(2008/04) April 2008

Hi lovemum

have u tried to bring bb to the PD and ask ur mil to follow u? try to bring mil along and ask PD in front from her. Sometimes, they need professional to tell her. They won't buy what we say cos we only 1st time mummy and they are more seasoned than us.

I used to have problems with mum & mil and sil, with how to handle my little jay, then i will ask them to "help" me bring bb to PD together, after they heard it from PD, they accepted and dare not to suggest funny ideas again.

lovemum: i agree with others to bring along ur MIL when next visit to ur PD. sometimes i will ask Qs infront of MIL and let her hear tat certain things she's doing is wrong. my mil always tell me 'last time ur hb like this like tat' now must do this do that. i feel like telling her now diff generation dont tell me what to do!!! im not surprise my PIL will give rubbish food to my bb when im not around. i will get hb to tell them not to feed my bb soft drinks, cakes and oily stuff. i always see them giving my niece watever they eat. recently my niece has been eating mooncakes loh...

haha...can't help but to add some comment. my mum and MIL also say same thing, so i told them last time "mata" wear short pants, now they wear long pants liao...so dont always say last time hahaa....

Hmm, i think the old folks feel proud if their grandchildren can start solids early. I guess its a mindset thing...

Lovemum,
You need to maintain your stand. If you feel strongly about it must let her know that it doesn't mean that just coz other ppl can do it doesn't mean that it is the right thing. If babies start solids way before their digestive tracts are ready may result in alot of allergies in future...

Jgal,

How much is the baby cubes? I am interested

Chewy: hey missed you babe !! Xav is doing fine
How about a swim with E on friday?
Plaza Sing has open a new branch. Nearer.. hee

Hi Cath,
is the white discharge like pcs form cos my boy used 2 hv that then i say my pd he say is normal wan juz nd 2 pull back his skin and clean with cotton wool with water after bath.

cherish: she's abt 15mths now. but way before that when she started her solid food they have been feeding her all sorts of food! tats y im worried.

lovemum
I can't understand yr situation as I have been thru my MIL's misinformed and wrong methods when my baby was very young and my MIL helped me out for a few months. She doesn't even listen to PD, my hubby used to joke that my MIL thinks she knows better than the PDs
So I have no choice but to repeatedly tell her until she knows that I am serious about my stand. It is quite unpleasant to keeping telling her yes. But at the end of the day, as parents we just need to put our child's interest first. Like many of the mamas here, I agree you need to be firm. In future there will be many other such incidences as yr bb grows.

can understand the frustrations that al are gg thru now due to mil or mum always act on own w/o consulting us or considering PD's advices. i been thru the stage too for my #1 and situation was abit sour that time. my advice is tell mil/mum on PD's recommendation and if they 'tend to forgot', ask hubby to remind mil and we remind our own mum to minimise disputes and further sour relationship..we hv to be responsible to our babies so, hv to be firm at times.

cath,
PD advise to pull back the skin and clean with cotton wool wet with water gently. must check on that area often in case dirth struck there for too long. hmm..i think better to chk daily.

cheesy, 15mth still small, should not give so many junk food...

lovemum, must stand firm. you have to let her know you are super serious!

that's the thing about moms and MILs..... u trust your child with them cos they love your baby, but u can never have it your way totally, unlike hired help!

Re: Ikea Highchair
I have a preloved white Ikea highchair in good condition @$20 only. Clearing space as I will have another highchair.

Any Apr mamas keen, pls PM me or sms me (from Simp's file)

Hi Lynn,

The clinic in amk is called Singapore Baby and Child clinic. I'm not sure who the doctors there are. They have branches in Gleneagles, Mt Alvernia, Mt E. My son and nephew used to see Dr Ngiam (He practise in Gleneagles and AMK). I feel that the clnic is too crowded. My experiance there is not a good one. My son was not feeding well during the 1st month and I brought him to Dr Ngiam. He just told me give him wat he wants. No definate amount to give. My son was crying excessively and I was concern. He told me just carry him. He wants to be carried. When cry just carry. I was quite put off by his comments and I didn't go back again. My friend's baby also saw him and she too had a bad experiance. She brought the baby for injection and the doctor had a call and somehow told them to leave the room. I know Dr Ngiam is good with cough and asthma. I'm not sure about the other doctors. Hope this helps.

Feeding anxiety.... i also have them. my MIL is MSG queen, her food is ultra salty........ i fear she will start seasoning my boy's food too.... !! (shall not rant further for fear of any cousins-IL reading forums, one never knows...... LOL )

My only consolation is that it is not too late to reshape habits when children are in kindy age... that is when I hope to have my boy closer to me, maybe find an arrangement for him to stay home with me longer in the day and have more of home meals, hopefully I will be able to correct any bad habits picked up LOL . For now while MIL is main caregiver, sometimes just have to bite my tongue........

princess-j,
Yr PD advises to pull back the foreskin for cleaning, is he saying this coz yr son also have white discharge? As contrary to what I've been told by PD and mothers, than we shld not pull back the foreskin to clean the area beneath it when they are small as it may cause them pain and irritation. Until they are older and the foreskin will retract on it own then can start cleaning.

hi lynn, I find amk sbcc charges on the high side. it's always crowded n the pds came in on diff days so u might not get back the same pd.

anyone interested with baby photoshoot? I Would like to recommend my cousin. he's doing this as his part time.

I've just taken one with my cousin.. here's the result : sutejok.blogspot.com . My baby is under the title nathalie...

Thanks mummies for the advice.
I guess i myself got to learn to say no and be firm. Just like what earth baby said she don't even listen to PD and thinks that she knows better.

