(2008/04) April 2008

Good morning Maro and Mummies

<font color="0000ff">RE: Pikkolo vs Beco Butterfly</font>

I need some advice. My ger will be outgrowing her Bjorn carrier soon and saw a thread selling both Pikkolo and Beco. Which one is more value-for-money and gives better support when carrying bb? I know some of you bought Pikkolo from a BP months ago right? What's your take?

Maro,
No real need for me to learn Korean as my ILs also speak English most of the time, so communication is always in English

Though I would very much like to pick up Korean, I'll get the chance to do so soon I hope.

Cloudme,
I'm so sorry I forgot to tell you about the ginseng!
Well my MIL didn't give ginseng water to her kids or other grandkids, so she doesn't know much about it.
But she's a doctor and says that 6 months ought to be fine, and that it all depends on how the baby takes it.
And as you know, ginseng is bitter and it won't taste very good to baby unless you sweeten it with honey

diva..
ic.. no wonder.
ethan's pics sure perk us up.. a very happy boy, always smiley..

anyway, u still wan to order the ec books? hv not heard from you yet..

Cloudme,
Why do you want to give your baby ginseng anyway?

Maro,
Oh yes! EC books!
Hubby and I have our list, we'll decide which to take in PB and BB over breakfast. I'll send it to you this morning, thanks for waiting

Ethan has become a very happy baby through the months, always smiling and laughing with family.. I wonder if it's the same with strangers.

He's staring at hubby as he eats bacon and sausage, complete with drool and moving lips! Haha

Angel :The most value-for-money carrier has to be the Ergo because
- it has good support.
- excellent support for bb. It wont hurt their spine and the pressure is well-spread-out.
http://www.continuum-concept.org/reading/spinalStress.html
- it can be use for up to 2 yrs olds. Beco and Pikkolo can only last up to ard 1 yrs old, if i am not wrong.

Only thing is it's not as pretty. If you ship it in, the cost will probably be ard 150+10 shipping.
quite reasonable also.

Angel,

I've got the Bjorn and the Ergo. And so far, I've only used the Bjorn with Ethan as he loves to face outwards.
But as he's getting heavier, I'm going to switch to using the Ergo soon.

Like Jgal said, it provides good support for both mum and baby.
I haven't tried it yet but Winter who's using it, gives it the thumbs up. Right, Winter?

I personally wouldn't bother buying a Beco or Pikkolo as I feel that it's very much like the Bjorn and will not be able to last you as long as the Ergo can.

The Ergo doesn't have pretty designs but you can make up for it by getting a feminine color like cranberry.. I did and it's luscious!

Helo Mummies,
Anyone can clear my doubts in my previous post? ;(

Posted on Wednesday, October 08, 2008 - 11:35 pm:

Am April mummy as well.. My boy Started his 1st weaning wif Happybellies Brown rice today.. He love it and had 2~3 mouth as told by my MIL..
Had just order 2 more tin..! Thanks Jgal...!!

But am confuse among the varies type between HappBellies Oatmeal, brown rice &amp; Multigain..
a) When should we start &amp; end wif each type? At different stage?

b) Will the above item heaty? This was ask by my MIL.. keke..

c) when should we stop feeding cereal and proceed to porriage??

Kindly advise .. Thanks in advance..

Hi Jgal,
Do we need to make necessary transaction now?

maro...hard to get one with his teeth..hehee..
always very blur..coz i one hand pry open his mouth, one hand snap.. hai..end up blur photo..tonite will try again..ask my hubby to snap..i pry..
haha..cruel mummy...
i still miss the days when he no teeth... can latch without worry..now so scared he bite me... hahaa

Taurus2008 : Here you are.

<font color="aa00aa">Here's all the information you need to start off. </font>
http://www.babycenter.com/0_introducing-solid-foods_113.bc
When should I introduce solids?
How will I know when my baby's ready?
How should I introduce solid food?
How will I know when my baby's full?
Do I still need to give my baby breast milk or formula?
How should I introduce other solid food?
How many times a day should my baby be eating solid food?
Do I need any special equipment?
Where should I feed my baby?
How can I help my child develop healthy eating habits?

Here's a guide on when to feed what..
http://www.babycenter.com/0_age-by-age-guide-to-feeding-your-baby_1400680.bc

Please dun assume that there will be ppl answering your question. further more this question has been answer and replied to.. You shld have went thru earlier post before your ask question..

After reading all these, please take everything and digest and act according to your own wisdom. Cos' every child is different and every family is too..

