(2008/04) April 2008

strawberries: is ur boy teething? my mum just told me today mine not taking milk 50ml each feed only, eat v lil porridge and is whiny the whole day. oh dear. i hope there is an explanation for all these!

maomi,

I think your baby might be teething. Coz one of the signs of teething is loss of appetite. Just read about it during lunch today.

Strawberries,

Orr okie. you sms me when is convenient for you? I most likely will be out of office next week so not sure if I will have internet access.

RE: Play mat

alot mummies here have LG/Paklon playmat....may I ask your opinion? do you all think its a good investment cos I personally feel quite expensive.
Is there any shop I can go and see the mat?

javiers mum, I am using Parklon playmat... I have 2 at home and simply love it! Think its a very gd investment and so far, friends who saw it all commented its gd! My gal loves to roll over and crawl on it and its pretty soft so I am not worried of her knocking her chin or mouth on the hard floor.

hoon,
i have the parklon playmat, i feel really worth the investment. baby can crawl, sleep, play on the mat. i even sleep there b4.
actually wan to buy another one but my hubby stops me.. no place to see the mat except on those who hv bought b4..

perhaps u can check it out at jgal's place if you're collecting anything from her :p hehee

Hi Maro
ya I saw jgal's LG mat therefore I am tempting to get 1 for Javier ,he like the mat so much that he staring at the mat's cartoon..instead play with little sweet Constance haha

<font color="119911"><font size="+1">Maro</font>,
will be doing transfer $129.90 via ATM later after work...

can sms me the confirmation when it's thru...thanks

my hp no is in the list that simp sent...cos
will not have access to computer after work...</font>

finally it's payout day...$$$ at last

jaspire I will go look for your number from Simp's list and sms u and geryl

strawberries: it will just hang sometimes, and sometimes the camera cannot on coz apparently i have too many other applications open when i dun have anything else running. but its getting better then the beginning. Less hanging then the first month i feel. I heard the E71 is no good leh, but i like the design leh

mat: i got a parklon, i think its the 12 or 13 mm (cannot remember), very very happy with it but think the size i got is too big, difficult to fold it up to keep sometimes when i wanna mop the floor etc. Honestly, its a good buy coz its good to encourage bb to crawl/move and where best to do it then on the floor so there's no worry of falling from the bed etc.

maomi, I got the parklon 12mm and 15mm one. Both are gd. The 15mm one is larger and I placed it in baby's room where she can really roll about without me fearing of her hurtin herself. As for the 12mm one, I placed it in the living rm. Its more of a short playtime/reading time or feeding (if i used the bumbo chair) area. I lurve it alot wor! Think very worthwhile if u gonna hv more kids next time as can use it even when our kids are bigger. Some of my frens even lie down on it to play wif my gal.

the playmat i asked alien, she is already OOS and she says that no plans for next BP coz she is tied up with work. =(

so we gotta buy from smallsmallworld, more expensive.

cloudme,
ok.. will check tonight and sms u, thanks

hoon,
yeah, jgal's one is LG and much bigger.

maomi,
i feel the parlon one is good enuf, at that time dont know how it looks like so just get the cheapest one. hehe.. mine is 12mm thick and the smaller dimension cos my place not that big so a small one will do.

maomi - yellow bear or pooh frenz from SSW is 1250 x 1850 , 12mm ...its reasonable cost, tik u can check out her BP. I gt both but i find yellow bear is of better quality - softness.

Hoon, Maomi, Princess-j,

Get the mat!
It's an investment, but gosh it can last just about forever!

Like the other mummies here have mentioned, it's a soft and safe area for baby to play on.
You don't have to worry about bumps on the hard wood or marble floor, and the tears that will come after.

And compared to the ABC foam mat, the LG/Parklon is waterproof.
This is one of the biggest selling points for me, makes spills and spit ups so much more manageable

And I'm very taken by the alphabet on the reverse side, looking forward to using it to teach Ethan!

hi all i am currently looking to buy a high chair. have short listed 2, chicco polly 2 in 1 and peg perego prima pappa. can anyone advise on the cleaning of the high chair, ie is it easy to clean the chair, can the covers/harness be removed to wash... etc. would appreciate if anyone could provide comment on the above 2 brands.

Hoon, Maomi, Princess-j,

I agree that the mat is a very good investment. I bought both 15mm and 12mm Yellow Bear Parklon. But my 15mm, got a hole already, cause the elder niece cycled, dragged chair on it. So if u have a older child, advise to discipline him/her not to do such things on the mats.

Otherwise, it is a lovely investment.

mummies, seems like alot of us want to get the mat. mabbe we should do our own spree! hmmmz. but any idea how? is there an authorised distributor etc?

Maomi,

Hmmm, my boy used to cry at night, tt's bcos he couldn't poo poo, so I think the tummy not feeling well.

