(2008/04) April 2008

I bought from kidzcottage before. Hers is BabyLegs. $10 per pair excludes postage i thin.
But quite tight for my girl le.
Then recently at a BP, i got some combi leggings. Very soft and not so tight.
Find that it's better than BL. It's $10 for two pairs including postage.
But hor, went leggings also need to wear socks ma. Coz usually it's the toes that are very cold.
So i prefer to buy tights.
Mummies with girls, you may want to try mothercare's tights. Quite good and price is reasonable. I bought two pairs for $12.

I want to check if any of you has bought high chair already and has any recommendation? I need a high chair. She cant fit properly in her bumbo anymore.

Re: squirt spoon.
Squirt spoon is ok to use.
But v mafan coz need to mix in bowl then transfer to the squirt spoon
Toward the end when finishing i find that when you press, there is alot of air/wind coming out. Plus not to mention wastage as some cant flow out.
Pro: it frees up ur other hand.
For me, summer gets v gan chiong when eating, her hands will come and grab the spoon. So with the squirt spoon, i can use my "free" hand which would otherwise be use to hold e bowl to hold her hands.

Sherin: Tks for the helpful comment. Guess I won't buy the squirt spoon after all...find it really a chore to transfer food from one container to another esp. when my intention is to use it in restaurants

Jo, Veron, Summer is 5 mths old today!
I started feeding her when she was 4 mths old.
Milk doesnt satisfy her at all!
Mommies who were at the playgym will know that she drinks alot (200ml)and very fast (5mins) and would want more. So she needs to eat. So far, she has tried quite a few types of cereal. So i can give my "reviews" on some of the cereal.
Good thing is Summer's not obese or too big. I guess she needs more coz she is a rather active baby.

wow... 200ml? Hmmmm, my boy now 15 weeks, only 130ml. Any more, cannot finish....

Sherin, reviews on cereal? I am a KS mum, want to research early

Re: high chair, today i went to mothercare and coincidentally i met an ex-schoolmate. She works for mothercare biz dev and happened to be there. So i mentioned that i was looking for highchair. She recommends strokke. Yes it's v ex for a highchair. So i'm putting it behind my mind. Hopes hb will buy. And she states her reasons.
Too long to post here.
She says if not then, actually any highchair is ok. But if the high chair has a "slanted" seat then children may grow up developing a bad posture.
So i'm asking here on what kind of high chair is tested and good

Yes Sherin, please share which cereal or baby rice is good.
Strokke (as with most Mothercare products) are good but EXPENSIVE lor! Way beyond our budget lah...

Veron, I gave her healthy times barley. She loves it. I gave it to her before and after her vacin, she did not have fever at all. I'm not v sure whether it's due to the barley. But it smells good.
Healthy times are extremely easy to mix.
I gave her frisocrem, she is also ok with it. But it doesnt smell as nice as the barley one.
I try to give a good mixture of organic and non-organic.
Unless you are very sure that you only want baby to take a FULLY organic diet, then it's best to mix, in order to build up their immune system.

Angel, the strokke one is very good. It is adjustable in height, meaning that it "grows" with them.
It encourages the children to eat with the adults, meaning there is no additional tray.
Most other high chairs has another tray for the baby. It will cause the baby to become every "territorial" during meal times.

I was thinking of the fisher price rainforest high chair ($239). But thinking twice and thrice, it's just another high chair but it comes with a toy.

Again it goes down to whether parents encourage children to PLAY in their high chair. Or is the High chair strictly for mealtimes?

Currently mothercare has a promo on one of the cheap highchair. $69 only i think. foldable somemore.

Sherin, is frisocrem sweet? I am thinking of mixing organic and non-organic, but don't want to introduce any sweet tasting food yet.

Thanks for the feedback
PM u regarding the collection.

hehe..thanks amy and cath..

my boy a terror...wk 16 now... been like what some of the mummies describe, appetite drop and when c the milk bottle will scream and shout...
real terror!

but heng when latch he wants..else i so scared he be dehydrated...

oh...leggings i getting from the cheaper one..
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1658600.html?1219410136

quality also unknown...buy for fun lor

later going home to "yan jiu" the japan legging and the Babylegs...haha

Veron, personally i didnt taste frisocrem le.
I dont know is it that my Summer is quite greedy, she loves every thing i give her.
Now i'm reading up on how i can intro greenies to her. Coz i didnt really BF her for long, im afraid that she will reject veg.

