(2008/04) April 2008

Little Princesses, another challenging colour theme for me leh....purple is a shade of blue right? kekeke

littleprincesses,
I won't be able to attend the gathering on Friday as we're going back to KL and will only return at the end of the month

We live pretty close to each other, I gather that you are near Hillcrest? I live at Swiss Club

Hope there will be another gathering again soon, have a great time!

Earth_baby,
My hubby is Korean but works in KL so we commute for now. We have double of almost everything so we don't have to bring too much back and forth everytime. Tough but what to do? I'm a SAHM too and help is here so I'm pretty much on my own there, but there's nothing like being able to manage on my own. Makes me feel like supermom haha

Maddy's mum,
Yes art historian and cellist.. haha.. very arty farty couple. Hubby arranges and performs a lot of music for cello and guitar; classical, latin and flamenco stuff. I'll be happy to pass you a CD since you've been exposing Maddy to Yo-Yo Ma already

I really look forward to meeting Maddy, and our babes have the same bday too! But it's such a pity that Ethan and I won't be able to attend the gathering this Friday as we have to return to KL and will only be back at the end of the month
I do hope we'll be able to join the next gathering, have a great time!

About the Veggie Tales, have you gotten them yet?
I'm checking with a supplier if she has some, will let you know if you're interested

Littleprincess,
I hv blue dress for my ger hahahah

AIG/AIA
Now i feel better after seeing many assurances from mummies here phew.

Maro,
Can u tell e more abt GE h&s plan and the AIA education plan u have. Could u pm me ur GE agent for my checking too. Thanks

littleprincess I haven got your sms

simp my good friend is a GE agent and I just got a plan for Byron from him. Let me know if you want another agent to compare

Simp..
For GE, I bought first the Total Shield as a health insurance using Medisave, less than $100, have to check the exact amount at home.

http://www.lifeisgreat.com.sg/en/jsp/products/products/protection/totalshield.jsp

Then the SupremeHealth is to cover the co-insurance, this policy has to be paid by cash, think $200+ a year. I chose the SHP P Plus for Private hospital.

http://www.lifeisgreat.com.sg/en/jsp/pdf/brochure_pdf/supremehealth.pdf

For the AIA, I'll check tonight and email u cos cant remember the infor now as my husband bought it.. me in charge of health plan.. hehee..

I've pm you the GE agent contact number too..

just an opinion, pls dun bomb me or tell me that i am giving the wrong advise. you all are mummies liao.. shld be old enuff to analyse yourself.

Now is not a time to put money in any insurance term/life plans because it still not clear if other financial institutions will fall victim to this "global" crisis. Term/life insurance normally breakeven > 5 yrs. So to stop any of these insurance in the next few yrs , we are sure to lose money.

As for health/home insurance, when you terminate , your premium will normally be pro-rated. So if you dun feel safe , you still can terminate with little loss.

To date : btw me and my hubby with have 15 policies with AIA..

HI MUMMIES! Been MIA for many days. Previously, was down with virus flu/fever, and last week my bb was infected too. Was admitted to hospital 1 night and back home, he cant sleep for 3 nights! He has high fever and bad cough/flu + phelgm. Every time he tried to sleep, 10mins later he will get choke by his phelgm, and cry loudly. Very poor baby! But now, he's recovering well and been very cheerful these few days. Plus he's officially teething last week too, and made him more uncomfortable. And now is my DH down with fever, sigh! very very tiring...

geryl: voted for your gal!

koori: thanks for posting "similac stg 2" for me. haha!!

RE: Request on FM
Will call the companies once i have found the numbers from other postings. Have yet to read all threads! =D

calamari! i don't know who pass it to me! argh... i only know i was down with fever when i reach home 2 weeks ago. Haven't been eating a proper meal for 2 weeks, and lost quite alot of weight. Now i miss alot of foods...!

Puffish - glad that the episode is over. Keep your DH away from bb...

<u>blabbing from bb</u>
My son has been blabbing away for the whole week. Especially after a feed, he loves to blab blab blab.....

1.1x Home insurance : AIA is the better because they cover non-forceful break-ins which on other insurer does.

2. 2x Personal accident : the coverage is still better than other insurance. It even cover dengue. With 1 rider for little kee kee.

3. 3x Pink of Health : No deductible and co-payment.

4.3x Medishield : Only got 2 insurer to chose from AIA and GE

5. 2 x Endownment : Earlier breakeven than other insurer excpt Income. Got 2 because bi-year payout.

6.2x Life investment-link : Earlier breakeven than other insurers . So we went with them. no regrets until now my policy breakeven after 8 yrs.

7. 2 x lump sum investment

***Sigh sigh****

littleprincess
Although my bb is boy but he hardly wears blue, he wears more like orange, red or green haha...let me see if I can dig out any blue tee ya?

HI All Mummies...

