(2008/04) April 2008

Sputnik, Jus sharing, I have been working for 1 month already and I only pump 3 times a day, morning, lunch time and dinner. My ss is quite constant, 750ml to 850ml per day. Guess just have to ensure that breast is emptied at every pump.

My SIL pump 5 times a day, one in morning, twice during work and twice at night but only 500ml per day.

So I guess it depends on individual.

<font color="119911">chewy &amp; mommies,
like some mommies here I'm a TSAHM on NPL till end of sept..
Agree that our life is not the same ever since our miracle has arrived le.. Each step we move have to tag this little one along coz I believe the responsibility of lookin after the bb often lays on the mother ultimately..
hiaz~ every bit of my muscle seem to give way soon, really depriving for a massage, yet how? cant leave bb alone at home ba~ whr's my own private time that Im yearning for now? kaka ok Im airing... thank god Ive u mommies ard, at least Im not alone
well.. when times we see our bb grin it really melt our heart and tot it's all worth while but of coz not those hair pulling time when bb are crying on top of their lungs :p

agree with Jgal we've been worrying... for me even before conception, concern abt not able to conceive blah.. blah.. blah.. then worry again abt fetus development finally bb popped out and now worry abt their future haha.. non stop de lor

with the rate of BBB syndrome, I guess my Vitamin M is running out soon, and that forever-there-flab Im carrying yucks~ Im feel so so lousy too

XiaoZhu,
Im joining in the fun, need a fresh breathe badly ^^
Gathering on 19th Aug (Tue) Vivo ciy, time (any suggestion?)

1) XiaoZhu
2) Jgal
3) ABCmum
4) Chewy
5) Prawnie
6) Koori
7) Superbunny
8) babybliss

amy
My DS same like ya DD hee.. he will smile n station nicely when I unveil my clothing.. latch-pause-smile at me haha.. really make our day

ok brb, bb is 'calling' for help, think he's enough with his cot mobile :p</font>

i need a massage badly also!!! And facial, and pedicure... haha... also wanna watch all the good movies recently... anyone watch hellboy 2 yet? Gg to watch batman this fri.

Spuntik - i haven been watching movie since i got preg...sad lei. Recently my company organise mummy movie but cannot watch cos it on sat my mom off day we din wan to put bb there to distubr her.

The only thing i never miss is my monthly facial since wedding till now still quite consistent but i scared after go back work very difficult to schedule facial liao cos need to reach home to take over my bb.

Holiday
Maybe we can form our tour group next yr after bb turn 1 to places like bkk or hong kong or japan. it wd be fun to have frend to go along w bb! wat do u all think. it just struck me that i have not been traveling since preggy.if vthis is feasible we can save to save in our pigy bank n reduce bbb syndrome or shd i say more bbb? kekeke

sputnik....movie wat movie...since bb arrive no time for such relaxation liow....all free time is spent looking after bb..hee hee hee...

onli time i'm free is the 2 days where bb go infant care b4 i start work ha ha ha...

re: pumping...I usually pump 4x a day
1 early morn
2 ard 11.30
3 ard 4.30pm
4 ard 9pm (might skip this if bb refuse to drink n onli wanna latch)
so far ss been quite constant abt 800-950ml

simp...holiday after bb turn 1 is good...me thinking of saving money to go melbourne...ha ha ha...but nw airtix so ex might reconsider liow maybe somewhere near lah like club med bintan...hee hee hee..

<font color="119911">just trimmed bb's nails while he's in lala land :D how often to trim their nails? I find tt i've to get them cut every 3 days wor, isit so frequent?

SAHM,
i need some 'inspiration' on meal.. tired of coffee shop food over my side le. Wonder wat u gals settle for meal time when u've to take care of bb all by urself.. i dun cook coz afriad I'll ended up kalang kabok when bb cry, forget to switch off gas or over cook the food.. so cooking is opt out for me.. and instant noodles are no-no for me hiaz... though I crave for tomyam maggie mee~
What I usually have for meal time is a hearty bfast (dry noodles/ economic meehoon) and grab some fruit for lunch time which last me till late afternoon for milo/biscuit sumtimes just skip the 'high tea' for some slp then dinner will either settle over my inlaws place or my parents place lor.. Im concerned how to sustain a good quality and quantity of BM if im not gg to improve my intake for the day~</font>

Re: Pumping

u gals are good...my supply is always 250-350ml...since i started pumping early this mth...i only pump 3x and occasionally 4x but the total content is always 250-350ml...

