(2008/04) April 2008

gymboree books spree:
batch 1 has arrived. I wanted to wait for batch 2 to arrive to arrange for collection.
Along with batch 1 came a $25 gymbucks. I think batch 2's should be $100. Dont know how they calculate. I think different period got different amount. I will email them to confirm on batch 2's amount.
The redemption period is starting 17th Jul if i'm not wrong.
Mummies, in e spree, please let me know if you want to utilise or forgo ur gymbucks. If you want to redeem, let me know what you want to get. Shipping will be divided among e no. of items.

Amy: lol.. it's ok.. once u transfer me the $ , pls let me know. Thanks.

Apart from Tsukushi n Sherin, do I still owe any mummies $$.. lol.. buy here n there.. confused.. hee..

Seeing you all talk abt who take care of your baby, makes me wonder what is the best thing to do for my bb. Original plan was when i go back to work, bb will stay at MIL's place on weekdays, and we bring her back on thurs nite, cos i only work from mon - thurs. But now a bit cannot bear to put her there for so many days, cos quite attached to her. And also dun agree with some things that my MIL do. They also seem to be so looking forward to having bb stay with them, i guess i also quite jealous that bb will be more attached to my in laws than to me. So now i am thinking of asking to take no pay leave for another 1 mth or so, then work on half day basis for another few mths, so at least bb can stay at my house, and MIL come over everyday to look after bb, which was one of the options she gave us when i was preggy. Sigh... am i being to ungrateful when they are so willing to take care of bb? Dunno wat is the rite decision also.. scare i make the wrong decision.

Currently my MIL comes over almost everyday to help with bb. I am grateful to her for her help, but when she is here, i sometimes dun even get to carry bb from 10am+ till she leaves at 6pm+! Cos when bb cry or want to be carried, she will always be there, even if i carrying, she will make the motion to pass bb to her. Guess she feels like since she is here to look after bb, she shld be the one carrying her. Ironically, i feel like the maid....haha... so decided to tell her not to come over so often so i can spend more time with bb. May be more tiring but worth it.

Tsukushi: yeah .. hopefully can go Japan next year !! hubby was saying go hokkaido again.. this time with bb.. hee.. missed out the summer sale in HK this year =( cos bb cannot take plane yet

koori
me my dad help but he has a maid to help him as at my mum's places we have been having this maid with us since 5yrs ago. thankfully she like older sister to us and loves my son. plays with him daily, even teaches him with flash card. somemore the flash card she ask me to buy for him as her previous employer did the same for her baby.

re:nanny
the nanny rates at my place or parent's place is about 900 to 1200 inclusive of food. but thats for a 5 month old baby.

re: baby einstein

1. rain
2. priscilla
3. Veronica
4. Swirl
5. Angel
6. jamie

Sputnik - My original plan was to leave bb at MIL's place on alt days. In the end, we bring back everyday, cause we only get to see bb in the morning and night on weekdays, which is only few hours. So if leave overnight at MIL's place on alt days, then the total hours bb see us only less than 30... which we are uncomfortable with.

It is very tiring to bring bb to and fro.. Both HB and I are now panda liao... hahahahaaaaa... But to be able to play and carry bb a few more hours, all the tireness is worth it :)

Sputnik: same sentiments. dunno it's selfish or what.. i also scared bb become very attached to them n will make me feel jealous. I'm also dun agree to somethings which my mil and even my own mum does. So I think it will be best to look after baby myself ad with my own style of doing things. Till I really dunno what to do then I will seek their advice.

koori: we went last july, weather quite cooling with very nice lavender all around. I wanna see sakura.. hee.. cross my finger next year can go..

Problem is that my in laws stay quite far from me, so if bring to and fro everyday will be quite siong. I guess i will try and ask for no pay leave then go on the half day working arrangement for a few months and see how it goes. Ya, i also dun agree with some things that my MIL and even my own mom. At least when bb is here i can monitor, but when bb at MIL place, more difficult to monitor. At first i was looking forward to my in laws taking over looking after the baby, when now that she is starting to respond and smile, i can't bear to let her go. Never thot i will feel this way... cos in the first place i was not planning to have any kids when i got married!!

hi jasmine,

I am interested to purchase Baby Einstein fr u too.. How to go about it? Can PM me ur price and details of DVDs?