Need advises from you all... Is there any way to stop BM apart from taking medication... scared boobs will shrink!!!

winter
ya my boy oso like 2 blah blah alot these days day &amp; nite. Sometimes in the mid of the night he wake up nv cry then he will play himself &amp; blah to himself oso............hahaha

Diva
Oh yr hubby is korean musician, i see, very arty indeed! I used to shuttle between 2 different plcs too, kind of get used to it after a while &amp; then before you know it, it's good to be back home

vyn leen
i just called up nestle to request for Nan 2 HA, but they dont deliver/ courier anymore. i got to self collect fr their office at changi business park which is abit way off for me. so sorry

jamie
curious, how do let bb try more than 1 type cereal? Need to mix all or???

Re: starting on semi solids
Today pedi says my boy is twice his weight (in fact since long ago), has quite strong upper back, so can soon sit by himself, most importantly, he's losing his interest in milk, so nod nod can start solids!

His daily intake has dropped from 900ml to now 800ml.

Taking orders for the following items.
http://store.babycenter.com/product/on+sale/toys+on+sale/6+-+12+months/brightlings+exploration+station.do?asc=false
<font color="ff0000">Brightlings Exploration Station Cost: SGD32.60 (pdt)+ 45 (shipping) = SGD77.60 </font>
http://www.amazon.com/Munchkin-3106-Mozart-Magic-Cube/dp/B00004TFLB/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&amp;s=toys-and-games&amp;qid=1221636128&amp;sr=8-1
<font color="ff0000">Munchkin Mozart Magic Cube Cost: SGD30 (pdt)+ 11.65 (shipping) = SGD41.65 </font>

http://store.babycenter.com/product/left+nav+pgroups/shop+by+brand/a+-+f/ergo+baby+carrier/ergo+baby+carrier.do?asc=false
<font color="ff0000">Ergo Baby Carrier : SGD152.25 (pdt)+ 10 (shipping) = SGD162.25 </font>

My boy turn 6mth liao. XD
Feed my boy Heniz organic food (sweet potato,carrots &amp; vegg) 4-6mth, he eat 1 mounthful then give me the 'yucks' look and wanna vomit. Ha..ha.. Think bottle food not tasty. Self cook taste better.

XiaoZhu,

Interesting that your son doesn't like solids, mine adores it! He took to the spoon like he was born with it, no pun intended.. heh

He turns 5 months on Friday and we've been feeding him solids for almost 2 weeks now, Healthy Times brown rice cereal as well as Heinz baby jars. Sometimes combined to make a more substantial meal.

Have you tasted the baby jar food yourself? I have and it's not as bland as one might think. It's rather tasty so I actually add a little water to it.

Try the Heinz jars in fruit flavors (apple+mango, pear+banana), your son might like it better. Give him some time, it's an acquired taste for some babies

Alternatively, add finely pounded ikan bilis to porridge or boil pork with the porridge for extra flavor and sweetness. YUM!

RE : TV ( good or bad program ) are all no good for babies..
**do you agree with this article? **

http://www.whitedot.org/issue/iss_story.asp?slug=ADHD%20Toddlers

<font color="0000ff">Are parents who use infant videos such as "Baby Einstein" and "Teletubbies" putting their child at risk for a lifetime of Special Ed classes, school "behavioral therapy" and Ritalin?

In the study of more than 2,000 children, Christakis found that for every hour watched at age one and age three, the children had almost a ten percent higher chance of developing attention problems that could be diagnosed as ADHD by age 7. A toddler watching three hours of infant television daily had nearly a 30 percent higher chance of having attention problems in school. </font>

xiaozhu

When I first gave my boy the Happybellies brown rice cereal, he gave that "yucks" look too. However, after 1 day, he took to the taste already. Maybe at first, baby is not used to the new taste.

Diva &amp; Tsukushi - I think it's the content not so tasty. Lol. I did tried the food. Quite blend. If compare home cook one, freshly steam and mashed, taste more sweeter and nicer. XD My boy like the brown rice. Just started let him taste other semi-food food. keke...

earth bb
yeah, u need to mix both the FM together. as for the portion, i usually will start 1 or 2 scoops 1st before gradually increasing.
so finally u letting jayden take cereal

xiaozhu

canned food cannot compare with home cooked food, which is made with mummy's love.
Are you going to freeze baby cubes?

cherish
i started Dominic with healthy times barley cereal to ease constipation. he likes the taste of it. MIL warned that it may be too cooling. going by chinese method, it makes sense that barley cereal will be more cooling. so i only give him for breakfast on weekends. he doesn't take on weekdays.
another point is that the barley cereal i think likely to be "holland" type barley. barley from china is more cooling , compared to angmo barley. (sorry can't find a better description for angmo barley , i know it comes from holland but maybe other western countries too.)

xiaozhu
my boy super onz fruit - everyday 1 portion of fruit. rotate between apple juice, banana, papaya, etc. unadulterated fresh fruit somemore, &amp; the portion not small e.g. juice from half an apple, 3/4 a pang jio (small banana). so far so good but sometimes the poo has papaya or banana smell LOL we are all very entertained by it :p

Tsukushi - I dun have blender &amp; baby cube. I just steam, then mashed it and feed him. <font color="aa00aa">v(^.^)v</font> Will intro slowly cause dunno wat food will he allergy with.