(2008/04) April 2008

HT update:

Supplier has replied all items should be in stock end of the month. Once stock is in they'll start to fill our orders and deliver.

back to work already. very terrible first day cos bb was unusually cranky (cry for no reason, sounds like she's really uncomfortable but no fever..) on top of the usual milk refusal. so ended up refusing milk even more. no matter how hard me and my mum tried, her intake for the whole day was only 500ml, really at the minimum required and the lowest yet for 2 weeks

called my usual PD she is quite concerned my girl is still refusing milk. she suggested we can run some detailed blood tests but suggested us to go to KKH as it wuld be cheaper there. compare to my other PD whom we saw to seek a second opinion, he seems to be really cool about it and even siad 500ml is not THAT bad. really dunno who to go with leh..

anyway my girl was super cranky yesterday, didn't nap well (didn't sleep well at night too for the past week, wake up crying to be held) and was rubbing her eyes and pulling her ears, think very tired but can't uncomfortable somewhere so can't sleep. even when she's carried and sleeping, sometimes she'll wake up crying! see already very poor thing..

my mum thinks it might be gum irritation cos her gums are harder than before (of cos they'll get harder right?) and she's really gumming her fingers now. but i gave her those frozen teether just for fun and she loves it! stopped her crying and she really enjoyes licking/gumming it. now i'm toying with the idea of feeding her cold milk via spoon!

goodbb: erm the hairdresser shaved most of the sides, then the top part trim abit. so there is still some style rather then juz pure botak ha!

geryl: thanks for the info! will go sign up in the website. won't go for the workshop lah like so chiem hahahaa

<font color="aa00aa">Morning Mummies</font>

harlow.. i going to make the following order.. i want to try this tea that help milk flow :p

http://www.amazon.com/Yogi-Healing-Formula-Nursing-16-Count/dp/B0009F3SFA/ref=sr_1_13?ie=UTF8&amp;s=grocery&amp;qid=1220869250&amp;sr=1-13

Yogi Tea Healing Formula, Woman's Nursing Mom, Tea Bags, 16-Count Boxes (Pack of 6)
USD$17.29 for 6 ~SGD$1.60 per pkt (exclude int. shipping )
1. jgal
2. jgal

http://www.amazon.com/HAPPYBELLIES-Contains-Probiotics-Organic-Canisters/dp/B000YSTGGW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&amp;s=grocery&amp;qid=1220869622&amp;sr=1-1
HAPPYBELLIES Brown Rice Cereal Contains DHA and Probiotics, Organic, 7-Ounce Canisters (Pack of 6)
USD$25.11 for 6 ~ SGD6.10 pkt can (exclude int. shipping)
1. jgal
2. jgal
3. araid22
4. sputnik
5. Maro

http://www.amazon.com/HAPPYBELLIES-Multigrain-Contains-Probiotics-Canisters/dp/B000YSQ9GC/ref=pd_sim_gro_1

HAPPYBELLIES Multigrain Cereal, Organic, Contains DHA and Probiotics, 7-Ounce Canisters (Pack of 6)

USD$25.11 for 6 ~ SGD6.10 pkt can (exclude int. shipping)
1. jgal
2. jgal
3. goodbbb
4. sputnik
5. Maro

Breastfeeding mummies,
Can share how often are you pumping in a day, like how long and how many times in the office how many times at home. Got latch on baby or not...

I am trying to reduce the number of times i pump but coz i also latch baby at home so its quite difficult to adjust the frequency i pump. Plus i just threw away some milk this morning (46pkts) very heartpain. So i am trying to think of a way to reduce the pumping frequency yet maintain the quantity needed. Kinda afraid that once i reduce abit the quantity will continue to go downhill. Any mummies with similar experience to share?

Amy,
On working days, there will be 4 pumping session, 2 at home, 2 at office. Will still latch on my boy when he wakes up for milk in the night time.

Non-working days, pumping session follow my boy's feeding pattern if i didn't latch on my boy

Lynn, you can try to use the spuirt spoon and feed your gal with milk. The spoon will keep the milk warm. I feed my gal water using that now.. Cos' she refuse to suck from the bottle.

anyway, my gal@5mth 4 wks only take in 450ml ebm and latch on at night. I guess 500ml per day is not that bad lah :p

Re: feeding,

do you feed ur bb fruit juices?
anyone try Gerber pear/apple juice?

