(2008/04) April 2008

Hey mommies,

A question about toys and books.

What toys and books do you have that your child has received well that you would recommend?
I'm expanding Ethan's toy and book collection and would appreciate some recommendations.

TOYS:

BOOKS:

Thanks heaps ladies!

From Diva

Hey mommies,

What toys and books do you have that your child has received well that you would recommend?
I'm expanding Ethan's toy and book collection and would appreciate some recommendations.

TOYS:
1. Ikea stacking cups. *cheep-cheep*, Dom likes to chew and zone out. fun for bathtime. *Joellez-Dominic

BOOKS:
1. The Berenstain Bears' Big Bear, Small Bear (Step-Into-Reading, Step 1) http://www.amazon.com/Berenstain-Bears-Bear-Small-Step-Into-Reading/dp/0679887172/ref=pd_sim_b_3 *Joellez-Dominic

Thanks heaps ladies!

Jules
My boy didn't like his first avocado, but I continue to give in the following week. I blend half an avocado with 60ml of milk, and he loves the avocado shake now. Perhaps you can try again a few days later.

Btw, I am having problem finding good avocado from NTUC now. Where do you buy yours?

From Diva

Hey mommies,

TOYS:
1. Ikea stacking cups. *cheep-cheep*, Dom likes to chew and zone out. fun for bathtime. *Joellez-Dominic
2. Jumperoo - it keeps him busy for the longest duration *tsukushi

BOOKS:
1. The Berenstain Bears' Big Bear, Small Bear (Step-Into-Reading, Step 1) http://www.amazon.com/Berenstain-Bears-Bear-Small-Step-Into-Reading/dp/0679887172/ref=pd_sim_b_3 *Joellez-Dominic
2. The Going to Bed book - preferred more by mummy than baby *tsukushi
3. Moo Baa La La La *tsukushi

Thanks heaps ladies!

Good morning mommas!

Nana,
Alaric and Kaleb are mini Tin Tins! Too cute

I doubt I could do that with Ethan's hair, even when it's wet. His hair is much too fine heh.

Joelle and Tsukushi,
Thanks the toy and book recommendations, keep them coming if you've got more!

Cloudme: the Kegal exercise quite simple.
It's the same when you visit the toiet to pass urine. Just that you hold back the urine kind of "feel". Hold and release, hold and release. Each hold you can try to hold for 10 secs then release.

prawnie,

can I get the nan ha from you, if you are not trying it yet? i realise nan pro and nan ha is diff, this blur mummy!

i tink i haben been real life shopping enough. only online. =p

jasmine,

hope elijah is mending good! =)

<font color="119911">Owen njoys to pull himself up and bring down anything within his reach, then bum onto the floor >.< gone were the days when they merely lie on their back geez

Let's track our bb's motor development:

Can Flip and Sit with support:
1) mushloom's Ivan

Can Flip, Sit &amp; Stand with support :
1) Koori's kaylen
2) Esther's Li Wen
3) Chewy's Elliot

Can Flip, Sit up, Crawl, Stand with support:
1) Winter's Ernest
2) Calamari's Kayla
3) Diva's Ethan
4) Angel's Dana
5) JuniorRain's Eshin
6) Julesmum's Julian
7) Puffish's Tristan (Required support when sit up too =D )
8) Babyliss's Owen (need minimal support when pull himself up to standing position)</font>

Babyliss,

With our kids becoming so much more active and mobile, I sometimes find myself missing the times when Ethan would just stay in one spot contently! Haha he wants to go everywhere now, it's go go go all day long.. this momma is very tired!

Jumperoo vs Exersaucer

Does any momma have both?
I've got a jumperoo here but am contemplating getting another jumperoo or an exersaucer for our home in KL.

I've yet to let Ethan try an exersaucer and before I do, I'd appreciate any comments from mommas who have experience with them.

Thanks a lot!

diva
i hv the exersaucer. its very useful to me as bryan can play by himself in it for quite awhile so it gives me some spare time to do housework &amp; tend to my elder girl.

Jamie,

Haven't seen you around in quite awhile, how are you and the kids? Busy getting into the festive spirit?

May I ask which exersaucer you have? If I remember right, it doesn't bounce?

Thanks a lot!

Diva,

I have the evenflo exersaucer, farm, at my mum's place and the leapfrog groove station at my place. Julian likes both but I prefer the leapfrog. Haha. The excersaucer can't bounce but the leapfrog can. I'm not sure if you are looking for 1 that can bounce or not. He can play in there for quite awhile. You can bring Ethan to The First year in Paragon to try out. Not sure about the Jumparoo but the excersaucer and leapfrog groove station can be brought around quite easily.

Ya.. I miss the days when Julian just lie on the bed guai guai. He climbing here and there now. He stood up to greet us again last night at 4am! I think it's really time to put him on the floor mattress.

diva
yeah, very busy lately as i'm soucing ard for preschool for my elder girl &amp; also preparing for my HK trip next week. prior to that my girl kenna HFMD but thank god bryan was not infected!

mine is the saftey 1st exersaucer which i got fr WTS section. i must say its really value for $$
as i paid $50 for it. it does bounce alittle if bryan jumps. it can be dismantle &amp; fix it into a car track when he outgrows it.

