(2008/04) April 2008

jules

for my boy its play 2 hrs then sleep for 1- 2 hrs. like today he slept for a total of 6 hrs today.... i now really wonder how my night is going to go hopes that he will sleep early.

burping

if i can burp him in 5 mins i usually give up trying. :p am also one lazy mummy coz i always can find so many more interesting things to do with him.

diva
i feel that as long as he is gaining the proper weights than i wont worry too much as babies have a way to know what they need at different times. coz there are days when my boy would refuse green veggies, but take his cereal. then also days where he refuse his cereal, and take green veggies. never had a problem with fruits though. hmmm maybe its coz its sweet

jasmine,

I'm also very scared when my son sleep a lot in e afternoon. he will still sleep at usual time but wake up real early. something I will wake him up but he whole day bad mood after tat. my son cannot sleep later than 8. my sis wedding 2 weeks time. dunno how to keep him awake yet not cranky.

its also getting very difficult to let my girl slp nowadays. most of the days she wun fall aslp even after i latch her on. sigh. i am worried how it is going to be after i totally stop bf her. She seems to simply wants to play. Most of the time she will fall aslp only ard midnite. quite worried that she is not getting enuff slp as she hardly slps in the day too. sigh.

<font size="+2">Eric Carle's Very Little Library</font> by Penguin Putnam

* Includes <font size="+1">The Very Hungry Caterpillar, The Very Busy Spider, and The Very Lonely Firefly </font>
* Created by the beloved Eric Carle
* Sturdy slip case
* Three board books; 24 pages each

This three-volume library of Eric Carle stories spans nearly three decades of the beloved artist's career. His outrageously popular The Very Hungry Caterpillar, first published in 1969, is nestled in a slipcase with two equally captivating tales: The Very Busy Spider (1984) and The Very Lonely Firefly (1995). Carle's instantly recognizable collages are favorite fodder for early-childhood art classes.

Price of the set(3 bks) : USD$27.99 = SGD$42.30 ( based on exchange rate $1.51)
Est shipping cost : SGD$10-$13

Post and details of the spree is in
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/1863710.html?1226161469

Hi mummies ,

Anyone encounter your baby having diarhrea for as long as one week? Wonder is it common for them?

my son having diarhrea since last sun, seen 2 doc, given 2 different "lacto" powder and syrup to stop diarrhea. was told to give the syrup cautiously cos will cause constipation.

bb solids food--

wana to know any april mummies here already replace the 2 milk to solid. i am very worried of my boi, he din take milk and solid very well, have try semi solid for 3 weeks le, still the same.currently he only taking abt 10-20ml cereal perday..(still at trying stage) my hubby blame me for too late to start my boy solid

Jasmine,
After a few days of wondering and worrying, I'm going to stick to my usual feeding plan: let Ethan call the shots unless it's ridiculous of course!

He loves fruit puree too, never fails to finish every drop!

Zishumo,
Could your son's diarrhea be a reaction to a new food you've introduced to him?
Did the 2 docs you saw give any possible cause or reason why?
Ethan's never had diarrhea so I guess I wouldn't say it's common for babies.

Piggy mummy,
Is there such a thing as introducing solids too late? Every baby is going to eat solids eventually.
What solids have you introduced so far? Maybe he's not taking to it well simply cuz he doesn't like the taste? Or maybe he's just slow to accept new things.
Have you tried a variety of purees? Most if not all babies will like fruit purees.
Your hubby shouldn't blame you. Raising a baby is a lot of trial and error, there's shouldn't be 'your fault, my fault'.

Zishumo
My boy have diarrhea last 2 -3 weeks ago and i was worried sick. one day poo about 4 times. 3 days poo about 15 times.

this website offer some information on diarhea
http://wholesomebabyfood.com/baby_diarrhea_foods.htm

End of the day i suspect is that the EBM has gone bad ,if you are giving frozen EBM do be careful about it.

