(2008/04) April 2008

Hi Mommies
Started Noah on HT brown rice cereal for lunch today....was so nervous he would reject so only put 1 table spoon of cereal with milk. He finished it so fast and then started screaming cos not enough. How many spoons should i be giving him?

joelle
no need to tink liao lar..buy lor..is good..
the quality is good.. i bought 3 pairs.. no regrets...

and is not as tight as other brand...thumbs up!

<font color="aa00aa">Signs of readiness for solid food
Your baby probably won't do all these things — they're just clues to watch for.</font>
• Can hold head up
• Sits well in highchair
• Makes chewing motions
• Shows significant weight gain (birth weight has doubled)
• Shows interest in food
• Can close mouth around a spoon
• Can move food from front to back of mouth
• Can move tongue back and forth, but is losing tendency to push food out with tongue
• Seems hungry after 8 to 10 feedings of breast milk or 40 oz. of formula in a day
• Is teething

<font color="aa00aa">What to feed</font>
• Breast milk or formula, PLUS
• Semi-liquid iron-fortified rice cereal, THEN
• Other grain cereals like oats or barley

<font color="aa00aa">How much per day</font>
• Begin with about 1 teaspoon dry rice cereal mixed with 4 to 5 teaspoons breast milk or formula (it'll be very runny).
• Gradually thicken consistency and increase to 1 tablespoon dry cereal mixed with breast milk or formula, twice a day.

Hi Maro and Mashloom
thanks for the ensuring...so not all babies can flip on their own.
my boy like to stand alot...stand real straight...he will laugh if i put him stand still especially on my tummy...

<table border=1><tr><td>Age</TD><TD>Nighttime Sleep</TD><TD>Daytime Sleep *</TD><TD>Total Sleep </TD></TR><TR><TD>1 month</TD><TD>8 1/2</TD><TD>7 (3)</TD><TD>15 1/2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>3 months</TD><TD>10</TD><TD>5 (3)</TD><TD>15 </TD></TR><TR><TD>6 months</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>3 1/4 (2)</TD><TD>14 1/4 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9 months</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>3 (2)</TD><TD>14 </TD></TR><TR><TD>12 months</TD><TD>11 1/4</TD><TD>2 1/2 (2)</TD><TD>13 3/4 </TD></TR><TR><TD>18 months</TD><TD>11 1/4</TD><TD>2 1/4 (1)</TD><TD>13 1/2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>2 years</TD><TD>11</TD><TD>2 (1)</TD><TD>13 </TD></TR><TR><TD>3 years</TD><TD>10 1/2</TD><TD>1 1/2 (1)</TD><TD>12 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

.... my gal keep on play play play.. i think she dun have enuff sleep.

cho,
handsome boy with big eyes (like you :p)

anyway, where u get those leggings? seems more comfortable as not so tight

choc
haha yesyes i going to buy le!! now got BP so must order.
i saw your boy's other pic i may thread, wah he very wu seh. ^__^

<font color="ff0000">steph</font>
so sorry, i wont be joining this friday's playdate as hubby is off, so its our family day. will catch up with u &amp; the other mummies on the next playdate.

<font color="0000ff">choc</font>
handsome boy u hv

By JGAL

Gals ... i going to stock up major on the happybellies and I suggest you do the same. Cos' I just read Lynn's latest email on the HealthyTimes. Seem like wealthy parents in china are getting large shipments of organic food due to the milk scare, so I forsee a shortage soon.. and price increase. Let me know if you want other organic food from amazon. I ship in for you too.
Note : Expiry date of the cereal is Apr 2009

1. HappyBellies Brown Rices 7oz( $9.60 each )
- Amy x 1
- Puffish x 2
- Angel x 1
- Cass_078 x 1
- bebe11 x 1
- eniale x 1
- Jolenebeh x 1
- Chewy x 1

2. HappyBellies Oatmeal 7oz( $9.60 each )
- Amy x 1
- Xuanxuan mummy(lynn85) x 1
- littleprincesses x 1
- cyl_16 x 1
- ynby80 x 1
- cheesycake x 1
-princess-j x 1
- Cass_078 x 1
- bebe11 x 1
- eniale x 1
- Jolenebeh x 1
- Chewy x 1
- Porkie x 1
- Puffish x 1

3. HappyBellies Multigrain 7oz( $9.60 each )
- Amy x 1
- littleprincesses x 1
- cyl_16 x 1
- ynby80 x 1]
- cheesycake x 1
- princess-j x 1
- cass_078 x 1
- Chewy x 1
- Puffish x 1

puffish...u miss out mine =(

Gals ... i going to stock up major on the happybellies and I suggest you do the same. Cos' I just read Lynn's latest email on the HealthyTimes. Seem like wealthy parents in china are getting large shipments of organic food due to the milk scare, so I forsee a shortage soon.. and price increase. Let me know if you want other organic food from amazon. I ship in for you too.