Like me, my mother is the one feeding.. So she say what i just accept.. Unless it really bad. :| She boil the pumpkin instead of steam.. i also tiam tiam, let her do her way.. ha haha

choc (tge25) : your boy is really quite handsome with his bright eyes.
hee hee .. he will def be heavier by the time he's 6 mths. Dont worry , he's 1 mth younger than Ethan's that's why smaller.

choc: your prince is really very cute
...I manage to catch my daughter's teeth on photo, will post tonight, hahaha. I have stopped latching on for about 1 month already, was also afraid she'll bite! Hahaha!

Choc - i love ur boy's smile &amp; eyes, so bright!

Poupinette - ur boy's eyes is typical korean eyes hor, small small.

Diva:
Thanks for helping me to enquire...

for no particular reasons...
cos i remember that my korean tour guide told us that he gave his children ginseng water from young...
so wondering if we can give it to our bbs too...

guess i have to slowly finish my bottles of ginseng powder and ginseng syrup by myself...haha

Maro:
regards to EC books..i have decided on a few titles...will PM u later...

jgal...actualli i didnt say previously..heheh..
Raphael weight 7 weeks ago already 7.5kg.. so now shld be heavier than Ethan.. hahaaa..but no complaints about his weight lar...
hahaa

calamari...u also scared she bite hor..mine bite me alot of times lor... onli recently i dare to let out my scream..at first i endure n endure..
hehe..

angel, i've the pikkolo. i bought it becos it can face outwards and side as well as the facing inwards. as stated it can be used till bb is 35 pounds which will be like around 16kg?

it's comfy but not as pretty as the beco. but didn't get beco becos cannot face out and side..

the material seems stiffer than ergo though, but then raynsky has the new colour Flame and it seems softer than my Stone one...

Hi Jgal.. Noted wif thanks..

Am just confuse among the varies type between HappBellies Oatmeal, brown rice &amp; Multigain..
a) When should we start &amp; end wif each type?

Mayb anyone can refer me to any link related.. thanks..

Jgal,
Perhaps Taurus2008 has no time to review the previous threads, we're here to help so let's do so without comments.
The fact that she's asking these questions clearly shows that she's a 1st time mummy, aren't most of us?

Taurus2008,
Let me help you out

1) Most if not all mummies generally start off with brown rice as it is a single grain cereal, and therefore easier for baby to digest.
You can progress to Oatmeal next and then Multigrain last.

2) I personally do not worry too much about heatiness. How much cereal do you plan to feed your son?
Ethan sometimes gets 5 tbsp cereal and I just make sure to give him water/juice in between so that he gets enough liquids.
As long as milk still forms the bulk of your son's diet, I don't think you need to worry. Consult your PD for confirmation.

3) I don't believe that there is a set date to stop feeding cereal, you can still feed a 2 year odd toddler cereal.
Ethan hasn't started porridge yet but my mum plans to introduce it any day now.
If you like, keep your son on cereal for a month or 2 before introducing porridge.
When you do, just remember to blend it prior or boil it long enough so it's smooth and not too lumpy.

We're all here to help and be helped, so ask whatever you need to.
I understand your anxiety but give us some time, we'll get to your question eventually

mummies...i took some pics for my boy's passport...how do i know if it's ok? not very sharp &amp; he was sticking his tougue out...

angel: how heavy is dana now? How come cannot use Bjorn anymore? If you are using Synergy, should be able to last till she is 11kg. Other Bjorn series can hold babies up to about 10kg as well.

poupinette : I am not as patience as you meh.. Make other ppl wait for you at orchard for more than 5 hrs.. still dun think much abt it.. .. you really very different from ordinary singaporean.. Cos' if we do this kind of things to ppl.. we will at least apologies. :p

Thanks Diva for helping in my enquries.. (^-^)
His 1st feed is ard 2~3 tbsp. And i'm glad he love it.. Of cos will gradually increase according to his demand..

Can mix Brown rice &amp; Oatmeal cereal in future feed?

Koori,
Heh yup small lil eyes.. Korean blood running through his veins, what to do

Cloudme,
I guess you could try giving it and if your baby doesn't like the taste, try adding a lil honey. Just give his gums and teeth a good brush after

Calamari,
Haha at least you've snapped a pic of Kayla's pearlies!
I haven't yet managed to take a clear one of Ethan's, we've got dozens of blurry ones though

Just for laughs. I read this from a website (http://parenting.families.com/blog/a-day-in-the-life-of-a-sahm) and thought quite amusing for this mom takes it with humor what others seen as a harshly mundane life

SAHMs, any inspiration? Ha Ha
=============================================
"So, to lighten it up a bit, I thought maybe we could take a humorous look at what stay at home moms do in any given day. Here is a daily schedule for any given stay at home mom somewhere in America."

