(2008/04) April 2008

sherin
I don't know when can I stop blending cos I dunno if my boy will choke on food bits or not.

btw if cannot eat porridge everyday then feed cereal?

Morning mommies!

Ethan likes to chew his food too, I find that I have to add more cereal for lumpiness as he doesn't like smooth textures that go down too easily anymore.
Like Summer, it's probably cuz he's got a few teeth already and wants to use them.

I mashed sweet potato last night and let Ethan have it for dessert, after his cereal+milk dinner. Delish! Mama ate the rest heh.

Angel,
So what's happening with Dana's allergy and your dog?

Thanks Summer_Mama for the vicks tip. Will try tonight. She's been coughing every night and unable to have good night's sleep, so poor thing

About the allergy issue, brought her to 2 PDs, both suspects that she's allergic to pet fur and dander and highly recommend that we remove the allergen (i.e. the dog) otherwise her flu, cough might escalate to asthma. Hb was very worried after hearing this but I am super reluctant to part with my doggie. She's been with us for 13 years already.
Want to rehome her also difficult, who wants such an old dog? Morevoer, my doggie may not be able to adapt to new home too.
I know you and babybliss also have dogs. Your babies any allergy reactions?

1853023.jpg
My Shih-Tzu 'XiaoHei'

diva,
jus something to share...
my mum told mi sweet potato better dun consume during evening cos more diff to digest and then will be bloated.

angel,
can understand ur pain to part with ur doggie... i also hv one shih tzu that hv been with us for yrs at hm, hmm.. so far my bb still ok.

scubababe, How's Bryon today? Our babies are vulnerable to all these 'viral' fever cos the natural immunity from mummies are depleted. Hope he too can recover soon!

hi mummies, how to make ur bb eat?

my girl dun like to eat cereal/puree/porridge..
tried each time, always failed, is it ok to rely just on milk?

angel, i have 2 dogs and a rabbit at home. and my mum's place there's 2 cats and a bird.so Adel is surrounded by animals 24/7.

actually cat dander is worse than dogs'. and i'm slightly allergic to it (very bad when they shed). ok for me the allergic reaction is hives around the eyes. runny nose and itchy eyes. Adel has no such reaction so far even though the dog sleeps on our bed and Adel sometimes sleep there too. i read that it's good for babies to grow up around animals, besides being more caring etc they can develop resistence to a multitude of possible allergens.

never heard of fever being caused by pet dander leh, i find some docs very irresponsible to jusmp to conclusions without any investigation.

actually if you're really worried can bring Dana for patch test? or separate the dogs from Dana for the time being like keeping them in the kitchen?

CHARISMAMA,

BB AFTER 6MTHS CANT RELY SOLELY ON MILK.
PERHAPS, START SMALL.
1 TEASPOON W 30ML OF MILK (EBM/BM)

BB TAKES SOME TIME TO GET USED TO EATING.

DUN FRET WHEN BB NOT EATING COZ THEY R LEARNING. GO SLOW SO NOT SO STRESSFUL FOR U N BB WILL GET TO ENJOY N LIKE EATING

Dogs with baby

so far my gal like ok with my maltese and she love to play with him. seldom let her contact with my 2 westies as they are hyper. currently, she is having cough. will it be due to my dog???

shaking of head(turn from one side to another)

this few days, my gal had been shaking her head. Any of you encounter this?

thanks angel for your well wishes. I'm at work so been calling home to check. My mum says she gave him one more dosage of paracetamol just not coz he was around 36.9. His appetite is still ok sohoping for the best. I always think positive so i believe its nothing serious

why dun u bring Dana for the allegic test that Prawnie brought Xavier? I am thinking of having it done for Byron too, just to get our minds at ease. I agree too that its good for babies to be expose to animals early. I wanted to get a dog after marriage but became pregnant first ha, so no chance for Byron to be in touch with doggies. My hubby and I think we will get a dog in our retirement hahaha

thanks yo.

when she is b4 6mth, she takes cereal/puree well..

now she hardly eat more than 5 spoon..

guess i just have to keep trying.

