(2008/04) April 2008

tskk...tskk...very very very poor choice of words....tsskk...so i hope the pple there are "qualified" to handle babies.

Lynn,

Goodie :D Can bargain with the supplier to see if can go cheaper :p

Mushloom,
When do we want to go for the first session?

Prawnie
Do update me when the stocks arrived.

bean & Jo

ya lo..when i hear liao, abit considering whether to bring my boy go liao..hee..i ban dang la..hear this kind of words, feel abit uneasy liao..guess will cancel this time and go aft 7th mth.....will be gg botanic grd this sat!!! hee

Kea, I called HX yesterday too. The person said" no time limit, as long as the baby...." can't hear him already, cause his background was very noisy and half the time, he can't hear me. Maybe they are renovating?

Thinking of going after the 7th month too, think my mum will scold me if I go during the 7th month.

my period has finally arrived today, after 9 months + 3.5 months. no cramp thankfully. but feeling damn sian and tired in the office. this afternoon's supply also dipped by 40%.

RE: HX
Interesting angle regarding the 7th month. i guess the serious swimmers who've yet to start can sign the promo package now cos it's promo for this month only, but start utilizing it from Sept onwards. i think the pkg is valid for 3 months (correct me if i'm wrong).

veronica

ystrdae i call, the voice and background ok leh...ya , i told my mom, she arady sreaming at me though is not beach or swimming pool but still she say cannot ....

Joelle, same, I bf, solely expressing but no period yet le.... Very worried, cause my period cramp is very bad one, think will hv to take leave on tt day it come......

Veronica
before child, i also plagued by v bad period cramps - lie in bed just let it bleed out kind u'know haha. today being period day 1, no cramp - in fact no warning sign just 1 teeny spot on panty yesterday evening. today has slight flow (4/10). not as heavy as my usual day 1 (7/10). but feel tired lah. so i think it wldn't be that bad. don't worry!

Prawnie: Where you usually go for KTV? Me too, I love to go KTV and hasn't been going since donkey years. Nowwdays only has chance to sing nursery rhymes, so sad!!!

Joelle: Gd for u
Mine is the opposite. Before pregancy, my period is painless but now, it's very bad cramps, until I need to take the panadol for mentral! I haven't ask my gynae, dun know if this is normal...

earth_baby
haha me too, love to sing but my lovely vocal now become "taosa" voice after birth...even my son stare at me when i sing nursery rhymes to him...so sad.

Joelle, I am glad to hear that
Oki.. Looking forward to it now.

earth_bb, prawnie -ktv? woww.. u gals powerhouse? My energy all spend on bb, where got extra energy to sing?

hi, mummies

I am new. SAHM staying in the east. wish to join in. has been ear dropping for the last few weeks. don't dare to make my appearance, but i realised that i need friends and support.

My boy 1st month formula and BF, 2nd month onwards TBF. Now try to introduce bottle again but refused. Very stressed out every time , even when i nurse him he fuss a lot. feeding and napping time is like war. hubby not helping much, what i tell him he will object. Ask him don't play with him in the middle of the night. don't listen ,insist to change him and play in the middle of the night when he wake up. very angry.

got to take care of baby and deal with hubby.

Any mummies on TBF here?

Hi Lovemum, my bb is on Total EBM
I am lucky got enough ss for him. Can't latch on as bb prefers bottles.

I discuss my hubby the rationale of keeping to bb's schedule, if he doesn't stick to it then I scold him! Suggest u talk to him calmly and come to a compromise. If it doesn't work, come complain here :p

Veronica: Hahaha my energy also spent on my bb but as SAHM i feel quite bored after a while, guess got to find stimuli to release pent up energy. Sometimes feels frustrated but cannot vent on bb right? So singing may be gd idea!

saw some of the photo of baby swimming. looks interesting. feel like bringing my boy there.

but my SIL says baby know how to float don't need to used float. bring them to swimming pool and hug them close to you. anyone try that before?

