(2008/04) April 2008

bebe, do ur bb really cry? or those false cry?

usually i will talk to my bb if she call for attention and swing her legs.. sometimes i wait for her to cry badly (those with tears one)then i carry her.. i think ur bb is overcarried.. mine used to be like that.. always want to carry, need to force urself not to carry her that much..

i din give pacifier to my bb too.. now i put her in the bouncer during daytime, she is able to take short nap in it.. some mummies use sling..

<font color="ff0000">leapfrog Book Spree</font>

i just look ard.. i cannot find coupon that can reduce the ground shipping cost for leapfrog system. That's to say, everytime I make a order i have to pay USD$15 for leapfrog to ship to vpostUSA. I workout the sum. It probably better that we just pay the GST and buy as a big purchase.

Thus, I will make a single purchase of LF system. and ship them back together instead of splitting them. I have hold my order for now. If someone can give me the coupon for free shipping please let me know by end of tomorrow.

bebe

i use avent brand too..coz for his teats oso avent..

btw,

i read before an article....reponse to yr bb cry as soon as possible..don let him/her cry for long...it has scientific prove that the faster we response to them, the lesser they will cry in future...i 4get where i read it liao, cant share with u all....i rem it also mention that coz the only way bb can catch other attention is by cryin only, so when they cry, means they need somethin, so dont let them have prolong crying which will cause them to make crying a habit...

Kea - i also read something like tat abt crying, tats why i respond to bb quite promptly cos if not she will cry louder and louder. But sometimes she just fuss around then i will leave her alone for a while but i will call her and ask her to wait hehehe.

RE: LG/Parklon BABY PLAYMAT

Lynn, I went to see the BP thread liao... Got lots of nice designs lei... seems like better than the ABC foam mats wor but quite ex lei...

Jaspire, If got lobang for cheaper LG/PArklon playmat do let me know ya, I m interested... Hubby approve budget liao... hehe...

Re: LG mats
I bought the LG mat from Small Small World. Haven't got chance to use yet though. However, no matter how we clean the mat, still got one rubbery smell leh.

burpy: By pumping additional 5 mins on my left breast, I manage to get about 80ml from it. Right side will garner about 180ml. I also buay balance. I feel now my boobies one big one small hahaha.

koori

ya...sometimes bb cry for nthing, reali make me frustrated..=/...but no choice but to attend to him still.. but i dunno y my bb when slp, he will suddenly cry out loud with tears rolling dw..seem to have bad nitemare...anyone exp. this?

btw,

for cradle cap, beside Olive Oil, can we use Baby Oil? if not, which type of Olive oil to use? i don dare to anyhow use leh

blessed_mummie: I understand u are exclusively feeding baby EBM. I am rather confused on which milk to feed my baby, hopefully can hear your views. I spoke to 2 Lactation Consultants and 2 told me different ways. 1 told me to feed baby with the oldest frozen EBM while another told me to always feed baby with fresh EBM. While I am leaning towards the latter (i.e. giving baby the today or yesterday's EBM stored in the fridge), I am afraid that when I go back to work in 3 weeks' time, my supply will drop and I will have no excess to store in the freezer and my old frozen milk will expire. Hence now, I am feeding 4 bottles of fresh EBM and 1 old frozen EBM. Any thoughts?

Today I just self-expire 2 litres of my old EBM and kenna scolded by 1 of the LCs. :p But I really have too many bottles and dunno what to do with them. My baby cannot possibly drink finish all. :p

i have the Baby playmat given by my fren as bb 1st mth gift...didnt know is so ex!!! at 1st i still say waste $$ for this thingy =/

HI babes,
today's outing was great! So happy to meet all, especially Prawnie!!!! MIss u lah babe.. heeheehee. Shall look forward to next outing! Oh the baby gals hv amazing long &amp; thick hair!

Btw, the challenge to brg our kids out is fun but tiring.... Stupid clumsy cabbie dropped my cup holder!!

kea: My girl has cradle cap on her right eyebrow. Weird. I used Johnson's baby oil. It worked for her better than olive oil which I obtained from the PD.

calamari

my boy use to have cradle cap at eyebrow too..but i didnt know is cradle cap at 1st...then i use Johnson bb lotion..and it disappear....lolx.... but for scalp how ah? can use Johnson bb oil ah?

calamari, did you air the LG mat? the instructions say to air it..

just received mine tonight, looks really cute but haven't had the chance to lay it out.. maybe when bb falls asleep then can try..

kea: At first I also thought how come her eyebrow 'pua peh' hahaha. I guess should be ok. Hmm, never try on scalp leh :p But using baby oil, my girl's eyebrow cradle cap disappeared in 4 days, quite fast.

calamari

hee..i read the Johnson webby, can use Baby Oil for cradle cap ...apply before bath and let it stay for few mins...aft that then bath and use cloth to rub gently...then will remove ...hee...

