hi mummies, today is 100% preoccupied with clearing blocked ducts, went to TMC parentcraft but still can;t clear, so will have to go down again tomorrow. damn painful lor!
as a last resort after reaching home, i applied cold cabbage leaves, and also took the antibiotics prescribed by my GP after the nurses told me to take the antibiotics cos may have a little infection. just now managed to clear the blocked ducts after it softened a little after applying cold cabbage. but still damn painful lor. hubby still forcing me to go back tomorrow for review, and i will have to wake up in the middle of the night to pump cos dun dare let it be engorged.
anyway learnt a couple of things at parencraft:
- they think only avent nipple cream works (i have it and used it when i just started, but still kena sore nipple leh)
- never to massage beasts while pumping (should only massage before, and if need to massage in between must stop the pump. i tot should massage during pumping??)
- blocked ducts are common even for establised breastfeeding mummies (the other 2 cases of blocked ducts today are also breastfeeidng for 4-5 months)
and it was so painful u forgot to ask about how to wean! must remember to ask tomorrow... now very worried, if so easy to kena blocked ducts then how to wean? since weaning invloves increasing interval between pumps and also pumping out less too