I have tried training mug on Charis, she is able to take in water from that, last time I used milk bottle, she rejected too..

koori,

i have received your orders, I will order latest by tomolo.

Morningz
Angel &amp; Winter, my boy oso very cranky these 2days, keeping wanting me 2 carry him even when he slp. When try 2 put him down after he slp, he will wake up &amp; cry very loud like ppl beat him like that. Then sometimes while slping he will suddenly cry out dun know issit bcos he is teething soon then gum irritating him?

lynn...

do not panic...ur ger might be teething tt's y she is uncomfortable...how old is she nw?

my ger is the same like urs now she is 5mths old nw...her infant care teacher told us that feeding her milk is difficult n its taking a long time...i gave her teether she also loves it, now she bites everything tt's within her reach, even my nose...

Morning

Amy, I try to pump at least twice in the office every 4 - 5 hours. It is dependant on the time that bb last latched on before I go to work in the morning.

Now EBM supply has dropped, so I am back on 3 hourly pump to keep up with her feeding demand. This is still on top of her taking semi-solids to replace the 7pm feed. Have told my mum to standby a small tin of FM for just in case. I also told my hb to standby one tin at home.

Amy,

I pumped 3 times at home and 2 times at work. Abt 15 min each breast. But sometimes I dont have the time so only do 4 times.
My supply drop because of this frequency. From abt 1L to 700ml. So I start thawing my frozen milk and mix it with fresh one (from Veronica's tips).

I am thinking on taking fenugreek now. Before I always have extra to freeze, now, no more.

I also think my bb is reaching the teething stage... she has also been very cranky lately, especially over the last 2 nights. Refuse to sleep, wants people to carry... but even carrying her has a temporal calming effect on her... she starts wailing in less than 5 mins.

Amy - i pump 3 x per day, 2 at office 1 at home. perhaps u wan to try to stretch ur timing &amp; pump less so SS can reduce a bit and u don have to throw away ur EBM.

Lynn
My baby is exactly like your baby... FM intake drop from 900ml to 500ml for past few days..somemore he got diarrhoea ...i also scare he dun have enough milk intake. Yesterday took him to see PDs , my PD said its still ok for 500ml..just keep note his intake for next few days.He now only will drink while he is sleeping..if not he will scream and cry if we force him to drink. me so headache.

Morning mummies !!

Xavier too!! Yesterday mid night, suddenly cried till like kanna beaten like that. Had to pacify him for about half an hour before he can get back to sleep.

RE: Spree

Just for your info. Another option to hold spree or want to sell of your items with no restrictions. Can try http://www.mumcentre.com/ no restrcition that you have to be a member for at least a year to hold spree or sell. Quite flexible I think.

hi little princess and arial,

u all stay in tanglin area?
too far for me,think most prob will send to pcf

hi sherin,

little skoolhouse is good?heard it is under ntuc?

amy: I used to pump five times a day, 3x in the office and 2x at home. I have since reduced to 4x a day: 2x at home, 2x in office for 10 mins each pump and latch baby if she wakes up at night. However, even though I reduce the number of pumps, my yield still remains at 1.3l a day, no reduction. My baby consumes about 800ml a day. I store about 200ml a day in the freezer and 300ml is wastage of milk when baby can't finish her milk. No choice one lah, throw milk. There was once I also threw 50 glass bottles of milk ..my mom used it to bathe. Now I just expire milk that is 1 month old in the freezer.

pumping: i pump once in the morning before work, 2x at work for about 30 mins each and one time at home after work. The last feed i will latch on.

I used to be able to pump for 10 mins in office and get 150-180ml. now supply dropped and have to take longer time to pump to get close to 150ml. so worrying.

Lynn - hang in there, hope this phase will pass.

Pumping : I pump only 3 times a day (Morning, noon and night), used to be around 800ml, but now only 600 to 700ml. After I was sick, ss went straight down

Advice to mummies - freeze as much as u can, now my ss is down but bb intake is up, I no longer have excess to store. I need to thaw one bottle of frozen milk everyday to meet his feed.

Frozen milk - I prefer to mix frozen and fresh together to feed, cause after reading many websites, some says frozen milk got reduced nutrients, some disagree. So mix half half, bb can benefit of fresh EBM and using frozen one too.

my baby also like that very cranky lately. Suddenly hates his yao lan. Want to sleep cry first and only nap for 20 mins. Only wants milk when sleeping. wake up cry

as i latch on only , he refuse bottle. I don't know his milk intake.