6:30 am - Wake up, wipe sleep from eyes. Find bathrobe somewhere on the floor, put it on. Stumble out of bed, stub toe on toy two year old left on the ground.
6:45 am - Make coffee, spill water on the counter.
7:00 am - Wake kids. Return to kitchen, prepare lunches for lunchboxes. Pour cup of coffee, burn hand.
7:15 am - Wake kids again. Brush teeth, wake up husband.
7:20 am - Threaten children with bodily harm if they don't get out of bed. Help kids get dressed.
7:30 am - Get kids breakfast and husband a cup of coffee. Pile dishes in the sink.
7:45 am - Instruct children to brush teeth and hair. See husband sipping coffee and reading paper or watching the news on TV (totally oblivious to chaos erupting around him).
7:50 am - Blot out toothpaste with water from the kid's shirts.
8:00 am - Load up the van, take kids to school.
8:10 am - Arrive at school, wait in drop-off line and hope nobody sees you in your jammies. Drop off kids, narrowly miss hitting child crossing the street.
8:20 am - Arrive home. Husband is showered and dressed and walks out the front door, dripping coffee on the floor as he exits.
8:30 am - Change baby's diaper and get baby's breakfast ready.
8:45 am - While baby is eating, clean up kitchen and load dishes in dishwasher.
8:50 am - Clean up baby's mess, wipe up floor and pick cheerio's out of your hair. 9:00 am - Dress baby.
9:10 am - Make beds and collect laundry.
9:15 am - Find two day old diaper in baby's room under pile of clothes.
9:20 am - Load washing machine.
9:30 am - Play patty cake with baby and watch "Sesame Street".
9:45 am - Zone out watching Big Bird and make lists in your head of things to do.
10:00 am - Change laundry from washer to dryer.
10:15 am - Unload dishwasher.
10:30 am - Prepare baby's snack, nibble on a cracker.
11:00 am - Lay baby down for a nap.
11:15 am - Clean up bathrooms, scrub left over toothpaste from bathroom sink.
11:30 am - Get dressed.
12:00 pm - Check email, see urgent email from last week you forgot to return.
12:30 pm - Wake baby, feed lunch. Eat baby's left over pb&amp;j.
1:00 pm - Change baby, clean up lunch mess.
1:30 pm - Clean up husband's spilt coffee, make cup of coffee for yourself.
2:00 pm - Fold laundry, leave on top of dryer.
2:30 pm - Clean up goldfish crackers baby found and spilled and crushed into rug.
2:45 pm - Leave to pick up kids from school.
2:50 pm - Listen to kids complain about their teachers and friends.
3:00 pm - Pick up husband's dry cleaning.
3:15 pm - Run to grocery store
4:00 pm - Return home, find dry cleaning in a pile on the floor of van that baby must have pulled down.
4:15 pm - Unload groceries, find 2 boxes of sugar cereal you're sure you didn't put in the cart.
4:30 pm - Start homework, look for pencils for 15 minutes.
4:45 pm - Help with homework, racking brain to remember how to add fractions.
5:00 pm - Start dinner. Place pencils in secure location.
5:30 pm - Referee argument between children.
6:00 pm - Greet husband, serve dinner, pile dishes in sink. Listen about husband's stressful day.
6:45 pm - Drop off son at cub scout meeting.
7:00 pm - Return home. Start dinner dishes.
7:30 pm - Bathe baby. Get drenched like a visit to Niagra Falls.
7:50 pm - Read story, sing one lullaby, put baby to bed.
8:00 pm - Pick up son from cub scout meeting, agree to give friend a ride home.
8:30 pm - Arrive home, start nighttime showers.
9:00 pm - Put older children to bed.
9:30 pm - Finish dinner dishes, wipe kitchen counters.
9:45 pm - Sit with husband, lie about how great your day was. Listen to husband complain about how he is the only one who works at his company.
10:15 pm - Announce that you're tired and off to bed.
10:20 pm - Walk past laundry room, take more clothes out of dryer, fold.
10:30 pm - Visit www.families.com
10:45 pm - Put baby back in her own room.
11:00 pm - Arrive in bedroom, get in bed.
11:30 pm - Dose off.
11:45 pm - Sit straight up and remember that you offered to make cookies for kids school the next day.
11:50 pm - Write note to self reminding self to pick up store bought cookies before school.
12:00 am - Check, then recheck alarm.
12:15 am - Hear husband coming up stairs.
12:18 am - Pretend to be sleeping.
12:30 am - Dose off again.
===============================================

Diva &amp; Choc
ur boys look so cheery!!!!! Really love 2 see bb's pics cos really will make my day, hehehe

Diva
ya u really can pass off as a korean babe

Re: Sugar &amp; Salt
Read that sugar should preferably not be fed below 12 months and salt below 24 months. I know this is quite rare in a local diet...but I think for those who intends to feed strictly home-cooked meals can take note. There are things which contains natural sugar and salt like fruits and veggies can be added to cooking to enhance the taste though.

