(2008/04) April 2008

Steph: Thanks for opening yr place for the 1st playdate in the east! I shld be free on 27th if nothing comes up last minute

(hi, earth_baby I am too lazy. copied yours Hee.. hope to see you on that day)

Calling East mamas
Wanna to gather for a playdate in the east?
So far, I know who's interested are:

1)Steph
2)Jamie
3)earth bb
4)lovemum
5)tratties
6)Prawnie
7) scubababe
8)cloudme

Hi, Lynn

My boy also TBF, today poo 4 times . backside also red red although from birth used diaper rash cream. And yes, he also catnap the whole days 15-30 mins.

My boy vomit very frequently . I brought him to PD on monday. She says got wind in stomach give colic drop from then , he poo at least 2-3 times a day. Last time 1 time, the most 2 x. His diaper rash started last week , i used mustela and finish change to destin . I don't know is it because of the brand then i change back to mustela.

Very tried he only catnap. some more must carry until he sleep, put down the most 30 mins wake up

My girl vomitted at least 10 ml of her feed just now. Am so worried. Hope that she is fine..

Re: Breastfeeding
My SS is going down and I hope I can preserve till she is 6 months old.. Sigh... I do envy those with good SS. I feel bad that I didn't build up a good SS for my girl.

Hi lovemum,

Does your son sleep on his front or back?
I fancy that my son tends to catnap when he's placed on his back to sleep. He startles quite easily so he never quite manages to drift off into deep sleep, hence the catnap.

Have you thought of putting your son down on his front? Does he have good neck and head control? It's best for him to have that in order to prevent any suffocation should he get caught face down and be unable to move his head to the side.

Hi Stretch,

Do you let your girl latch on or do you feed her EBM from a bottle?
My son feeds from a bottle and he used to vomit right after feeding. I figured it was probably cuz his position during feeding was too 'flat'. After making sure that he's always well propped up now, he hasn't vomitted since.

I suppose this is only relevant if you're feeding from a bottle. Hope this helps if you are

Lovemum - the last time my baby had a diaper rash I used the 'tapping' method to clean his bum. I also alt between the calendula cream and desitin cream. Was gone in < 3 days.

Stretch - Is your babe behaving as per normal. My boy sometimes spits out when he burbs or when he's moved too soon after feeding. I tend to keep him in the same position for abt 5-10 mins before moving.

wow this thread moves so fast i really cant catch up. my bb is 1 wk to his5 months liao and my mom kept hinting to feed him solids! i agree that the older generations are super keen lor but my PD ever mentioned that they can take solids all their life so no need to be ganchiong and can continue to take breastmilk till 6mths old.

mummies, how to get bb to sleep throughout thenite? my boy slept throughout from 10pm till 630am when he was 3 months old but last 2 weeks he has been waking up at 4am wanting to be nursed! i also dunno wat to do now.

Dear <font color="0000ff">Elliot</font>
kao_smile2.gif

thank you for inviting me and my mummy to your house today for the "Cartoon" Playdate. I had lots of fun playing, drooling and chuckling with you, bb Nicodemus, bb Asher, bb Maddy, bb Owen, bb Ian, bb Xavier and bb Valerie. Our mummies seemed to click well too and boy, they chatted non-stop till it was time for you to go to the doc's! Hope we can have more of such playdates soon

Oh, can you please tell your mummy to post some photos up onto Facebook? My mummy would like to show Daddy how bb Elliot and all my new friends look like

Till we meet again, take care!

XOXO,
<font color="0000ff">Dana</font>

P.S. Did your jab hurt today?

Calling East mamas :
Hi Steph
Pls count me in for the 27th. Which part of the east do you stay?

