(2008/04) April 2008

Puffish: nope she has ready stock, so once confirm, she'll send out to you. No prob!

burpy_babe, at their age, we should start to "train" them to focus on the cards. Actually flashcards teaches the children to "read" by remembering the shape of the words. If you realise, every word has a different shape. Currently at their stage, show to them one flashcard at a time. Start with Black Pictures or shapes. The one in the GD kit includes shapes and some simple pictures like banana. So the flashcard to the baby at a lighted place. Then just show it to ur baby, call her/his name, show the card, make sure his/her eyes are looking at the card, then say v loud n clear "square". That's enough for now. Do that about 10 times a day. GD kit has 7 cards for 3 weeks. After which, u have to mix set A (1 card) with Set B (1 card), meaning u show 2 cards a day.

I'm not v sure abt the DVD. But apparently i know someone who is using it at 2 years old. He learns to read the lyrics in the songs quite quickly. But i find that ... it sorts of like take away the joy of singing ? i'm not sure le. Everyone has their own opinions.
It follows a very specific routine also. like watch disc for for a no. of weeks everyday. then proceed on to the next disc.

To me, both set (DVD / GD flashcards) require alot of discipline but GD flashcards got more bonding lo, coz we are the one teaching them ma. And it only requires less than 5 seconds each time. whereas dvd u have to complete the whole show everyday.

When i was doing my early childhood education, i told myself that i wont do that to my baby next time. But seems like as a parent, you'll tend to be more KS than laid back about ur children's education, esp. in a society like Singapore.

Oh i have the baby einstein dvd also. my girl is quite ok with it. But she will make noise when the words stay on screen for too long. haha. I think so far, she prefers watching mickey mouse on playhouse disney.

Re: Dora book
The book's english is quite ok le. No funny accent. Think it's quite good.

GD baby books, you can get the books at any bookstores in Singapore, ie borders, MPH, i'm sure u can get some discounts somewhere with the GSS.

Amy & Starling and Mummies intersted in pikkolo carrier,
The carrier is $180nett no shipping cost at all from states to spore.
Collection methods would be bukit timah, bukit batok, woodlands, admiralty or town depending on Abc' schedule.
Would arrive in early july as now no stock. need to pre-order.

Lynn: The books are available in Kinokuniya at $23.20.

Koori: we are refering to DVD by Dr Robert Titzer. Cos I wanted to order so asking if any mummy interested.

Koori: It's something like teaching babies how to read. Maybe it's like flashcards showing on TV. It teaches vocab and will have illustration showing what the word means. Should be something like that. Hee..

mummies, i need advise! Currently my baby doesn't want to sleep in our room or even my bed. Once we bring him to our room when he's awake, he will start struggling after 15mins or so, or when he's asleep, we put him on our bed, he will start crying in 10mins or less. But when we carry him out to living room, he will start to calm down and fall asleep again, or when put him on rocker, he also fall asleep too.

Any solutions to solve this? Will slping on rocker cause harm to his neck? It's been like this for about a week already. Am very worried about his neck.

ABCmum, saw in the Jgal's spreadsheet that you have yet paid.. Do you want to take over my order of pink leappad system from the first batch?

my boy reject my breast, lastime i will alternate his feed with EBM fr bottle, bt these few days i din latch him, he refuse n cry when i put him on my breast, i am very sad now. any suggestion to let my boy latch again, he is a impatient sucker, i worried he prefer the fast flow fr the bottle.

milk bag--

those mummy who using milk bag to store EBM, how can we dissolve those particle (white color)? lastime i use bottle to store, so i shake gently b4 warm up, bt now milk bag,emm...don know how to dissolve it..

can anyone give me the hua xia swimming contact,i am interest bring bb down..

flash card

wa, mummy here got time to do flash card arh, me even don have enough time to slp leh, mama here so wei da

Sorry to intrude. But just wanna share...my former babysitter has asked me to help spread the word to friends that she is available for babysitting.