I agree that it's good to expose babies to animals early. Some experts claim that it reduces chances of allergies, as opposed to a child who is exposed to pets later on.

Hubby and I would like to adopt a dog, but it's gonna take a while since we've already got adopted cats and need to find a dog that will be happy surrounded by cats!

We too were worried about allergies when Ethan was first introduced to our cats, but nothing happened for which I'm so thankful cuz hubby and I are huge animal lovers and it would break our hearts to have to give them up.

angel - dogs with baby, so far Val is ok with Collie, our golden retriever. probably bcos she hardly come in contact with him.

hope Dana recover soon. for her cough, hv you seen a dr? better let dr check her lung and administer appropriate med.

yo - good to see you here! i think i still hv yr changing mat n bib (lollipop brand) ;)

Diva - must consider carefully before adopting a dog. We adopted collie before we had Val, now i hv 3 kids n 1 dog to look after. have to walk the dog twice a day, if dog is sensitive to certain food you will have to clean up after him when he has a run-diarrhoea. have to bathe n groom him - brush his teeth, clean his ears, comb him etc... And when we travel we have to trouble our neighbour to walk him n feed him.
See, it's like raising another child
My hubby loves him so there is no way he is giving him up! n poor me have to look after his daily needs..

maro,

I think I misused the word la. Probiotics dun need precription. It's actually not medication. It's good bacterial like wat's found in yakult. It can be found in Guardian. For Neobiotic, there's 2 types. Buy the one for babies. I mix it into his cereal every morning. My nephew also have constipation due to his diet. He will cry when he poo and he poo once or twice a week only. I let him try and short after, my sis in law called me to say he pooed and this time didn't cry cos not very hard. Dunno if I'm sensitive but I felt that Julian's milk intake increased after taking it. Haha.

Angel,

Julian is allergic to animal fur too. My sis has 3 rabbits. Whenever the rabbits are near, he will get bad ezcema. So, we keep the rabbit outdoors now. I remember bringing one of the rabbits to the vet. I didn't know the vet is allergic to rodent and he didn't tell me. He had asthma attack! I felt so bad after that.

Jules' Mum:

Just thought that it is kinda funny that the vet was allergic to rodents, coz doesn't a vet have to see all kinds of "patients"?

Dun feel bad coz I tink no one would have thot of it.

RE: memory loss
anaesthetics kills brain cells. the stronger the anaesthetic (ranging from gas to epi to GA), the more cells are killed. LOL.

i have dreadful memory too. at work i have to work in short bursts of activity. if i kiv something, likely it will be forgotten :p

Tsukushi, I'm not sure le. Since kea said it's just for overnight porridge. I give her cereal. Since cereal contains more nutrients that are pre-added and iron as well. I also give her other forms of carbo like potatoes like once a week.

Re: Dogs
Angel, no so far Summer is ok with both my Westies. I'm very very thankful for that. Coz we love our westies alot and wont part with them.
I understand how u feel about giving up your dog after 13 years. Both my dogs are 2 years old and we feel very strongly for them already. Can imagine 13 years together. Furthermore, i would say that after 13 years, all that ur dog have is you. Perhaps you would try not allowing ur dog to roam around the house. Say like confined to a room or kitchen area first.

Diva, yes, dogs comes with more work than cats. All that littleprincesses have mentioned.
My dogs are on home cooked food somemore, that means rushing home to prepare their meals and their treats. And yeah, i read that introducing pets to babies reducing the future chances of allergies. There are times when I had to share my bed with Summer and my two westies!!!

Yvonne, you have a pair of westies too !

I'm surprised to see that so many mommies here have dogs at home!