BB Solids food
Piggy mummy
Maybe you have to work a bit harder make homecooked food like porridge, fruit puree mixed with cereal etc...

piggy mummy,

feeding baby is so stressful. there are some days julian just refuse to eat. I'll throw away lo. no choice.

to my knowledge, the 1st month or so is to intro e use of spoon, intro different texture of food, getting use to high chair. not to substitute milk. julian's intake for milk is not good too. I did ask pd. he told me as long as he takes in at least half of his usual is fine. also as they grow older they take less.

piggy mummy, your husband is worried and care for baby tat's why he made such comments. dun think 6 months is too late. it's not about whether it's late or not but think of how to make him enjoy food. maybe he doesn't like e brand of cereal. do try other brand. i think julian is taking quite little too. just 4tsp. during lunch time, I'll give him 3tsp of puree. have him earth best first pear today and he love it. maybe u can try too.

i realise julian cannot take solids when he is tired. i have to give him within 1 hour after waking up. if not he won't eat.

you can try taking meals with your baby. hubby and I take breakfast with julian. he see us eat he will eat too.

piggy mummy, Adel is same case as you boy lah. Not drinkng well and not eating well. Tried homecooked purees, porridge almost everything also tried she's still not keen..

she'll accept some purees once or twice and then promptly reject them all over again. last week she took cereals very well and i thought i'm seeing the light at the end of the tunnel, until she went back to her disinterested self end of this week

so sad ah, yummy fruit purees she also dun like. i've personally tried and found everything yummy, but she'll give me the real disgusted look and threaten to throw up if i keep trying to feed her. either that or start screaming/crying. the only thing PD can say if to keep ofering her the food, let her get used to the new taste.

araid22, my pd says children will learn to like the food they're given. and some maybe take up to 10-15 tries before they accept the new taste.

so just offer the food. baby will taste and if she doesn't like can offer again later or the next day or some days later.. hiaz..

bought the Sassy fresh food feeder from Metro and tried putting in steamed carrots and apples for my girl to try. cos she didn't like both in puree form just try a different form see if she'll accept. she didn't really chew and eat the stuff like they're supposed to, but at least she licked and sucked without objection. hmmm so she's apparently ok with the taste but why does she reject the puree? weirdo.. so tough to have a fussy feeder!

http://www.amazon.com/Sassy-342-Teething-Feeder/dp/B00014PLGS/ref=pd_sim_ba_3

any mummies knows if we can give fruits like watermelon and honeydew already?

me and hubby dun usually eat apples/pears/bananas/papayas so maybe our girl will enjoy eating the fruits we usually enjoy? but so far seems like everyone's giving apples/pears/bananas/papayas..

lynn:
hmmm...maybe ur gal want te texture to be abit coarse....
my gal now if feed her fine puree...she will reject the food loh...be it porridge or cereal or fruits...

RE: Fruits...
honeydews, yes but to the min limit...
watermelon, no cos too cooling for bb and even for adults...

RE: bb falling...
my ger also fell off the bed on sat while she was flipping...so heart-pain...
monitor her for a day and she got no fever and vomit...is it ok only to monitor for a day or we need to monitor for a few more days?
she was like super clinging to me after that

lynn,

have u tried if your gal can accept soy or goat's milk? I have samples for goats milk. i dun think i'm giving it to julian. let me know if u want it. I can pass you some soy milk too cos my son is on soy.

cloudme, my gal oso fell from the bed on sat... and my bed is the super high kind. So hubby and me were shocked and rushed to KKH children emergency hospital immediately and it was close to midnite. Waited for more than 1hr + to see the doctor and then doc checked her head, BP, temp and then told us to monitor for 3days if she is inactive or if vomitting or fever kicks in then quickly bring her back. Hee... Kena scolded by my mom wor! But my gal after dat ok lah, back to normal.. Praise God!

Porridge:
Mommies using the endo pot to make porridge, need some advice. Tried making it but turned out yucks (teochew style with very starchy water)I boiled the rice for 30mins before putting it in the pot for 3hours+.

