, drinks and bb x mas hat
Theme : Red for girls and Green for Boys. Mummies and Daddy come in white

Suggest each of us bring 1 dish for helping of 10.
Main Course (Colour in Green, if not ganish it Green)
1. Yvonne - nuggets & seaweed chicken

Desert ( Colours in Red):

1) Serene123 + Maid + Roy Zak
2) Mushroom
3) Yvonne (HB, me, maid & Tiffany) trx: 2018577551 on 12/12/08
4) Winter
5) Vonn (with hubby and kaleb) $8 paid on 12 dec ref 2018666884
6) na_na (with hubby, Alaric and helper) Transaction ref no. 2018740646, paid on 12 Dec. Thanks!
7) jasminechenx
8) strawberries
9) joellez (with Dominic and helper) $8 paid on 11 Dec Trx 2016737080

++++++++++++
paid $8 today
not sure what to bring, either a large pizza or log cake. i go checkout what my neighborhood kopitiam can whip up. :p confirm on monday.from Joellez

swirl...
u can go to the business thread, find foto-u..
my photographer is david... thumbs up..
all in all i paid 120+80 to get all pictures back...
then also got 3 8R photos!
yeah

joelle and maomi,

I ask my pd 2 days ago regarding estrogen in soy milk is bad for boys. he said tat it's ok as it's not excessive. but I'm still going to change julian to cow's milk after his flu recover. dun wanna take any chance. julian is always mistaken for a gal.

koori,

very soon ur gal will be standing. she will surprise u! julian was kneeling on saturday and he stood up in his playpen on monday! we quickly take e camera to take down e moment. today i put e mattress to e lowest in e playpen. he was kneeling and tried to stand but he couldn't cos he can't reach e ledge. he was so angry. when i help him stand up, he was smiled at me.

jasmine,

dun worry. just let me know when u want it. if u need it urgently and not convenient to take from me, I can mail it to you.
not bulky.

mushloom,

dun worry. kids learn very fast. they just need sometime to practice. my sis in law's kids are taken care by my mil. my mil also keep carrying and always make them lie on their back. both kids roll over at about 8 months, sit at about 10 months and crawl at about 11 months. put ur son on e mattress or mat more.

lynn,

SAHM is not tat easy.especially without someone to help u.if my bb is a guai guai type, easy on feeding, no cranky, and i got a helper, i don mind to stay at home.i am sahm now,very stress, especially come to feeding time.i am alone with my boi, so i felt very stress to take care of him for whole day.sometime cant even go toilet, pumping, eating. wana to prepare puree or instant cereal foe him oso got problem..then wait till end of the day, ur bb go to bed le, have to do hswork, wash dish, laundry, moping..wash alot of feeding bottle...by the time i go to bed (have to pump n wash pump b4 that), my son start to wake up to cry...so is nt that easy..i always complain to my hb and always cry in front of him,but me don fang xin to let nanny take care of my bb...arh...

Prawnie,
Thks for yr blog link! Xavier is cute! Notice tat u have the FP laugh n learn table, i just got it fr the FP sale at $50, my bb likes it too.

Mushloom,
After seeing yr post, I asked myself whether issit i always put her lying on the combi high chair cos mine also still cannot sit up on her own nor crawl around.

piggy mummy,

hug hug. I always tot I wanna be sahm before delivering julian. 2 months only I cannot tahan already. he was so cranky. I do wish I can spend more time with him but I know it's better for me to take a break from him as I was emotionally unstable then. you are so wei da.

lynn,

is adel's food and milk intake better? did u try to let her regulate?

To Jasmine
Please indicate nick once paid, those not paid by sat 13 will not have x'mas hat for babies. I need to get my maid to do some sewing cos its too big.

Xmas party!!!

2) Mushroom + hubby + Ivan (ref: 2018966985)
4) Winter
6) na_na (with hubby, Alaric and helper) Transaction ref no. 2018740646, paid on 12 Dec. Thanks!
7) jasminechenx
8) strawberries

++++++++++++
paid $8 today
not sure what to bring, either a large pizza or log cake. i go checkout what my neighborhood kopitiam can whip up. :p confirm on monday.from Joellez

mushloom: i will be at harbourfront in the morning. will go n jalan jalan and see wat to get.

ya this mth i at home most of the time. so ivan is on the mat most of the time. he has shown some signs like wanna sit up liao. he will fold his leg, machiam like those toad position. hopefully he will get to sit on his own soon.

jules's mum,

i am not wei da la..but is true, since i am taking care of my boi, my emotional unstable, become bad temper..become sahm, i got no time to play with him, all the time spending on feeding, changing diaper..tking care of his basic needs..