Scubababe, yeah Obama !!! Somehow am glad about it! But sad that his grandma just passed on. =(

dogs

i love all my dogs. i will nv ever give them away too. i feel that its a responsibilities to take care since day 1 when u get them. yup, i do totally agree. dog is not everything to u but u r everything to them. its really sad to send them away esp they are with u for so long. my maltese will have seperation anxiety if he dun see me. few weeks back, i start to cough at night when i hug my maltese to slp. the cough stop when i dun hug him. when i chk with doc, he say it might due to something i m allergy to. think its my maltese.

westies are very clever n hyper dogs. when they are puppies, they are destroyer. they destroy alot of my things. 1 of them will eat sea cucumber and the other will eat dried mushroom keep in the kitchen.

my dogs also take home cook food. taking care of them is like taking care of babies. cos need to go vaccination also. got to buy toys, snacks, clothes and so on for them. bring them for walk and play with them. so i wld suggest ppl who loves dog then get them.

Now attention is more for my gal,Tiff. my maltese also know it. feel that he is having a bit of depression.

hee hee. when talk abt dogs i got many to say. love them too much liao.

Hi Jgal
Transferred $15.50

The First Years Take & Toss Variety Pack - 28 pcs Spree by jgal - USD9.99
This baby product is BPA (Bisphenol-A) free.
* Reuse, toss or recycle*
* From 6 months
* Includes:
o 4 Take & Toss® spill-proof cups (10 oz.)
o 6 Take & Toss® bowls with lids
o 6 Take & Toss® snack bowls
o 12 piece Take & Toss® toddler flatware (6 forks & 6 spoons)

http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=139988&catid=26964
Every 4 has $5 off Deposit $15.50
1. jgal
2. choc tge25
3. sputnik
4. jolene teo (joteohl) trf on 28oct transactn ref 1949941835
5. Yvonne (ynby80)
6. Puffish
7. cutie188 trf on 27 0ct S$15.50 Transaction Reference 1948121377
8. dolly23
9. joellez (Transfer $15.50 on 31 Oct, trx ref 1955367937)
10. maro (Transfer on 26 Oct: Transaction Reference 1947601041)
11. goodbb
12. Poky
13. burpy_babe (Transfer on 5 Nov: Transaction Ref: 1963849856 )
14. tratties
15. Cutiebb (Transfer on 28 Oct: Transaction Ref 9912)
16. Chewy
17. maomi (Ref: 1955397504, 31 Oct)

BabyBliss,
Sorry, I can't make it last min cos gt lesson in the driving circuit cos my test is on tis fri. I meet up with u all again next rd.

BY BABYLISS
heye Apr Mommies cant wait to catch up wif ya & precious..
Let's have a playdate soon!

Playdate @ lil Owen's castle
When: This Friday, 7-nov 11am onwards
Where: Yew Tee (beside Regent Grove Condo)

mommies ive sms-ed, hope to cya ard
1. angel + Dana
2. chewy + Elliot (kiv)
3. raynsky + Asher
4. subarumum + Reina(?)
5. lynn85 + Charmaine (?)
6. maro + Davien (likely after 12)
7. lilprincesses + Valerie (kiv)
8. prawnie + Xavier (kiv)
9. xiaozhu + Kaylen (kiv)
10. maddy's mum + Madeline - will come in ard 1
11. yo & nicodemus
12. maomi + bb
13. na_na + Alaric (kiv)

hope to meet more friends~

Maro.. the bibs look cute but even at $7 for bib still quite steep leh... Morever, the current BP for carter bibs just $10 for 4.. but the bandana really very cute... dilema...

Hmm... you think if we gather more orders the seller will lower the price further?

Littleprincesses and Summer's Mama,

Oh yes I realise how much work having a dog is!
I used to have a schnauzer, so I know all that's involved. We bring Ethan for walks around our estate twice a day and almost every house has a dog or two.

Our cats love Ethan, they sniff him, swish their tails in front of him and attempt to rub themselves against him.. it's cute to watch

Because we feel strongly about adoption, we know the process will take longer as we need to find a dog that will be good around both babies and cats.