- Amy x 1
- Puffish x 2
- Angel x 1
- Cass_078 x 1
- bebe11 x 1
- eniale x 1
- Jolenebeh x 1
- Chewy x 1
- choc-tge25 x 4

- Amy x 1
- littleprincesses x 1
- cyl_16 x 1
- ynby80 x 1
- cheesycake x 1
-princess-j x 1
- Cass_078 x 1
- bebe11 x 1
- eniale x 1
- Jolenebeh x 1
- Chewy x 1
- Porkie x 1
- Puffish x 1
- choc -tge25 x1

- Amy x 1
- littleprincesses x 1
- cyl_16 x 1
- ynby80 x 1]
- cheesycake x 1
- princess-j x 1
- cass_078 x 1
- Chewy x 1
- Puffish x 1

jgal:
oh...u say stock up mah...

hahaaa...i end up have 1 brown rice, 1 oatmeal n 1 multigrain with me..

coz 1 is for dolly one is for my boss...

- Amy x 1
- Puffish x 2
- Angel x 1
- Cass_078 x 1
- bebe11 x 1
- eniale x 1
- Jolenebeh x 1
- Chewy x 1
- choc-tge25 x 4
- scubababe x 2

- Amy x 1
- littleprincesses x 1
- cyl_16 x 1
- ynby80 x 1
- cheesycake x 1
-princess-j x 1
- Cass_078 x 1
- bebe11 x 1
- eniale x 1
- Jolenebeh x 1
- Chewy x 1
- Porkie x 1
- Puffish x 1
- choc -tge25 x1
- scubababe x 1

- Amy x 1
- littleprincesses x 1
- cyl_16 x 1
- ynby80 x 1]
- cheesycake x 1
- princess-j x 1
- cass_078 x 1
- Chewy x 1
- Puffish x 1

steph: i cannot make it on Friday as well. Down with high fever so on mc these 2 days, dun think can take leave on Fri and dun wanna infect more mummies and babies. So sad. Will try to make it for the next one. Hb and me taking turns to be sick its terrible.

Nestle gift bag: i took my gift box yesterday already. It comes in a nice box with 400g Nan2, 3 packets of assorted cereal and a milk dispenser container.

scubababe
I've got sample sachets of Nestle cereals from my pedi: 6 x oats, 4 x rice, 3 x brown rice to giveaway. Let me know if you are keen, since you stay in PR is easier

Note : Expiry date of the cereal is <font size="+2">June 2009</font>.. est. 1 can is 20 tblspoon.

1. HappyBellies Brown Rices 7oz( $9.60 each ) - jgal
- Amy x 1
- Puffish x 2
- Angel x 1
- Cass_078 x 1
- Jolenebeh x 1
- Chewy x 1
- choc-tge25 x 4
- scubababe x 2

- Amy x 1
- littleprincesses x 1
- cyl_16 x 1
- ynby80 x 1
- cheesycake x 1
- princess-j x 1
- Cass_078 x 1
- Jolenebeh x 1
- Chewy x 1
- Porkie x 1
- Puffish x 1
- choc -tge25 x1
- scubababe x 1

- Amy x 1
- littleprincesses x 1
- cyl_16 x 1
- ynby80 x 1]
- cheesycake x 1
- princess-j x 1
- cass_078 x 1
- Chewy x 1
- Puffish x 1

Note : Expiry date of the cereal is June 2009.. est. 1 can is 20 tblspoon.

- Amy x 1
- Puffish x 2
- Angel x 1
- Cass_078 x 1
- Jolenebeh x 1
- Chewy x 1
- choc-tge25 x 4
- scubababe x 2
- ynby80 x 1

- Amy x 1
- littleprincesses x 1
- cyl_16 x 1
- ynby80 x 1
- cheesycake x 1
- princess-j x 1
- Cass_078 x 1
- Jolenebeh x 1
- Chewy x 1
- Porkie x 1
- Puffish x 1
- choc -tge25 x1
- scubababe x 1

- Amy x 1
- littleprincesses x 1
- cyl_16 x 1
- ynby80 x 1]
- cheesycake x 1
- princess-j x 1
- cass_078 x 1
- Chewy x 1
- Puffish x 1

actually, wat is the normal selling price? just wondering.

jgal

gave my gal the brown rice last nite and i think she like it. she is eating and 'screaming' at the same time and ask for more when finish. start her on cereal only this week.

maid

i will try to get her to extend her stay cos she also say she quite happy here if not she already go home earlier. pray men!