1)Steph
2)Jamie
3)earth bb
4)lovemum
5)tratties
6)Prawnie
7) scubababe
8)cloudme
9 ) Gail

Hi Poupinette and Emma - I fed my gal FM from bottle. It is the first time she has vomitted so much.
I think i will go get the thermometer and take her temperature. She is sleeping already.

lovemum, finally someone whose baby is STILL pooping so many times a day, same as my girl..

i just brought my girl to the PD for her rashes and blotches of red/lighter skin on her diaper area and tummy etc. turns out it's not heat rash nor diaper rash. it's fungal rash. well at least i got it figured out, wondering why it simply won't clear. now hope that the cream given will really clear the rash in less than a week... if not gotta go back to PD again

stretch, why your girl vomit? any discomfort or anything to signal she's not feeling well? my girl used to vomit because of wind, now no more. but sometimes if she dun wan to finish her milk and i force the teat into her mnouth, she'll gag and vomit..

Stretch - I think if she sleeping as per normal... she's should be fine... just check on her tonight... And as poupinette mentioned, baby should be propped up when feeding... my mom learnt that the hard way... Is her temperature ok?

Poupinette - haha how do you manage to put your babe to sleep on the front? I suxx @ turning my baby on his front... everytime I try to do that when he's sleeping, his eyes will suddenly open and when he realises that I'm trying to put him down, he'll have a fit...

Stretch
My boy not only vomit he merlion. I brought him to PD. She says got wind in stomach. Must burp or try to unlatch in between feed to burp.

Poupinette
my boy last time sleep in cot down on front, can not sleep well, bought yao lan better. But now back to his catnap pattern. At night, sleep down on front in cot.

Emma Rae
Why must alt? tapping with cotton+ water or wipes

gervynne - Sleeping thru the night ~ Can't advise you on this... I still wake my boy up to drink coz too lazy to setup the pump...

Lovemum - Coz that time I was using desitin but bought a tub of calendula cream to try... haha scared to fully use it... but seem pretty good... quite multipurpose... used it on his rash (bum, face), his cradle cap, and insect bite... all heal very fast...

Lynn

Alamak, fungal rash!!! My boy got that on his skin, at first i thought it was eczema on skin. now backside also have, most likely is that too. tue going for injection got to comfirm with PD. What cream did he gave you?

lovemum, i was also very worried about the fungal rash, but the PD assured me it's very common and will clear very quickly. i really hope so lor..

i also thought eczema cos the skin is patchy red and dry. but the PD said the dry and dead skin is becos of the fungus.. at first i wanted to wait cos 2 weeks later going for jab, but i see already so heartpain still bring her to ask what's wrong, cos sometimes less red and sometimes more red and dry. it just refuses to go off lor.

Chewy and Elliot: Thanks for opening ur house todae, a realli pretty and cosy place for mummies and babies to meet.

Great that me n Asher got to meet Angel with bb Dana, Prawnie with Xvaier, Maddy's mum with Maddy, Tsukushi with Ian, and to catch up with yo with Nicodemus and babybliss with Owen
Too bad i gotta leave early.

I tink i missed littleprincess and baby. Another time perhaps?

Hi Stretch,

Doesn't sound like there's anything to be really worried about, though I can definitely understand your concern as I've been there.

When my son Ethan vomitted, it was almost the whole feed which was about 120-150ml. Imagine the horror!
I panicked but the boy was grinning at me, he looked relieved and comfortable after vomitting, strange as it may sound

So sometimes, it may just be that they are feeling unsettled and the milk needed to come back up. I also believe that it could have been a big burp that brought the undigested milk up, resulting in vomit.

I really wouldn't fret over it, but do take her temperature to be sure.

Hi Gervynne,

When your son wakes at 4am, is he actually hungry and in need of milk? If yes, he could very well be going through a growth spurt.

My son used to wake up for late night/early morning feeds too, and the hubby thought that a growth spurt sounded logical. Otherwise he sleeps from 7.30pm to 7am, has been doing so for almost 2 months now.

If your son has managed to sleep through the night before, he'll be able to do it again. Hang in there

Hi Lovemum,

My son uses the yaolan as well and he usually catnaps if I leave him in there. So if I want him to have a long nap, I put him in the yaolan till he's asleep, then I move him to the crib.

He'll definitely stir a little when I take him out of the yaolan, but I hold him for awhile, sway and pat his bum. And when he's fast asleep again, I put him down in his crib.

Works like a charm and on a good day, he can sleep for a few hours. Worth a try!