Dry skin:
Any babies having dry skin on the eyelids / eye brows? Any remedies? I'm now trying mustela facial cream.

jaspire:
ok...will monitor for a few more days...
intend to bring her to her PD tonight to check for her eyesight and so on...

my bed is the normal height one and sucks(frame given by BIL)due to bcos i stay over at ILs during weekdays...
i asked my hb to dismantle the frame but he don't want and now my SIL is preggie again so don't think got chance to dismantle that frame...

beans:
wat happen wif that endo pot?
hmmm...sound that u have too much water when u cook ur porridge...also must make sure that the porridge is still boiling(got bubbles coming out) b4 transfer to the pot.
this porridge cooking wif endo pot must trial and error 1...
no perfect the first time...

my method is 1/2 or 3/4 cup of rice and some veges(cup provide by the rice cooker) rinse and put water up to a finger deep...depand on how much rice u put in...
(my finger is those short kind)haha

if the water is not enough after boiling ...then put hot water into it and boil for 5-10mins(temp must be constant b4 tranfering to the outer pot)...must stir thru-out the boiling process
btw, must make sure that the inner and outer contact surface must be real dry...

beans
r u going for the chok style porridge? i doubt endo pot alone can do it. u cld take out some porridge and water from the endo pot, put into small pot over fire and cook, mash at the same time. rice grains r already v soft, after awhile will become chok consistency.

thanks mummies for the tips...guess i hv to try again tonite. Though it didnt turn out well, but it was still very hot when i opened it.

Here is Kayla in her new swimming pool and float! She simply enjoys her swim and was busy chasing the rubber duckie! Hee hee...

1866305.jpg

Mummy... safe anot?

1866306.jpg

Yeah, hands free loh!

1866307.jpg

Need my legs and hands to grab my rubber duckie! Ducky... Where are you???

Jaspire,

I tried putting my son in the tub yesterday. Think he was too tired cos it's his nap time. He cried. So, i took him out. He was not like that when I brought him to Hwa Xia leh. Maybe he wants mummy to bring him out. Haha. Kayla's so fair. Complexion so good. Don't look like she's got ezcema leh. Hehe.

Good morning Mummies!

Jaspire and cloudme, hope your bbs are fine after the fall. Jaspire, I can feel the anxiety you went through on Sat night while waiting at KKH! Thank God she's safe. The pool looks really fun and big, now you make me wonder if I should get 1 for Dana too. Ever since she fell ill, we haven't brought her swimming.
Dana's fever surged to 38.4C again last night. Could it be teething? She was almost recovered (no more flu and cough) but fever suddenly returned. Gave her bb paracetamol at 5am and it subsided...will monitor today. Sighz.

Re:Milestone
my ger finally is able to sit w/o any support
but she got a bad habit of falling backwards...
give mummy a scare everytime

Diva:
doc say it could be he's teething, put things in his mouth or food containmination...I'm also wondering and thinking very hard what is the possible cause as the diarrhea dread so long...not sure whether if it is diahrea caused by introducing new food item can be so serious as he poo 5/6 times a day and it's over a week now.

Lovemum:
I stop giving baby frozen EBM cos he kind of didn't like it and twice puke out after feeding.(all my frozen milk wasted,still in freezer, heart pain at the thought of throwing away) Thanks for the link, think I'll try some of the food recommended like potato and applesauce to not worsen the diarrhea. Strange banana is one of them as I thought most people take banana if they have constipation hor?

Jules' Mum:
I am considering switching my boy to goat's milk due to his mild allergy, however one PD commended some studies show cow's milk still more nutritious for human, any comments from mummies who are feeding goat's milk to their babies?

Jaspire:
very nice shots of yr girl, looks like she had a great time! Makes me tempted to get one for my boy too! Is it troublesome to fill up the tub?

Tks mummies!

Jule's Mum... think Julian is tired izzit? Kayla is really very fair and my sis calls her "Ang Tau Hway" - haha... her eczema clears up on sat but flairs up slightly on sun... this morning her mouth is red again. Anyway, going to see the skin doctor at National Skin Centre today...

Angel, yes... really thank God that she is ok! The pool is indeed very fun and huge. Next round I am going to go in with her. Hee... I think with hand, foot, mouth disease and plus the fact they are young and she has eczema... I dun wanna risk letting her swim in public pool loh. So own pool is better and since indoors, not worried of her getting chills and flu from the wind. Hee... She simplys enjoys it and was quite reluctant when I carried her out of the pool. Kekeke...

As for the fever, I think she is likely to be teething liao wor. Have you brought her to pd to check again?

choc, yes the float is from mambo and its bigger than the hwa xia ones. So I guess kayla can use it till she is bigger wor!