My MIL keeping on saying he got not enough milk.Actually from day 1 , she keep saying he got not enough milk. Although PD says my boy on the heavy side got lots of excess. Want to start him on porridge. Somemore want to add salt add meat. My boy not even 5 mths yet.I am very stressed .don't know how to say no to her that baby is too young for that. Mummies please give me some advice.

lovemum: I dunno what is your stand when your in laws want to interfere with your way of you handling or feeding the baby.

You have to tell them that baby is not ready yet as advised by PD should baby cannot sit straight if start him on solid, dangerous to do it. If you find it hard to tell them, maybe get your hubby to tell ?

Hey mummies with baby boys,

do you know how to deal with white discharge for baby boys? Little jay has white discharge from his penis. And it is quite a lot.

my girl is in her 3rd week of milk refusal already leh, that's why i very worried..

can give juice? just now my colleague say maybe can try that.. my girl 4 months 1 wk plus..

lovemum - let ur hubby do the talking. To maintain a cordinal relationship with MIL (I assume she is taking care of ur bb), if u need to disagree with her, tell her once. After that she doesn't agree, ask ur hubby to do the talking. No point repeat ur point.

Trust me, U won't want to disagree with her too much, later she keep complaining to ur bb about u. Which won't be nice right?

Lynn, be careful about giving juice, some juice are so sweet that bb will refuse milk. I know friends and cousins who resort to adding honey or sugar to FM or EBM to make bb drink.

Lovemum: I dunno if your mil has a part in looking after Kang Kang but if it's me, I will tell her as the mummy of the child I will want to maintain my stand in feeding the baby solid food later. afterall, babies differ from one another some may start eating as early as 4 months some may not. If choke worse.

Lynn: your girl milk refusal is totally din drink ? you still bf or bottle feed ?

she's exactly 19 weeks old today..

actually i think EBM very sweet leh. dunno if she's sick of the sweet taste? Cos i tasted FM before like not so sweet..

anyway i tried FM (2 diff brands) recently she also dun wan leh.

too soon to start on sippy cup right? i tried feeding EBM with spoon before but she spit out

Hi Lovemum,

I heard alot of mum in laws or mums are wanna feed babies porridge with meat, salt... tat includes my mum and grandma. My son was not feeding well and they insist I give him solid. I kept telling them PD say cannot.

My mum spoils my son. On sunday, I stayed over I saw my mum "feeding" my son some cakes! I told her off she say only let him lick. Sigh. stressful. When he starts to take solid, i'm not suprise if my parents and siblings will feed him chocolate, coke... Was just telling my husband we must think of a way to stop them.

prawnie, i bottle feed her ebm all the way. 3 weeks ago she started to not cry for milk. and then make her drink she cry when u lie her down in milk-drinking position. or drink 30ml and push teat out and smile and play. or push teat around and chew on it.. if wait till she's hungry can tahan 5 hours and drink only 30ml leh

now can only feed when she's asleep but sometimes even like tat also cannot cos she'll wake up and cry. cry until like very pathetic why i torturing her like tat..

My son will not finish his milk. He will always stop at the 2 oz mark! After the 2 oz mark, my husband or maid gotta act as clown, entertain him before he drinks again. Sigh. I know it's a bad habit but if they dun do it he won't drink. I brought him to the PD and the PD said that he is just too playful or not hungry enough to take. Even when drinking he wanna play.

one of my colleagues just shared that there's a PD clinic at AMK central - Singapore babies and dunno what. Anyone knows? thinking of bringing her..

Lynn: Maybe you try latching her even thou if your ger has nt been latching for quite sometime. I tried on my boy, I used to alternate latching and bottle feed him. But these few days, he dun want bottle. Keep screaming. But when I latch him, he is ok.
Advisable to check with PD since her intake is oly 30 ml for 5 hours. But make sure she is urinating as per normal.

Koori: Welcome Kaylen back! Hi babe.. miss u!

Prawnie, Stefylim: babes! How are u all? Been busy lately.... so fast our babies 5mths already! oh Steyfy, Sherin shall pass u EC bks since u all going to the same playgym @ forum this sat. Prawnie, is Xavier better these days?