Hi Emma Rae,

Like what I told Lovemum, I make sure Ethan is fast asleep before I put him down in his crib cuz I know that the process of flipping him onto his front will wake him up if he's not in deep sleep mode

Otherwise, I will flip him very quickly and if he starts to stir, I'll put one hand on his back and pat his bum with the other, to ease him back to sleep. I've learnt not to be delicate and flip him slowly cuz for my son, he's more likely to wake up that way.
Basically, do it fast and get it over with!
Oh and keep the pacifier handy, try stuffing it into his mouth if he stirs. Works for my son, he goes right back to sleep

If your hubby or anyone else is around, get them to help you. It's a lot more seamless with another pair of hands.. hehe

Update on Healthy Times BP (for goodbb, jo, amy, bebe, eniale, jolene, angel and raynsky). Pls PM me your email address. I'll send out the order list for you to check and confirm soon.

Orders will be placed with supplier in early Sept (in order to order the brown rice cereal which is OOS now). if everything is in stock should receive the stuff by mid sept

Poupin,
Thanks for the contact on the pt maid!

Ok when u move to bangsar and i am still ard we can meet too

My ger is now 4m 4wks old i think, coming to 5m so i think she may be teething soon. I think my ger is bigger than ur boi boi hor.

poupinette, i've never been successful in flipping my girl to sleep on her tummy. but thankfully she can now be flipped to sleep on her side (when she's sound asleep). dunno why she keeps jerking her arms and waking up nowadays, very hard to get her to sleep in the afternoons

my girl had her hair trimmed this evening, but only from the sides cos wan the rest of it to grow longer and 'settle down' instead of standing up all the time. did the hair brush thingy as well as the umbilical cord stamp, hopefully it'll turn out well..

Hi mummies, my boy got new pattern this week. This week he is ok with bottle feeding liao, dun cry and kick up a big fuss, but would play with the teat after sucking every half a minute, so end up take half an hour to finish 120ml, sometimes onli manage 90ml, and can tahan for 4 hours. He used to drink up to 140ml every 3 hours. Then sometimes when he latch on, he'll bite my nipple. Since Wednesday night, he keeps repeatedly sticking out his tongue. Then today, he started to chew, as in like trying to chew something that is in his mouth. Not to mention, he has been drooling more. Is it a sign of teething? How to tell when they are teething? I try to feel the gums when i wash his mouth, but i dunno wat to look out for.

Poupinette - I must get my mom to try that with me... I must have been so slow until he becomes too alert... haha coz even when I feel he's in deep sleep (very nua)... his eyes can flip open like he never went to sleep...

hi tsukushi,

u did not belt up bb on bouncer?if belt up,can still slide down or not?

hi jamie,

can i borrow rhe book healthy sleep habits, happy child from u?thanks in advance,i pm u my hp no

hi lynn,

how much u spent on the hair brush thingy as well as the umbilical cord stamp?which company?i m also going to do the hair brush

Chewy and Elliot,

Thanks for opening your house....
We had fun. Angel, Raynski, Tsukushi, Lil Princeses, Yo, Babybliss, Prawnie, do I miss anyone?- nice meeting you all.. I'll upload pic soon.

Check out this blog
http://momsfavspot.blogspot.com/

They have cute 'bright future' shirt. Thinking of getting, bought from this seller before she is nice and fast. And live next to my workplace.

steph

thanks for opening up your place. i'm ok on 27 aug. sms or pm me your addy.

Calling East mummies:

1)Steph
2)Jamie
3)earth bb
4)lovemum
5)tratties
6)Prawnie
7) scubababe
8)cloudme
9 ) Gail

Naps
the sarong didnt work for your boy? usually i will put my boy to sleep (nap) when he's up for 2hrs or so, accordingly to the book. anything longer than that may over tired &amp; cause fatigue. this works for my boy &amp; i think putting him in the sarong for day naps also makes him sleep longer. u may also need to monitor his tell tale signs of tiredness, that will make it easier to soothe him to sleep.

I agree with Maddy'sMum! Halloween costumes are a fab idea!