diva: same as koori, I also have the Jumperoo at my place and the Bounce Bounce Baby exersaucer at my mom's. Don't really like the latter as it can't really 'bounce' as the name suggests, haha. And it actually broke from Kayla's jumping as she is so used to jumping on her jumperoo. :p Btw, I last saw the Leapfrog exersaucer at Mothercare, Harbourfront.

mushloom: don't worry about baby's development. Every baby develops at their own pace

Piggy mummy,

You're incredible! Doing all that for your son as well as keeping house, amazing!
I can understand what it's like not to feel like entrusting your son to a helper/nanny. I don't let my helper handle Ethan so her job is solely to do the chores and keep house.
Perhaps you can consider hiring a part-time/full-time helper to help you with the cooking and cleaning at least so you're not overloaded. And in turn, you probably won't feel so depressed and cry so much either.
It's great that you're there to provide for his basic needs but I'm sure he wants to have fun with mommy too

diva,

i just hired a partime helper, but very sad, she only work for me 4 days and resign!!arh long story...that 4 days i din feel like burn out, coz no need to do hsw work, and nt rushing, coz when i need to pump, the helper taking care of my boi, and i can go to bath..but sad no helper now..

my hb worried abt me too, thats y we hired a helper..arh..sahm..sometimes when u r sick, no MC for sahm.and if u have to settle some personal matters, must find someone to takecare of ur bb..like me, currently looking for a new flat, so we go hse viewing, but my bb sleep at 8plus, and those viewing only can be arranged at night..so for a simple appointment, but have to make alot of arrangement with my SIL, MIL, my HB aunty..stress..

Calamari,

You mean the Leapfrog Learn & Groove Activity Station? If at all, I'm eying a 2nd hand one coz Ethan won't use it for that long so I don't think it's worthwhile buying brand new.
The Learn Around Playground Tube Topper has since caught my eye.. only wish I can find one instore so I can inspect it myself! Hehe :p
Hubby have been 'in talks' and we've yet to decide what toy is best for Ethan's Xmas present

Piggy mummy,

How about finding someone who can recommend another part-time helper? Word of mouth is good when it comes to these things.
My current maid is quite possibly the worst ever, but that won't deter me from looking for another full-time maid. I feel better that there is live-in help 24/7 if I need it.

I feel so edgy and exasperated at times coz Ethan can be impossibly demanding, and I still have help. So I can only imagine what you must be going through.
I hope you find someone else soon, you'll need help eventually. Better sooner than later

Diva: wrt to books and toys, any Eric Carle and any cloth books work for Kayla so far hehe. She especially love her Elmo cloth book. As for toys, she likes her FP Sing-Along Stage, FP Grand Piano and the basic toys like the Poppin' Pals, Shape Sorters and Stack Rings.
My hb bought her this Miffy box-stacks from Borders. She also likes it vm.

Calamari,

Ethan doesn't exactly have any cloth books. Hubby and I looked at some before but Ethan wasn't with us and we weren't sure if he would like them, and they didn't seem to be very educational (that's probably the point!) so we decided to pass and get regular books instead.
He's pretty attentive when I read so I've got to get more now. Cloth books sound like a nifty idea, do you get them from dept stores like Isetan? I saw some Elmo and various Sesame Street ones there.

For toys, Ethan's really paying attention to his FP table now so I'm thinking of getting another though I worry it might be redundant since they both do music and learning. FP Piano looks good but we've got a Megabloks Piano already so I won't be naughty :p

There are so many toys out there and they all look good, I just wanna be a lil practical.. however tough that is

And in being so, I'm pretty clueless as to what to get next!

Tomorrow hubby and I will go toy shopping, I hope we'll find something!

Btw, I've got a photo book for Ethan. It's waterproof and has a few photo slots to put pics of mommy, daddy and whoever else loves baby. It's very cute, a must-have in my opinion.

araid22, no have not tried letting Adel self-regulate cos have not been to my PD yet (actually planned to go today but not able to make it). i actually noticed that Adel will smack her lips and say mum-mum when she's hungry but she'll still not drink milk. it's like she'll start sucking and after a few mouthfuls decide that the taste is not to her liking and then reject the bottle. when i try to feed her on schedule (before she tells me she's hungry) she'll be so excited at seeing the bottle like it's a uber fun toy and proceed to play with/chew on the teat

but since she's taking solids quite well (touch wood!) i'm quite resigned to the fact that she hates her milk. she's quite fussy when it comes to cereals and porridge. so far i've not been successful in getting her to accept any commercial baby puree. i can only add homemade ones to her porridge. and she has good and bad days at solid feeding (bad days she'll drink slightly more milk, guess that's her choice) and some porridge simply aren't to her taste. she seems to like fish porridge, which i personally hate. i can't stand the smell of it when feeding her. yucks!

Diva: u can find a variety of cloth books at Borders. And agree photo book is a must. There is a family portrait at my mom's on the wall, and Kayla keeps looking at it, pointing and it and gets all excited and scream. Hahaha

Hello mommies,

How are all of you? Have been missing for a very long period as have been very busy at work and with baby.

