(2008/04) April 2008

choc,
ya, he is very pissed after 1/2hr of photoshots, cos making him sit, stand etc.. hehee..
yeah, his hair grew like that after shaving on the 1st mth, growin v v slowly but faster at the middle, strange.

Thanks for the info on the passport. I have so many versions of him (senget, tongue out, big eyes, squinty eyes, laughing, yawning..etc)
Does ICA inform you if the photo is rejected? Need to travel by mth end.

Winter
ya, totally agreed that Ergo is good. Really a good buy for me, even my hb like 2 use that 2 carried my boy while shopping, nw i can shop w/o difficult with my boy using Ergo.

Calamari
for banana, is better 2 buy 'pang jio' cos my dad say that del monte wan is 'smoked' oredi so nt so good.

be@ns, i tik ICA will inform u. but they more lenient with bb photo, even mine is self taken against a very light grey backgrd also accepted haaha.

bean
i find taking pic of my ger lying on a white surface is the best. this is how she looks. i didnt submit this. gotta resize to look somewhat like what ICA website indicates.
1775767.jpg

jasmine, i'm using the math n eng kit since Summer was 3 weeks old.
They have classes to teach you how to use the kit properly.
If u intend to let ur boy go on e GD prog i suggest that you start early.
Quite a few mommies here also use e GD prog.
Btw, when u go to GDbaby, pls note not to park along e roadside. Not sure where else u can park. Coz i parked there kenna fine. I know another mommy here also kenna, though on different days, different times. They are quite vigilant there.

Maro u boy so cute in e photo!!!

Wow, one morning didn't log in 2-3 pages of archive already! We're living in bullet-speed times

Calamari, RE: Fruit Puree
Apple- Royal Gala Apple (Recommended by Mummies here) but I bought the NZ organic Fuji apples, also quite tasty.
Banana - I bought the minature 'Dole' bananas (I from Fairprice Finest). Dunno where to buy 'Pang Jio' and don't know which type it is. Does NTUC sell it?
Pear - Green Peckham Pear (buy the baby ones, Usu. from South Africa)

RE: Carriers
Thanks Mummies for all your advice. Dana's 7kg but the Bjorn is getting a lil tight for her esp under her arms. So thought of getting another follow-on carrier soon. So far, we've been using Bjorn everywhere we go (Church, outings, shopping) cos it's so convenient and bb is close to us. Our Maclaren stroller is virtually untouched!
Since so many of you recommend Ergo, where can I buy it locally?

Jgal, if I want to ship it in, which website is good?

RE: Passport Photos
All the bbs so cute! Maro, your son's soooo handsome!

hi Jolene
cute baby with stylo mylo hairstyle

RE: Passport Photo

actually you need to bring your baby once to verify, why don't you all bring the baby straight to there and let the expert take the photo for your babies? I had my baby's photo taken there, very well taken , they will retake the photo until you satisfy.
upon collection of passport I do not need to bring my baby there again.

Avocado
Die yesterday i bgt a brownish looking avocado, soft to press then just now i opened, the flesh is like dark greenish/brown. I tasted ok but scared spoiled so threw away. Here goes my $. IS the flesh supposed to be green only? Not brown rt? Brown = spoiled? Mummies, need advise!

Pear puree
Hahaha yesterday i put pear puree into HB BR and just now she poo, solid form. So Winter, u may be rt that pear helps in constipation too.

Potato w HT BR
Today i mix 1/2 potato w HT BR at 1bt 1.30pm, Shevon finished 2tbs. M happy. HB BR alone today i think she only managed 1.5tbs. At least now she finished them
No complains

Scared she become fatty soon again. PD alreadi mentioned she is still on the heavier side
At 6m, 8.15kg and onli 68cm so that's considered heavy for bb gers is it?

oh talk about passport photo, I need to make passport for Kayla too. Found this photo with a white background taken when she was 4 months old. But she is not looking at the camera. Can pass ICA?

1775851.jpg

Simp
I am refering to my gina ford book of weaning which says to choose avocado with smooth, shiny bright green blemish-free skins as they tend to be sweeter than the dark green or purple ones. It is ripe if the ends of the fruit feel soft when pressed. Ripe ones are best stored in the refridgerator and should keep for 3-4 days. Avocados cannot be frozen.

Sorry it's a chunk as I'm just regurgitating from my book
hope this helps. And it also says avocado is high in fat content. You might want to limit it since it seems you are concerned about shevon's weight?

Argh! I am also soooooo jealous of Kayla's hair :p

Simp - solid form of poo poo? Shevon still on BM right? Should be watery leh, she didn't take enough liquid?

And oh, another thing is if you use only half the avocado, the remaining half should be brushed with lemon juice, wrapped tightly in foil and stored immediately in the refrigerator. This will keep well.

earth_baby, i searched online and it says avocardo can be frozen although it may brown.

can either freeze in slices and thaw and puree or puree and then freeze immediately. i tried it (cos my girl takes one quarter only and i puree with added water to get it to the consistency my girl takes) and there's minimum browning, so no problem

Stroller for travelling with bb
I'm thinking of getting the maclaren volo stroller as I was told it's good for travelling overseas. anyone has comment on this stroller?

simp what potato you used? i'm thinking of potato next cos it should be bland enough for my girl's weird taste.. hope it'll help her accept HB BR cereal too! cos mine also take a couple of mouthfuls of HB only, but HT she likes cos more bland?