lovemum: welcome! I'm also new here, hey I stay in east too
Have you tried asking yr hubby to take care of bb for a while? Sometimes, guys need to do it themselves before they guai guai follow instuctions
That's what I did with my hubby. When he realised the problems you face to take care of bb sleep/feed issues, he will relent naturally.

hi lovemum

my hubby also like to play with bb when nite time before bb sleep, I also every time got to warn him not to play too much and make him laugh too much cos bb will not settle down to sleep after that. or even cry at night. he experience it so will take my advice. if bb wake up fussy and not because of hungry then must be diaper, you need to change diaper so he will be more comfortable to sleep

veronica
I doubt we can truly look forward to period even if it is painless hehe. enjoy ur period-free days!

lovemum

truly empathise with ur problem with husband. they don't realise that they play happy for 15 minutes but the caretaker needs to handle baby 24-7. if i were u i'd insist on my way, and give certain play-times for husband to bond w bb. then when sleeptime, hb must stay away.

since 2 wks back, feeding time is also like war on my side. today went PD, PD saw throat slightly red. gave cough mixture to prevent any infection. also recommended a little chrysenthemum tea to cool him down. how is ur boy's bowels? mine constipated for 4 days so today had a mineral oil bullet inserted, now all clear already. hopefully appetite increase, throat no problem, less fussing.

lovemum,
wlc!
my hubby opp, dun dare to play when bb wake up at nite, cos he's scare baby will not go back to sleep :p

recently i just instruct my hubby to bath my baby every morning, instead of only mi being the human alarm clock for everyone and then preparing my elder son's stuff for sch and his breakfast, etc.

kea: I think the person you spoke to is the boss of HX, cos he seems to be the only man around. I am very surprised he will use the word "drop dead", especially when his premise is used by babies. So far, I have dealt with him a few times, and he is very nice. Am surprised he used such a word *puzzled*.

jo
this is first time my boy constipate. yes today is 4th day. we went to see PD this morning, insert the mineral oil bullet, 1 hour later clear bowels.

calamari
i don't think the HX guy meant the words literally nor offensively. just very careless use of words. "so tired till drop dead" - trying to express vvv tired till cannot swim. i've spoken to the guy on the phone before too, sounds nice enough.

For mummies who are expressing, do u sterlise the pump after every use?

read somewhere:
Posted on Sunday, August 03, 2008 - 6:03 pm:

I also did not sterilise after every use. But if you are at home during maternity leave, you have the time to do that then go ahead to sterilise after every use. Cos newborn's immunity is not so good so best to be on the safe side at least for the 1st month. Once you get back to work, no need to do that after every pump cos you may not have the time to do that and there may not have the right facilities in the office to wash.. Rinse with hot water then put in the fridge/freezer to reduce any bacteria growth.

Veronica
i don't think my MIL can tahan 10 days LOL. boy seems normal enough (maybe i not observant la, i admit i v chin chye ) but MIL insist his appetite decrease/ face look different / sluggish / siansian/ too much poop v toxic ... etc. she suggest to try give honey or glucose - this is olden-day method of moving baby's bowels. i said No cos read too many angmo baby caring books hahaha. so when we reach impasse - we go PD to settle! LOL

joelle,
oops, sorry, rem wrongly. shd be another mummy who share her experience with mi that her son also nv poo for 4-5days and told mi is ok , not to worry

my baby also nv poo for twice and longest was for 5 dys, and aft insert, poo within that hr. he was on bf and similac that time. now change to friso totally and poo daily.

Veronica: I sterilise every time when I use. My ex-colleagues who returned to work after maternity also sterilise their pump after they got home. There's bacteria if you don't sterilise.

Veronica
yes i sterilise after every pump
at work i only pump once a day so far, so no issue. i have plastic container and sterilizing tablets for standby.
my colleague who used to pump last time said she just rinse with hot water.
i don't know how well the pump will do in freezer, scared plastic become brittle or wad. but fridge should be ok.