Perhaps we can organize a Halloween party, have our own little baby version of trick or treat. Would be lotsa fun if the mummies/parents got a little dressed up too!

What say you, ladies?

hi stretch,

bb centre got nice dresses?can show the link,cos everytime c rompers only,any idea where to look for nice party bb dress?those dresses with the pomp pomp inside,need to buy for bb to attend wedding dinner :>

poupinette
he used to catnap only in cot, then bought yaolan sometimes can sleep 2hrs. now back to catnap pattern. Thanks .tommorrow i try. but he refuse pacifier.

raynsky
tell me how you do that. I everyday stressed of how to get him drink from bottle. thinking of putting juice in the bottle to let him accept the bottle first . don't know will it works. which brand you use, you feed?

Emma Rae
"his eyes can flip open like he never went to sleep..." this is a good one hahaha...

Feeding from bottle was fine for him since birth n everyday i give at least a bottle. But cos i gg back to work soon, i started expressing for him in the day to bottle feed since 3 weeks back. All went fine until last week, he will start to cry once i put him in the lying down position. But will be fine when i latch, so I ask my mum to feed him, he cry until like i dun wan him. He cried for 1 hour. Luckily my mum very patient. But still cannot, so latch, but tink he cried until too tired, latch for 5 min onli, he fell asleep. Then the next feed, my mum tried again. She coax him and carry him in a inclined position, bring him to see scenery, then bluff him to drink. He rejected at first, but after much coaxing from my mum, he started drinking. But halfway will suddenly cry, then need to coax all over again. Take almost an hour to feed. My poor mum carried him like tt to feed, and mind you, my boy is not light (> 7 kg). Onli my mum is soooo patient. My hubby failed, try to feed for 2 min, pass back to me. Then for the subsequent feed gotta feed him in an inclined position, and must watch tv or look at interesting things. Then this week, suddenly ok with bottle feeding again. But this week another pattern, will chew on the teat lor. I tot the flow too slow, change teat, still the same. I give him ebm, occasional fm (friso). Bottle i using avent.

Now can give juice?

Hi goodbb,
Wow u bought two ah.. Cheap cheap hor..I feel like buying oso bt hb say gt liao stil bbb.hee..Bouncer: Just let ur bb get use of belting up. I belt up my bb when she first time sit on it..haha..

hi jamie

thanks for the book. sorry about not meeting you today. very busy at mum's office as 2 gals went on leave so i got to take over.... haiz

goodbb
pass the book to you when i am done? heheh need to wait at least 2 week leh ok? coz the book is quite thick... need to digest the information.

raynsky, i oso dunno wor... my SIL asked me to feel her gum to see if it is hard or see if any teeth popping out anot... dunno wat i can do oso leh.

haha.. my hubby also like that. 2 min pass to me.
My boy also from birth okay with bottle and fm (friso) and avent bottle.Then after that i lazy only direct latch on, i don't know so difficult. I thought latch on can get good supply. last month still take nuk bottle. Now totally refused. my boy also >7 kg. And he refused pacifier since birth. He also cry until tears out. feel asleep also refused bottle.

Don't know leh thought of mixing some baby apple juice with water ( they state 4 mths onwards) Going for injection on tue, i ask PD can give or not.PD already gave me the green light to give cereal. will try half spoon next week.

Don't know when can i go back to work. I don't even dare to go cut hair or facial. my boy only want latch on. so stressed.

raynsky
haha.. my hubby also like that. 2 min pass to me.
My boy also from birth okay with bottle and fm (friso) and avent bottle.Then after that i lazy only direct latch on, i don't know so difficult. I thought latch on can get good supply. last month still take nuk bottle. Now totally refused. my boy also >7 kg. And he refused pacifier since birth. He also cry until tears out. feel asleep also refused bottle.

Don't know leh thought of mixing some baby apple juice with water ( they state 4 mths onwards) Going for injection on tue, i ask PD can give or not.PD already gave me the green light to give cereal. will try half spoon next week.

Don't know when can i go back to work. I don't even dare to go cut hair or facial. my boy only want latch on. so stressed