Thks
Hazel (Apr08 mum)

tsukushi: Yes its safe to put baby in bassinet.

Where should we put baby in the plane when baby is 1 year old? On the plane seat? I think bassinet too small liao by the time baby is 1 year old. I am going to Brisbane next year to visit my bro and go back there for memories as I studied there too! Can't wait! BUT got to wait for so long more :p

I damn sian. Tomorrow is finally the end of my ML, AL, and CCL. ARGH! I dread going back to work tomorrow!

Koori, Hokkaido is REALLY LOVELY! I also went with my family last July. Totally mesmerized by the scenery - esp the lavender and sunflower fields. Hoping to return to admire its winter scenery someday with Bb and Hubby!

Calamari, I so understand your feeling right now. That's how I felt when my leave ended last month. Now am on part-time work, 3 days at office, 2 days at home but thinking of reverting back to full time next month to pay for bb's Infantcare charges which is around $1300-1500 (before govt subsidy!)

Having Mothers or MIL as caregivers definitely is an ASSET mummies although there will be differences in opinions. For those of us without any help, infantcare is the next safest option but the cost is so high!

Re: Baby Bjorn Synergy
Someone was asking about reviews of the Synergy. I have 1 but haven't started using. Its a combination of Baby Bjorn Active and Baby Bjorn Air, meaning material is light like the Air and provides good support like the Active. Hope this helps.

Prawnie - so jul can see Lavender??? I LIKE but i also like Cherry blossom, last yr went tokyo in may, missed the cherry blossoms! SIAN

Yah agree with Angel that mummies and MILs are the best caregivers. I don't think I can trust anyone else given my super ngiao and fussy character.

Angel: i didnt know infant care charges are so exorbitant! How much after govt subsidy?

Re: Baby Bjorn Synergy

i have one and here are my views

my son is currently 19weeks coming 20weeks. his weight as of last check @14coming 15weeks was 6.7kg. i find that thought the back support is good the shoulders tend to hunch to the front as the weight of baby pulls me forwards. so its still quite tiring on my shoulders. though i must say that i actually bought this back when my son was 3 weeks old so back then and till he turned 6 kg it was my lifesaver.

Sherin, starting the BBB syndrome again?

Calamari - I am opp of u, can't wait to start work. I miss my bb, but I want some life out of the 4 walls :)

Some info re gyms which some mummies may be interested:

(1) The Little Gym @ Forum
- BUGS Program for Infants (4 - 10 months)
-> includes group activities
-> introduce rhythm, body awareness, language, and number concepts
-> promotes core body strength, body and spatial awareness and balance
-> faciliate hand-eye coordination

Weekdays: 9:10am - 9:55am
Sats: 3:20am - 4:05pm

Annual Membership: S$55
Term Tuition Fee: S$438 for 10 weeks, once a week

(2) Gymboree @ Harbourfront Centre
- Level 1 (Birth - 6 mths)
-> Becoming calm, attentive & interested in the world

Tue: 1pm - 1:45pm
Thu: 2pm - 2:45pm
Sat: 5pm - 5:45pm
Sun: 11am - 11:45am

Annual Membership: S$50
Term Tuition Fee: S$399 for 12 weeks, once a week

I may be able to get some discount for The Little Gym as I know the owner..let me know if interested, or maybe we can form a trial class.