I am thinking of slowly introducing formula milk to my girl as I am intending to stop bf-ing when she turns one. Any recommendations?

So far I have only been giving my girl cereals and commercial purees. So far she has not been given fish or meat. I am thinking that perhaps its time to cook porridge for her to try. Wonder how to go about doing it? I am also wondering if I can just cook the fish/meat/vege and then add it to the rice cereals that I am giving her? Is it sufficient for her to just take the instant rice cereals or is it better to intro cooked porridge soon? Feeling quite lost here... hehe

morning mummies

hahha sorry to disappear half way yesterday, had a scare. as per gynea and gp recommendation i have just started my boy on formula milk only to notice a full body of rashes on my boy. rushed him to the pd and now he is on soya milk just to be safe. but with all this scare going on i will be giving back bm once i am off antibiotics. haiz its really the easier choice.

diva

thanks. Elijah is very much better now. hahha he is so active that i am having a tough time to catch up with him.
my dad amd mum's maid is looking after him at the moment

but in another 2 days it will be me on my own with all the christmas preparations going on. dad is involved with cc work so has to be out of the house all the time. the maid will need to do a through house cleaning as my parents are hosting a few christmas parties.

hahah i can imagine i had better be well prepared for it!

Choc: Raphael has nice charming eyes !!! Sure to be a lady killer when he is older !!

Princess: You're most welcome
Hope the simple recipes are of help. hee hee..

Lynn,

Don't worry about milk as long as she is eating well. Balanced diet is more important. Some PDs actually encourage babies to eat more than drinking milk. One of my friend's PD told my friend to give balance diet and cut down on milk when the baby reached 4 months. She's taking 3 solid means and 2 times milk now. Julian has got his mood with solid too. Sometimes he is so guai can sit and finish his food. sometimes he is so cranky he will cry after few mouthful. Like today. Not sure if he don't like porridge or he's just tired. He cried after 8 mouthfuls. Haha. Homecook food good ah. Only thing is it's alot more work to do for us. Hehe. I make batches of veg puree for him and do again when it's finished. Julian doesn't like jar food too. I still have a few in the cupboard. I bought the pigeon spinach balls for him. he dun like it as well. He dun like sweet stuff as yet.

Just to share... Don't know if it's true but I read somewhere (I read too much that I dunno where I read it) that if baby is on fresh food, he tend to snack less on junk food when he grow up. If the baby takes more jar food, the baby will get used to the artificial taste and tend to take more junk food. My younger brother grew up with jar food. He hate the taste of fresh fruits and vegetables.

Jasmine,
Is Elijah feeling better now? You take care too. Don't tire urself too much.

Burpy,

I don't think there's a prob adding meat into cereal. I've been adding vege to porridge. Will be adding fish and meat soon. Now, I only use chicken breast to cook stock for the porridge to add some flavour. My son still prefer potato to porridge. He takes cereal in the morning.

Re : carrying baby

If your mother or MIL taking care of your bb and carry the bb a lot, pls let them know that this will affect bb's development. This was what happen to my hubby's cousin. The mother refused to let her crawl, always must be carried by the maid cos the floor not clean (this was in the 70s). When she still could not walk after she was quite old, the mom brought her to PD who scolded her, said carrying all the time has stunted her development. Cos even crawling helps to teach them coordination. after the cousin grew up, she still had a problem with coordination and her development in this area was much slower when compared to others of the same age....

I have been letting my gal pull herself up and walk around by herself while she is holding on to things. She is pretty stable now. Just need to have pillows around in case she falls.

I agree with sputnik

My relative let her baby swing in the sarong most of the time, now 7mth old still dunno how to flip/crawl. She can swing her baby in sarong for 2hr (the baby is not sleepy), and whenever she try to flip, her mother will carry her up.

To Jasmine

Xmas party!!!

4) Winter
7) jasminechenx
8) strawberries
10) zishumo ( with Hillard, Hubby, helper) $8 paid on 12Dec Ref 8200

++++++++++++
paid $8 today

mushloom: i will be at harbourfront in the morning. will go n jalan jalan and see wat to get.
Zishumo: will confirm food item later.

sigh
i have told my mom abt the pd saying abt the carrying part and tat deters his development. guess what my mom says? "Aiya must be ur porridge not nutritious" pls lor.... i put veg and meat and fish to cook his porridge and if this is not nutritious i donno wat is. anyway she deny the part abt carrying him and insist tat it is his diet and the fact tat he is juz slow. wahhh i can juz puke blood trying to talk to her

mushloom,
Your mum carries baby around alot? Do you have some big toys at home say the jumperoo or exersaucer for the baby to play? Coz it will prob be easier to get her to put the baby into the toys by telling her that baby wants to play rather than tell her that she is carrying too much....