The infants and toddlers that she had been looking after these few years have all 'graduated' - their parents have enrolled them in full-day childcare when they reached 2-3 years old.

Her place is along Hougang Ave 1, very near to Kovan MRT. Very experienced and friendly lady. Anyone interested or wish to find out more, please pm me for her contact no.

No hidden agenda, just helping her to spread the word.

HI mummies

Yup is tt tote bag, yup is only $10 now orginal price $39. When I bought mine, I saw 1 more left in the box. Dunno if they have excess stock in stock room. This is part of the kiddy palace sales

GD books: The distributor is at Upper Thomson and you get get the books/kits there. They conduct their workshop there as well. I called Borders/Kino for their books but they dun carry it, have to order for me.

Sherin: You seems like a pro at the flashcards? Do you have any websites to share that we can print ourselves? I did the alphabet ones myself, want to do the dots and the rest too but no idea how to get started. Mummies that are keen to do themselvs, I juz printed them out on A4 paper and laminate them, easier to hold and flash.

Re: GD baby kits..

Can I check with mummies with the reading kit, it costs like $600+?

http://www.gdbaby.com.sg/Kits.aspx

It has 1005 cards plus the book, so seems like the cost per card is not that high. Wonder if we go to the trouble of doing the cards ourselves and laminating, wouldn't it be more expensive per card?

good morning to all! finally online again.

Jgal, is the leapfrog purchase close? where can i find the link? I am a bit lost cos have been moving hse and no internet connection. How hv u been?

hi, need some advise from those using the lansinoh milkbags. The instructions say that to try and expel all the air prior to sealing the milkbag to prevent freezer burn, any tips on how to do this effectively? Their method to use the fingers to slide up seems not very effective...my fingers not so long also.. haha...

hi esther

isnt the little touch system blue in col? dont mind me, the 1st time i am looking at this. if it is pink may not be suitable for my bb boy. thanks for the offer though

Sputnik,
I usually use the side of table/cabinet and slide the bag downwards... dunno if you get what i mean...

Piggy mummy,
Just tilt the bag left right left right...

Cath, there's both blue and pink systems to choose from. I have a a blue one for my little gal, my sis bought for me in the states during a sale.. Too bad no pink one for my gal but nevermind lah..

amy, that's a good idea to get the air out.. right now using fingers and still will have a little bit of air bubbles inside, nevermind right?

before i knew have to squeeze the air out, i have lots of air in my frozen ebm. cos the milknags i bought initially did not write must squeeze the air out.

piggy_mummy, i do the same, tilt the bag and try to mix it. but still won't dissolve completely. then i pour into milk bottles and then wait till heated up and then gently swirl to dissolve.

I've given up trying to fight baby's impatient feeding at my breast and turned to total EBM. Never thought it'd happen but i MISS breastfeeding
the bond of having him suckle at your breast is a v special feeling.

good morning. Haven't posted anything on this thread lately as baby Dana has been quite a handful with her growth spurts and changing temperaments. I find this thread so useful as our babies are all around the same age so the developmental needs are similar. Any mummies, your babies get angry very fast? Our little Dana seems to have very strong will and will get agitated easily

Am keen to order a playmat here: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1491238.html?1213663369. Which brand is better? LG Prime or Parklon? Those mummies who have them, please share your advice?Thanks!

P.S. *Esther, have PMed you regarding the LS. *Prawnie, can include me in the DVD too?

Sherin – Thanks for your advice.

Brought my girl to the PD yesterday and PD said that she is abit sick. But the PD said that she will not recommend giving medicine to my girl as the medicine will only relieve the symptoms and not to cure the illness. Can I ask the mommies here if it is really ok not to give medicine to my girl? Will she really recover on her own without the medication? She has been sleeping a lot these few days and her appetite has kind of decreased. Really worried leh.

hi burpy babe
what is your girl down with? i hv also heard from PD that it is better not to give medicine for infants at such a young age, if child is able to recover on her own. they will prescribe for fever, but seldom for flu and cough. just keep her comfortable and let her immune system fight it.