Yvonne: your maid also 'no heart' to work already, why do u still want her to stay? Quick go and get new replacement! Just my 2 cents' worth.

calamari

Thanks for your advise. i get wat u mean. the reason tat i wan her to stay is bcos i feel tat she is taking my gal quite well. and also currently i will have no time to train new maid and no ppl to help supervise the new one.

Note : Expiry date of the cereal is June 2009.. est. 1 can is 20 tblspoon.

- Amy x 1
- Puffish x 2
- Angel x 1
- Cass_078 x 1
- Jolenebeh x 1
- Chewy x 1
- choc-tge25 x 4
- scubababe x 2
- ynby80 x 1
- na_na x 1

- Amy x 1
- littleprincesses x 1
- cyl_16 x 1
- ynby80 x 1
- cheesycake x 1
- princess-j x 1
- Cass_078 x 1
- Jolenebeh x 1
- Chewy x 1
- Porkie x 1
- Puffish x 1
- choc -tge25 x1
- scubababe x 1
- na_na x 1

- Amy x 1
- littleprincesses x 1
- cyl_16 x 1
- ynby80 x 1]
- cheesycake x 1
- princess-j x 1
- cass_078 x 1
- Chewy x 1
- Puffish x 1

actually, wat is the normal selling price? just wondering.

Mummies, whole day at work can't access SMH website feel so handicapped
Thought SMH server down, hope it's not becos they banned it!

<font color="0000ff">Yvonne</font>, regarding maid, since you've prepaid the maid's loan, your agent's obligated to replace a maid for you and transfer the remaining loan to the new maid.

As for personal loan, you better recover from your current maid's upcoming salary before you let her go. I sent my maid back to agent (not to phil) as my agent refused to send her home since she is still short of 1 month to repaying her loan. Whatever I prepaid, my agent will refund me since we decided to live without a maid and send our bb to infantcare for the moment.

The rule about paying our maid the airfare home when they request to leave is a new ruling which not many S'poreans are aware of but it's already in MOM website. We felt indignant too when my BIL told us about it. It's double penalising us employers whose maids decide to play us out despite the kind treatment and privileges we give them.

If you ask me, don't ever let your maid feel that she's indispensable by persuading her to stay. We made that mistake once (for the same reasons as you - she took good care of our bb and we also have no one to train and supervise a new maid). In the end, she became more arrogant and started to display more 'attitude'. Sighz. If only all our maids are as mature as Jgal's. My maid keep saying she earns the same amount back home as a clerk, she wants to come to SG to 'see the world' and her idea of being a domestic helper is to 'walk dogs' only. So immature, wasted all our time in training her how to cook, how to take care of bb etc.

<font color="0000ff">Tsukushi</font>, if you want to freeze fruit/veg purees, better not add your BM/FM into it first. Separate the portion you want to freeze, store it aside into the babycubes. Then add your BM/FM into the portion for feeding immediately.

Choc,

Handsome chap you've got!

Very cute denim bodysuit and leggings.. though he looks dressed more for winter than our ridiculous heat!

lynn, I see your gal's photo really envy e bui bui hands and legs. my son also on milk strike for some time already. I can't get him to drink when he's sleepy or sleeping leh. he just won't suck. how did u do it? if he's awake, he will drink some but need people to entertain him. either be a clown or flip magazines for him. sigh. I'm really tired feeding him. if I'm not wrong, our babies are 1 day apart? your gal is born on 30 april? Mine's on 29 april.

Ethan had milk + barley cereal + pear banana puree in a bottle for dinner and he loved it!
He drank 240ml in 5 mins.. boy do I love fast and easy feeds like that

His 2 upper incisors are already out and the 2 remaining lower incisors are on their way, but so far no crankiness.. so I hope that means teething pains are over for the time being!

