(2008/04) April 2008

simp
u can also try pear puree.

summer mama
i dont blend my porridge, coz i will cook till very 'nuah'. i only puree veg & add into it. for fish, i used ikan bilis powder & cod fish so it kind of 'melts' into the porridge.

Jamie, what type of pear is suitable for bb? Peckham?

Simp, I tried giving bb apple puree this morning too and she also gave me that *oh, so sourish* look and rejected after few spoonfuls...so I added into HT Brown Rice cereal but she also don't want to finish. I think she prefers the same usual Frisocream...want to try banana and pear puree next.

Summer's Mama, Dana doesn't like avocado
think the taste is too strong. Anyway, the hand blender we bought, only using the green blade to puree? The other 3 are not suitable right? Hope I'm using the right one.

we tried avocado for first time last weekend LOL first for boy and mom! turns out avocado has no taste, just creamy texture, not sure if i bought a good one or not, but it was ripe / soft enough. finally, i mixed it with banana and he finished it up (quarter avocado + a little less banana).

angel, avocardo is the only puree i can give my girl direct leh. others she accept (a tiny amount mixed with cereal) are sweet potato and carrot. seems like my girl dun like strong taste or stuff that are too sweet, totally different from me..

she barely tolerates HB brown rice, depending on her mood. very xim-tia to throw away the remaining cereal cos so ex. HT she loves and it taste more bland than HB, which taste a little sweet to me. Frisocrem is sweet and she promptly pukes it out leh. tried banana, it's sweet and she doesn't like it on its own. haven''t tried adding tat to cereal cos it oxidises so quickly the brown-ness of the puree is quite disgusting to me

maybe i should try pear next? or any mummies have any suggestion for anything that isn't too sweet? bland bland like avocardo she accepts..

porridge cannot freeze right? think i'll only cook for her once she starts to eat more, so envious of Summer's healthy appetite! mine seems to be a fussy drinker/eater from the get go

Mummies, I have 2 babycubes of Pure Avocado Puree freezed on Sunday evening. Since my baby doesn't like it, anyone keen to collect from me to let your bb try? I'm at Clementi
Btw, to defroze the fruit puree, just place the babycubes in hot/warm water and let it defreeze slowly. Don't microwave as it'll destroy the nutrition. Lynn/Calamari, you want?

I also wish my bb's is an adventurous eater like bb Summer!

now planning to let my ger try some FM after she hits 6 months. cos the blocked ducts episode is so super scary and painful. real worried might kena again, and also wan her to get used to a different taste of milk since she hates my EBM anyway..

any mummies know of any FM that isn't too sweet? saw this bellamy's organic FM in cold storage, only a few buck more than the other premium brands, thinking of giving that a try but damn huge tin lor..

I need more orders for the drugstore to go ahead.. because drugstore.. like to shipp in big boxs. So all the extra space will be fill with "bubbles"

By Jgal
Order for Desitin Diaper Cream (Creamy) from drugstore$ MOQ : 20 $9.50
1. Jgal x 2
2. Calamari x 2
Order for First Teeth Toothpaste from drugstore. @$7.50. MOQ : 20
1. JuniorRain x2(blue)
2. scubababe x 2

Lynn
your girl's taste very interesting LOL my boy got sweet tooth. i will let him try HB brown rice :D
can try potato, brocolli, peas - they are bland.

Jgal

Is this the same as the earlier one or do i need to add in? i order 3 first teeth. 2 pink & 1 blue. pls advise.

By Jgal
1. Jgal x 2
2. Calamari x 2
1. JuniorRain x2(blue)
2. scubababe x 2

joelle, any idea what kind of peas? hmmm shall try potato soon, but not very nutritious right?

i think my girl's taste buds were damaged when she's still in my tummy cos i everyday also must take chilli (taste bud kena burnt by hot chilli). except for 1st trimester when i took bland food. maybe she'll like cooked porridge with ikan bilis powder and meat etc cos at least not sweet.

By Jgal
1. Jgal x 2
2. Calamari x 2
1. JuniorRain x2(blue)
2. scubababe x 2
3. Lynn_ (pink)

Jgal
I hv add 4 more 1st teeth toothpaste to it.