Jules' Mum,

It's great that you're reviewing the Evenflo and Leapfrog coz I'm considering both
Is your Farm the same as the Triple Fun?
I don't need one that bounces though I suppose it would be a nice feature since Ethan adores the jumperoo for that very reason.
The only reason I'm hesitating getting an exersaucer is the height limit of 30" which means Ethan won't be able to use it too long.

On another note, I'm considering getting the Leapfrog Learn &amp; Groove Musical Table. We have the FP Laugh &amp; Learn Table and Ethan really enjoys it so I'm contemplating getting another.

This looks real interesting, has anyone seen it around? http://www.amazon.com/LeapFrog-Learn-Around-Playground-Tube-Topper/dp/B000J01U2I/ref=pd_sim_t_36

I remember seeing something similar at Mothercare Harbourfront but I'm looking for alternatives.

mummies, has anyone spotted such booties locally? want to get one pair for my girl to wear with her traditional CNY outfit.. this pair is from BP but they dun have the bigger size already

1974638.jpg

diva, i have the Leapfrog Learn-Around Playground with Tube Topper! my sis got it for me from the states, but i do remember seeing it at an online shop here too.

my gal loves this, there's so much to do on this one. she sits and bats and tugs at the flappers and cloth of different textures. or she'll stand and try to push the buttons at the top and even try to move from one side to the other to touch different stuff! she's too short to be using the tube topper properly but she can sit and try to drop the balls into the tube at the midway where there's a hole?

all in all, she really loves it and i think it's really worth buying this piece. i've been contemplating a jumperoo/exersaucer for the longest time but never got around to buying it cos baby will outgrow it in no time. and when they discover mobility i doubt mine would want to be trapped in one of these. she'll prob scream her head off :p

by the way, Adel supported herself on her hands and knees for the first time today! she was traying to reach something and got into this position from sitting. i think she surprised herself to be in this new position (can tell from her face) and she wobbled for a couple of seconds before falling on her tummy. hilarious!

Ah Lynn, lucky you! Now the hunt for that elusive online store begins.
Please let me know if you remember which store it is ok? Thanks heaps!

It looks really interesting and I hope to get it for Ethan, fingers crossed I'll find it!

Good on Adel! And even better that you were there to witness it

diva, i recall seeing the leapfrog in retail stores too, but that was sometime ago, before the baby was born. but i'm not seeing it in store now already.

this week i'm fully taking care of Adel (on vacation now), tiring but so fulfilling to see her growing and learning everyday. as i was watching her yesterday, i suddenly felt very sad again that i can't be around to watch her grow all the time when i back to work. then today i watch her try something new again, then i looked at the clock and told myself i should still be at work if i'm working today. these moments of 'firsts' will pass me by and i won't be around to celebrate them with her. really feel sad beyond words. feels exactly like how difficult it was to leave Adel and go back to work after my maternity leave (i was crying everyday for weeks before my ML ended), and i have to go through that all over again

how i wish i can be a SAHM...

am finally back again
spent the last 2 day kowtow to the toilet bowl.
the antibiotics don agree with me at all haiz. spent the last 2 days feeling dizzy and throwing up. well now am much better.

jules mummy

i can meet you to get it but must wait till am much better as i wont want to pass the germs to you.

My ger is using bouncebounce baby exersaucer, so far so good cos she can play in it for 30-45mins, hehee.

Yday i got new discovery, my ger while sitting in playpen wan to climb up, she supported herself using her hands and her legs in kneel down position...keke. Aiyo i must lower the level liao.

Lynn,
Could be that the Leapfrog toy was removed from stores coz it was too expensive? That was the case with the FP Fun to Learn Potty.
I empathize with how you feel about leaving Adel to go off to work but we do what we must.
Perhaps think long term and set a goal, say becoming a SAHM in a year or so. That'll give you something to look forward to.

Koori,
Kaylen is developing quickly, you must be a proud momma!

Choc,
Raphael looks great, handsome kid flashing his pearlies

exersaucer
i have one evenflo triple fun exersaucer. my boy enjoys himself in it very much. he can spend quite sometime in it playing on his own.

i juz brought him to my pd. mentioned tat my boy still cannot sit up on his own nor crawl around. she mentioned my boy is abit slow in development as compared to the norm.
she asked if my boy is being carried alot. this question shock me somewat. cos my mom always carries him when she takes care of him when i am working. so this contribute to his slow development.

Winter,

Happy 8 months Ernest!