Lynn
Hey were you at ikea today?

Na na,
Thanks for telling me.. will check out the avocado basket when i pass by any cold storage. Most of the time, only go to NTUC.
My son has not been eating avocado for a while since I am not able to find any good ones.

good morning mummies,

stayed over at my mum's place last night. my mum suggested tat i let julian sleep on e floor mattress as he is standing in e cot. he woke up at 1.30 to play as he associate floor mattress with playing. he was crawling all over and climb onto my bed to disturb me. we had to bring him to our bed and let him sleep in between us. dunno wat to do. put in cot worried he fall out of e cot. put him on e floor he's playing.

mushloom
it's not easy for you if you mum dun agree with you. I don't think diet makes such a big difference. most old people thinks tat by eating ikan bilis and frog porridge will help strengthen bones. but I've seen how they kill e frog I swear I will never eat them.

my mil is like your mum too. as mentioned above, both my hubby's nephews crawl sit and walk at very late stage cos she's always carrying and make them lie down. she too dun agree tat it's because of her carrying. they r very guai unlike my son. they will sit on her lap and not move or touch things at e dinner table. she'll comment tat my son's very active 'zian' in hokkien as he cannot sit still and he dun like to be carried. my son's 4.5 months younger than my nephew but my son could roll over, sit and crawl before his cousin. my mil just say tat my nephew is slow and my son is skinny. but i think it's e condition we put them in. my son's always on e floor exploring.

my 4 yr old nephew is still spoon fed and carried. even e teachers in school told my sil it's not healthy for him. e teacher suggested tat my nephew to be put in childcare. not sure wat's their decision.

quite upset. my mil always say she dun practice favoritism but we arrange lunch for 2 weekends she say she's busy. I found out she's with e other 2 nephews whom she takes care everyday and dun wanna meet my son. worse part is she told my hubby. not tat she dun love my son but e other 2 nephew dun have a good environment as their parents r not as hands on and my son has my parents and siblings to love him. but I feel tat she should not penalise my son. sigh. really upsetting.

Jules' Mum,

Thanks for the advise. Feeling kind of lost as I have yet started cooking anything for my girl. Feel like such a lousy mommy.

Do you gals have problem putting your babies to slp? My baby will usually need to be latched on before she falls asleep at night. I am really worried how it will be when I try to wean her off breastfeeding. And my baby hardly sleeps nowadays. She will sleep about 10 hours at night and naps for about 2 to 3 hours in the day.. Which makes up to only about 13 hours of sleep a day. I read that babies needs to sleep more leh.

burpy, it normal ba. Charis sleep about 13-14hr in average.

araid22, charis is always on her mattress exploring. i think this make her more active.

RE: walker
MIL bought her walker, she move well in walker, when we place her on floor w/o walker, she dun dare to stand, only crawl..

RE: feeding solid food
Charis take porridge/cereal better now, now she dun siam the spoon and can finish whole bowl

burpy,

my son's got few pattern when sleeping at night. if he's too tired, he will drink milk then fall asleep. if not, he will either watch tv with us then turn away from tv when sleepy(i know it's not good to let him watch tv but me and hubby cannot give up) or I'll turn on music and he will play till tired then sleep. he dun like to be cradle. he sleeps about 11 hours at night and about 2- 3 hours in e day. as he grow older he sleeps lesser. he takes e pacifier but because of his flu he stop taking cos he has been breathing through mouth for 3 days.

charis,

julian's on e floor mattress in e day. maybe he tot on e floor mattress means can play. he's never like tat. usually when he wakes up in e middle of e night, he will go back to sleep. yesterday he woke up and play. will try putting him in sleeping bag tonight.

To Jasmine

Xmas party!!!

2. Serene- Fried Bee Hoon

1) Serene123 + Maid + Roy Zak (paid $25. Jasmine will collect from you instead. bought the slightly expensive ones cos its nicer.)
4) Winter
7) jasminechenx
8) joellez (with Dominic and helper) $8 paid on 11 Dec Trx 2016737080
9) zishumo ( with Hillard, Hubby, helper) $8 paid on 12Dec Ref 8200
10) anyone interested to take over stawberries slot, I have bought 1 extra hat

++++++++++++
paid $8 today

Zishumo: will confirm food item later.

Mummies - help!

Anyone has used the Baygon ant bait before? Just take out from the plastic bag and put on the floor will do?

Hehe, jump the gun abit... CNY mood also anyone? Remember last yr CNY we were all so heavily pregnant
JTS, my gal trying on a cheong sum that my friend bought her... abit too long lah...

1979918.jpg

Amy: Yan yan looks so sweet and dainty
I yet to find nice ones for boys..

Anyway, I'm ordering Clarins products. Anyone of you using and wanna order let me know. I can it at tax free plus another 10% staff discount.