Re: highchair
Was told that to encourage independence, better not use highchair for too long. Use booster chair as soon as they can switch to cultivate good table manners early

Sherin: I was also eyeing on rainforest highchair but the local model is different from US model which you would see if you do a search. It has a big toy & double padding.

earth baby i'm not sure about booster seats but it looks somewhat not as secured as highchair le. I thought booster seats are usually compact so that we can bring out. Like that hor, buy highchair v waste $$$ hor.

Jgal's Spree - Collection for Toys and Clothes
This Friday evening 7pm @Redhill Mrt
1. Maro
2. Angel (& on behalf of Maddy's Mum)
3. Jaspire

This Saturday evening 7pm @Redhill Mrt

Next Monday evening 7pm @Redhill Mrt
1. sputnik
2. littleprincesses

13th Playgym at forum.
1. Lynn_
2. Tsukushi (cereal)
3. Amy

20th Playgym at forum.
1. goodbb
2. cutiebb
3. babyliss

sorry repost :

1. Maro
3. Jaspire

1. sputnik
2. littleprincesses (carters)

13th Playgym at forum.
1. Lynn_
2. Tsukushi (cereal)
3. Amy

20th Playgym at forum.
1. goodbb
2. cutiebb
3. babyliss

Hi Sherin,

seems that the squit spoon is quite troublesome to use. Is it very difficult to control the flow? Initially thought of getting it also.....

Juz to check with you... nw you have started introducing your baby with cereal.... so on average, how many times you fed her per day?

I intend to start when my girl is 6mths. So, would like to find out more info from you.

Sherin: Booster seat is for bigger babies, usually 1 yr up. Yes, I also think it's quite a waste to splurge on an expensive highchair if you intend to let him use a booster seat later on coz then the highchair will be used only 6 months.

Marshmallow, the squirt spoon is ok. Can control the flow. But my girl is taking the thicker consistency. So i'm not sure if the cereal is more watery, will e flow comes out faster.
I think despite being abit troublesome, it is a good "tool" to have due to the mess. During feeding, have to hold their hands, u need to clean their mouth. So it does helps to free up one hand.

Summer take cereal only once a day.

Re: EC books
Please arrange to collect your books ASAP.
They are taking up alot of space.
Everything packed. So collection is ok from now onwards.
Weekday nights frm 7 pm onwards.
Weekends, pls sms me first. Preferably in the mornings.

Prawnie, Cannot.
Am really sorry about it.
The books are quite heavy. Not possible for me to lug to office and then to harbourfront.

The exersaucer is so cheap... to bad I just purchase a jumperoo in Amazon.

Tsukushi, is your BP for CB calendula cream still on? Otherwise I might just go ahead and order from Baby Center. Let me know yah?

Sherin,
My colleagues who have 2 boys recommend me 'Happy Times' for organic and Frisocream, like Summer is having :p

Wondering if can feed my boy cereals, though he not drinking lots of milk at day time, max 120ml but he is waking up much more times at night for milk (norm: 2 or less). For the past few days, wakes up 2 hrly and can finish milk of 80-100ml, normal only 60ml. any mummies can advice?

Sherin: No prob. Understand that it's heavy. Can you sms me ur addy at 9652 9653. Thanks. Most prob hubby's fren collecting for me. Thanks for helping to order

1. Maro
3. Jaspire
4. ynby80 (i wld like to get the builder too, at the control?)

1. sputnik
2. littleprincesses (carters)

13th Playgym at forum.
1. Lynn_
2. Tsukushi (cereal)
3. Amy

20th Playgym at forum.
1. goodbb
2. cutiebb
3. babyliss

my girl's new pattern (in addition to refusal to drink milk).. used to sleep at 9pm, now want to PLAY till 1130pm -_-

Hi Sherin
Re: High Chair

I bought my high chair from Ikea. Those typical white coloured chairs found in most restaurants.
Its cheap. Less than S$30 & you can get the table top for abt S$6 (detachable). My boy is approx 3 years old now & he had been using it till he's 2 years old...

oh by the way i let my elder boy uses the high chair when he's stable sitting on his own...i think approx 10mths...can't remember
Before that, I was using the Bumbo seat...

maybeebaby

you don accept pm leh. am interested.

jgal

sorry about the missed appointment. had a very urgent meeting today and only just reached home. sorry. will check with my hubby when he is free to go down as i will be going outstation next week monday, so have lots of things to see to.