Keep whatever you don't want damaged away from their mouths, everything gets bitten, licked, sucked on and chewed to death! :p

jasmine,
hope u are better now...that time i preggi i aso sick and doc prescribe antibiotics but i didn't take...not good taking antibiotics i feel...

prawnie,
the kegel exercise..i think i know how to do...did a couple of time b4 giving birth...

maomi,
for HA...can also try enfalac HA...they have small can on sale...unlike nan HA...no small can even if wanna let bb try also difficult...

Diva, Choc thanks.

Diva, Too late. everything in my house, including my HP and bag have his saliva already. :p Yesterday he's chewing the table leg AGAIN....

oh, my boy loves the discovery ball as he's found another way to play with it. Treat it like a walker, he will support himself with the discovery ball and kneel down, then slowly 'walked'. Makes my heart drop man. Afraid he might fall.

Jasmine,

I'm sorry to hear that you're not feeling well. I detest throwing up, it's so painful and it scares me to death!

Try some of these remedies if you haven't already, they worked for me:
- snack on saltines/plain crackers, I kept them by my bed and in my bag all the time
- eat frequent meals and don't go hungry as it makes nausea worse
- drink ginger tea and eat ginger biscuits, I find them great stomach settlers
- I've heard that peppermint oil/tea/candy helps, haven't tried it myself though

Do take care and just remember that it'll pass

Who's looking after Elijah now? Is he all better yet?

To Jasmine
DBS Savings Plus A/c # 048-0-024839
Please indicate nick once paid, those not paid by sat 13 will not have x'mas hat for babies. I need to get my maid to do some sewing cos its too big.

---------------------------------------------
Xmas party!!!

venue: Jasmine new place at Toa Payoh
Date : 20 Dec
Time : 11-3pm
Food: Potluck
Budget:$8/family for logistic, drinks and bb x mas hat
Theme : Red for girls and Green for Boys. Mummies and Daddy come in white

Suggest each of us bring 1 dish for helping of 10.
Main Course (Colour in Green, if not ganish it Green)
1. Yvonne - nuggets &amp; seaweed chicken

Desert ( Colours in Red):

1) Serene123 + Maid + Roy Zak
2) Mushroom
3) Yvonne (HB, me, maid &amp; Tiffany) trx: 2018577551 on 12/12/08
4) Winter
5) Vonn (with hubby and kaleb)
6) na_na (with hubby, Alaric and helper)
7) jasminechenx
8) strawberries
9) joellez (with Dominic and helper) $8 paid on 11 Dec Trx 2016737080

++++++++++++
paid $8 today
not sure what to bring, either a large pizza or log cake. i go checkout what my neighborhood kopitiam can whip up. :p confirm on monday.from Joellez

hi Jasmine

i had just trf to you for the christmas party. pls do a check.

thank you.

To Account DBS Savings Plus
048-0-024839 Jasmine Chen SMHF
Amount S$8.00
Transaction Reference 2018577551

Mushloom - wat i discovered was my mom also like to carry kaylen alot, attribute to her nt knowing hw to crawl (maybe)?? but also becos we hardly put her on the mat. But lucky i got the exersaucer she can stand in it and high chair for her to sit so she can manage sit &amp; stand quite ok. hmm perhaps u intro some of these to help ur bb and let ur mom know wat the pd say.

Winter,

Ernest is one adventurous lil man! Using a ball as a walker
I hope you snapped some pics!
Ethan tries to eat his high chair, makes a face and goes right back to chewing it again!
When will this phase end I wonder..

To Jasmine
DBS Savings Plus A/c # 048-0-024839
Please indicate nick once paid, those not paid by sat 13 will not have x'mas hat for babies. I need to get my maid to do some sewing cos its too big.

---------------------------------------------
Xmas party!!!

venue: Jasmine new place at Toa Payoh
Date : 20 Dec
Time : 11-3pm
Food: Potluck
Budget:$8/family for logistic, drinks and bb x mas hat
Theme : Red for girls and Green for Boys. Mummies and Daddy come in white

Suggest each of us bring 1 dish for helping of 10.
Main Course (Colour in Green, if not ganish it Green)
1. Yvonne - nuggets &amp; seaweed chicken

Desert ( Colours in Red):

1) Serene123 + Maid + Roy Zak
2) Mushroom
3) Yvonne (HB, me, maid &amp; Tiffany) trx: 2018577551 on 12/12/08
4) Winter
5) Vonn (with hubby and kaleb) $8 paid on 12 dec ref 2018666884
6) na_na (with hubby, Alaric and helper)
7) jasminechenx
8) strawberries
9) joellez (with Dominic and helper) $8 paid on 11 Dec Trx 2016737080

++++++++++++
paid $8 today
not sure what to bring, either a large pizza or log cake. i go checkout what my neighborhood kopitiam can whip up. :p confirm on monday.from Joellez

cloudme,

ooo, thanks for the info...i din know enfanlac aso has the HA version.

prev when my milk supply at the start was low, we gave him similac...den went dr ong ek and he diagnosed the eczema and recommended full BF. haben been to him since...coz his queue is always sosososo long!

now, think mabbe time to visit a PD for advice.