By Jgal
1. Jgal x 2
2. Calamari x 2
1. JuniorRain x3(blue) & x3(pink)
2. scubababe x 2
3. Lynn_ (pink)

anyone interested in mustela vitamin barrier cream?

dun think i'll ever get the chance to open my BN tube. already almost 6 months and my first tube is still like 95% full, and i have another tube of california baby diaper rash cream also 95% full.. am not really using diaper rash cream leh, only using the CB calendula cream which i prefer (not so thick and heavy)..

lynn, Angel, Summer eats almost everything EXCEPT Frisocrem rice cereal. Hee.
First mouth she eat, Second mouth she spits, Third time i try to give it to her, she will just shut her mouth tight and look away. Naughty girl.
Avocado she loves it. Too bad i cant collect from u. Actually avocado cannot buy all black one le. Must get brownish. All black one u run e risk of getting spoil one. I ever gotten it once. Sway. If e flesh is brownish also cannot give. Got sour smell one. Buying avocado to me is like a lucky draw!!! And the thing is that it's so ex!!! But it's a v healthy fruit. Tried to google and there's a whole list of benefits. Angel i cant remb e colour le, Or is it red. It's written in e manual. U know e blender quite power le. Can blend meat somemore. Though i've not tried giving Summer meat yet.
Summer is a big eater. Im thankful she is not too BIG in size. Now she takes a big bowl of cereal during lunch. N it's not in replacement of her milk! i'm thankful that she eats really quickly, if not im sure i would have just given in to give milk all the time. It's so much easier!!! haha.

Where can i give ikan bilis powder? Does it blend nicely into e porridge?

Princess_j, u can keep e avocado in e plastic and leave it on the table. Ripes faster. Dont keep in e fridge, takes forever to soften.

By Jgal
1. Jgal x 2
2. Calamari x 2
2. scubababe x 2
3. Lynn_ (pink)
4. jules mum x2 blue

By Jgal
1. Jgal x 2
2. Calamari x 2
2. scubababe x 2
3. Lynn_ (pink)
4. jules mum x2 blue
5. cyl_16 X 4 (blue)

hi joelle,

is there ready made ikan bilis powder ?where to buy?

hi summer's mama,

who is the author for the rainbow fish?the rainbow fish is under eric carle?

can we cook brown rice porridge for bb?

angel
yeah for ikan bilis powder, i pound it myself. i get those white colour ones (not sure isit call whitebait?), these are not so salty.

Fruit/Veg Puree/Stock
Wow so much knowledge on choosing the fruits, din know royal gala apple and packham pear hahahah Think i know more things now. The pear i bgt is yellow in colour. Still can give. I pureed it this afternoon and taste sweet but not sure if it's too cooling

Sherin
Ok i shall check the storage cubes when im back in spore . Ur Summer really too smart to bluff her hahah i like ur description on how she decline taking food that' not her taste. My ger just stick out her tongue and i still "forcefully" give her time and again. Tmw will be another challenge on HB brown rice hahahah

Jamie,
Wow u pound urself. I was just wondering if i cn just fry them dry and blend after the wash and dry. However i think wont be fine as compared to pounding.

Goodbb
I tgt of giving BR porridge too later on as i find it much more nutritionally hahah. We r consuming BR organically at home ourselves so i think i may wish to try on bb if she doesnt mind hahah

By Jgal
1. Jgal x 2
2. Calamari x 2
2. scubababe x 2
3. Lynn_ (pink)
4. jules mum x2 blue
5. cyl_16 X 4 (blue)
6. ynby80 2 x blue 2 x pink (as spoken, pls ignore the order earlier)

Hi jgal,
I was trying to get u too..posted here sometime last week but think you could have missed it..I stay quite near u too! Dunno if u can remember, I was the one who passed u the birks sometime back..=)
Can u pm me your hp? I;ll pm u my hp too..=) I'll prob go pick it up from u weekdays evenings or sat? Is that okay? Do u prefer me to transfer the money or pay u direct?