Hi lovemum,

tough on you... even PD also can't win them. Must hang in there and let ur hubby do the talking. Her own son, if angry with him, won't be too long.

Hi Princess J, earth and JuniorRain,

thanks ya. The discharge is like lumpy white cakey look-alike. I have retract his foreskin a little to clean it. Somehow don't seem to go away. It will come back abt 3 days later...

<font color="0077aa">hi lynn

Re: PD clinic at AMK central

is called the SIngapore baby &amp; child clinic, tat time my boy was sick so i took him there..

Chelchel,

ur gal is very cute :D</font>

Morning Mummies

harlow.. i going to make the following order.. i want to try this tea that help milk flow :p

http://www.amazon.com/Yogi-Healing-Formula-Nursing-16-Count/dp/B0009F3SFA/ref=sr_1_13?ie=UTF8&amp;s=grocery&amp;qid=1220869250&amp;sr=1-13

Yogi Tea Healing Formula, Woman's Nursing Mom, Tea Bags, 16-Count Boxes (Pack of 6)
USD$17.29 for 6 ~SGD$1.60 per pkt (exclude int. shipping )
1. jgal
2. jgal

http://www.amazon.com/HAPPYBELLIES-Contains-Probiotics-Organic-Canisters/dp/B000YSTGGW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&amp;s=grocery&amp;qid=1220869622&amp;sr=1-1
HAPPYBELLIES Brown Rice Cereal Contains DHA and Probiotics, Organic, 7-Ounce Canisters (Pack of 6)
USD$25.11 for 6 ~ SGD6.10 pkt can (exclude int. shipping)
1. jgal
2. jgal
3. araid22
4. sputnik
5. Maro
6. goodbbb

http://www.amazon.com/HAPPYBELLIES-Multigrain-Contains-Probiotics-Canisters/dp/B000YSQ9GC/ref=pd_sim_gro_1

HAPPYBELLIES Multigrain Cereal, Organic, Contains DHA and Probiotics, 7-Ounce Canisters (Pack of 6)

USD$25.11 for 6 ~ SGD6.10 pkt can (exclude int. shipping)
1. jgal
2. jgal
3. goodbbb
4. sputnik
5. Maro

Angel - Nice to meet ya at Vivo. Sad tat the JR hat is OOS. :-(

Lovemum - Jia you, it may takes longer time to change old folks ideal. :)

Cath - So far my boy no discharge, did u bring him see PD?

Jgal - If u ordering the baby food storage cubes, can count me in? thanks

On MC today.. Dunno if I should bring my girl for her jab today, cos I have a follow-up appt on Saturday and the PD say can jab on Saturday but then after that it's the playgym.. If she takes her jab on Saturday dunno can go to the playgym or not..

Lynn, what happened? Down with flu?

I am very ANGRY!!!!! Jus found out that MIL and SIL fed BB with some medicine (don't want to mention in case SIL reading) without both my HB and my knowledge. We are the parents leh, but MIL likes to consult SIL then go ahead with it. Where does it leave us to be?

Told HB and he is more agitated than me, cause he never like to feed medicine to bb, somemore without our knowledge....

winter, yea me down with cough and bad throat

winter, what med your MIL gave? usually can only get med for bb so young through prescription right? how did you find out?

Lynn: if u bring ur baby to jab on sat, then u better don't go to playgym as she may not feel so well after that. You down with cough? If you are still not well by Sat, then you also better don't go playgym, hehe. :p

hi lynn
what your colleague had recommended is the singapore baby and child clinic. they have it at TMC, Mount A, Gleneagles too. amk central one is just another clinic outside these hosp. they are a group of PD for this SBCC.

my girl sees dr chan - her pd since birth till now at Mount A. i can tell you that dr chan and nurses at mount A are good and attentive. no bad attitude and all. the environment is clean, good and conducive. gt bf room and changing area as well.

dr chan kit yee - specialise in cardio
dr ong eng keow - specialise in premature babies
dr ngiam - specialise in repsiratory problems

they have other pds too but i dunno them so well.

hope this helps !

Lynn, the med is prescrip for the younger niece, then tt time bb suffering from colic, so MIL CONSULUTED SIL, SIL says give that med, so MIL follows lor.

Found out only now, cause I bought the cereal and wanted to buy MORE, then SIL says it out in a slip of tonuge. She even act cute and say 'Oh Oh'.

I let my HB handle, for it is not so nice for me to interfere.

Hi Lovemum..

Jia You!! Its not easy to get her to understand but you have to do whats best for your baby. Mine also alots of pattern nowadays..refuse to drink from the bottle when i am home and only my helper can feed him the bottle. Its not easy even to get him to drink 50ml. But no choice, have to let him struggle with the bottle.

Maybe u can get your hubby to speak to her?

going to bring my girl for her jab later. since gotta do it and endure her possible further reduction in milk intake then might as well get over and done with.

cos today still can take care of her together with my mum. if weekend i'll be stressed out manz.. my mum is very persistent in trying to feed my girl heehee.. and she's not so stressed if she doesn't finish her milk. me, i know to expect that she can't finish, but i'll always secretely hope she can and every feed she does not finish also very sian.. and if she takes less than 90ml then will be stressed..

Cath
my boy oso same, the discharge is white &amp; lumpy. After i wipe, afew days will still hv. That time i did check with pd he told me is ok juz nd 2 clean for him constantly after bath.

Winter,
Oh my gosh... its quite dangerous lei. How much did they feed your baby? Dosage is different lei for young children and babies. No wonder you are fuming mad...

Strawberries - yup my boy is under the care of MIL.

Amy - the younger niece is a few months older. It is not the dosgae, I guess it is more like respect. Respect for the parents of the bb, that's my HB and me.