How to increase supply? and what food to avoid?

jasmine
how many DVDs for $65? sorry, ask so many questions.

sputnik
talk abt movie, i was a movie queen last time, but since the arrival of my #2, i really cant squeeze in any free time. guess hv to wait till a few more years then can enjoy movie patho again ba.

simp
holiday - good idea!! but i would prefer aussie, like stefy, coz its more family friendly. i brought my #1 when she is 10mth old &amp; we stay in a service apt so i can still cook for our bb.

xiaozhu: if we go vivo city, mayb we can go over to harbourfront to take alook at hwa xia..

swirl: my gal hang and leg oso cold and sweaty in the evening.. normally i will let her wear her mittens and socks to keep them warm..

veronica: i dun attend to my gal immediately when she wanna carry or catch attention.. mayb ppl will think i am heartless but to my opinion a little bit of crying is good for baby lung developement.. but not too much as too much wind will go into them. i think now our darling have different patterns to attract our attention

hi Amy
try speaking calmly and softly to her when she wails. hold her close to you. keep doing it. altho my ger stil bawls, but she kinda sob-sob after i do that instead of screaming. but if its a hunger pang cry, then the best solution is to feed soon and quick. like your ger, she will feed halfway then smile at me. super cheeky

speaking about cooking.. haven't cooked since my last trimester cos too tired. now like impossible to cook, and i have no energy to wash up etc anyway.

am thinking of ordering tingkat dinner once i go back to work. any recommendations? and roughly how much would that be? need to budget to fuel my buying sprees

i'm still struggling with childcare arrangements when i go back to work. my mum seems to assume i'll let her take care, so she'll prob be mad if i were to go look for a nanny. but my mum wants tp come over to take care of my girl when i'm out working instead of us bring her over (we stay in the neighbouring block only), but i dun like that. cos like no privacy and my mum likes to re-arrange baby's stuff cos she thinks its too messy. but it's very irritating when my stuff gets placed somewhere else which i do not know. and she'll want to cook or hubby will be obligied to ta-bao dinner, which means on top of giving her more allowance for looking after baby still must pay for the meals for the whole family. like that will be very siong for our pockets. how ah??

Cloudme : do u latch on?

babybliss : during Mat Leave, I will cook early in the morning when HB around, then I will eat for the whole day :) Hope it helps.

Simp : Holiday in BKK? Safe or not? Don't know whether I will be able conc on shopping with BB around. My next travel destination is NZ :)

Sputnik : Movies? Hmmmm... the last time I step into threatre seems like a year agao :-(

cloudme....i eat a lot of steam fish (almost every dinner) n drink lots of soup (especially groundnut+lotus roots)... also drink abt 2glasses of milo everyday n 1 glass of annum mum b4 i sleep

i find that drinking a glass of warm water b4 pump also helps leh...u might wanna try...

hi babybliss
i'm in same boat as you. have been da-bao-ing fr kopitiam until veri sian. so i got my mom to help me cook stuff then i eat them for tmr's lunch. not the most ideal, but no better option. i oso tried doing one-pot dish, dump all ingredient into rice cooker, then eat for lunch and dinner. this week, i prep sandwich. today tuna sandwich wif cheese.

Lynn, I faced the same problem too. But mine is my MIL and mum assume I will let them take care. So before delivery I talked to both of them, tt bb will be taken care by MIL. It is a bit tricky to talk to Mum, so have to be a bit tactful about it. Find a time, where u will not be disturb by BB to tell her what's ur preferred arrangement, so that u can hear her out too. Hope it helps :)

hi lynn
i tried tingkat for 1 month, 2 persons $190, 4 dishes or 3 dishes 1 soup. i wont recommend the one i ordered fr cos cant make it. try neo garden cos they have a 1-week trial offer.

would it help if ur hb tell ur mom abt childcare arrangement that he wants to engage baby-sitter?

re: pumping
me worst! my ss per day is only enuf for 1 feeding...sooo pathetic...now started work, even worse! =(

Re : Pumping
This method works for me. After emptying the milk, I will wait for another 5 to 10mins, then express for another 5 to 10mins, till no more flow. My ss has increased from 500ml to 750-850ml. Hope it works for u all too.

Try eating the whole of ripe papaya, it increase my ss.

Re: Pumping

Luann_mummy: ok later i go try drink a glass of hot milo b4 pump...