I called GD baby.

The English Kit costs $630 for 1005 flashcards and 2 books and they have classes to guide us on how to use.

The Math Kit is $380 for 230 cards and a book. Also have class for that.

They can do adhoc class on weekdays and most likely can have 1 to 1 as there is no minimum no of pple before they start the class. For the confirmed classes, it is every sat 3.30pm. Any mummies interested and wanna go together? I still need to convince my hubby to let me do this wor.

BTW, they have 6 mth/12 mth interest free installment from UOB and OCBC credit card.

Hi Simp,

Can i order a Appletini Pikkolo carrier. PM me for the paymebt details as i am not active in the forum.

Jgal,

I would like to drop order for my blue leapfrog. Sorry for the inconvenience caused!

jaspire, we're very on the same page leh.. saw you and me kinda buying the same stuff on sprees and BP :p

i sent GD an enquiry online but they never reply. was thinking of going to check it out tomorrow (since going out with my mum today, i think she'll freak if she finds out how much the kit is..)

for the $630 kit, did they mention which 2 books are included? me also need to convince hubby leh, he cannot believe that i may want to spend so much on flashcards.

the cheaper alternative is to just buy the books and DIY the cards, but i dunno if i have the time to do it.. and the cost of buying, printing and laminating the cards is not cheap too. Unless dun laminate lah.

can't believe i didn't check it out at the motherhood exhibition. i went twice leh, could have saved some money. any idea if we get it at a slight discount if buying more than 1 set? or if buying the english and maths set together got discount?

Hi Jaspire and Lynn

what a coincidence! We just called GD baby too! My hubby and I are thinking of dropping by for a demo later as we're both on leave today. Thought of buying the EL Reading Kit to start with first as it's really very expensive. Perhaps if we buy 3 sets together, can ask them for a discount? Shall we contact each other?

$180 Pikkolo Carrier Order, No shipping fee from States to Spore? BP ends 18 June, Wed

<u>Confirmed Orders</u>
1) Amy - Stone
2) Jacelyn - Appletini
3) Lyn
4) Esther

Please email to [email protected] for payment purpose.

joelle - my girl is down with a slight flu.. and she is also having a slight cough... though she is not so cranky.. but she tends to sleep more these few days....

Hi everyone!! have been missing from the thread for awhile as have been very bz with my girl..

Simp: is there a website for the carrier? me interested to get a carrier but cant decide on which brand to get..

Esther: have u gotten anyone to take over your pink littletouch system? if not yet, i'm interested to take over..

re GD program

I think u may try asking whether there's discount if u buy Eng + chinese kit together. Even during the fair, there was no discount for the Maths kit.

angel and Lynn, hopefully so wor. Am thinking of going down tmr in fact. And also, if we do together and attend the classes together. Can be kind of support and encouragement for one another wor... Any other mummies interested? Thinking it will be quite gd if can do it together. hee...

Lynn, ya ya! We are indeed very on the same frequency... things that we spree on almost sama sama... LOL!

tsukushi, think buy Eng + Chinese got discount. But me interested in Eng and Math leh...

Any recommendations for bottle to reduce colic? Gone through all the different brands, and most state prevent colic, but don't know which brand is the best.

Angel - my baby get cranky very fast. He will cry till the whole face turned purple :-( Make me so scared. That's y try to anticipate whether he wants feed or change diapers.

Jaspire, Lynn and I may be arranging to go down together tomorrow at around 3pm. Will you be free to come along too? I'm a 1st time mummy too so lots of 'trial and error', that's why this forum here is good for sharing experiences and advice. The GD kits are really costly, dunno whether it's really worth our investment...any mummies have the kit here?

Veronica, your baby having colic? I use the 'RU YEE' oil to rub on my girl's tummy when she's fussy and it helps to dispel air (like in the TV ad!).