Zishumo, I had a hard time taking those photos... using my handphone somemore.. haha... cos dun dare to leave my gal unattended cos its me and her alone oni. And also, scared to wet my handphone. Haha... She really had lots of fun, laugh alot, giggles and splashed here and there, chasing after the rubber duckie all the way! Hmm, very easy to fill up the tub lah... just that takes quite a while to fill up cos the tub is alot alot bigger than the hwa xia one (if using as a comparison wor)

If you mummies wanna get the tub, try to get it fast from mui kian, cos price is increasing to $80 for just the tub after today. Dats what she told me lah... We all bought at $65 for the tub.

Zishumo, I've got friends giving their kids goat's milk. They claim that it's the closest to breastmilk.

My son's suspected to be allergic to cow's milk too. We are still giving him soy milk though we very much wanted to switch to cow's milk. There are 2 schools of thoughts. Some PD thinks that cow's milk is better but there are some who thinks that soy is better as it's more natural. The cow's are breed unnaturally and not free range cows. I ask my PD about goat's milk before. He told me it still comes from animal so they might still be allergic. He assured me that soy milk is alright but I still prefer cow's milk. Thinking of trying S26. Anyone giving their baby S26?

Jaspire, Ya. My son was very sleep. Haha. We thought he love water so he should be ok fine. Or, maybe he dun like to be in the toilet and so many people watching him. About 10 of us. Haha.

Angel, hugs to Dana. Hope she gets well soon.

Zishumo,

let me know if you wanna try goat's milk. I have 3 sample packets. I will reserve 1 packet for Lynn. Hope to let Adel try.

Hello all mummies,

My gal is currently 6 mths plus and has already switch to Nestle Nan 2Ha milk powder, she has been on 1Ha since she was born.But i was wondering for Nestle Nan 2Ha it states tat is for 6 mths above... so how long can bb be on stage 2 and also after 2Ha, wat is the next one to follow up for bb? Any mummies can provide advice on that?

Many thks

Babybliss - Doc say he is not really into diarrhea problem. Brought his diaper for doc see. Lol. Reason probably due to teething stage and also he has been eating alot, so poo alot. So call, transition period from 7mth to 8mth. Was given Lacteol Forte also. Doc ask me to monitor.

Jaspire / Jules' Mum - My boy freaks out when i put him inside the pool. LOL. I think he is scared as this is first time and he cannot touch the bottom. Even my hubby inside the pool w/ him, he dun wanna let go of my hubby. :) Gotta try let him get used to it. By the way, the pool water, u all use warm water? Really used up alot water men..kekeke... After my boy finish swimming i use for my bubble bath. kekeke...

Xiaozhu,

Ya. the tub use alot of water! Take so long to fill up the tub. I use warm water cos it was raining yesterday. I will try again next week.

how do I switch from stage 1 formula milk to stage 2 formula milk? Just change or need to mix with stage 1 1st?

Vyn,

This is what my friend headache too. Her son is 4 and still on Nan 2 HA as they don't have anything after that. She tried changing to another brand but her son had phlegm so she changed back to Nan 2 HA.

There are still some EC books from the BP that is uncollected.
Mommies please PM me for colletion ASAP.
I do not want to go through the books and list to hand pick who has not collected.
Uncollected books by 20th Dec will be donated away as Christmas Presents to orphanage!

Hi Lynn

My son is on enfalac stage 1 still , I can get the enfapro sample from you?

BTW: my son sound exactly like yours...give a gisgusted and pity me look when i feed him puree/cereal...so dishearted for me...

jaspire...
tot hwa xia one got size... u mean hwa xia L size still smaller than mambo one?

wow! i so tempted to get the hwa xia L size one..coz my boy using tt...

hmmm...tempting temptin

RE: Float

I bought e Hwa Xia and Mambo one.
I feel that Mambo flower one is certainly smaller and the edges are rougher than Hwa Xia one. Hwa Xia ones are softer and more baby friendly.

Hi jaspire and jules' mum,

i tried the pool on my boy too, and he cried!! he seems to be really scared in it. i tink it's coz we din fill up the tub totally, coz wanted to save water. haha. den he is like deep down in the tub. even when hubby or me went in with him, he still cried unti so ke lian. =(

but kayla looks so happy! any tips? thanks jaspire again for coordinating. =)

Mummies, infantcare just called. Dana's fever hits 38.8C
hubby rushing her to PD now, am stuck in office as I've a management meeting later...please pray for bb
2nd fever surge in 2 consecutive weeks