Yesterday, he poo-ed a BIG chunk of it out, and he whine a bit. Ouch! My heart hurts.... such a big hard poo out from his tiny anus. No wonder he hurts

Mummies - if u start cereals, please remember to feed pear puree or feed water so to avoid constipation and discomfort to your princes/princess.

my opinion bout playmat is bout the same as the mummies here.. i've got a parklon 2100x1400x15 bot from alien.. dont think its suitable for napping as i also experience that whenever my gal takes her nap on the mat, its for quite short period of 30mins, think its not comfortable as its pretty hard.. on the other hand, we love the mat to just play around with her especially now as she is learning to crawl -very good for playtime and no need to worry bout baby hurting themselves hard.. if she is wet or poo, can also change her on the mat, once change, she is off turning around crawling again..

hi winter,

hmmmz. yeah my boy used to have a screaming fit every evening 6plus 7pm to about 8 or 9pm when he finally falls aslp due to exhaustion. i think he was about 2-4mths for about 1 mth plus or so. thot those days were over. but all along, he has been poo-ing. these 2 days aso poo-ing ok. i hope tonite it doesn't happen again.

Maro,

Signs of teething includes: swollen gums, irritability, dribbling &amp; refusing food.

so far, my girl has only signs of dribbling non stop and poor appetite. sometimes she is not able to finish her 150ml milk. and she now likes to bite the teat of the bottle and the spoon that we use to feed her.

Maomi, u can try use gripe water and massage his gums. Heard that it has a soothing effect on the gums.

same.. my boy used to cry non stop from 3pm, due to colic. Now no more. But after the poo poo yesterday, he slept through the night

Got to try and error, and c if u hit the jackpot.

burpy_babe,
ic.. my boy likes dribbling also..

winter,
yeah, pls.. me tempted to get another one too.. hehe.. maybe the playpark design..
but think likely will deliver to one location only..

good...we consolidate list, got bargaining power. heehee.

SSW:
"maomi
We are the sole agent for LG prime and Parklon playmats in Singapore.
This is a bulk purchase thread and the prices here are discounted prices."

that's what she said when I pointed out got cheaper seller. ooops. =p

maro, after my girl's threwing up episode, soft biscuits are really quite dangerous for our babies (unless they can really eat lumpy food very well already). the heinz one really soft and easy to break after a few licks. my girl just stuff it into her mouth, lick lick etc. then next thing we knew she pulled it out and one huge chunk was missing. then she coughed it up and threw up everything too

really hope the HT ones are hard enough to prevent this. any other mummies giving teething rusks already? can share your expriences and recommendations?

Mushloom,

Did you read my review on the Peg Perego Prima Pappa?
It should be in the thread from 2 days ago.

To recap, the Prima Pappa is an absolute pleasure to use.
Firstly, the seat cover is vinyl which makes cleaning a breeze.
I'm not a fan of cotton fabrics on high chairs. Makes no sense to me.
A high chair is going to see plenty of spills and spit up, we shouldn't have to worry about delicate fabrics and removing stains.

The seat cover and harness is completely removable. Replacement seat covers are also sold at Baby Hyperstore.

One of my favorite features is the height adjustment and removable tray, makes it easy for baby to join the rest of the family at the dining table next time.

The recline feature is great as the Prima Pappa doubles up as Ethan's TV chair. And because it leans back, he's able to lounge comfortably.
Ethan is on the last recline now, it ensures that he's far back enough so he doesn't bob forward during mealtimes.
A recline is also helpful when babies start feeding themselves milk or juice.

The wheels are something I would never give up!
It's so easy to move Ethan from room to room or drive him around the house when he's bored

The Prima Pappa is streamline, self-standing and folds compactly.
I don't plan to buy another high chair, I'm sure it's gonna be able to last for years, from one kid to the next.
In a nutshell, one of my best buys ever.

I saw the Chicco Polly and really didn't like it.
Bulky (the legs looked like tree stumps) and after folding, couldn't stand up on it's own securely.
It didn't pass our test.

Hope this helps, good luck!

maomi,
i think any design with the alphabets at the back is good.. mine dont hv, so thinking of getting one with that.. hehe
next will be the thickness and size

Mummies interested to get Playmat:
1. Maomi x2
2. Winter
3. Maro (tentative - need hubby's green light :p)

Lynn,

I bought Heinz teething rusks as well and gave them to Ethan yesterday.
He gave it a good suck and chew and found that a few bits came off when I took it from him.
It's definitely not hard enough if a few minutes of sucking can soften it so much that bits start coming off.

After hearing you share about what happened to Adel, I'm not giving it to Ethan as a rusk anymore.
Instead, I'm going to soften it in milk and turn it into a cereal-like, mushy snack.

This presents a serious choking danger, I'm very glad to know that Adel managed to cough it up and nothing more serious happened.

lynn

i bot the bellemy (dunno the spelling) ....is v v hard!! hard till i try and bite oso difficult... lolx...and i think is too hard till my boy suck till pain and throw temper..

Diva, I'm glaf nothing serious happened to Ethan. Actually it contains sugar (I've tried it and found it rather sweet). So I dun even think I want to give it to her anymore..

Kea, thanks for sharing. Will check out Bellemy too. The rusk does not have a weird smell like their cereal right?

i give my heinz too. she like dun like the it. the thing will 'melt' after much saliva settle on it. then it become quite messy to eat it. think its meant for bigger kids.

i also preferred design that have alphabets at the back. i list dwn my name here, will look at jgal's mat b4 deciding

Mummies interested to get Playmat:
1. Maomi x2
2. Winter
3. Maro (tentative - need hubby's green light :p)
4. princess-j