He's also discovered his voice and has been shrieking and squealing all day.. it was a riot shopping with him.. people peering over to look at my lil comic!

sigh, today gave HT brown rice cereal, my girl loves it. so far it seems to be the only cereal she likes leh, the others all reject. shall have to try the happybellies again. *crosses fingers*

can't wait for her to turn 6 months to start her on oatmeal and mixed grain etc. hope to find more she likes, but it's a very expensive trial and error lor.

araid22, my girl's born 29 Apr too! no need to envy me man, that's the result of my battles with her everyday trying to feed her. dunno leh, feed her while asleep is the only way she chosses to drink. otherwise she'll either cry and scream or smile and push the teat out/chew on it.. she's been this way for like 2 months already leh.

Healthy Times update:

Items will be delivered tomorrow (FINALLY!!). Pls gimme some time to sort it out, will update hen it's ready to be collected

FYI, HT has informed me there will be a price hike for all cereal soon cos they are hard hit with price hike from US side. Anyone still saw the old packaging (227g) of cereal of oatmeal or multi grain pls let me know! I need to stock up cos so far HT is the only brand my girl accepts leh..

hey lynn, maybe april 29 babies hates milk? haha. me too. always fighting with him. actually his drinking hasn't been good since birth. kinda on off thing. but this month is worse. I haven't started him on solid. pd suggest tat I wait till 6 months cos of his ezcema. but I'm worried he will reject solid too. sigh. he's like never hungry. never hear him cry for milk. really worried for him.

Jules' Mum and Lynn,

Have your bubs always been this difficult to feed?
How do they take to cereal or purees?

I've noticed that for Ethan, if he needs distraction or entertainment, he's simply not hungry enough to drink quietly.
So these days, I stop feeding if he fidgets and wait till he's really ready to drink.
That way, I know there won't be any fussing

Do you keep to a feeding schedule? Like 3 hourly or so?
If you do and that doesn't work, perhaps try feeding them only when they're hungry.

Ethan was on a milk strike for a few days, where he only had 2 feeds a day. I wasn't happy at all but Ethan didn't seem fazed.
So I don't think there's a need to worry if your PD isn't overly concerned and if they're still within acceptable weight and height.

Ethan was born on 19 April and right now, he's more interested in his surroundings, playing and interacting.. so I can only assume that your bubs are the same.

And despite his milk strike, Ethan is 71cm tall and weighs 8.1kg.
So, kids are resilient and they'll make it through.

If Julian and Adel still happy and healthy, then try not to worry. I know it's easier said than done, but do try

Choc,

Ethan is the same.. his 2 lower teeth have been out since he was 3 months old.
His 2 upper teeth are now out too, with 2 more lower teeth on the way

All the better for picture taking!

hi diva,

ya. julian's been difficult to feed since birth. used to "fight" with his bottle... like wat u say, i think he's not hungry enough.

he had reflux prob during his 1st 2 months. was on medication till last week. his reflux prob improved. I'm kinda on a 4 hour schedule.

julian's quite small. he's only 6kg @ 65cm. tat's why I'm worried. pd thought he's ok as he's not a big baby at birth , doubled his birth weight despite his slight weight loss during his 2nd month, cos of reflux. I was thinking of giving him some cereal tho e pd told me to wait till 6 months. pd's worried tat he might develop some allergies. maybe I should try like wat u said, dun feed him till he's hungry. I'm just too paranoid. haha.

Choc,
Hubby and I have been trying to take a good, clear picture of his pearlies but it always comes out blurry or Ethan moves too quickly!
We'll keep trying though.. I want pictures for posterity too!

Jules' Mum,
Yes you're probably paranoid, and rightfully so!
That's our job as parents

Reflux can't be easy to deal with, I empathize.

Do try holding off feeds till he's very hungry, it might be the key to Julian drinking quietly.
At this point, anything's worth a try right?

Take good care of yourself. You're definitely taking excellent care of Julian, now don't forget about yourself

any mummies maange to buy Happy times Brown rice? i cant find... i have 2 unopen Heinz at home still but dont dare to feed ...anyone still continue to feed Heinz? as SG didnt recall the Rice Cereal.

diva, thank you so much for your encouragement. I'll try holding on his feeds. I think tat's the only thing I've yet to try. changed so many different bottles and teat, changed formulas... we are guessing tat isomil taste bad tat's why he is rejecting. since his reflux improved, we will change him back to cow's milk. quite sad tat I was not able to feed him much breastmilk as I had rash after giving birth and had to take steroids.

despite his milk strike, he's still very happy and active. he's growing well. at least tat's a relieve for me.