Veronica: ur method sound good but can't work for me lah...only got 1/2 hour to pump each time...somemore must alternate side...

jasmine
thanks, count me in for the DVD pls. appreciate your help to get us a good deal.

lynn
why u need childcare when your mum offers to help take care of your bb? maybe u can try to work something out with your mum esp abt bb's stuff. coz infant care is not cheap leh. my mum also helps me out &amp; now i'm a SAHM, still need to give her allowance &amp; pay for whole family's meal, so i can understand its really SIONG for our pockets lor.

Lynn/ Jasmine - i intend to let my mom take care after i go back to work.

So problem is how does she cook? Means no more cooking for her rite? Since taking care of bb is so siong and somemore she be alone till i come back from work. I tot of asking my boss to release me 1/2 hr earlier everyday, i can take shorter lunch but i still need to pump, sigh, duno how? Any ideas?

No lor.. I also let my mom take care of my dd but she manage to cook, wash and even clean the house while looking after her! Wonder how she did it.. Anyway, dun want to question too much, it's already a blessing that I'm having someone reliable to take care of her...

jamie, maybe i'm very difficult to please but i dun agree with some of the ways she handle my girl. like she won't change bb immediately when the diaper is soiled (poop) instead she'll say wait a while cos she may poop some more. while it may be true, but then sometimes baby fall asleep and she'll forget to change her or say dun wake her up. and she talks to baby loudly and shakes the rattle very loudly too, dun want my girl to grow up virtually shouting all the time.

she supports me using cloth diapers, but for the times i've tried she does not change my girl when she's wet! sometimes when i pump i'll ask her to look after for a while, and then i can hear my girl crying. after a while stopped. so after i finished pumping i'll go check on her and find her cloth diaper wet but my mum dunno she dun wan to change or dun bother to check, just stuff the pacifier into her mouth and she'll be quiet. i dun like how she (and sometimes my hubby too uses the pacifier as a quick way to make the baby stop crying without checking on the normal stuff that needs to be checked like time for milk, diaper, burping etc)and she insists on putting baby in a walker when i object. hiaz, my complains are endless lah. my hubby says i think i take care of my baby is the best, anybody else sure kena complained by me -_-

then if my mum takes care also dunno how much to give her plus paying for the whole family's dinner, whereas with a nanny it's very clear-cut..

<font color="119911">uhoo~ anyone is gg to organize a mini BP for newborn shot at The Studio Loft photography? Im keen in it :p</font>

chewy,
dun b upset. HUGZ HUGZ** yup totally agree with u. Ever since preggy life has been different, then when bb out, life is totally changed. Everything nw evolved ard my boy nomore partying, hugging time with HB, gals nite out, etc........ but come think all sarcifices is worth it when u see ur bb growing everyday, every smiles, bb talk will melts ur heart

esther
my mum also does everything, cook, clean &amp; wash but eversince i got #2, she cant seem to squeeze time to cook liao. anyway i also dont want to wear her out so hv been ta-paoing lor. yes i agree, its already a blessing to hv someone reliable to take care so i learn to appreciate &amp; not complain so much.

lynn
initially when i hv my #1, i face the same problem as u too. i tik somehow the old folks feel that when bb is alseep, dont change their diapers. but mine case is better lah, soiled (poop) will change immediately lor. i'm also like u, i INSIST, dont want to use walker, my mum initially nt happy &amp; also complain but its my child &amp; i want her to do it my way. so she somehow finally accept &amp; got used to my pattern.

Jamie, same as u, I have learnt to appreciate and not complain so much..... Anything I think not good, keep quiet and rattle to HB only... hahahaaaa... He can only keep quiet, cause he can't say his mother's way of upbringing no good right? :p What a bad wife I am......

Re: Childcare arrangements/pumping/makan arrangements

What i usually do for lunch now is i will cook something for lunch the night before through slowcooker. Maybe make a stew/soup then in the morning juts cook rice n pack to go with the soup. Dinner i ordered tingkat food since i started work coz everyday ta bao is not n option n cooking after i bring baby back from nanny's place also cannot make it.

I decided to pack lunch is so that i can save some time for pumping. So on days that i have a shorter lunch break i will bring sanwiches. To save time i will buy those salad bags with the washed veg n just top with tuna or ham or egg n of course use wholemeal bread lor. Eversince i started work like very anti social like dat but bo pian coz my spare 30mins i will be hiding somewhere to pump n cannot go out lunch with ppl also...

So far i am quite happy with my nanny. Sometimes abit jealous also hehe... coz she gets along well with my baby... but thats a good thing lah though i wish i am the one spending the time with baby... The rate for nanny now is $500 to $600. I m paying my nanny $500