By Jgal
1. Jgal x 2
2. Calamari x 2
2. scubababe x 2
3. Lynn_ (pink)
4. jules mum x2 blue
5. cyl_16 X 4 (blue)
7. Maro (blue)

Hi goodbb,
My boy loves the rainbow fish too..it's a beautiful story with very nice pics..
It's by Marcus Pfister..

Just to rec a few more books that my boy and I enjoy very much..

Guess how much I love you - Sam McBratny
There was an old lady who swallowed a fly -can't find the author'sname, very nice book with very colourful pics, illustrated by pam adams..

sharing latest photos of my girl taken at my mum's place (i think she looks like a boy in this romper)..

can sit for a minute or two if she keeps calm. usually she's so excited she keeps kicking her legs and waving her arms she down real fast

1771351.jpg

can 'stand' while holding onto something for a few seconds

1771352.jpg

Lynn,
Adel is so cute
Despite all her not wanting to drink milk, you still manage to retain her 'bui bui arms and legs' very good lei

porridge
i tried plain porridge. have bought the pigeon porridge maker. then after cook liao juz go thru the sieve to make it finer. he oso try a few mouth then don wan liao. will try to add bm to the porridge tomolo and see how it goes. so far has tried pear puree he oso don like... sigh so diff to intro semi solid

amy, voted for zhiyan! haha her bui-bui came back with intensive feeding sessions everytime she naps! she drinks up to 10 times a day, sometimes as little as 30ml wor.. Best is only 125ml.. hiaz..

mummies starting on solids, do you still try to feed your bb when he/she is not interested? or stop once the bb shows disinterest and look away etc?

i continue to battle/be a clown etc just to make her eat more, but then i'm worried it'll turn her off semi-solids completely.

jgal have transferred $7.80. pls check ref 1921147858. can mail to me? will pm u my add. let me know how much is the postage. will transfer to u.

wahhh lynn ur girl can stand liao ah... mine still on tummy mode.

lynn,
you girl so cute.. can 'sit' and 'stand' already, my boy same birthdate as yr girl, cant do anything as yet.. haiz..

anyway, i believe if baby don like dont force cos next time may not like the food u gave. i gave my son frisocream, he does not like so just throw, bo pian.. and try the same food a few days later to test test

maid

My maid just told me recently that she miss home and wanna go back. however, i just found out if the maid wanna go home b4 the end of contract, i will still need to pay for the air ticket even if she work for few months only. anyone encounter this? how to avoid paying the air ticket? i had prepaid her loan and also give her a personnal loan as she say she need to send money home. does it mean i will not recover all thses money? :-(

maro, my girl 'stand' is action action only, only for a few seconds lah kekeke.. she loves to 'stand' and will stiffen her legs when she hears me say 'stand'..

your boy also dun like frisocrem? i told my girl all other babies like why she dun like. anyway how many times do you try before giving up? i tried liek maybe 5 times and give up liao, given up on frisocrem and nestle. and given up buying more baby jars, will just let her 'waste' whatever jars i've already bought.. she seems to prefer homemade purees.. hiaz..

Hi Jgal, I also wanna place orders... heehee so sorry trouble u again. Thanks babe! OH so add in my messy mat (how much?)

By JGAL

Gals ... i going to stock up major on the happybellies and I suggest you do the same. Cos' I just read Lynn's latest email on the HealthyTimes. Seem like wealthy parents in china are getting large shipments of organic food due to the milk scare, so I forsee a shortage soon.. and price increase. Let me know if you want other organic food from amazon. I ship in for you too.
Note : Expiry date of the cereal is Apr 2009

1. HappyBellies Brown Rices 7oz( $9.60 each )
- Amy x 1
- Puffish x 2
- Angel x 1
- Cass_078 x 1
- bebe11 x 1
- eniale x 1
- Jolenebeh x 1
- Chewy x 1

2. HappyBellies Oatmeal 7oz( $9.60 each )
- Amy x 1
- Xuanxuan mummy(lynn85) x 1
- littleprincesses x 1
- cyl_16 x 1
- ynby80 x 1
- cheesycake x 1
-princess-j x 1
- Cass_078 x 1
- bebe11 x 1
- eniale x 1
- Jolenebeh x 1
- Chewy x 1