Hi be@ns
I did not apply online cos i work near SIR,
I went there with my baby 1st after filling up all particulars attach photo I just pay at the net machine ($70) and let the officer verify my reciept and baby, then I can drop my form into the box. upon collection actually you can go online to take a queue no and proceed down yourself to collect the passport with your ic and bb birthcert.
I went there sat about 8am but i take Queue no only when I am there, i only wait about less then 45 mins to be serve, can say its quit efficient now for them.

earth baby, i read that the browning does not affect the taste? and it doesn't brown drastically leh, only a bit so it's still green. but see baby eat that very cute, like green goo everywhere on the face.. heehee

it's quite oily too but supposed to be good fats and easy to digest.

Lynn
Hee avocado has another great use...for facial
My sis told me to mash it whole, then keep 1/2 for baby, 1/2 for my face, makes skin smooth and soft

Koori
ya 'pang jio' is the small type.

Calamari
love to see Kayla's pic
ur ger gt any boys 'chop' or ntif nt my boy 'chop' her, hahahah............

Jolene
ur ger's hair so cute, standing wan

angel
ya ever since I buy my Ergo, i seldom use my stroller oredi as feel carrier is more convenient & boy will b more closer to me

juniorRain
i can spot my ger fr far cos of her hair. hahaha!

earth baby
nowadays, more ppl said she resembles her papa
its funny that she doesn't hav double eyelids when her parents have them....

angel.. you can get the ergo from babycentre. (with free shipping) i think sometimes sg metro has ergo but it goes oos quite fast.

i help juniorRain shipped hers cos' metro oos that time.

Dear Jgal, thanks for the information. Will try to order from BBcentre then. Btw, does BBcentre use very big boxes? Do you remember what's the Vol Wt of an Ergo? It's selling at US$105 at BBCentre now which is about S$157.50 before shipping leh...

Bb Gers
Wow all the gers are getting prettier each day
I like

Winter
Yes shevon is still on tbf. Dunno y poo starts to be semi solid? Maybe both her and i r not getting enugh fluid. Must drink more now but more water = more milk for me i think :p

Carrier
Hahah i onli use my pikkolo when i go to super crowded place or wet market. Mainly use my stroller now and pikkolo is usually in the basket. The max hrs i use pikkolo is 2 hrs, so far ok for me. I realised when shevon faces out, she gets overstimulated easily, alreadi she gets mares whenever we go out. Only when she wish to slp, then i face her in towards me. Pouch no way for 2hr, i use pouch when i m out alone which is hardly or when i am at home
Think ergo material is softer compared to pikkolo. Pikkolo material is not as "smooth" though

summer's mama, angel..
thanks for the compliment, will let know tonight..

jolene,
yr girl hair really very stylo.. hehe.. this pic definite ok for passport.

calamari,
as always, kayla's photo is so cute... hehe.. btw, the passport now only for 5 yrs and if not traveling then no need to apply first. SIR very efficient, within 3 days the passport is ready..

Earth
Hahah ok i shall try again when i do marketing on sun for avocado. Wd try ur method, think i must learn to choose produce. I usually just order and eat hahaha, so much xuewen when do grocery haiz

Thanks goodness i nvr feed bb the spoiled avocado as i am really bad at telling the spoiled food. My nose super lousy :p

Lynn
Potato, i also dun know which type. I just choose the smaller ones w little buds/eyes since bb dun take in too much. I wonder if we can freeze them. I just chilled the remaining in the fridge for tmw and sat.

Calamari
Initially i also tgt bb can share passport w me. Think the ruling changed liao.

Yes shevon is usually between 85 n 95 percentile for ht and 90 to 95 percentile for wt hee. PD always comment my bb fatty hahaha. Now i think she slim down a little and easier to carry or maybe now i have muscles trained to carry her. However i still bu tahan when i carry her outward facing using just my hands. No way, 5min must change position. Only w pikkolo or pouch, shevon can face out, easier on me

juniorrain: hahaha...can chope, can chope...haha, although this Kayla hor, seems to be quite mesmerised by Elliot, wahahahah! Eh, how is Eshin? Baluku subsided?

Simp - my bb is 8kg, 68cm at 6mths, PD say she's normal....tik urs should be fine. hehee.

Calamari - kayla photo taken @ 4mths ah, tik should use a more recent photo, u got DSLR camera mah go take more and shortlist those looking at camera one. Next time u see the passport u will prefer to have one looking at camera...hehe. Btw no co-sharing with mummy liao, ICA change ruling. When u bringing Kayla for trip, best to do it nearer the trip cos only last for 5yrs, now passport very ex. haha.

calamari
Wah...so cute eh, can chope Kayla? Why didn't you say earlier? Jayden also like pretty gals :p

Tks for all the helpful info on passport. I will plan to get Jayden's next year then only before my trip. 5 years is so short for a passport!

earth bb
i also freeze the avocado after i puree, coz i only gave bryan half. its rather tasteless actually.

calamari
really sooo envy of kayla's hair, my boy is still quite botak.