Diva,

It's tough find a dog to like cats and more difficult, cats to like dog!
Whenever I bring my dogs for walks, we will try our very best not to walk pass the cats.
My male dog is super excited when he sees cats but the cats arent too happy to see him. I often see them arch their back, looks like they are ready to pound on us. Scary.
But of coz, i love how independent cats are...

summer's mama- can u teach me how to prepare treat for dog? i undertstand that dog tolerate duck meat quite well. is it true? our collie, is sensitive to certain food and will hv diarrhoea once we give him something out of his usual diet.
tried rice n chicken meat...but was a disaster. he is quite poor thing only eats his dry food - lamb & rice. we give him dog biscuits as treat every other day.

diva, you used to have a schnauzer? mine's a total barker! such noisy dogs they are aren't they? my cavalier king charles is so much quiter in comparison. in fact, only my schnauzer will greet us at the door, my cavalier simply wag his tail lying on the sofa when we come home..

both my dogs are adopted
in fact all my animals and the family pets are all adopted..

my girl finally started playing with the taggies blankie i made for her! *happy mama*

my family cats at my mum's totally hated my dog. in fact my male cat attacked my cavalier on several occassions. now my cavalier freezes if he sees my male cat. when i bring my dogs over the cats must be locked up in the room, or we risk WWIII breaking out.

my schnauzer loves to check out my girl, but my cavalier is not interested. when my girl tried to touch him he walks away
maybe he's jealous, or upset at us for bringing home another dog and then a baby!

both my dogs have food allergies and are regular patients of Dr Jean Paul Ly. tried home-cooked food for a while, brown rice, oilve oil, tofu and all the works, but nothing worked. now on low-dose medication and D/D egg and rice diet. even Dr Ly was surprised the egg and rice worked cos we tried so many diff prescription diets and all didn't work. and egg isn't exactly a low-allergen food!

Hi Jgal
Transferred $15.50

* From 6 months
* Includes:

1. jgal
2. choc tge25
3. sputnik
5. Yvonne (ynby80)
6. Puffish (Transfer on 5 Nov, transaction ref 1964074038)
8. dolly23
11. goodbb
12. Poky
14. tratties
16. Chewy

Littleprincess, my dogs totally hate dog biscuits.
I think your dog is like my Angel. She has super low tolerance for new food. Usually she will get the diarrheoa but not Oz, the male westie. Milk is usually the cause.
Chicken is out of their diet completely as Westies are known for having skin problems easily and chicken triggers it. Their main diet consists of just pork with veg n rice.
My hubby bakes lamb cookies for them every week. And it's so difficult to buy minced lamb. Not mutton, i think mutton has a certain smell.
I will teach u how to many lamb cookies. Actually lamb meat loaf works just as well. But lamb is damn expensive! So cookies are a cheaper alternative. U can also try giving cherry tomatoes or baby carrots as treats. Gives betta smelling breathe too!

Lynn, U go to e vet at balestier? He's good for treating skin problems i heard. But very expensive too.
I think not only does the breed difference plays a part the individual dog's characters do play a part too. For me, both same breed but their characters are total opposites.

Hi Jgal
Transferred $15.50

* From 6 months
* Includes:

1. jgal
2. choc tge25
3. sputnik
5. Yvonne (ynby80) (trf on 5 Nov 08 tran ref :1964082538 )
6. Puffish (Transfer on 5 Nov, transaction ref 1964074038)
8. dolly23
11. goodbb
12. Poky
14. tratties
16. Chewy

Summer's Mama and Lynn,

A cat's independence is great, don't have to worry too much about not giving enough attention, etc.
Having said that, my boys are so affectionate that hubby says they're more like dogs! They're at the door meowing when we come home, follow us around the house, jump up on us for cuddles and scratches when we sit down, ALL of them sleep on our bed! Haha.. they really are lifelong members of our family.

We didn't get all of them at the same time, so we experienced the arched backs, puffy tails, hissy fits that come with meeting the newcomer.
I guess my boys are more lovers than fighters cuz they're all good pals now.

I do hope that they'll take kindly to the dog we choose to bring home, fingers crossed!
I like beagles, but no real preference since we're adamant about adoption.
My heart goes out to animals who are in shelters waiting for a loving home, animals who have been abused and abandoned.