SAHM/FTWM

hai....i quit my job since preggy, now taking care of my bb alone, very siong, coz being a firstime mummy, alot of thing have to learn..being a sahm very stressfull, NOT a tai tai life. like a slave leh, somemmore don have time to eat breakfast, lunch, n bath, have to wait till HB come back abt 8plus or 9 then can bath..sometimes have to wait till 4-5 hr then can pump(din latch my son on day time, impatient sucker)..son have time to online too..when comes to online shopping for bb clothing, toys..cant buy too, coz now HB only to support whole family..When BB cry, don want to drink milk, me cry too,, coz sometimes can feed for 2 hr bb don want to drink..

really wana to give up n give bb to nanny..

sherin: I think I still have her contact...let me go and search my mails. Believe she may still have stocks. Btw, her socks won't "roll down" one hehe ;)

Piggy_mummy : It is stressful being a SAHM, on the bright side, u are the 1st one to see bb's every single new development, like flipping over, crawling and even walking..... All the effort will be worth it!

Keep it up! :)

Mummies who are TBF-ing, did your PD give your baby iron and multivitamins supplements? My PD gave my baby that. She said babies on TBF tend to be iron-deficient. My baby just pooped and her poop is close to black colour! Hahaaha! So different from her yellowish-green stools previously.

piggy_mummy

i totally understand how you feel. coz me too left my job when i preggy. me too but hubby come home even later about 11pm. that was when i would bath.
finally got so depressed that i ask my mum for help coz got maid to help at her place. now i shuttle between my place and my mum's. weekdays at my mum weekend at my home.
try asking around for help even if you don totally agree with their method. then can also use pd's name if you would rather they follow your method.

Tsukushi: Transfer $42.65 to you. Pls check. Think it will take three woking days.

From Account POSB Savings
032-29853-2
To Account UNITED OVERSEAS BANK LTD
3673006467 Makino
Amount S$42.65
Transaction Reference 1800269946

Koori: If we can, will bring bb to disney land. Hope by that time, he knows how to run about le.. hee ..

<font color="119911">calamari im all in for a trial session w DS hee though the place abit far for me

I'm too searching for nice bb socks as bb has outgrown most bootes le

Travel oversea
not a very much travel person but cant wait to bring bb to Disneyland hee ^^ look how fortunate they're get the chance to travel so young</font>

jamie
During turbulence what should we do? Is it safe enough to carry baby in our arms?

Talking about hokkaido, a friend just returned. When I saw the photos, really remind me of my own trip last year this time. :p Luckily we cheong to Hokkaido then have bb.

Prawnie,
You went around this time? Then your bb must be Made in Japan liao? Hehe

How many years of honeymoon period do you all have? I married for 7 years before I decided to have a baby as I wanted to do a lot of travelling. My poor hb waited for so long as he loves children and wanted earlier. Now in retrospect, a bit regret not having earlier. I feel that at age 32, I might not have enough stamina to run after baby next time

oh... hmmm where do you stay?
maybe we can meet go shopping as in window shopping. coz i also need to budget alot now with only hubby working. if window shop together then got 2 pairs of eyes on the babies and yet still have adult company.

piggy_mummy: maybe you want to consider getting a maid to relieve you of your household chores and maybe help around with baby stuff like taking bath water, etc...

Calamari,
Socks 3 for $10, i want to know more.

Jgal,
I think Amazon can order some bodysuits cheaply rt. Thinking of ordering the bodysuits as bb cannt lift her clothes till airy. I let u know again. If u can organise spree from walmart http://www.walmart.com/ or babymall online http://www.babymallonline.com/catalog/index.php/cPath/28_11/sort/2a/page/2, it would be so much cheaper than gap/navy. Let me know.

Piggy mummy,
Where do u stay? Take things slow and easy ok. If u need support, just come here and ask. I am sure there are many of us that can help u to share ur struggles. Not easy. I will be in kl like the way u r in spore. Do things the way u want slow and steady, dun stress urself ok. I can already imagine myself in ur shoes soon but we will learn to cope slowly dear.

Blenders,
Any mummy who has yet to get blender, there is a braun blender BP and i hope to get one. Helping organiser to spread the word around http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1532261.jpg

Prawnie
Thanks will check a few days later. our loots arrived at my bdl base already. waiting for update into system

<font color="119911">Jasmine, can check with you is there disc name engraved on every dvd, seem it a proof of authencity
if so, pls add me to the order list ya TQs</font>