Sigh, I got baby feeding problem. Recently baby has only been taking in about 80ml per feed. Dunno what happened. Everytime drink till 80ml she will fuss and stick out her tongue to push the teat out or fall asleep. Any idea why? She is coming to 8 weeks and this intake is way too little. PD did tell me before intake should be 90 - 120 ml per feed. Stressed
Her weight at 8 weeks only 5.0 kg

i've decided to get the pikkolo baby carrier.. stupid hubby took his own sweet time to check out the colours on the website. by then the last ready stock one is snapped up already.. now i have to wait till end of the month to lay my hands on it :p

Lynn: Oh is it! *faint* No wonder smell cannot go off no matter how many times we wipe. Thanks! Will air tomorrow for a few days..

calamari, my girl 6 weeks also starting to have feeding problems. thses few days many of her feeds can't finish, same like you described. worried she'll lose weight leh.

Lynn: My girl is not losing weight but I am so stressed as she always cannot finish her bottle. Dunno whether is it because of the bottle teats/bottle? But few weeks ago she is ok leh. Sigh... This week she is on antibiotics due to phlegm. Not sure whether her poor appetite due to the medi also ..
How much is your baby taking in now per feed?

calamari, mine now 90ml, but this week very often cannot finish.. see already so worried. somemore sometimes she'll sleep for 4 hours straight and not wake up for milk..

or if she doesn't sleep in between feeds also can be cranky. now always dunno which feed will be a battle..

calamari

tis 2days my boy intake oso lessen..maybe u shld try this!! =)

dear mummies

i seriously need advice here...my baby alway ard 8pm onwards, he will start to be cranky..is EVERYDAY!!!......i dunno wads is wrong and my mom is exhasuted from this......he has to be coax and carry till ard 11pm sometimes 12 plus!!...haiz..now i c him, i feel v fan n stress...even tot of abandon him....haiz..wad a bad mummy i am , ya..

kea, my girl also beginning of the week. but it's from morning 7am till about 1pm.. totally can die lor, somemore i'm alone at home and am very stressed at having to miss a pump..

by the second day really damn tired already, and i remember tues night i was telling hubby i'm very scared it'll go on like this the next day. thankfully wed she's ok liao..

but wed and last night fussy, must pat pat to sleep and sleep with us on our bed then can. at least night time fussy me and hubby can take turn a bit, day time so siong on me..

Kea - my baby used to be like this and actually she is still like this sometimes. Initially i also dunno what she wants. Until we find out that she wants more milk... she will tend to drink 120ml at 8pm... and refuse to slp and gets cranky and then at ard 930 we feed her another 120ml, then she is willing to fall aslp after that feed. And after that feed, she will usually slp until 5am the next morning.

Last nite she also cranky again... i did not feed her the 120ml at 930pm.. instead i let her feed direct also no use... but still let her feed direct till both of us fell aslp... hehe...

Kea,
Could it be colic? Wind in the stomach? My baby also like that last time but after taking the wind drops now much better liao. My friend say colicy baby always cry/cranky at the same time...

hi calamari
i wld give the oldest milk first. so that the milk will not expire. i've started using up the april batch of milk, and freezing new bags of excess milk now. i usually give a mix of milk in the bottle - 2 oz old milk + 2/3 oz fresh milk.

haha so funny to hear of ur milk bath. save money to go nail salon !

re: overstock of ebm - u shld sell them! side line hahaha..

re: LG/Parklon bumper playmats

i received my LG 15mm mat last night. I must say i absolutely LOVE it! 15mm is a good thickness to cushion falls, i tried myself and thumbs up! and although the surface is embossed and looks rough, it really is not. it's very soft and comfy..

later going to wipe it down and let my girl use already. now no longer have to worry abt her spitting up milk when 'execising'.. going to try massaging her too

now contemplating if i should get a cheaper Parklon one to leave at my mum's.. jaspire, if u do get a discount from BP price ler me know okie?

jaspire,

Saw your post at the BP thread. I found a Jan mummy asking the same qn and the BP org replied saying that she will take $5 off each pc if min. 10 pcs, but must limit delivery to 3 locations. But dunno why, the reply to us is different (no more discount).

tsukushi, so sad leh... haiz... else if we order alot... oso can save a little. Regardless, i will have to get it loh.

Lynn, so sorry wor...

kea - my baby has the same problem. very cranky in the evening, refuse to sleep and wants to be carried. Very tiring. I also dunno wats wrong. Worried that if i give her too much milk she will throw up, which has happened a few times, so dare not overfeed her. i also tried ridwind but no improvement...

my baby sleeps plenty in the morning and afternoon. i'm always afraid it'll have the knock on effect of being awake at night. i just can't keep him awake! this morning he's been snoozing on and off, there isn't even a window of opportunity to bathe him and it's almost noon!

sputnik, my gal oso has same problem... also very cranky in the evening. We gave her Ridwind and oso put the "ru yi" oil on her tummy before she manage to quiet down. Do try that.

joelle...u r so lucky...my ger absolutely refuse to sleep in the morning, she will probably doze off for 10mins n then start to cry n want to be carried again...haiz...my arms r so tired

these days her feeding is also haywire again....PD say she shld be take 150ml each feed but my ger always take abt 90-100 then refuse to drink further liow...haiz...wonder wat's wrong...

calamari....so envious u got so much supply...i always feed my ger the freshest milk express today or yesterday as i onli start freezing the milk mid may so will start using them when she starts to go infant care n i return to work so milk wont expire.

but i dun thk tt will last very long....ha ha ha...