Schnauzers are noisy dogs indeed! Haha I'm actually hoping for a less barky dog this time.. his sharp bark has given me a fright so many times!
That's one thing I like about cats, they're not loud at all.

yup my dogs 'clever' know how to choose 'good' food. the sea cucumber so hard also can eat.

all my dogs got diff characters too. 1 of my westies is female and she will know how curry favour my MIL. so my MIL loves her alot always say she good gal and the other 2 naughty boy. my female westie dun like my male westie. everytime he go near her, she will make some fierce sound. but when my maltese go near she will be in submissive position. dogs also humans, got likes n dun likes.

Summer's mama

where to get lamb? KK mkt? my westie got skin problem at 1st. now they are having rice, veg and pork so the skin problem are ok. now like got ear infection. need to see vet liao. :)

Yvonne, my girl once got ear infection too. From "over licking" from the boy !!! He licks her till her ears are so wet that they flop ! Can u imagine...

I got minced lamb from KAP cold storage. That's the cheapest. Some cold storage dont even have lamb and some do and are at least double e price. I dont understand the price variation.

Diva

some cats can get along with dogs well. i used to bring my dog to my fren house. when we are there, the cat will hide. hee hee. but stay together dunno got problem or not. think the dog will be at losing end if they will fight cos the cats can go up to the cupboard and the claw are 'power' man. hee hee.

me a bit scared of cats cos kena show claw power by the cat when i feed them.

Yvonne,

I've been scratched quite a few times myself, but never intentionally though.

One of my boys jumped over me to get to another perch, missed, landed on my chest, lost his balance, claws came out in panic I guess, so I got a very very big scratch that bled in a few places. Haha it looked like a bad scrape from a car accident!

Another one of my boys loves to swipe at the toys and even my hand if he so decides it's a toy at that moment! Haha so yes, scratches are inevitable with a cat.

They're my first sons as I call them, precious and close to my heart

Littleprincesses
I rem urs is a goldie rt? Think u can feed maize, carrot, broccoli, fish, pumpkin. My dad makes dinner for my sis' golden retriever, carrot/pumpkin, broccoli, w canned lamb and dry food for her daily. AFter her walk at nite she will definitedly want her sweet corn/maize. Think u can intro these slowly to ur golden retriever.

I think there is online bakery for pets, we bgt cake, cookies, muffin for goldie during her 3rd birthday this yr. Thinkng of getting some for xmas and cny
If u r keen, let me know, i go find the website for u

maro,
did u send the bibs under my nick mifi and put inside a siemens envelope??cos today the postman came to deliver and my silly bro say got NO SUCH person.SUCKS....
I wonder if the parcel is stil in the post office or b return to u.can check.i SOOOOOO ANGRY to the max with my silly bro...

summer'smama- thanks in advance for the recipe

actually i'm very scared to introduce new food..coz once he gets diarrhoea it will be super messy and it takes a few days to clear. but will want to try carrot

my neighbour's doberman eats lamb meat every other day!! so lucky...

simp - yes, our dog is a golden retriever. i don't mind looking at the website for doggie treats.
Hee, at one time i wanted a cairn terrier but decided against it since many of our friends say they are quite barky n hyper active. We are happy with Collie, he has wonderful temperament but not a great guard dog though ;)

Yes, i shld be able to go on fri at about 1pm. will try to bring something over for lunch.

BY BABYLISS
heye Apr Mommies cant wait to catch up wif ya & precious..
Let's have a playdate soon!

Playdate @ lil Owen's castle
When: This Friday, 7-nov 11am onwards
Where: Yew Tee (beside Regent Grove Condo)

mommies ive sms-ed, hope to cya ard
1. angel + Dana
2. chewy + Elliot (kiv)
3. raynsky + Asher
4. subarumum + Reina(?)
5. lynn85 + Charmaine (?)
6. maro + Davien (likely after 12)
7. lilprincesses + Valerie
8. prawnie + Xavier (kiv)
9. xiaozhu + Kaylen (kiv)
10. maddy's mum + Madeline - will come in ard 1
11. yo & nicodemus