3. HappyBellies Multigrain 7oz( $9.60 each )
- Amy x 1
- littleprincesses x 1
- cyl_16 x 1
- ynby80 x 1]
- cheesycake x 1
- princess-j x 1
- cass_078 x 1
- Chewy x 1

lynn,
haha.. action can already, mine so goyang goyang.. some more she knows how to listen to 'stand' so funny.. yeah, my boy loves to stand too.. :p

just start semi-solid last wk. for friso, tried 2 times, spit out and gave me the yucky look. my helper says too diluted that's why dont like, will try again

at least Adel is interested in homemade purees so make u do more work lor.. haha..

Lynn
Ur ger so cute and pretty kekeke

Feeding solid
Think i will give shevon many chances b4 i give up. Hahah i alreadi order 5 tins of HB from Jgal. If bb dun want then i sell away. Think i may cheat by adding into porridge next time etc coz got probiotic mah. Tmw i try HB BR w puree, maybe the yellow pear one hahaha

Lynn - Your gal definitely dun look like someone on diet. SHe is so cute! Did you try adding carrots or pumpkin into the cereal? I tried that for my gal when she is sick of plain cereal.

Hello Jgal, can i order too?

By JGAL

Gals ... i going to stock up major on the happybellies and I suggest you do the same. Cos' I just read Lynn's latest email on the HealthyTimes. Seem like wealthy parents in china are getting large shipments of organic food due to the milk scare, so I forsee a shortage soon.. and price increase. Let me know if you want other organic food from amazon. I ship in for you too.
Note : Expiry date of the cereal is Apr 2009

1. HappyBellies Brown Rices 7oz( $9.60 each )
- Amy x 1
- Puffish x 2
- Angel x 1
- Cass_078 x 1
- bebe11 x 1
- eniale x 1
- Jolenebeh x 1
- Chewy x 1

2. HappyBellies Oatmeal 7oz( $9.60 each )
- Amy x 1
- littleprincesses x 1
- cyl_16 x 1
- ynby80 x 1
- cheesycake x 1
-princess-j x 1
- Cass_078 x 1
- bebe11 x 1
- eniale x 1
- Jolenebeh x 1
- Chewy x 1
- Porkie x 1

3. HappyBellies Multigrain 7oz( $9.60 each )
- Amy x 1
- littleprincesses x 1
- cyl_16 x 1
- ynby80 x 1]
- cheesycake x 1
- princess-j x 1
- cass_078 x 1
- Chewy x 1

Hi Jgal,
Can i join in the orders too?
My baby is born on 20April..
Let me know your acc to tt the $ (inclusive of postage) k! Tks alot...

By Jgal
1. Jgal x 2
2. Calamari x 2
2. scubababe x 2
3. Lynn_ (pink)
4. jules mum x2 blue
5. cyl_16 X 4 (blue)
7. Maro (blue)
6. linah29 (2xblue + 2xpink)

simp
i didnt really 'pound' the ikan bilis powder lah. i use my blender to so-call 'pound' abit 1st then blend lor haha.... i usually will wash then air dry the ikan bilis, if no sun then will oven dry. it works well for me & the powder looks rather fine. i did this for my elder girl & now my boy.

Lynn,

Adel is adorable!
And she definitely doesn't look as scrawny as one would think from the way you describe her feeding difficulties!
She looks healthy and chubby indeed

Ethan can't sit up on his own yet but he can stand already.. he's got very strong legs and loves to straighten them and 'stand' when we hold him up. He even managed to take a few steps towards me yesterday, with daddy's help of course

Such exciting developments!

About semi-solids, Ethan will happily try just about anything so I've had no trouble feeding him. But I do suggest that you keep at it for awhile before giving up.
Ethan gets distracted sometimes so I need to get his attention again before he continues eating.
It seems like he's disinterested in the food when that may not be the case at all.

One thing I find very useful is to rotate tastes; I have cereal, puree and juice handy so if he starts to get bored with cereal or if I want to spice things up, then I'll switch to puree for a bit, then I give him some juice to ensure that he gets enough liquid.. and I start over again

Works for us, maybe it'll work for you and Adel too.