Morning All Mummies,

My gal nowadays like to make funi noise as well as "boo boo" noise and her saliva will be flying all over n sometimes to my face... haha

1775204.jpg

And this is pic of her standing up....she dun like to sit liao, loved to stand...

1775205.jpg

Eileen
ur ger look so cute &amp; serious on the 2nd pic. Ya my boy oso same like 2 play with saliva &amp; everyday got new pattern 2 surprise us wan until daddy called him 'pattern king', hahaha

Taurus2008,
You're most welcome

Calamari,
No I did not know that honey should not be fed to babies.
We all need to do our own research or ask our PD for advice, we're all amateurs here after all.
I'm using a Panasonic.

Cloudme, guess this means no honey in ginseng

Jgal,
Who waited for me at Orchard for more than 5 hours?

I am sorry to hear that news travels this way.
I was delayed due to Ethan's nap and I believe that I was very apologetic.
Yes I suppose I'm not very Singaporean since I don't speak much Singlish!
You haven't stopped harping on that since last night! :p

Prawnie and Amy,
I'm not sure which of you might be offended that you had to wait for me.
I do apologise that you had to hang around, I had hoped that you would be able to understand.

I did not realise that it was such a problem, but now that Jgal has brought it up and in such a manner, I feel that I owe it some attention and clarification.

Taurus2008,
If you really must mix cereals, then do it after introducing each cereal on its own first.
Do your own research or ask your PD, this is only my opinion

Vyn_leen,
Your daughter is so cute!!
All dressed up too.. where was she going?

anyone can add those fish stock to porridge? my mum juz bought a whole lot of threadfin and say can boil the stock n cook porridge. my boy has eczema... so not sure if can start him on fish so early. i told my mom not to start him till he is 1 yr old... then there goes her nagging abt wat ppl used to do in the past. can anyone advise?

i am quite upset with my mom... everytime expect me to follow her way at my place. but when we go back to her place for dinner on wkend nites, she always lie in front of my siblings tat she is following my style of parenting or caring
if i argue wif her over her style, she would either pattern pattern again say don wanna help me look after my son, or complain to my father who would in turn come n talk to me..... sigh i am now considering nx yr take 1 yr no pay leave juz to look after my son.

Juniorrain

Haha ya,my gal also will do diff things when i go home to see her every night.... so cute n interesting....to see their growing up process

vyn_leen,
ur gal so cute! esp the booo boo look pict... aiyo...hehe...wat a darling!
she look so cute with the headband in 2nd picture..a very pretty princess.. errm..my boy got chance bo? kekee..
so excited to see baby gals pictures! jgal shld also post..her darling also another pretty princess!

mushloom
I think it is a stone-age old kind of prob you face with grandparents being main caregiver. There are 101 ways to deal with it I guess depends on your patience level
For me, I wld go straight into taking care of my bb myself
Guess you are already thinking about that.

earth baby.. ya. but tat time my mum actually quit her job to help me look after my son. so i find it a bit diff to tell her now tat i am going to look after him myself.

Poupinette ... yeah.. hang ard in novena.. and then travel to orchard.. then to shaw towers, then to put the things at royal park...

Really need to study wat does hang ard means.. *lucky amy not with bb*

Poor Elliot was with Chewy and Prawnie on that day and hang ard in orchard for so long .. and now abit sick.

Aniway, since you stay so near and your hubby is with you. Someone could drove to met them aniway.

mushloom
So that's another prob
Maybe you can tell her that you like to take care of bb plus taking a break from your work as well and let her decide whether she still wants to go back to her old job? She's yr mom so guess you can try to have a heart to heart talk and hopes she understand your position?

vyn_leen: now Desiree really looks like u!! what a cutie! Hehehe...

poupinette: 5 hours?! U mean to say Ethan napped for 5 hours?

Diva:
yap...i know honey is a no no...think i will secretly add some ginseng powder to my's cereal...haha...
it's ok...thanks for your advise

Taurus2008:
previously have check with my pd...she said at the stage now 5-6th mth...we should only give rice base cereal or porridge as long as it is rice(no matter what colour)...it is recommend for now...